Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2017, 09:08:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 [624] 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 ... 834 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5220983 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 05:07:49 PM
 #12461

New chipsets take time to be supported in *nix (and presumably libusb originates in *nix, translating to Windows).  It's unfortunate, but a reality.  That having been said, the easiest way to confirm a problem is a chipset vs libusb problem would be to try to run the cgminer binaries off of a live distro (presumably the same OS & version in use by the developers).  If cgminer doesn't detect the device there, it's definietly due to the version of libusb included with cgminer.  Also unfortunate, many other libusb versions cause mining problems as seen earlier in this thread, so even if the developer's OS of choice can detect the device on your machine, that doesn't mean cgminer can use it and be stable.  Presumably you would have to hack and compile on your own to be able to have cgminer use a newer libusb whilst not being stable.  Beyond that, all you can do in this scenario is hope that a future version of libusb comes out that is stable for mining, which also requires hoping the developers are trying new libusb versions.  However, the live distro test would at least allow you to know that so you don't waste additional time troubleshooting.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498338505
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498338505

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498338505
Reply with quote  #2

1498338505
Report to moderator
1498338505
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498338505

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498338505
Reply with quote  #2

1498338505
Report to moderator
1498338505
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498338505

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498338505
Reply with quote  #2

1498338505
Report to moderator
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 05:10:33 PM
 #12462

New chipsets take time to be supported in *nix (and presumably libusb originates in *nix, translating to Windows).  It's unfortunate, but a reality.  That having been said, the easiest way to confirm a problem is a chipset vs libusb problem would be to try to run the cgminer binaries off of a live distro (presumably the same OS & version in use by the developers).  If cgminer doesn't detect the device there, it's definietly due to the version of libusb included with cgminer.  Also unfortunate, many other libusb versions cause mining problems as seen earlier in this thread, so even if the developer's OS of choice can detect the device on your machine, that doesn't mean cgminer can use it and be stable.  Presumably you would have to hack and compile on your own to be able to have cgminer use a newer libusb whilst not being stable.  Beyond that, all you can do in this scenario is hope that a future version of libusb comes out that is stable for mining, which also requires hoping the developers are trying new libusb versions.  However, the live distro test would at least allow you to know that so you don't waste additional time troubleshooting.

Linux and I don't mix well.  Last time I tried it, one of us had to go, and you see who's still here.

I intend to try 3.1.1 which uses COM drivers and see if I can get it working that way.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 293


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 05:35:20 PM
 #12463

Was 3.1.1 the last version to support COM functionality?

Oh, and side note: mdude, your sig is out of date. Smiley

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 07:13:41 PM
 #12464

I intend to try 3.1.1 which uses COM drivers and see if I can get it working that way.
Hopefully that works.  While it doesn't prove that the issue is compatibility between your chipset and libusb, it is an easier way to narrow things down significantly and a potential workaround at the same time.
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 07:20:40 PM
 #12465

Unofficial Mac binaries updated to 3.4.3 at http://spaceman.ca/cgminer.
Cheesy

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 07:24:26 PM
 #12466

Was 3.1.1 the last version to support COM functionality?

Oh, and side note: mdude, your sig is out of date. Smiley

I think 3.1.1 was the last version to use COM.  I was using it on my mining rigs until very recently.

Thanks for the reminder on my sig, I fixed it.  One neat thing about sigs here is it always shows your current one.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 07:55:31 PM
 #12467

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
DrGuns4Hands
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 10:59:36 PM
 #12468

Just compiled from the git running good so far no issues no zombies. I did notice during the configure step that a line popped up showing

./configure: line 11925: -pthread: command not found

seems to be working without it ,but what would i need to get to fix this part.

Raspberry Pi Raspbian Wheezy 7.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 11:02:47 PM
 #12469

Just compiled from the git running good so far no issues no zombies. I did notice during the configure step that a line popped up showing

./configure: line 11925: -pthread: command not found

seems to be working without it ,but what would i need to get to fix this part.

