Bitcoin Forum
January 29, 2023, 11:26:28 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 [654] 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5804607 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:41:05 PM
Last edit: October 30, 2013, 01:42:45 PM by aigeezer
 #13061


Running rs8 now.

Edit: zombie about 15 minutes into the run. Trying rs10 shortly.

Edit: zombie from rs10 about 10 minutes into the run. I'll leave rs10 running.

Edit: it couldn't recover so I restarted and got 4 zombies within 6 minutes. "rs10" isn't my fave among the recent candidates.       Smiley
Activity + Trust + Earned Merit == The Most Recognized Users on Bitcointalk
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675034788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675034788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675034788
Reply with quote  #2

1675034788
Report to moderator
1675034788
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675034788

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675034788
Reply with quote  #2

1675034788
Report to moderator
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3682
Merit: 1441


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 12:55:40 PM
 #13062

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help? 
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 12:58:11 PM
 #13063

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help?  
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).
I'll try to find it.  Seems like as good a plan as any.  Starting with 3.3.4...  Cool
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 01:10:31 PM
 #13064

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help?  
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).
I'll try to find it.  Seems like as good a plan as any.  Starting with 3.3.4...  Cool


I'm fairly sure the bug was present in 3.4.3, fwiw.
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 05:26:41 PM
Last edit: October 30, 2013, 07:22:01 PM by jmc1517
 #13065

I *could* try some intermediate versions between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4 if thay are still available, and if it would help?  
If there's a specific version update that causes it, it narrows down the possible causes of post 3.3.1 breakage (though I've rewritten everything I could think of in the meantime so could have some other issue now).
I'll try to find it.  Seems like as good a plan as any.  Starting with 3.3.4...  Cool

I'm fairly sure the bug was present in 3.4.3, fwiw.
Hmmm, interesting. I'm not seeing that.  It seems to have occurred much later for me.

I'm doing binary chop testing to localise the onset of the bug among the 11 releases between 3.3.1 and 3.6.4.  Initially just running a 2-hour (maximum) test on each version, but stopping immediately I get a zombie. I will go back and verify with a longer run as soon as I find the last "perfect" version!

Results so far:

3.3.1 - ok
3.3.4 - ok
3.4.0 -
3.4.1 -
3.4.2 -
3.4.3 - ok
3.5.0 -  
3.5.1 - ok
3.6.0 - does not run. All AMU LEDS full on. No AMUs detected?
3.6.1 - ZOMBIE
3.6.2 -
3.6.3 -
3.6.4 - ZOMBIE
3.6.6 - ZOMBIE

Edit: 3.5.1 ran for 2 hours, no problems.  3.6.0 will not start for me - it does not seem to "see" the AMUs at all.
       3.6.1 runs but gives zombies, so it looks as if the bug was introduced (probably) at the 3.6.x build.

I am currently running 3.5.1 as a long term test to ensure it is as stable as 3.3.1 is (for me).  2012-10-30 @ 19:20
chadtn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 05:30:58 PM
 #13066

I'd like to think some other variable is at play here.  I've run every single version of cgminer from 3.3.1 to 3.5.1 and have never had a single problem.  I ran it on a Windows 7 machine 24/7 with two 7970 video cards and six block erupters.  The only down time I've had is from halting for software updates and the maybe an average of one restart a month for system updates.  After 3.5.1 I moved the block erupters to a raspberry pi and it has almost literally 100% up time.  The only times it has stopped mining are when I halted the process to start the latest version of cgminer.  It's run every version between 3.5.1 all the way up to 3.6.6 without issue.

There almost has to be some key variable...os, wiring, electrical, hardware defect, environment...

