Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2019, 03:47:53 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 [423] 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5782412 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 3 users deleted.)
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1022



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2012, 10:59:00 PM
 #8441

Just had 2.10.0 fail to failover on me.  My configured pools are:

stratum+tcp://us1.eclipsemc.com:3333
stratum+tcp://us2.eclipsemc.com:3333
stratum+tcp://eustratum.ozco.in:3333
http://api.mining.cz:8332

api.mining.cz doesn't exist. use api.bitcoin.cz instead. Or, preferably, "stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333"

1555602473
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555602473

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555602473
Reply with quote  #2

1555602473
Report to moderator
1555602473
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555602473

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555602473
Reply with quote  #2

1555602473
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555602473
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555602473

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555602473
Reply with quote  #2

1555602473
Report to moderator
1555602473
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555602473

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555602473
Reply with quote  #2

1555602473
Report to moderator
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 13, 2012, 11:19:20 PM
 #8442

api.mining.cz doesn't exist. use api.bitcoin.cz instead. Or, preferably, "stratum+tcp://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333"

Sorry, I had a brain error when typing that, but I am indeed using http://api.bitcoin.cz:8332 (which auto-upgrades to Stratum anyway)

I'll switch to the using the stratum+tcp URL if that's prefered.

roy
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1008


/dev/null


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 02:19:28 AM
 #8443

I've just made cgminer 2.10.0 at Raspberry Pi to drive my Cairnsmore CM1.
Looks like it performs a bit better than the same version on Win7 at i7-2600K.
normal, its linux Wink

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
monstrs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 548
Merit: 504



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 06:20:08 AM
 #8444

Performance for me exactly like 2.9.x versions.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 08:30:00 AM
 #8445

I tried the debugging-Version of cgminer.exe which ended with this Access Violation:
Quote
cgminer.exe caused an Access Violation at location 65722074 Reading from location 65722074.

Registers:
eax=00000000 ebx=0028fa58 ecx=74e92e09 edx=00000000 esi=00000002 edi=00000000
eip=65722074 esp=0028fa24 ebp=0028faa4 iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na po nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010206

Call stack:
65722074
07F32A67
74FD1A2C  kernel32.dll:74FD1A2C  WaitForMultipleObjectsEx
74FD4220  kernel32.dll:74FD4220  WaitForMultipleObjects
6248320B  pthreadGC2.dll:6248320B  pthreadCancelableTimedWait

I guess this won't help you very much?

I went back to Version 2.8.7 and it works like a charm on stratum...
You only get a windows+stratum crash after 2.8.7?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 08:31:53 AM
 #8446

Performance for me exactly like 2.9.x versions.
Which is good because that's what it's supposed to be. Performance with current hardware (i.e. no asics) should have maximised with stratum support already. The changes in 2.10 are for the future.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 08:33:35 AM
 #8447

It would appear that the latest version of cgminer still has no provision for mining different devices as different usernames and I need to run multiple copies of cgminer to accomplish this.  Is this understanding accurate?
That's correct.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 08:36:03 AM
Last edit: December 14, 2012, 08:51:23 AM by ckolivas
 #8448

He stated earlier that he's using Gentoo (woohoo!).

AFAIK, there are no native cuda kernels for cgminer.


I thought there were *nix versions of those utilities.

Didn't CGMiner used to have CUDA support??  Not that it matters this late in the game.
The only openCL implementation for nvidia devices is through the cuda driver, meaning it goes cgminer->opencl->cuda->GPU. There is no way to do native cgminer->cuda->GPU. It's not at all worth it since the performance is identical, and they earn no money and GPU mining is on the way out. Throw me 1000 BTC and I'll make you a native cuda version, but it's not going to be of any advantage.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 08:53:18 AM
Last edit: December 14, 2012, 09:21:39 AM by ckolivas
 #8449

Bug report:

Not sure if there is a place I should report bugs or if this bug has been reported but I can't be bothered to find out so I figured reporting it here is better than nothing.

Bug:
MH/s between GPU0 and GPU1 is flipped. Everything else is correctly matching the right GPU but apparently my 6950 is giving me 25MH/s and my 6450 is giving me 369MH/s. I upgraded from version 2.7.5 where this issue didn't exist.
I have not tested just running one of my cards or with more than 2 cards.
6950 appears in the top line and 6450 appears in the bottom line. while the MH/s are reversed.

Setup:
CGminer 2.9.7
Windows 8
GPU0 6950 unlocked xfx xxx
GPU1 6450 gigabyte passive
MSI motherboard with 2x pci-e 16x 8x 6950 in top slot
Coincidence related to something else maybe like a driver change. The GPU code hasn't been touched in any significant way in many months.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 09:28:22 AM
Last edit: December 14, 2012, 10:36:11 AM by ckolivas
 #8450

Despite the windows+stratum bugs that people are still encountering with 2.10.0, they are no worse than with 2.9.7, and no real showstopper bugs have shown up on 2.10.0 apart from lots of leaking shares when the primary pool is getwork without rolltime (which pools are still that bad!?). So despite the fact that windows+stratum disconnect is still problematic, I am going to raise the status of 2.10.0 to stable since it is no worse than the 2.9 branch. The substantial changes in 2.10 were all actually in the scheduling of work and there has not been a significant bug there as far as I can tell.