Raspberry Pi Raspbian Wheezy 7.
Nothing, it's a normal part of the libusb check.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 11:19:53 PM
 #12470

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
As the screen error message says ... and the README, FPGA-README and ASIC-README says - the WinUSB driver

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
The Mafia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 11:28:08 PM
 #12471

After having a similar issue (moving from 3.1.1 to 3.4.0) and cigminer not seeing devices, I formatted and reinstalled windows and installed the winusb driver only and the devices detected again.
vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 06:56:36 AM
 #12472

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
As the screen error message says ... and the README, FPGA-README and ASIC-README says - the WinUSB driver

Ok, thanks kano, I have done this and still after 30 mins or so 2 of my erupters turn into zombies.  Does this mean that the driver needs to be installed on all the erupters or do I just do it once?
martinm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 10:29:35 AM
 #12473

Hello ck,
Hello Kano,

I've a question related to the identification of a device in cgminer and the a hardware device. As I'm currently about to develop a application that creates statistics for every device, it's essential to have a clear mapping between hardware device and the related device in cgminer for that. Previously I thought that the combination of the Device Type (GPU/BAS/AVA/....) and ID provided from cgminer could achieve that task, I had the hope it works as long the devices are connected to the same Port(USB/PCE...). Unfortunately I discovered that's not right. During the run of CGMiner I unplugged an Avalon from the USBPort and reconnected after a short time. After the reconnect the Id changed from AVA0 to AVA1. Now I'm questioning myself, how I can achieve the unique identification of a hardware device by reported data from CGMiner. I hope you can give me some advice!

Thany you very much in advance 
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile
September 14, 2013, 01:17:32 PM
 #12474

Does anyone know a good way to cross compile libudev, so I could keep on cross compiling cgminer for ARM? I had no trouble compiling libncurses and libusb previously, but it looks like libudev has been integrated to the massive systemd project. Obviously I don't need to compile the whole systemd, but I just can't figure out how to compile libudev only.
You can't just install libudev development library?

I tried that first, but the configure script doesn't pick it up, presumably because I need to have a version compiled for arm. I'm no cross compilation expert, but that's what worked for me with libusb and libncurses. I downloaded those libraries, cross compiled them for arm and installed them to a specific directory. After pointing the configure script to search for libs and headers from that directory, the dependencies were detected.

If you have managed to cross compile cgminer without having to cross compile libudev too, I'm obviously doing something wrong here.

I'll answer myself, hopefully this helps someone else trying to cross compile.

I downloaded udev_175.orig.tar.bz2 from Debian repositories, and cross compiled it with --disable-gudev and --disable-introspection flags (to cut down the list of dependencies). I didn't have to install the whole package to my arm-linux-gnueabihf directory, make install-libLTLIBRARIES install-pkgconfigDATA install-includeHEADERS was enough.

I now have a working cross compilation system again. Only curl, ncurses & libudev had to be manually compiled. Didn't have to dive into the dependency hell of systemd after all Smiley
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 03:02:20 PM
 #12475

Hello ck,
Hello Kano,

I've a question related to the identification of a device in cgminer and the a hardware device. As I'm currently about to develop a application that creates statistics for every device, it's essential to have a clear mapping between hardware device and the related device in cgminer for that. Previously I thought that the combination of the Device Type (GPU/BAS/AVA/....) and ID provided from cgminer could achieve that task, I had the hope it works as long the devices are connected to the same Port(USB/PCE...). Unfortunately I discovered that's not right. During the run of CGMiner I unplugged an Avalon from the USBPort and reconnected after a short time. After the reconnect the Id changed from AVA0 to AVA1. Now I'm questioning myself, how I can achieve the unique identification of a hardware device by reported data from CGMiner. I hope you can give me some advice!

Thany you very much in advance 
Avalon has no information in the device at all - I think that's something those guys like doing Tongue Icarus has nothing useful either.

Any device that has an iSerial that isn't constant would be one way to detect 2 devices being the same one that hotplugged later.

But with Avalon it's not possible - so if you unplug 2 and then plug them back in, there's no USB information to say which was which before.
The devices that don't have an iSerial, or have the same iSerial, are: AVA, AMU, BFL FPGA, MMQ
AsicMiner USBs can be reprogrammed to fix it
I've no idea what the ATI library supplies for GPUs but I'd guess nothing useful either.