Chad



     ▄██    ▐███████▄▄▄       ▄▄█████▄▄      ▄██▄      ▐██▄    ▒▓▓▄      ▄▓▓▒
     ███    ▐██▌▀▀▀▀▀███▄    ███▀▀▀▀▀███▄    ████▄     ▐██▌  ▐▓▄ ▀▓▓▄  ▄▓▓▀ ▄▓▌
     ███    ▐██▌      ███   ███▌      ███▌   ██████    ▐██▌   ▀▓▓▄ ▀▓▓▓▓▀ ▄▓▓▀
     ███    ▐██▌    ▄████  ▐███▌      ▐██▌   ███ ███▄  ▐██▌     ▀▓▓▄ ▀▀ ▄▓▓▀
     ███    ▐█████████▀▀   ▐███▌      ▐██▌   ███  ▀███ ▐██▌      ▓▓▓    ▓▓▓
     ███    ▐██▌   ▀███     ███▌      ███▌   ███    ██████▌   ▄▓▓▀ ▄▓▓▓▓▄ ▓▓▓▄
     ███    ▐██▌     ███    ▀███▄▄▄▄▄████    ███     ▀████▌  ▐▓▀ ▄▓▓▀  ▀▓▓▄ ▀▓▌
     ███    ▐██▌      ███     ▀▀██████▀▀     ███       ███▌    ▄▓▓▀      ▀▓▓▄
                  ▄▄▄█████▄▄▄▄
             ▄▄█▓▓▓▓▓█▀▀▀▀█▓▓▓▓▓█▄
           ▄▓▓▓█▀▀            ▀▀█▓▓█▄
         ▓▓▓█▀                    ▀▓▓█▄
       ▄▓▓▓▀                        ▀▓▓█
      ▄▓▓█                            █▓▓
      ▓▓▓                    ▄██▄     ▐▓▓█
     ▓▓▓                   ▄█▓▓▀       ▐▓▓▌
     ▓▓▓                 ▄█▓▓▀          ▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▄    ▓▓▓▓▀            ▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓        ▀▓▓▓▄█▓▓▓▀             ▐▓▓▌
     ▀▓▓▓         ▀█▓▓█▀               █▓▓
      ▓▓▓▄                            ▓▓▓▌
       ▓▓▓█                         ▄█▓▓▀
        ▀▓▓█▄                     ▄▓▓▓█▀
          ▀▓▓▓█▄               ▄▄█▓▓█▀
            ▀▀█▓▓▓█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▓▓▓█▀
                ▀▀██▓▓▓▓▓▓▓███▀▀
paladin281978
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 05:32:47 PM
Last edit: October 30, 2013, 07:26:33 PM by paladin281978
 #13067

it is normal for 3.6.6-1?
in other versions there is no such
This is not a solo
3.6.4 works fine
 

jesse11
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250


Ants Rock


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 05:44:45 PM
 #13068


I'm Rocking now  Grin  Thanks ckolivas

Mining with: BE's,BE Cubes, K16's, AntMiners U1's and AntMiners S1's
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:08:51 PM
 #13069

please help with conf.
on GUIminer i have this setup:


yet if i run cgminer with its not even close to be as stabiel + i have big heating problems. [of GPU mostly]
-I 16 -w 256 -v 1 --gpu-threads 1 --thread-concurrency 8000 --auto-fan


what am i missing between this two, is there some other setup i need?

i have AMD radeon HD 9670. windows7.

yolo
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2013, 07:14:00 PM
 #13070

what did you do to get those fields to show up? Is that the uncompiled one?

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
-Redacted-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 501


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:17:35 PM
 #13071

That's the scrypt version of guiminer
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:21:14 PM
 #13072

Looks like the "bug" - if we can call it that - started with the 3.6.x build:
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3443712#msg3443712
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:26:25 PM
 #13073

Looks like the "bug" - if we can call it that - started with the 3.6.x build:
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3443712#msg3443712


Yikes, you and I may have separate issues after all and/or there may be more than one issue to be found. The plot thickens. I sure hope my problem isn't right under my nose.
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 07:46:22 PM
 #13074

I'd like to think some other variable is at play here.  I've run every single version of cgminer from 3.3.1 to 3.5.1 and have never had a single problem.  I ran it on a Windows 7 machine 24/7 with two 7970 video cards and six block erupters.  The only down time I've had is from halting for software updates and the maybe an average of one restart a month for system updates.  After 3.5.1 I moved the block erupters to a raspberry pi and it has almost literally 100% up time.  The only times it has stopped mining are when I halted the process to start the latest version of cgminer.  It's run every version between 3.5.1 all the way up to 3.6.6 without issue.

