Bitcoin Forum
May 13, 2021, 12:30:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 1247 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 1278 [1279] 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 1298 1299 1300 1301 1302 1303 1304 1305 1306 1307 1308 1309 1310 1311 1312 1313 1314 1315 1316 1317 1318 1319 1320 1321 1322 1323 1324 1325 1326 1327 1328 1329 ... 1430 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Claymore's Dual Ethereum AMD+NVIDIA GPU Miner v15.0 (Windows/Linux)  (Read 6581962 times)
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 06:12:14 PM
 #25561

Will we see an nvidia version for 'straps'? the Eth-pill exists but if there's soft-mod for AMD cards surely there's something for Nvidia?

Yes, I will add Nvidia support as well. This magic with straps took me a lot of time and efforts, so I will implement it step by step.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
1620865835
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620865835

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620865835
Reply with quote  #2

1620865835
Report to moderator
1620865835
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620865835

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620865835
Reply with quote  #2

1620865835
Report to moderator
1620865835
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1620865835

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1620865835
Reply with quote  #2

1620865835
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Xazax310
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 241
Merit: 24


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 06:13:59 PM
 #25562

Will we see an nvidia version for 'straps'? the Eth-pill exists but if there's soft-mod for AMD cards surely there's something for Nvidia?

Yes, I will add Nvidia support as well. This magic with straps took me a lot of time and efforts, so I will implement it step by step.

That's pretty sweet! looking forward to it!
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 253


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 06:44:50 PM
 #25563

v14.0 Beta:

- Windows only: added ability to apply optimized memory timings (straps) on-the-fly, without flashing VBIOS, up to 20% speedup compared to stock BIOS. Currently only Polaris cards are supported, other cards will be added later.
   Drivers 18.x or newer are required. Best straps for Ethereum are included. Check "-strap" and "-driver" options for details.
- Windows only: added temperature/fan/clocks management for Radeon VII.
- a few minor bug fixes and improvements.


Thanks!
But if secure boot enabled driver wouldn't be installed, right? Only disabling SB can help?
Without your driver straps can't be applied?

P.S. Why 14th version? There is no 13th...
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 278


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 06:50:43 PM
 #25564

v14.0 Beta:

- Windows only: added ability to apply optimized memory timings (straps) on-the-fly, without flashing VBIOS, up to 20% speedup compared to stock BIOS. Currently only Polaris cards are supported, other cards will be added later.
   Drivers 18.x or newer are required. Best straps for Ethereum are included. Check "-strap" and "-driver" options for details.
- Windows only: added temperature/fan/clocks management for Radeon VII.
- a few minor bug fixes and improvements.


Thanks!
But if secure boot enabled driver wouldn't be installed, right? Only disabling SB can help?
Without your driver straps can't be applied?

P.S. Why 14th version? There is no 13th...

https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-story-behind-13-number-room-in-hotels-Because-most-of-the-hotels-dont-have-13-number-room



UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 253


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 06:57:28 PM
 #25565

v14.0 Beta:

- Windows only: added ability to apply optimized memory timings (straps) on-the-fly, without flashing VBIOS, up to 20% speedup compared to stock BIOS. Currently only Polaris cards are supported, other cards will be added later.
   Drivers 18.x or newer are required. Best straps for Ethereum are included. Check "-strap" and "-driver" options for details.
- Windows only: added temperature/fan/clocks management for Radeon VII.
- a few minor bug fixes and improvements.


Thanks!
But if secure boot enabled driver wouldn't be installed, right? Only disabling SB can help?
Without your driver straps can't be applied?

P.S. Why 14th version? There is no 13th...

https://www.quora.com/What-is-the-story-behind-13-number-room-in-hotels-Because-most-of-the-hotels-dont-have-13-number-room

Ahah, thanks, I know it )))) But I didn't thought that we are superstitious here...
coinscrow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1271
Merit: 301


minerstat CEO


View Profile WWW
May 07, 2019, 06:58:02 PM
 #25566

v14.0 Beta:

- Windows only: added ability to apply optimized memory timings (straps) on-the-fly, without flashing VBIOS, up to 20% speedup compared to stock BIOS. Currently only Polaris cards are supported, other cards will be added later.
   Drivers 18.x or newer are required. Best straps for Ethereum are included. Check "-strap" and "-driver" options for details.
- Windows only: added temperature/fan/clocks management for Radeon VII.
- a few minor bug fixes and improvements.



