Bitcoin Forum
November 13, 2018, 07:57:47 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 [624] 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 ... 846 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5766263 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mruiter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 02:53:15 PM
 #12461

No idea then sorry. Perhaps your Pi is coincidentally failing or as you say, some upgraded other package is responsible.

I was able t get a screen cap of the error when the system locks up



I'm not sure what this error means but I'm leaning towards that there was some kind of disk access error. Perhaps the SD card on my Pi is corrupted?

Just compiled the 3.4.3 this morning. To see if my USB issues with Eruptors where fixed.
I Was very pleased to see everything working without errors at max speed.

But i seem to have te same problem on my Raspberry Pi with Deb Weezy.
It crasheds at random , but Always around 25 minutes or so.

No bad SD, faulty hardware or so. I have three Pi's and all three have the same issue when using cgminer 3.4.3 and bfgminer runs like a charm.
I now, keep using that, but i like cgminer more, stopt using it when the libusb issue came on and i wan't it back Wink

❘|❘ ICONOMI  Fund Management Platform
  LINK TO ICO | LINK TO DISCUSSION
1542095867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542095867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542095867
Reply with quote  #2

1542095867
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542095867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542095867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542095867
Reply with quote  #2

1542095867
Report to moderator
1542095867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542095867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542095867
Reply with quote  #2

1542095867
Report to moderator
kentt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 04:19:10 PM
 #12462

100% CPU problem.  I'm using Xubuntu 12.04, scrypt mining with 6x7950s cgminer 3.4.2.  The causes the rig to lock up after a few hours.
top gives me
Code:
  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                                                           
 1791 xxx  20   0 1485m 119m  56m S   92  0.5  10:16.21 cgminer                                                                                           
   10 root      20   0     0    0    0 S   54  0.0   6:06.87 ksoftirqd/1                                                                                       
    3 root      20   0     0    0    0 R   54  0.0   5:56.12 ksoftirqd/0 


Any ideas as to how to get the CPU load down.
When I had that problem or at least a similar problem I was building from GIT while the files where in flux. This happened on a raspberry pi with raspbian not Ubuntu but the high irqd and very high processor seem like that. Any chance you built from GIT?
I didn't build from GIT.  I just grabbed the compiled off of http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/
I did see your problem and solution a few pages back. Thanks for responding.
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 06:03:20 PM
 #12463

Running 3.4.3 but notice now (it seems this issue goes back a few versions) that the accepted blocks field now shows the latest difficulty (x number of blocks found it seems) instead of total block count? Anyone got a fix for this?

Not sure what coin you're mining, but on the bitcoin network, cgminer now shows the number of "diff 1 shares" found for the accepted field.  So, if you're pool has a higher share difficulty, the counter will increase by whatever the difficulty of the associated job was each time a share is found.

That's not a bug.  If you really want the number of actual shares found (even though they are not as useful in a world that is moving towards variable difficulty mining), you can get them from the API.

He appears to be solo mining so there really isnt "accepted" shares.  When he finds a block, his accepted shares are of that of how many coins were in that block.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 12:47:16 AM
 #12464

mwsock.dll ... hmm I wonder how many times that's been reported in here ... and your not running the latest version Smiley

I have now updated to 3.4.3. I just searched through this thread and didn't seem to find any solutions for fixing the mwsock.dll issue. Any thoughts?
Unfortunately we have no solution for a microsoft provided dll crashing. It should not be possible for our software to crash the dll unless there's a bug in the dll. The only suggestions are checking you have the latest dll and there are no virus/trojans that have attached to it.

I've been using windows and troubleshooting windows problems long enough to know that the DLL that "crashed" is regularly not the DLL with the problem.  I think the error reporting mechanism from windows is flawed (imagine that), and it's a routine that's calling winsock that is the problem, not winsock.  Thinking through it, a possible example would be a multithreaded app crashing while one thread is in winsock.  Or it could be winsock crashing when trying to perform a requested call back to the owning app.

I've also seen this type of misleading error message when DLL #1 needs DLL #2.  The error message will state DLL #1 isn't found, and when you look, you'll see DLL #1 is there.  The reality is DLL #1 is looking for DLL #2 and not finding it, but the error message only captures part of the info is gives misleading info.

Overall, I don't believe this is a mswinsock issue.  It's probably not a cgminer issue either, per se, but one of the 3rd party DLLs you are using that is calling mswinsock.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 12:51:22 AM
 #12465

Hmm. Thing is, the stratum code is all done raw now, not using any other libraries precisely because I had problems with libcurl and friends. So the code does raw socket calls which directly use winsock calls. So the problem is either in cgminer or the MS dll.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 01:17:56 AM
 #12466

Hmm. Thing is, the stratum code is all done raw now, not using any other libraries precisely because I had problems with libcurl and friends. So the code does raw socket calls which directly use winsock calls. So the problem is either in cgminer or the MS dll.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I doubt it's the winsock dll.  A lot of programs use that, and if there was a native problem in there, we'd be getting crashes elsewhere from other apps.

Since you code in linux for linux, and port to Windows, what's doing the conversion of your code to what windows uses?  From my experience, problems that make themselves apparent after a period of time indicate a memory leak (a), a multithreaded issue (b), or an unmanaged code issue (c). 

