Bitcoin Forum
September 19, 2018, 08:21:29 AM *
News: ♦♦ Bitcoin Core users must update to 0.16.3 [Torrent]. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 [474] 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761859 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442
Merit: 1064



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 02:05:15 AM
 #9461

Running RDP to the mining rig kills the GPU and crash's CGMiner and requires a reboot of the whole mess.  That's been my experience anyway.
Same experience here.  RDP is awful for mining.  I've also found tightvnc works best for win 7.
Does monitoring work via tightvnc?

Yes. ADL works via tightvnc.

RDP causes CCC to crash and ADL calls fail for any aplications using them.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 02:44:02 AM
 #9462

Con was kind enough to send a linux source tarball and a binary...

For now the following will work:


Linux Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/71oid5
Linux Source - http://www.sendspace.com/file/e3e6w8
Windows Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/s14bk2

bcminer9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 06:47:55 AM
 #9463

Con was kind enough to send a linux source tarball and a binary...

For now the following will work:


Linux Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/71oid5
Linux Source - http://www.sendspace.com/file/e3e6w8
Windows Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/s14bk2
There's a Trojan in there...

Type:  Trojan
Systems Affected:  Windows 98, Windows 95, Windows XP, Windows Me, Windows Vista, Windows NT, Windows Server 2003, Windows 2000

Trojan.ADH.2 is a detection technology designed to detect entirely new malware threats without traditional signatures. This technology is aimed at detecting malicious software that has been intentionally mutated or morphed by attackers.



EDIT: just read the first post, kinda sucks diablominer doesn't have a "Trojan", and it works great aside from stratum. ugh :\

EDIT2: Just tried cgminer... had to allow it in Norton internet security, and it still won't work...
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344
Merit: 250


Flixxo - Watch, Share, Earn!


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:31:43 AM
 #9464

Running RDP to the mining rig kills the GPU and crash's CGMiner and requires a reboot of the whole mess.  That's been my experience anyway.
Same experience here.  RDP is awful for mining.  I've also found tightvnc works best for win 7.
Does monitoring work via tightvnc?

Yes. ADL works via tightvnc.

RDP causes CCC to crash and ADL calls fail for any aplications using them.

Or try teamviewer.
It's for Win and *nix and Mac

X       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄██▀▀         ▀▀██▄
  ▄██▀              ▀██▄
 ▄██     ██▄▄          ██▄
▄██      █████▄▄        ██▄
██       ████████▄▄      ██
██       ███████████▄    ██
██       ██████████▀     ██
▀██      ███████▀       ██▀
 ▀██     ████▀         ██▀
  ▀██▄   █▀          ▄██▀
    ▀██▄▄         ▄▄██▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
.flixxo    X▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████▀▀███████
█████▀████░░░░░░▄████
█████░░░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░██████
██████░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░▄████████
████▄▄░░░░▄▄██████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████████▀█▀██████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀████████
██████▄▄░░▄▄▄░░███████
████████░░███░░███████
████████░░░░░░▀███████
████████░░███▄░░██████
██████▀▀░░▀▀▀░░░██████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████▄█▄██████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
X[[]]X
nathanrees19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 10:59:29 AM
 #9465

Norton internet security

That's the real trojan.
ImI
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1890
Merit: 1008



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 12:28:23 PM
 #9466


Does cgminer overrule the fan/voltage/etc settings i have done with the MSI-afterburner?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2646
Merit: 1142


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 01:01:39 PM
 #9467


Does cgminer overrule the fan/voltage/etc settings i have done with the MSI-afterburner?

Only if you give it parameters to change any of the settings, otherwise all it does is monitor the values.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 01:12:48 PM
 #9468

Im not sure why but i tried bfgminer now. It has the same error when trying bfgminer -n but its hashing fine where cgminer gives a black screen. I dont know the reason but at least i can check the hashrates of my gpu now.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:24:45 PM
 #9469

Norton internet security

That's the real trojan.

+1000

Kapz786
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701
Merit: 503



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:32:03 PM
 #9470

Using guiminer w/ cgminer - The ambient temp gets really hot where I live in the afternoon and im normally at work - what is the best way to maintain a target temp.

Can I just put "--auto-gpu 75" into the flags section in guiminer to adjust to temp? Is that how it works?
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 01:34:19 PM
 #9471

Using guiminer w/ cgminer - The ambient temp gets really hot where I live in the afternoon and im normally at work - what is the best way to maintain a target temp.

Can I just put "--auto-gpu 75" into the flags section in guiminer to adjust to temp? Is that how it works?

--auto-gpu doesnt have a value. You should check the normal readme for temperature settings.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 02:08:13 PM
 #9472

Using guiminer w/ cgminer - The ambient temp gets really hot where I live in the afternoon and im normally at work - what is the best way to maintain a target temp.

Can I just put "--auto-gpu 75" into the flags section in guiminer to adjust to temp? Is that how it works?
I don't know why I"m giving you this when I should be telling you to read the README

--auto-fan --auto-gpu --temp-target 75 --gpu-fan 25-100 --gpu-engine 400-XXX (XXX= whatever your overclock is)

Then if you're using 5xxx cards: --gpu-memclock 300
If you're using 6xxx or 7xxx cards: --gpu-memdiff -150

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 03:47:15 PM
 #9473

Using guiminer w/ cgminer - The ambient temp gets really hot where I live in the afternoon and im normally at work - what is the best way to maintain a target temp.

