Bitcoin Forum
July 22, 2018, 03:52:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 [490] 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756986 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bitbrandon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 03:02:58 AM
 #9781

I appreciate the feedback, but I would like to know what the issue is under Linux and why it runs fine under Windows. I'm not really looking to build a machine to mine, I'm just trying to use what I already have when the computer isn't being used. I already know what kind of hash rate I should be getting etc. My issue is with cgminer and Linux.
1532231529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231529
Reply with quote  #2

1532231529
Report to moderator
1532231529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231529
Reply with quote  #2

1532231529
Report to moderator
1532231529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231529
Reply with quote  #2

1532231529
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532231529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532231529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532231529
Reply with quote  #2

1532231529
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 03:23:38 AM
 #9782

OpenCL implementation vary from driver to driver. When doing compute work, they can choose to "busy wait" on the CPU or sleep while waiting for the GPU to return its answers. Direct CUDA has a way to tell the device which mode to use, but OpenCL does not have any such command, thus it is entirely up to the driver/GPU/OS combination - and some GPUs you may never find a driver that doesn't busy wait. There is precious little experience with Nvidia drivers since their profitability is 1:4 compared to the electrical costs. You can try one of the new dedicated CUDA miners out there instead (although they will be primitive and buggy code since cgminer has been in heavy development for 2 years by comparison).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitbrandon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 03:32:16 AM
 #9783

Yeah, I figured that no one really works on NVIDIA because it's not worth it. I don't really know of any CUDA based miners on Linux that aren't like 2 years old, lol. I still would've liked to use this under Linux... guess I'll just have to chalk it up to NIVIDA still hating on the Linux crowd; as Linus put it, FUCK YOU, NVIDIA! Though, if you would be willing to work on adding some CUDA support, I could throw a few "satoshi" your way ;P
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 03:35:43 AM
 #9784

Yeah, I figured that no one really works on NVIDIA because it's not worth it. I don't really know of any CUDA based miners on Linux that aren't like 2 years old, lol. I still would've liked to use this under Linux... guess I'll just have to chalk it up to NIVIDA still hating on the Linux crowd; as Linus put it, FUCK YOU, NVIDIA! Though, if you would be willing to work on adding some CUDA support, I could throw a few "satoshi" your way ;P
Direct CUDA support is a lot of work and no one could afford to pay me enough to do it  Lips sealed

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitbrandon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 03:57:47 AM
 #9785

Damn, and here I thought I could persuade you with my measly NVIDIA earnings.  ;P
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1045


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 04:04:26 AM
 #9786

Yeah, I figured that no one really works on NVIDIA because it's not worth it. I don't really know of any CUDA based miners on Linux that aren't like 2 years old, lol. I still would've liked to use this under Linux... guess I'll just have to chalk it up to NIVIDA still hating on the Linux crowd; as Linus put it, FUCK YOU, NVIDIA! Though, if you would be willing to work on adding some CUDA support, I could throw a few "satoshi" your way ;P
Oddly, I see it the other way around: Linus hating on nVidia coz they wont do exactly what he wants.
nVidia supplies VERY good linux drivers for everyone to use.
Why must nVidia supply drivers, the way Linus says they should? Especially when they already do supply them ...
Yes nouveau sux ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
bitbrandon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 04:07:35 AM
 #9787

You do have a point. I just don't understand why making the drivers open source is such a taboo. Is a driver really going to let other companies steal their designs or something?
sgrunger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 04:54:27 AM
 #9788

Hi, I am running cgminer 3.1.0 with 13.4 ATI drivers.
cgminer starts up, I wait a little, and crash. Here is the log file.
http://pastebin.com/cMLkmLrg

My cards are as follows : Gigabyte6950,Sapphire5870,Ref5870,Ref5970
I read about "good drivers", I just installed drivers 12.8, and the drivers won't seem to load properly on my machine, I get "loadMM.exe failed to start" and cgminer still crashes on startup.