(a) should be apparent by increased memory usage or your internal memory leak testing (which I think I've seen you guys say you have)
(b) is awful to troubleshoot.  such problems are caused by different multithreading problems like race conditions or deadly embraces
(c) is generally code accessing memory regions that it shouldn't be accessing, like exceeding an array boundary

(b) and (c) are particularly troublesome because the problem may not always cause a symptom and the OS might not always detect it and clamp down on the offending app

third party code analyzers are the best way to spot these for complex code.  But if there are third party libraries involved, I doubt the code analyzers would be able to detect such things.

somehow I doubt I'm telling you anything you don't already know though.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 01:27:34 AM
 #12467

Hmm. Thing is, the stratum code is all done raw now, not using any other libraries precisely because I had problems with libcurl and friends. So the code does raw socket calls which directly use winsock calls. So the problem is either in cgminer or the MS dll.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I doubt it's the winsock dll.  A lot of programs use that, and if there was a native problem in there, we'd be getting crashes elsewhere from other apps.
Yes a lot use the winsock dll. Note the issue is in mswsock.dll though, and it is actually very rare that applications use raw sockets on windows so I wouldn't say it's quite the same - firefox only recently started using it and lo and behold it's been getting crashes in the same library. Nonetheless, logically my code which is always in heavy development is far more likely to be at fault than an OS provided library (though we've been burnt by that enough already to know it's not impossible). Every attempt so far to get debugging with a full debug build, it always ends up crashing with an overflow in mswsock.dll though, so not sure where to go next...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 01:34:19 AM
 #12468

mwsock.dll ... hmm I wonder how many times that's been reported in here ... and your not running the latest version Smiley

I have now updated to 3.4.3. I just searched through this thread and didn't seem to find any solutions for fixing the mwsock.dll issue. Any thoughts?
Unfortunately we have no solution for a microsoft provided dll crashing. It should not be possible for our software to crash the dll unless there's a bug in the dll. The only suggestions are checking you have the latest dll and there are no virus/trojans that have attached to it.

I've been using windows and troubleshooting windows problems long enough to know that the DLL that "crashed" is regularly not the DLL with the problem.  I think the error reporting mechanism from windows is flawed (imagine that), and it's a routine that's calling winsock that is the problem, not winsock.  Thinking through it, a possible example would be a multithreaded app crashing while one thread is in winsock.  Or it could be winsock crashing when trying to perform a requested call back to the owning app.

I've also seen this type of misleading error message when DLL #1 needs DLL #2.  The error message will state DLL #1 isn't found, and when you look, you'll see DLL #1 is there.  The reality is DLL #1 is looking for DLL #2 and not finding it, but the error message only captures part of the info is gives misleading info.

Overall, I don't believe this is a mswinsock issue.  It's probably not a cgminer issue either, per se, but one of the 3rd party DLLs you are using that is calling mswinsock.

M
... of course there are other possibilities as I came across with libusb ...

I am doing something with libusb that ... it would appear ... no one else on the planet does?

Running a multi-threaded application to many devices through the libusb library that states it is thread safe.
However, it is not thread safe.
I found that the comments on the libusb site that stated it was thread safe in fact suggested to me that it wasn't.
One of the libusb fixes was indeed to make libusb calls thread safe in cgminer using locks.

So ... a mining application that is talking to many pools at once through a single dll that "May" be thread safe, might actually NOT be thread safe and since it may be indeed rare for applications to do this on their own, it may be that cgminer is the rare case finding the problem ...

Of course it MAY not be - but certainly no proof to discount it at this stage.

Edit: of course I am replying to this also:
Hmm. Thing is, the stratum code is all done raw now, not using any other libraries precisely because I had problems with libcurl and friends. So the code does raw socket calls which directly use winsock calls. So the problem is either in cgminer or the MS dll.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I doubt it's the winsock dll.  A lot of programs use that, and if there was a native problem in there, we'd be getting crashes elsewhere from other apps.
...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 01:51:51 AM
 #12469

Hmm. Thing is, the stratum code is all done raw now, not using any other libraries precisely because I had problems with libcurl and friends. So the code does raw socket calls which directly use winsock calls. So the problem is either in cgminer or the MS dll.

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but I doubt it's the winsock dll.  A lot of programs use that, and if there was a native problem in there, we'd be getting crashes elsewhere from other apps.
Yes a lot use the winsock dll. Note the issue is in mswsock.dll though, and it is actually very rare that applications use raw sockets on windows so I wouldn't say it's quite the same - firefox only recently started using it and lo and behold it's been getting crashes in the same library. Nonetheless, logically my code which is always in heavy development is far more likely to be at fault than an OS provided library (though we've been burnt by that enough already to know it's not impossible). Every attempt so far to get debugging with a full debug build, it always ends up crashing with an overflow in mswsock.dll though, so not sure where to go next...

Firefox is under continual development as well.  socket coding isn't simple, especially windows socket coding.  I personally have not seen any app crashes with firefox, and that's all I use.  if it is indeed a problem with winsock, for microsoft to address it you'll need to be able to provide poc code that causes the crash. 