These devices don't have this stupid problem: BFL SC, BLT, BTB

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 03:05:07 PM
 #12476

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
As the screen error message says ... and the README, FPGA-README and ASIC-README says - the WinUSB driver

Ok, thanks kano, I have done this and still after 30 mins or so 2 of my erupters turn into zombies.  Does this mean that the driver needs to be installed on all the erupters or do I just do it once?
They wont work at all without the right driver, you'll get an error from cgminer on the screen saying to use the WinUSB driver for devices that don't have it.
Zombies means either you're not using the current cgminer, they are overheating, you've got USB cable/hub/3.0 problems or ... who knows.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Lantis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 03:41:46 PM
 #12477


erm.. bump?

I managed to compile cgminer in Android and trying to run it in my SGS4 with opencl, and I have some problems running it (spare me the "why bother" response, I think running cgminer in my phone is kinda cool, and with the advancement of GPUs in the mobile space, you'll never know  Grin)

Anyway-- running cgminer -n gives me:

Code:
[2013-09-13 12:07:15] CL Platform 0 vendor: QUALCOMM
[2013-09-13 12:07:15] CL Platform 0 name : QUALCOMM Snapdragon(TM)
[2013-09-13 12:07:15] CL Platform 0 name : OpenCL 1.1 QUALCOMM build:   (CL3579225)
Build Date: 04/22/13 Mon
Local Branch: adreno_sba_20130419
Remote Branch:
Local Patches:
Reconstruct Branch:
[2013-09-13 12:07:15] Platform 0 devices: 1
[2013-09-13 12:07:15] 0          QUALCOMM Adreno(TM)
[2013-09-13 12:07:15] 1 GPU devices max detected

So it should be ok, right?  But trying to run cgminer with the usual parameters (--scrypt -o <host:port> -u <username> -p <password>) gives me:
Code:
[2013-09-13 12:08:12] Started cgminer 3.1.1
[2013-09-13 12:08:12] Probing for an alive pool
Assertion failed: !spillIs.empty() && "No spill intervals?", file vendor/qcom/proprietary/gles/adreno200/llvm/lib/CodeGen/QGPURegAlloc.cpp, line 2628

I compiled cgminer with OpenCL Adreno SDK instead of AMD SDK (for obvious reasons).

BTC : 162vF41ycBjZDWkZv1eouiaki4zxZ8PEmt
LTC : LackB1YdYLxqRpiYqvWfAzxViDe5WFjpMs
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 11:33:53 PM
 #12478


erm.. bump?

...
No answer clearly means you have to sort it out yourself.

The GPU code is written to work with ATI library supported cards with specific drivers.

If you want to it work with others, you'll be modifying the CL and/or GPU driver.
However, it is a complete waste of time, since it will be a complete waste of electricity.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Oldminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 03:49:01 AM
 #12479

Running 3.4.3 but notice now (it seems this issue goes back a few versions) that the accepted blocks field now shows the latest difficulty (x number of blocks found it seems) instead of total block count? Anyone got a fix for this?



Heres another screnshot of cgminer with some weird ass numbers...





If you like my post please feel free to give me some positive rep https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=trust;u=18639
Tip me BTC: 1FBmoYijXVizfYk25CpiN8Eds9J6YiRDaX
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 04:52:01 AM
 #12480

Running 3.4.3 but notice now (it seems this issue goes back a few versions) that the accepted blocks field now shows the latest difficulty (x number of blocks found it seems) instead of total block count? Anyone got a fix for this?

Not sure what coin you're mining, but on the bitcoin network, cgminer now shows the number of "diff 1 shares" found for the accepted field.  So, if you're pool has a higher share difficulty, the counter will increase by whatever the difficulty of the associated job was each time a share is found.

That's not a bug.  If you really want the number of actual shares found (even though they are not as useful in a world that is moving towards variable difficulty mining), you can get them from the API.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Pages: « 1 ... 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 [624] 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 ... 834 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!