Before I tried this, I was running cgminer 2.11.4 as well as AMD drivers 13.1. I had the problem where if I rebooted sometimes cgminer would fail to start (but not crash). I had to boot in safe mode, uninstall all the ati cards, reboot, have Windows detect them all again, reboot, and it would work. But that's really an unstable situation to manage remotely Sad

[edit] I have re-installed a fresh copy of Win7-x64, installed 12.8 drivers and ran cgminer 3.1.0, seems to be running fine for now.
SkyNet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 10:40:45 AM
 #9789

13.x drivers seem to be buggy for us with the older 5xxx cards unfortunately...

Tips: 1JmQ78JprWePM3EapnacPFfAtTrob8ofmU
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 502



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 03:06:38 PM
 #9790

13.x drivers seem to be buggy for us with the older 5xxx cards unfortunately...


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1953953#msg1953953
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 03:37:59 PM
 #9791

Just upgraded to ubuntu 13.04 - cgminer didn't like it:

cgminer/cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Current cgminer is built on 12.10 equivalent ...

cgminer on 12.10 gave me lots of hardware errors at any decent level of intensity with Litecoin mining. Couldn't get it to work at all with 13.1 or 13.3 (hangs/crashes at the version screen, runs with -T but doesn't produce useful work). I am now on 12.08 which seemed to be mining OK for about two hours with both BTC and LTC at the same time but then we had a power blip and things aren't working right anymore (not sure if hardware or software, had to bail and go to bed). Max intensity I can mine LTC with on the 7950 is 18 at about 520kh/s.

This post is more informational than looking for a solution to any problems (though any advice always appreciated).

Details:
OS: Win7 64bit
Video: Sapphire 7950 (slot 0), HID 5970 (slot 1)
CPU: AMD quad something.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2013, 04:24:21 PM
 #9792

Use 2 gminers - one for 7xxx and 6xxx one for 5xxx

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 04:27:27 PM
 #9793

Use 2 gminers - one for 7xxx and 6xxx one for 5xxx

That's what I was doing but my 5970 is misbehaving as it shows up but does 0/0 on one or both GPUs and then reports sick, whatever. But it has randomly in the past too. I'm wondering if my 12V lines are not keeping up. It's a reflowed unit so possibly it is just not doing so well.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Mylon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100

Mining FTW


View Profile
April 29, 2013, 09:13:43 PM
 #9794

Just upgraded to ubuntu 13.04 - cgminer didn't like it:

cgminer/cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Current cgminer is built on 12.10 equivalent ...

cgminer on 12.10 gave me lots of hardware errors at any decent level of intensity with Litecoin mining. Couldn't get it to work at all with 13.1 or 13.3 (hangs/crashes at the version screen, runs with -T but doesn't produce useful work). I am now on 12.08 which seemed to be mining OK for about two hours with both BTC and LTC at the same time but then we had a power blip and things aren't working right anymore (not sure if hardware or software, had to bail and go to bed). Max intensity I can mine LTC with on the 7950 is 18 at about 520kh/s.

This post is more informational than looking for a solution to any problems (though any advice always appreciated).

Details:
OS: Win7 64bit
Video: Sapphire 7950 (slot 0), HID 5970 (slot 1)
CPU: AMD quad something.
TC, intensity, lookup-gap and -g would be nice to know Smiley (found that setting TC to low will give you hardware errors on this new version, minimum is 8192)

"All Your Base Are Belong To Us" by CATS
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 09:44:10 PM
 #9795

Has anyone ever seen this error before?

Just put in 3x7970s into a machine, cgminer works fine for btc but when I try to run --scrypt it gives me

Code:
[2013-04-29 14:42:27] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Thread 0 being disabled
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
eNDRangeKernel)

for every card. Regardless of what tags I run it with (even just cgminer --scrypt)

Running windows 7, 13.1 drivers. Not sure which SDK, if someone can tell me how to check I can tell them if it might help.
I ran scrypt while running 5xxx series cards on this same machine.

Any ideas?
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 29, 2013, 09:52:56 PM
 #9796

Has anyone ever seen this error before?

Just put in 3x7970s into a machine, cgminer works fine for btc but when I try to run --scrypt it gives me

Code:
[2013-04-29 14:42:27] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Thread 0 being disabled
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
eNDRangeKernel)

for every card. Regardless of what tags I run it with (even just cgminer --scrypt)

Running windows 7, 13.1 drivers. Not sure which SDK, if someone can tell me how to check I can tell them if it might help.
I ran scrypt while running 5xxx series cards on this same machine.