Kano: would it help if I changed my cgminer instance to not have any backup pools?  then it's only communicating with one pool. 

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 01:58:50 AM
 #12470

I'm not sure of the threading level within stratum when on a single pool.
ckolivas will know the answer to that.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 02:45:34 AM
 #12471

I'm not sure of the threading level within stratum when on a single pool.
ckolivas will know the answer to that.
All writes are done from one thread. All reads are done from one thread. Therefore there is no chance of there being a race on reads or a race on writes. I very much doubt windows has an issue of writing and reading the same socket at the same time, nor would there be a problem using two different sockets at the same time. Debugging points to something in socket code, possibly on reconnecting or trying to communicate with a backup pool. I keep auditing the code and come up none the wiser, but I will continue to do so, or give up entirely and stop supporting windows (yeah right, 85% of cgminer users are on windows sigh).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 17, 2013, 02:52:36 AM
 #12472

I'm not sure of the threading level within stratum when on a single pool.
ckolivas will know the answer to that.
All writes are done from one thread. All reads are done from one thread. Therefore there is no chance of there being a race on reads or a race on writes. I very much doubt windows has an issue of writing and reading the same socket at the same time, nor would there be a problem using two different sockets at the same time. Debugging points to something in socket code, possibly on reconnecting or trying to communicate with a backup pool. I keep auditing the code and come up none the wiser, but I will continue to do so, or give up entirely and stop supporting windows (yeah right, 85% of cgminer users are on windows sigh).

So... would it be useful to run w/o a backup pool to see if the problem persists?  FYI I've only had it happen once.  But I regularly only let it run 24 hours before I restart it for one reason or another.  Until recently.  I'm remote from my miners for a bit ... from the looks of things my erupters ran for about 3 days before crashing.  I'm hoping my wife can restart it, but it's asking too much to get a screenshot of the error.  Last time I had the crash it was after 36 hours.  And my machine with only 2 erupters is still running.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 03:03:44 AM
 #12473

So... would it be useful to run w/o a backup pool to see if the problem persists? 
It certainly would not hurt to try. I have yet to upload debug builds of 3.4.3 and will do so later today, but the underlying stratum code has not changed since 3.4.2, it just had added features rather than changing the codebase.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The Mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 03:22:25 AM
 #12474

Is there anything I can help with?

I know you're a big fan of Linux, but you've done extremely well with the windows version of cgminer. The reason I am running windows is because I have a HP N40L server with a remote access card that doesn't support the linux GUI at all so it was extremely slow.

The HP N40L server ($200 micro server) is a great little unit, the remote access card allows me to remote into it even if it is switched off, or hard locked.

Its running Windows 7 x64 and cgminer 3.4.3.

Once windows was installed, I didn't even need to install drivers because they are all natively supported and there are none to install.

I copied on cgminer, and create a quick batch file, and boom, 25 block erupters and a Butterfly labs 7gh/s unit all work without an issue.

I do experience that crash where it just says "cgminer has stopped working". A quick reboot and its up again.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 03:29:21 AM
 #12475

Is there anything I can help with?
I do experience that crash where it just says "cgminer has stopped working". A quick reboot and its up again.
Thanks. I'll keep you posted when I upload the latest debug build and I'll get you to follow the instructions on how to get debugging information from it.

You can read the instructions and get prepared here, but they're only cgminer 3.4.2 for the moment:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The Mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 03:40:16 AM
 #12476

No worries - I've done this before for you, happy to do it again.

Let me know when you have 3.4.3 ready
erk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 04:09:47 AM
 #12477

Unofficial Mac binaries updated to 3.4.3 at http://spaceman.ca/cgminer.
Cheesy

Just tried them on a Mac Mini with Snow Leopard and a single Block Erupter USB, give the USB timeout errors:

Code:
[2013-09-17 14:00:28] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:30] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:32] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:34] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:36] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:37] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-09-17 14:00:38] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1998ms but was 100ms


Hardware is ok with bfgminer compiled from github.

kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2632
Merit: 1059


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 17, 2013, 04:28:40 AM
 #12478

No doubt my usbfail.c test would show that libusb not working either ....

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 05:15:50 AM
 #12479

Unofficial Mac binaries updated to 3.4.3 at http://spaceman.ca/cgminer.
Cheesy

Just tried them on a Mac Mini with Snow Leopard and a single Block Erupter USB, give the USB timeout errors:

Code:
[2013-09-17 14:00:28] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:30] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:32] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:34] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:36] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1999ms but was 100ms
 [2013-09-17 14:00:37] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-09-17 14:00:38] AMU0: TIMEOUT GetResults took 1998ms but was 100ms
Was there ever a version this didn't happen on? If not, we're kinda screwed until a better libusb for osx comes out since this is a libusb bug which is mostly addressed in the linux and windows versions, yet you're compiling against the same libusb version now (which is included statically in the cgminer source tree now).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1145


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2013, 08:27:06 AM
 #12480

No worries - I've done this before for you, happy to do it again.

Let me know when you have 3.4.3 ready
New debug executables uploaded.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 [624] 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 ... 846 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!