Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2018, 10:49:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 [486] 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761180 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1076
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 12:50:50 PM
 #9701

I have a dual 5970 rig but 1 of the 4 GPU's is no good (GPU0)

I use -d 1 -d 2 -d 3 in my command line but when I start cgminer is seems to turn gpu0 on and off a couple of times before finally disabling it and during this cycling the system sometimes crashes.

Is there an alternative way to stop it being used ?
--remove-disabled

Thanks Smiley

1534805358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534805358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534805358
Reply with quote  #2

1534805358
Report to moderator
1534805358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534805358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534805358
Reply with quote  #2

1534805358
Report to moderator
1534805358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534805358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534805358
Reply with quote  #2

1534805358
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534805358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534805358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534805358
Reply with quote  #2

1534805358
Report to moderator
1534805358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534805358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534805358
Reply with quote  #2

1534805358
Report to moderator
1534805358
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534805358

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534805358
Reply with quote  #2

1534805358
Report to moderator
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 01:34:50 PM
 #9702

Two questions.

1. Can you run scrypt and sha256 on different threads on the same GPU in one instance of cgminer or is a 2nd instance required?

2. When the number of shaders is flagged at a lower amount than available, are only the number of shaders specified utilized?

I'm specifically wondering if, for example, a 5770 could have its shaders halved and 400 could mine scrypt and utilize the majority of the card's memory while the other 400 mine sha256.

Just curious! Thanks!

I asked ck yesterday about running two instances from two different directories and he said:

Fine to run two. Just use --remove-disabled as well as -d so both instances
dont try to fight over GPUs.


LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
eroxors
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 02:33:28 PM
 #9703

Two questions.

1. Can you run scrypt and sha256 on different threads on the same GPU in one instance of cgminer or is a 2nd instance required?

2. When the number of shaders is flagged at a lower amount than available, are only the number of shaders specified utilized?

I'm specifically wondering if, for example, a 5770 could have its shaders halved and 400 could mine scrypt and utilize the majority of the card's memory while the other 400 mine sha256.

Just curious! Thanks!

I asked ck yesterday about running two instances from two different directories and he said:

Fine to run two. Just use --remove-disabled as well as -d so both instances
dont try to fight over GPUs.



Thanks. Makes sense.

Any idea about the shaders? I assume it's impossible to target specific groups of shaders and the option is simply for configuration, but I wanted to confirm.

FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:44:01 PM
 #9704

I'll defer to "the man" for that question, methinks.  lol

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 02:48:42 PM
 #9705

--shaders is just a hint to tune the program, it has no effect on the GPU. There is some advanced code to partition GPUs with OpenCL to do different tasks, but that is way beyond the scope of what we do with mining, and does not partition some shaders off as such. Mining both concurrently will likely produce lower results than the sum of each at half or at best, just equalling the sum of the halves. I suspect scrypt will kill the btc mining as well so you'll get very unbalanced work in favour of scrypt.

Summary, don't waste your time. Mine one or the other.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
uniman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 02:54:28 PM
 #9706

Hello Folks,

I'm running cgminer 3.0.1 on Ubuntu 12.04 with AMD APP SDK 2.4.  I'm using whatever proprietary driver installs by default with either a 5450 or 6850 video card.

I have in the recent past been able to successfully use the 5450 and the above software with Slush's pool.  Although rather unimpressive at a doddering 10MHash/S, this setup does indeed work.  However, when i try this with the 6850 I have problems.

The basic problem is that although cgminer says the 6850 is humping along at about 190 MHash/S, neither Slush's pool or 50btc report any shares returned.  If I turn on debug mode while cgminer is executing, every few minutes I will see the following sequence of messages: "GPU 0 found something?" then "OCL NONCE nnnnnnnnnnnnn found in slot 0" then "GPU0 invalid nonce" and finally "Discarded cloned or rolled work."  I've been attempting to study the source code myself and have found where these messages are coming from, but do not presently understand the code well enough to solve my problem.

Although I saw the "invalid nonce" message long ago, I was hoping that given the bazillions of hashes that are being calculated, surely a handful of hardware errors would be of no concern.  However, I've since amended my guess such that this error sequence occurs when I should have a share ready to report, but something about it flunks a test, due to a hardware error.  Hence the entire share is no good and thus nothing is ever reported back to the pools I'm using.