There almost has to be some key variable...os, wiring, electrical, hardware defect, environment...

Chad

Were your 7970s hashing along with the erupters? I've got one 7970 on this machine, but haven't used it for hashing in quite a while - I've been running the nogpu version of cgminer through all this testing. One quirk of my testing was that whenever I ran with debug/logging on the errors didn't happen - no zombies, no failures, leading to the impression that it is some kind of timing/timeout issue.
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 08:21:49 PM
 #13075

That's the scrypt version of guiminer

yes but im speaking of mining BTC here, just thats the setup that works. i dont knwo what flags to use to make it work. mayeb some fan flags?

please help guys i mclueless.

yolo
chadtn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 08:29:40 PM
 #13076

I'd like to think some other variable is at play here.  I've run every single version of cgminer from 3.3.1 to 3.5.1 and have never had a single problem.  I ran it on a Windows 7 machine 24/7 with two 7970 video cards and six block erupters.  The only down time I've had is from halting for software updates and the maybe an average of one restart a month for system updates.  After 3.5.1 I moved the block erupters to a raspberry pi and it has almost literally 100% up time.  The only times it has stopped mining are when I halted the process to start the latest version of cgminer.  It's run every version between 3.5.1 all the way up to 3.6.6 without issue.

There almost has to be some key variable...os, wiring, electrical, hardware defect, environment...

Chad

Were your 7970s hashing along with the erupters? I've got one 7970 on this machine, but haven't used it for hashing in quite a while - I've been running the nogpu version of cgminer through all this testing. One quirk of my testing was that whenever I ran with debug/logging on the errors didn't happen - no zombies, no failures, leading to the impression that it is some kind of timing/timeout issue.


Yeah...the video cards were hashing with the erupters in the same cgminer instance before going to the raspberry pi.

Chad



     ▄██    ▐███████▄▄▄       ▄▄█████▄▄      ▄██▄      ▐██▄    ▒▓▓▄      ▄▓▓▒
     ███    ▐██▌▀▀▀▀▀███▄    ███▀▀▀▀▀███▄    ████▄     ▐██▌  ▐▓▄ ▀▓▓▄  ▄▓▓▀ ▄▓▌
     ███    ▐██▌      ███   ███▌      ███▌   ██████    ▐██▌   ▀▓▓▄ ▀▓▓▓▓▀ ▄▓▓▀
     ███    ▐██▌    ▄████  ▐███▌      ▐██▌   ███ ███▄  ▐██▌     ▀▓▓▄ ▀▀ ▄▓▓▀
     ███    ▐█████████▀▀   ▐███▌      ▐██▌   ███  ▀███ ▐██▌      ▓▓▓    ▓▓▓
     ███    ▐██▌   ▀███     ███▌      ███▌   ███    ██████▌   ▄▓▓▀ ▄▓▓▓▓▄ ▓▓▓▄
     ███    ▐██▌     ███    ▀███▄▄▄▄▄████    ███     ▀████▌  ▐▓▀ ▄▓▓▀  ▀▓▓▄ ▀▓▌
     ███    ▐██▌      ███     ▀▀██████▀▀     ███       ███▌    ▄▓▓▀      ▀▓▓▄
                  ▄▄▄█████▄▄▄▄
             ▄▄█▓▓▓▓▓█▀▀▀▀█▓▓▓▓▓█▄
           ▄▓▓▓█▀▀            ▀▀█▓▓█▄
         ▓▓▓█▀                    ▀▓▓█▄
       ▄▓▓▓▀                        ▀▓▓█
      ▄▓▓█                            █▓▓
      ▓▓▓                    ▄██▄     ▐▓▓█
     ▓▓▓                   ▄█▓▓▀       ▐▓▓▌
     ▓▓▓                 ▄█▓▓▀          ▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▄    ▓▓▓▓▀            ▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓        ▀▓▓▓▄█▓▓▓▀             ▐▓▓▌
     ▀▓▓▓         ▀█▓▓█▀               █▓▓
      ▓▓▓▄                            ▓▓▓▌
       ▓▓▓█                         ▄█▓▓▀
        ▀▓▓█▄                     ▄▓▓▓█▀
          ▀▓▓▓█▄               ▄▄█▓▓█▀
            ▀▀█▓▓▓█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▓▓▓█▀
                ▀▀██▓▓▓▓▓▓▓███▀▀
jmc1517
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 09:13:10 PM
 #13077

