Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 08:21:24 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 [636] 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 ... 841 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5654131 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Rant2112
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50



View Profile
October 03, 2013, 12:24:13 AM
 #12701

To get the repository I did:

git clone -b libusbx git://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer

I'm still getting errors:

AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 658ms but was 100ms
...
AMU 0 usb write error: LIBUSB_TRANFER_TIMED_OUT
AMU0: Comms error (werr=2 amt=0)
..
repeats


Is there a way to check to ensure I'm properly on the branch?  I haven't built from git before but I hopefully did it correctly.  Cool
Thanks.

'git branch' is enough to tell you what branches you have and what branch you're on.

Your case is particularly interesting because every report so far has been on windows. Can you see what the CPU usage is like when you're running cgminer and see if there are spikes when the error messages occur?


git branch says:
* libusbx

The error messages happen every 2 seconds.  Using top or xload only shows every 1 second so I don't know how to see spikes.  Cool

CPU utilization is very low - something like 0.3% for cgminer.
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511166084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511166084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511166084
Reply with quote  #2

1511166084
Report to moderator
1511166084
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511166084

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511166084
Reply with quote  #2

1511166084
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 03:58:31 AM
 #12702

git branch says:
* libusbx

The error messages happen every 2 seconds.  Using top or xload only shows every 1 second so I don't know how to see spikes.  Cool

CPU utilization is very low - something like 0.3% for cgminer.
Try the latest libusbx async branch. More sheer desperation in the code. Then show us the output of api stats if you know how to (easiest is to use 'java API stats') after it's been running for a while.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 07:46:17 AM
 #12703

Here is new log version which contains this TIMEOUT messages. Hope it helps you somehow.
Thank you very much, I'll be studying it shortly. One question: Can you monitor the CPU usage of cgminer and see how it fluctuates over time? The task manager in windows ill allow you to do that. I'm most interested to see if it ever spikes at high levels (close to 100%) and if that correlates with these timeout error messages.
More experimental binaries uploaded for windows:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer-nogpu.exe
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 07, 2013, 07:59:35 AM
 #12704

I got the info from asic-hardware (cryptX) that the BitBurner Fury ... should run ... with cgminer.

Code:
It's the same basic cgminer the Avalons use. see under news on the site www.burninmining.com

regards

Bert

This is what I have done ...

Code:
Once raspbian is running open LXTerminal and type the following commands to install the needed prequisites to build cgminer:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install autoconf libusb-1.0-0-dev libncurses5-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev screen
Then clone the cgminer repository:
git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git cgminer
Enter the new directory, configure and build cgminer
cd cgminer
./autogen.sh –enable-avalon
make clean
make
Now cgminer should compile

now as root I submited ...

./cgminer -n

Code:
root@bitfury:/home/pi/cgminer# ./cgminer -n
 [2013-10-07 07:59:57] USB all: found 4 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 1 Device 4 ID: 0403:6001
  Manufacturer: 'Burnin Electronics'
  Product: 'BitBurner'
 [2013-10-07 07:59:57] 1 known USB devices


Code:
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://nl1.ghash.io:3333 -u xxx.2-p x



-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 08:32:34 AM
 #12705

I got the info from asic-hardware (cryptX) that the BitBurner Fury ... should run ... with cgminer.

Code:
It's the same basic cgminer the Avalons use. see under news on the site www.burninmining.com
You'll have to ask them. We don't have the hardware and therefore are not maintaining any code ourselves that currently supports it. I think they're the ones who submitted a pull request for us to include code for them but it has been low priority for us and we have not reviewed or incorporated any new code for it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
spacebob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
October 07, 2013, 12:46:14 PM
 #12706

....
Ok I will give upgrading a shot. Thanks.
I've just built and run mine on raspbian
and it seems to be fine .. however I do it like :-
ver=3.5.0
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-$ver.tar.bz2
tar xf cgminer-$ver.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-$ver
mkdir libusb
cd libusb
wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/libusb/files/libusb-1.0/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb-1.0.16-rc10.tar.bz2
tar -xf libusb-1.0.16-rc10.tar.bz2
cd libusb-1.0.16-rc10
./configure
make CC=distcc
cd ../..
LIBUSB_CFLAGS="-I./libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb" LIBUSB_LIBS="./libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb/.libs/libusb-1.0.a -ludev" ./configure --enable-icarus --enable-bitfury --disable-opencl
make CC=distcc


I think the problem was I just hadn't updated anything when I re flashed the sd card.

I had a similar error and I solved it by adding slub_debug=FP to /boot/cmdline.txt. I talked about it over at the Raspberry Pi support forums. http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=55370
zamot
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile
October 07, 2013, 01:32:31 PM
 #12707

Here is new log version which contains this TIMEOUT messages. Hope it helps you somehow.
Thank you very much, I'll be studying it shortly. One question: Can you monitor the CPU usage of cgminer and see how it fluctuates over time? The task manager in windows ill allow you to do that. I'm most interested to see if it ever spikes at high levels (close to 100%) and if that correlates with these timeout error messages.
cgminer uses CPU on average 5% and it jumps to around 15% when this timeout error occurs and then is back to its 5% or less.
Overall CPU usage is around 30%, and it jumps to 100% by timeout error and them back to normal. This difference of CPU usage is made by System process which uses normaly around 10% CPU.

gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 07, 2013, 03:28:22 PM
 #12708

Any developers had a chance to work on a Jupiter?