Any insight about this would be greatly appreciated.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:01:44 PM
 #9707

has something changed?

cgminer 3.0.1
fresh from github, compiles fine and
Code:
scrypt...............: Enabled


if I run

Code:
$ ./cgminer --scrypt -o....etc

I get :
Code:
cgminer: --scrypt: unrecognized option

 Huh

While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:12:10 PM
 #9708

Don't you have to build it to include scrypt?

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
EskimoBob
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 1000


Quality Printing Services by Federal Reserve Bank


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:21:11 PM
 #9709

Don't you have to build it to include scrypt?

I  did and this is what "scrypt...............: Enabled"  means Smiley


While reading what I wrote, use the most friendliest and relaxing voice in your head.
BTW, Things in BTC bubble universes are getting ugly....
stevegee58
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:04:41 PM
 #9710

That's what I get for not reading.

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike.
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 674
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:11:05 PM
 #9711

When stopping cgminer there are some garbage characters at the end:
Code:
[2013-04-25 23:06:14] New blocks detected on network: 1

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] Summary of per device statistics:

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] GPU0                | (5s):0.000 (avg):74.41Mh/s | A:1 R:
m I: 6
 [2013-04S-h2u5t d2o3w:n0 6s:i1g4n]a lS trreacteuimv ecdo.n
ne
I suspect that this only happens with stratum pools.
Other than that cgminer is working fine. No problems.

ProfNova
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 09:57:47 PM
 #9712

Just updated to version 3.0.1 my 7970 runs fine but my 5770 just gives error.
invalid nonce - HW error.

I'm using ccc version 13.4 on windows 7 64bit.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 11:16:01 PM
 #9713

One of the limiting factors for Litecoin mining speed is the amount of memory that can be allocated by the OpenCL process. Currently, there is a limitation that OpenCL processes can allocate a maximum of 2GB. That limitation is slated to be removed in the next release of the APP SDK: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/166292

That means, at least in theory, that anyone with a GPU that has more than 2GB per core should be able to raise their combination of thead-concurrency and gpu-threads to fill up even more GPU memory, possibly resulting in higher hash rates.

Does cgminer impose any limits on the amount of OpenCL memory it tries to allocate, or does it just pass the parameters to the SDK?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 25, 2013, 11:45:13 PM
 #9714

Does cgminer impose any limits on the amount of OpenCL memory it tries to allocate
no

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 01:46:55 AM
 #9715

When stopping cgminer there are some garbage characters at the end:
Code:
[2013-04-25 23:06:14] New blocks detected on network: 1

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] Summary of per device statistics:

 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] GPU0                | (5s):0.000 (avg):74.41Mh/s | A:1 R:
m I: 6
 [2013-04S-h2u5t d2o3w:n0 6s:i1g4n]a lS trreacteuimv ecdo.n
ne
I suspect that this only happens with stratum pools.
Other than that cgminer is working fine. No problems.
curses ...

It says:
 [2013-04-25 23:06:14] Stratum conne (plus whatever you chopped off)
Shut down signal received.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kujina
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 02:05:29 AM
 #9716

Hi!

Any chance cgminer will support voltage control of "Boost Edition" 79xx cards in the near future? I have a msi 7950 Twin Frozr III (3GD5/OC BE) card that is voltage unlocked but only the latest v3.0.0 Beta 9 of MSI Afterburner will actually change the voltage (and Sapphire Trixx too). For example Afterburner 2.3.1 lets you adjust the voltage but it doesn't actually change it. I've tried to change the voltage in cgminer 3.0.1 but it doesn't actually change it (did try drivers 12.8, 13.1, & 13.4).
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 02:13:21 AM
 #9717

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 02:15:16 AM
 #9718

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/

Get to work on the driver then you lazy sod.
* ckolivas tosses kano some peanuts

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:37:30 AM
 #9719

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/


When are you putting the code into git so I can get a hold of it, Josh said there should be one in the mail for me as well, I will be your verify if you want Cheesy .

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 26, 2013, 03:39:46 AM
 #9720

BFL SC Jalapeno arrived a short while ago

http://www.kano-kun.net/


When are you putting the code into git so I can get a hold of it, Josh said there should be one in the mail for me as well, I will be your verify if you want Cheesy .
Hackathon is underway. As soon as the code is in git master and working, I will inform the forum.

EDIT: I've received one too now.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 [486] 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!