Can I just put "--auto-gpu 75" into the flags section in guiminer to adjust to temp? Is that how it works?

The top post of this thread has all of the information plus the examples you need to do what you want.  Just look at the executive summary section.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
inh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 05:44:50 PM
 #9474

I installed cgminer on arch, but it's segfaulting when I start. I'm using the latest catalyst packages with the xorg113 repo and v2.5 of the SDK.

Any ideas?
Zxian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 07:08:08 PM
 #9475

I'm having a bit of trouble getting cgminer to play nicely with my 7950 and 5830 under Ubuntu 12.04. I understand that mixing 7000 series and 5000 series cards is unsupported and can cause issues with the different SDK revisions, but I'd like to see if it's at all possible to get things working.

I have tried using the pre-built version as well as building from the latest git source.

My Linux is a little rusty, so forgive me if I've made a simple mistake.

I installed the AMD APP SDK v2.5 first (extracted using tar, ran the install script), and then installed v2.7. Did I overwrite the 2.5 install by doing this? Do I need to manually install each SDK and link them myself before building cgminer?

Then I followed the readme instructions to build cgminer. When I run ./cgminer -n I get the following:
Code:
zxian@zxian-bitcoin:~/cgminer/cgminer-build$ ./cgminer -n
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (923.1)
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07] Platform 0 devices: 2
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07]  0       Tahiti
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07]  1       Tahiti
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07] ADL Initialisation Error! Error -1!
 [2013-04-13 11:55:07] 2 GPU devices max detected

There's clearly two things wrong here. First off, the 5830 is not a Tahiti card. Secondly, the ADL seems to fail to initialize (although I do see temperature sensors and fan sensors when I run cgminer).

I think the mis-identification of the second card is leading to my issues when I try to actually mine with it. When I run cgminer, the second card is listed, and I can check all the hardware status. However, the second card activity is zero, but the hash rate seems to be split between the two cards (the 7950 normally gets ~550Mh/s at these settings):
Code:
cgminer version 2.11.4 - Started: [2013-04-13 11:59:02]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):553.1M (avg):549.9Mh/s | A:11  R:0  HW:0  U:5.7/m  WU:5.7/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 53  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.bitcoin.cz diff 1 with stratum as user xXxXxXx
 Block: 011f15f979755f29...  Diff:7.67M  Started: [11:59:02]  Best share: 180
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  73.0C 1069RPM | 276.1M/276.7Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.60/m I: 7
 GPU 1:  29.0C  978RPM | 277.0M/276.8Mh/s | A:6 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.12/m I: 7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Even when I disable the second card, the hash rate is split between the two:
Code:
cgminer version 2.11.4 - Started: [2013-04-13 11:59:02]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):553.2M (avg):552.3Mh/s | A:39  R:0  HW:0  U:6.3/m  WU:6.3/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 107  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.bitcoin.cz diff 1 with stratum as user xXxXxXx
 Block: 011f15f979755f29...  Diff:7.67M  Started: [11:59:02]  Best share: 180
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  72.0C 2304RPM | 553.1M/316.8Mh/s | A:16 R:0 HW:0 U: 2.59/m I: 7
 GPU 1:  30.5C  983RPM | OFF   /240.8Mh/s | A:23 R:0 HW:0 U: 3.72/m I: 7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Could anyone point me in the right direction to get the 5830 properly recognized? Do I need to manually install the v2.5 SDK somewhere and build a second version of cgminer to use with it? Any help would be much appreciated. Like I said, my Linux is rusty, but give me instructions and I can follow them. Smiley
eiswuerfel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 267
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:08:14 PM
 #9476

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer
is down can anyone upload 64bit binary for ubuntu pls?
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 09:10:22 PM
 #9477

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer
is down can anyone upload 64bit binary for ubuntu pls?

Con was kind enough to send a linux source tarball and a binary...

For now the following will work:


Linux Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/71oid5
Linux Source - http://www.sendspace.com/file/e3e6w8
Windows Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/s14bk2

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:28:36 PM
 #9478

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer
is down can anyone upload 64bit binary for ubuntu pls?

Con was kind enough to send a linux source tarball and a binary...

For now the following will work:


Linux Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/71oid5
Linux Source - http://www.sendspace.com/file/e3e6w8
Windows Binary - http://www.sendspace.com/file/s14bk2

Thanks Kraken

WeTradeCoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 11:26:04 PM
 #9479

link removed, plz use http://www.sendspace.com/file/s14bk2

www.WeMineLTC.com   0% FEE |   PPLNS  |   SSL  |   STRATUM  |  FULL DDoS PROTECTION LTC POOL!!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1053


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 12:03:37 AM
 #9480

I have uploaded the latest cgminer to dropbox and deposit files for whoever needs it! Links

https://bitcointalk.org/
Please don't.
Remove the link thanks.
JWU42 is well known and ckolivas supplied him directly with the files he has listed.
We don't want other's passing out links to cgminer.
Thanks.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 [474] 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!