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 08:03:02 PM
 #12709

Here is new log version which contains this TIMEOUT messages. Hope it helps you somehow.
Thank you very much, I'll be studying it shortly. One question: Can you monitor the CPU usage of cgminer and see how it fluctuates over time? The task manager in windows ill allow you to do that. I'm most interested to see if it ever spikes at high levels (close to 100%) and if that correlates with these timeout error messages.
cgminer uses CPU on average 5% and it jumps to around 15% when this timeout error occurs and then is back to its 5% or less.
Overall CPU usage is around 30%, and it jumps to 100% by timeout error and them back to normal. This difference of CPU usage is made by System process which uses normaly around 10% CPU.

Interesting, and cause for further speculation. We're working with the libusb developer to see if we can't find the problem since it seems to be within the library. Still worth trying the latest binaries I uploaded yesterday, thanks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
October 08, 2013, 10:06:17 AM
 #12710

Will cgminer support other algorithm than SHA256 and scrypt ?

Here's my bag so you don't ask : Bitcoin, tenX, iexec, byteball and pepecash
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2013, 10:07:21 AM
 #12711

Will cgminer support other algorithm than SHA256 and scrypt ?
No

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1106


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2013, 04:31:41 PM
 #12712

So try as I might, udev will not work on routers. The kernel is simply too old and there's not anything we can do about that. So...

I'd like to request a configuration option to allow for udev to be disabled and just have the USB ports scanned on startup like we had before.

Also, if GPU isn't specified, no need to copy the *.cl files in the install

And allow it to be statically compiled.

Thanks Smiley
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
October 09, 2013, 09:40:57 AM
 #12713

Does cgminer support KNC miner hardware ? If yes how to do ?

Here's my bag so you don't ask : Bitcoin, tenX, iexec, byteball and pepecash
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2013, 10:22:33 AM
 #12714

Does cgminer support KNC miner hardware ? If yes how to do ?
Nope. KFC support cgminer on their own fork and have yet to reveal their sauce.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
superresistant
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
October 09, 2013, 10:31:17 AM
 #12715

Thank you for the answers.

Here's my bag so you don't ask : Bitcoin, tenX, iexec, byteball and pepecash
Its About Sharing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Antifragile


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 02:15:11 PM
 #12716

Does cgminer support KNC miner hardware ? If yes how to do ?
Nope. KFC support cgminer on their own fork and have yet to reveal their sauce.

I wonder if they suped it up some? I know Burnin supposedly was shooting for getting the Bitfury chips (2Ghash/s) to 5Ghash/s using an external clock or something like that. There are some tricks out there...

BTC = Black Swan.
BTC = Antifragile - "Some things benefit from shocks; they thrive and grow when exposed to volatility, randomness, disorder, and stressors and love adventure, risk, and uncertainty. Robust is not the opposite of fragile.
Myrddindc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 05:07:38 PM
 #12717

Apologies for noobish question.

I have  been using cgminer to run my 6 usb block eruptors for a few weeks now with all being great. Now that I have finally received my BFL little(which also performs perfectly well, running with bfgminer for now) my cgminer keeps reporting:

Code:
USB init, open device failed, err -12, you need to install a Windows USB driver for - BFL device 5:1

But I already have all the drivers installed and the device is running just fine in another window.

My question is how do I stop cgminer from searching for or reporting this device, as it makes for messy on screen monitoring of my block eruptors.

The line that initializes the block eruptors is:

Code:
cgminer-nogpu.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u myUserName_com9 -p 1234  ---icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM9

Apologies again for a noobish question! Many thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Myrdd.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 05:12:53 PM
 #12718

Apologies for noobish question.

I have  been using cgminer to run my 6 usb block eruptors for a few weeks now with all being great. Now that I have finally received my BFL little(which also performs perfectly well, running with bfgminer for now) my cgminer keeps reporting:

Code:
USB init, open device failed, err -12, you need to install a Windows USB driver for - BFL device 5:1

You need to run Zadig and install WinUSB for that device.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268


Think for yourself


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 05:15:06 PM
 #12719

My question is how do I stop cgminer from searching for or reporting this device, as it makes for messy on screen monitoring of my block eruptors.

Add
"--usb BAS:0"

It is covered in the readme under Advanced USB Options

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Myrddindc
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 06:14:59 PM
 #12720

My question is how do I stop cgminer from searching for or reporting this device, as it makes for messy on screen monitoring of my block eruptors.

Add
"--usb BAS:0"

It is covered in the readme under Advanced USB Options

Ffab thanks! I did read the readme  (badly) and saw those options but it didnt stop the reporting error. I'm guessing I have to install the driver you mentioned first and then add that line. (My miner is working fine so I dont really want to start messing with drivers as I'm sure windows will mess things up for me if I did!) So will have to just ignore the error repeating. Thanks again! Myrdd.
Pages: « 1 ... 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 [636] 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 ... 841 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!