Any ideas?

Are you using the same copy of CGMiner that was on there when you were running the 5xxx series. If so delete the folder and get a new copy so it can remake files for you.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
bcpokey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 30, 2013, 12:23:50 AM
 #9797

Has anyone ever seen this error before?

Just put in 3x7970s into a machine, cgminer works fine for btc but when I try to run --scrypt it gives me

Code:
[2013-04-29 14:42:27] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Thread 0 being disabled
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
eNDRangeKernel)

for every card. Regardless of what tags I run it with (even just cgminer --scrypt)

Running windows 7, 13.1 drivers. Not sure which SDK, if someone can tell me how to check I can tell them if it might help.
I ran scrypt while running 5xxx series cards on this same machine.

Any ideas?

Are you using the same copy of CGMiner that was on there when you were running the 5xxx series. If so delete the folder and get a new copy so it can remake files for you.

Well I thought you might be on to something, as I was using cgminer 2.11.4, so I downloaded cgminer 3.1.0 and tried running that, but got the same error when I tried to run scrypt Sad
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 12:33:14 AM
 #9798

Just as a note to my earlier issues with the GPUs on the 5970, when I got home, I powered off my system for 30 minutes and it looks like things are back. I guess the card got into a weird state when the power glitched.

Though what I'm thinking now is to put the old 6770 in with the 5970 and mine bitcoins there and put the 7950 in another system to mine litecoins

I guess that brings up that if there were any kind of way to put a "total card reset" into cgminer, it might be a good thing.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 12:55:17 AM
 #9799

Has anyone ever seen this error before?

Just put in 3x7970s into a machine, cgminer works fine for btc but when I try to run --scrypt it gives me

Code:
[2013-04-29 14:42:27] GPU 0 failure, disabling!
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Thread 0 being disabled
 [2013-04-29 14:42:27] Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
eNDRangeKernel)

for every card. Regardless of what tags I run it with (even just cgminer --scrypt)

Running windows 7, 13.1 drivers. Not sure which SDK, if someone can tell me how to check I can tell them if it might help.
I ran scrypt while running 5xxx series cards on this same machine.

Any ideas?

Are you using the same copy of CGMiner that was on there when you were running the 5xxx series. If so delete the folder and get a new copy so it can remake files for you.

Well I thought you might be on to something, as I was using cgminer 2.11.4, so I downloaded cgminer 3.1.0 and tried running that, but got the same error when I tried to run scrypt Sad

I'm not sure, but I think he was talking about deleting your .bin files.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Richy_T
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k


View Profile
April 30, 2013, 01:18:58 AM
 #9800

Here's a pretty big one. Unless I'm missing something.

So I have GPUs 0, 1 and 2. I want to use GPUs 1 and 2 for one instance of cgminer. GPU 0 is irrelevant for now.

Originally I had created a cgminer.conf using the write setting option with all 3 GPUs. No problem, I do

cgminer -d 1 -d 2 --remove-disabled -c cgminer.conf

Get an error "Too many values passed to set temp cutoff". "No problem" thinks I "I'll just go in an edit the three values per parameter down to two".

This appears to work. Except I notice that the fan is coming on early, my GPU temps are low compared to what I'm used to (shared fan) and my intensity on GPU 2 is bouncing all over the place. Clearly it looks like cgminer is reading the conf file, applying (or not applying) the first entry to GPU 0, the second to GPU 1 and leaving GPU 2 at the defaults.

In case I had just misunderstood the format of the conf file for what I wanted to do, once I set up the temperature cutoffs and intensity interactively, I wrote out the conf file.

Manual inspection reveals that the conf file contains three data values for each option, just like my original file. Sure enough, when I try to use it with the command line above,  "Too many values passed to set temp cutoff".

It appears that there appears to be some crossed-up logic on how cgminer handles the config file between reads and writes when the --remove-disabled option is used.

For now, I guess I can just pass the options on the command line but thought you should know about this (apparent) bug.

1RichyTrEwPYjZSeAYxeiFBNnKC9UjC5k
Pages: « 1 ... 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 [490] 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!