Looks like the "bug" - if we can call it that - started with the 3.6.x build:
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3443712#msg3443712
Yikes, you and I may have separate issues after all and/or there may be more than one issue to be found. The plot thickens. I sure hope my problem isn't right under my nose.

Well - hopefully it's the same problem!   That's how I stumbled upon this thread in the first place, remember?  We seem to confirm each other's findings re the test-builds, i.e. we both consistently get zombies and/or decaying hash-rates on the builds we've tested, but perhaps I see them more quickly as I'm running 34 erupters. Anyway, at the moment I'm happy with 3.5.1. It's been running about 4 hours in total and no errors, so hopefully it will survive overnight and become my new "stable" build.

As an aside, I have 2 * 7970's in my machine also, but they are happily mining LTC using another instance of 3.3.1 (I'll upgrade that to 3.5.1 at some point, even though it's not strictly necessary).

I haven't bothered trialling the latest test-builds.  I'll just leave 3.5.1 running until morning and see what ckolivas makes of all this. Shocked
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1013


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
October 30, 2013, 10:04:21 PM
 #13078

I'll just leave 3.5.1 running until morning and see what ckolivas makes of all this. Shocked

I just noticed I went straight from 3.5.0 to 3.6.2 "way back then" - never tried 3.5.1 along the way.

I've been running candidate rs10 all day. It gets occasional zombies but it seems as good as anything for the moment. Maybe I'll add debugging to it and see if that keeps the zombies from showing up the way it used to do.

The pressure mounts!         Smiley
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 10:11:35 PM
 #13079

I'd like to think some other variable is at play here.  I've run every single version of cgminer from 3.3.1 to 3.5.1 and have never had a single problem.  I ran it on a Windows 7 machine 24/7 with two 7970 video cards and six block erupters.  The only down time I've had is from halting for software updates and the maybe an average of one restart a month for system updates.  After 3.5.1 I moved the block erupters to a raspberry pi and it has almost literally 100% up time.  The only times it has stopped mining are when I halted the process to start the latest version of cgminer.  It's run every version between 3.5.1 all the way up to 3.6.6 without issue.

There almost has to be some key variable...os, wiring, electrical, hardware defect, environment...

Chad

I have two win7x64 machines. One is AMD based, somewhat older technology (was a sempton single core, is now an athlon II dual core @ 3.4GHz with 4 gb memory), doesn't have any USB 3.0 ports.  3.6.4 works fine with my 36 erupters.  No problems aside from the possible winsock error, but recently I've been restarting it for other reasons before it runs more than a few days, so I don't know if the winsock error is still around or not.

I move the same 36 erupters and same hubs to the other machine, Intel based, core i7, 12 gb of memory, with USB 3.0 ports.  I almost immediately get zombies and IO errors.  Neither of which I get on the older machine.  Oh, and the erupters aren't detected at all on the USB 3.0 ports.  I have to plug them into the 2.0 ports to see them.

I think it's hardware based.  Chipset maybe?  Something beyond your control?

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 30, 2013, 10:13:33 PM
 #13080

Looks like the "bug" - if we can call it that - started with the 3.6.x build:
    https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg3443712#msg3443712


Yikes, you and I may have separate issues after all and/or there may be more than one issue to be found. The plot thickens. I sure hope my problem isn't right under my nose.

I'd get errors left and right on my AMD box with anything after 3.3.4, I think... until 3.6.4.  So what fixed problems for me caused problems for others.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Pages: « 1 ... 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 [654] 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!