I will continue to pursue these windows bugs till no one is mining on windows any more... uh I mean till hopefully I can find wtf is uniquely wrong on windows. I'm so annoyed that 99% of my debugging effort is now directed to windows specific issues that I find myself wishing that I had made cgminer linux only. I could probably develop cgminer much faster if it was possible to drop windows support. Of course that's crazy talk...</rant>

EDIT: Note I will likely be releasing 2.10.1 shortly anyway.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ninjaboon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 10:36:40 AM
 #8451

I'm running cgminer 2.10.0 with us.eclipsemc.com:3333 instead of adding server numbers like us1.eclipsemc.com:3333 on Win7...I see less disconnects this way.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 11:05:37 AM
 #8452

New version: 2.10.1, 14th December 2012

Mainly to try and fix the windows+stratum disconnect bug.


Human readable changelog:

Converted the curl code that was where all the crashing on windows was occurring into the raw code equivalents. Hopefully this quashes the crashes with stratum on various flavours of windows.
Ztex and MMQ updates.
Miner.php updates
New API features and code improvements.


Full changelog:

- Check for EWOULDBLOCK when supported in send and recv as well.
- Use the raw send() command instead of curl_easy_send since curl raw socket
usage introduces random bugs on windows.
- Use raw recv() command in place of curl_easy_recv since the curl
implementation introduces random bugs on windows builds when the recv fails.
- miner.php when displaying a single rig, add prev/next rig buttons if they
exist, next to refresh
- miner.php allow custom page joins for STATS
- API show if pool has GBT (so people know not to use that pool)
- miner.php - include windows easyphp link
- driver-ztex: use the correct size for the swap array
- API stats - display pool byte transfer stats
- Pool store data transfer stats
- README ModMiner dependency
- Benchmark incorrect work size
- ChangeLog refer to NEWS
- MMQ handle over temp differently and hash longer
- driver-ztex: search the complete noncerange based on the actual speed
- README - update ModMiner details
- API-README update
- api use a dynamic io buffer, truncated before it reaches the current ~64k
limit

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1396
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 11:36:03 AM
 #8453

I don't know if this is the right place to ask this, but has anyone tried to compile the stratum proxy for dd-wrt?
Is it possible?
How could I setup the compile environment?

Thank you all in advance.

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 11:38:14 AM
 #8454

I don't know if this is the right place to ask this, but has anyone tried to compile the stratum proxy for dd-wrt?
Is it possible?
How could I setup the compile environment?

Thank you all in advance.
This is not the right place. Check the stratum thread. And the proxy is in python so needs no compiling, just python.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1022



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 11:47:10 AM
 #8455

I don't know if this is the right place to ask this, but has anyone tried to compile the stratum proxy for dd-wrt?

As ckolivas said, there's no compilation involved. Please follow instructions from https://github.com/slush0/stratum-mining-proxy , it should work even on dd-wrt (it requires only python 2.6/2.7).

Sorry for OT.

Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1396
Merit: 1003



View Profile
December 14, 2012, 11:51:42 AM
 #8456

Sorry for posting here, I haven't found the Stratum thread yet (the search leads me to the wrong results), but thank you both for the tip.
I'm already digging into it.
Smiley

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 564
Merit: 500


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 12:49:01 PM
Last edit: December 14, 2012, 01:11:25 PM by Roy Badami
 #8457

Just had 2.10.0 fail to failover on me.

Also it failed to failback.  us1 came back last night, but as of this morning cgminer is still mining on us2 (even though the pool management screen shows all pools as alive).  I thought that in the default failover policy it was supposed to failback to a pool higher up the list, once it's been stable for a little while?

roy
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 01:25:55 PM
 #8458

Sorry for posting here, I haven't found the Stratum thread yet (the search leads me to the wrong results), but thank you both for the tip.
I'm already digging into it.
Smiley

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=108533.msg1180029#msg1180029

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2012, 03:59:03 PM
 #8459

cut/paste ...

2.10.0
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github downloads called cgminer-2.10.0a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer/downloads
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No problems so far on my GPU or 'BFL+2xICA'

Since I'm no longer GPU mining, I just run it for a while on my single 6950 to see what happens

BFL+ICAs (1.6GH/s) on OzCoin Stratum with fixed 8 diff

(MMQ is ... still ... doing new code testing)

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make


Perfect - thanks Kano. Sorted.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1151


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
December 14, 2012, 04:50:10 PM
 #8460

cut/paste ...

2.10.1
An Xubuntu 11.04 x86_64 executable is in my github called cgminer-2.10.1a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries
(it also works on Fedora 16 and 17)

Yes I had to create a seperate git for the binaries since github has disabled the download feature

To get the binary simply:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/cgminer-2.10.1a
chmod +x cgminer-2.10.1a
md5sum cgminer-2.10.1a

f81c40434b1a88a8c5f437033e3e640e  cgminer-2.10.1a

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
First get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

No problems so far (50 minutes) on my GPU, MMQ or 'BFL+2xICA'

Since I'm no longer GPU mining, I just run it for a while on my single 6950 to see what happens

BFL+ICAs (1.6GH/s) on OzCoin Stratum with fixed 8 diff
MMQ (795MH/s) on OzCoin Stratum with fixed 8 diff

The same configure options as cvolivas' binary version
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-O2 -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-ztex --enable-modminer --enable-scrypt
make clean
make

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Pages: « 1 ... 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 [423] 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!