Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2019, 11:39:04 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 [483] 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5771860 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
uniman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:54:28 PM
 #9641

Hello Folks,

I'm running cgminer 3.0.1 on Ubuntu 12.04 with AMD APP SDK 2.4.  I'm using whatever proprietary driver installs by default with either a 5450 or 6850 video card.

I have in the recent past been able to successfully use the 5450 and the above software with Slush's pool.  Although rather unimpressive at a doddering 10MHash/S, this setup does indeed work.  However, when i try this with the 6850 I have problems.

The basic problem is that although cgminer says the 6850 is humping along at about 190 MHash/S, neither Slush's pool or 50btc report any shares returned.  If I turn on debug mode while cgminer is executing, every few minutes I will see the following sequence of messages: "GPU 0 found something?" then "OCL NONCE nnnnnnnnnnnnn found in slot 0" then "GPU0 invalid nonce" and finally "Discarded cloned or rolled work."  I've been attempting to study the source code myself and have found where these messages are coming from, but do not presently understand the code well enough to solve my problem.

Although I saw the "invalid nonce" message long ago, I was hoping that given the bazillions of hashes that are being calculated, surely a handful of hardware errors would be of no concern.  However, I've since amended my guess such that this error sequence occurs when I should have a share ready to report, but something about it flunks a test, due to a hardware error.  Hence the entire share is no good and thus nothing is ever reported back to the pools I'm using.

Any insight about this would be greatly appreciated.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1548157144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548157144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548157144
Reply with quote  #2

1548157144
Report to moderator
1548157144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548157144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548157144
Reply with quote  #2

1548157144
Report to moderator
1548157144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548157144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548157144
Reply with quote  #2

1548157144
Report to moderator
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:01:44 PM
 #9642

has something changed?

cgminer 3.0.1
fresh from github, compiles fine and
Code:
scrypt...............: Enabled


if I run

Code:
$ ./cgminer --scrypt -o....etc

I get :
Code:
cgminer: --scrypt: unrecognized option

 Huh

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:12:10 PM
 #9643

Don't you have to build it to include scrypt?

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:21:11 PM
 #9644

Don't you have to build it to include scrypt?

I  did and this is what "scrypt...............: Enabled"  means Smiley


While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:04:41 PM
 #9645

That's what I get for not reading.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 674
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:11:05 PM
 #9646

When stopping cgminer there are some garbage characters at the end:
Code:
[2013-04-25 23:06:14] New blocks detected on network: 1

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] Summary of per device statistics:

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] GPU0                | (5s):0.000 (avg):74.41Mh/s | A:1 R:
m I: 6
 [2013-04S-h2u5t d2o3w:n0 6s:i1g4n]a lS trreacteuimv ecdo.n
ne
I suspect that this only happens with stratum pools.
Other than that cgminer is working fine. No problems.

ProfNova
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:57:47 PM
 #9647

Just updated to version 3.0.1 my 7970 runs fine but my 5770 just gives error.
invalid nonce - HW error.

I'm using ccc version 13.4 on windows 7 64bit.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 11:16:01 PM
 #9648

One of the limiting factors for Litecoin mining speed is the amount of memory that can be allocated by the OpenCL process. Currently, there is a limitation that OpenCL processes can allocate a maximum of 2GB. That limitation is slated to be removed in the next release of the APP SDK: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/166292

That means, at least in theory, that anyone with a GPU that has more than 2GB per core should be able to raise their combination of thead-concurrency and gpu-threads to fill up even more GPU memory, possibly resulting in higher hash rates.

Does cgminer impose any limits on the amount of OpenCL memory it tries to allocate, or does it just pass the parameters to the SDK?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 11:45:13 PM
 #9649

Does cgminer impose any limits on the amount of OpenCL memory it tries to allocate
no

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1068


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 01:46:55 AM
 #9650

When stopping cgminer there are some garbage characters at the end:
Code:
[2013-04-25 23:06:14] New blocks detected on network: 1

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] Summary of per device statistics:

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] GPU0                | (5s):0.000 (avg):74.41Mh/s | A:1 R:
m I: 6
 [2013-04S-h2u5t d2o3w:n0 6s:i1g4n]a lS trreacteuimv ecdo.n
ne
I suspect that this only happens with stratum pools.
Other than that cgminer is working fine. No problems.
curses ...

It says:
 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] Stratum conne (plus whatever you chopped off)
Shut down signal received.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kujina
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 02:05:29 AM
 #9651

Hi!

Any chance cgminer will support voltage control of "Boost Edition" 79xx cards in the near future? I have a msi 7950 Twin Frozr III (3GD5/OC BE) card that is voltage unlocked but only the latest v3.0.0 Beta 9 of MSI Afterburner will actually change the voltage (and Sapphire Trixx too). For example Afterburner 2.3.1 lets you adjust the voltage but it doesn't actually change it. I've tried to change the voltage in cgminer 3.0.1 but it doesn't actually change it (did try drivers 12.8, 13.1, & 13.4).
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1068


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 02:13:21 AM
 #9652

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 02:15:16 AM
 #9653

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/

Get to work on the driver then you lazy sod.
* ckolivas tosses kano some peanuts

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:37:30 AM
 #9654

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/


When are you putting the code into git so I can get a hold of it, Josh said there should be one in the mail for me as well, I will be your verify if you want Cheesy .

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:39:46 AM
 #9655

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/


When are you putting the code into git so I can get a hold of it, Josh said there should be one in the mail for me as well, I will be your verify if you want Cheesy .
Hackathon is underway. As soon as the code is in git master and working, I will inform the forum.

EDIT: I've received one too now.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:48:26 AM
 #9656

EDIT: I've received one too now

I am jealous!  Who is it shipped through?

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:49:36 AM
 #9657

EDIT: I've received one too now

I am jealous!  Who is it shipped through?
Fedex

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 26, 2013, 04:10:24 AM
 #9658

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago
EDIT: I've received one too now.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
bobbobobbo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 04:18:45 AM
Last edit: April 26, 2013, 09:12:27 AM by bobbobobbo
 #9659

Can anyone help me with a noob question? I know my setup is common so maybe someone can chime in with their ideal parameters..

I have 3x Sapphire 7950s 100352-4l, attempting to mine litecoin.

I have powertune set to +20. I'm looking for the OC clock speeds as well as the full CGminer input.

I've been entering and testing a ton. I can't seem to get it dialed in right..

edit:: I found this thread very helpful. will test tomorrow.
https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,620.15.html
https://github.com/litecoin-project/litecoin/wiki/Mining-hardware-comparison
ProfNova
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 08:55:37 AM
 #9660

Just updated to version 3.0.1 my 7970 runs fine but my 5770 just gives error.
invalid nonce - HW error.

I'm using ccc version 13.4 on windows 7 64bit.

Anyone have any idea how to fix this issue?
Pages: « 1 ... 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 [483] 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!