It is an improvement, but unfortunately I'm still experiencing issue with Chinese directory names.

N2DCRYPT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 5


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 07:00:29 PM
 #25567

Claymore, I know I may be asking a lot here, but just in case it's not too much additional effort... The Radeon Pro Duo is technically Polaris. It's got Samsung Mem (16GB on each GPU); two WX7100s/RX 580s.

Was hoping your straps would work without having to try bios flashing the master and slave gpu bioses, but the miner instaquits it I run as admin with -strap 1. If I don't run as admin, miner runs fine, but with no straps. Believe it's related to errors reading the boot configuration data.

Driver is latest Pro Driver, 19.Q1.2. Have used the AMDMemTweak CLI from Eliovp, and it works, but would like to try the straps you are using in your exe. Others messing with AMD workstation gpus may get some good here too! Thanks!
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 07:12:24 PM
 #25568

Thanks!
But if secure boot enabled driver wouldn't be installed, right? Only disabling SB can help?
Without your driver straps can't be applied?
P.S. Why 14th version? There is no 13th...

Secure boot is not related to the driver. Miner will set "Test Mode" in Windows to use unsigned driver.
I don't like "13" number so I skipped it Smiley

It is an improvement, but unfortunately I'm still experiencing issue with Chinese directory names.

Sorry, I did not have time for it, though I checked this issue and confirmed it. The reason is that the miner does not use unicode, it will take some time to convert all paths and filenames to unicode strings.

Claymore, I know I may be asking a lot here, but just in case it's not too much additional effort... The Radeon Pro Duo is technically Polaris. It's got Samsung Mem (16GB on each GPU); two WX7100s/RX 580s.
Was hoping your straps would work without having to try bios flashing the master and slave gpu bioses, but the miner instaquits it I run as admin with -strap 1. If I don't run as admin, miner runs fine, but with no straps. Believe it's related to errors reading the boot configuration data.
Driver is latest Pro Driver, 19.Q1.2. Have used the AMDMemTweak CLI from Eliovp, and it works, but would like to try the straps you are using in your exe. Others messing with AMD workstation gpus may get some good here too! Thanks!

Check the log file for details. Or create "config.txt" file with options and right-click EthDcrMiner64.exe and select "run as admin", it must work. Or start "cmd.exe" as admin and start miner from it to see what happens, miner cannot close without any messages.

Any hashing performance increase vs latest 12 on linux?

Nothing changed for Linux version so v12.0 is the latest for Linux.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
Set Ready Go
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 17


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 07:12:58 PM
Last edit: May 07, 2019, 07:25:49 PM by Set Ready Go
 #25569

Claymore, I know I may be asking a lot here, but just in case it's not too much additional effort... The Radeon Pro Duo is technically Polaris. It's got Samsung Mem (16GB on each GPU); two WX7100s/RX 580s.

Was hoping your straps would work without having to try bios flashing the master and slave gpu bioses, but the miner instaquits it I run as admin with -strap 1. If I don't run as admin, miner runs fine, but with no straps. Believe it's related to errors reading the boot configuration data.

Driver is latest Pro Driver, 19.Q1.2. Have used the AMDMemTweak CLI from Eliovp, and it works, but would like to try the straps you are using in your exe. Others messing with AMD workstation gpus may get some good here too! Thanks!

So yeah i have the same issue running driver 19.4.1


Quote from: N2DCRYPT on Today at 07:00:29 PM
Claymore, I know I may be asking a lot here, but just in case it's not too much additional effort... The Radeon Pro Duo is technically Polaris. It's got Samsung Mem (16GB on each GPU); two WX7100s/RX 580s.
Was hoping your straps would work without having to try bios flashing the master and slave gpu bioses, but the miner instaquits it I run as admin with -strap 1. If I don't run as admin, miner runs fine, but with no straps. Believe it's related to errors reading the boot configuration data.
Driver is latest Pro Driver, 19.Q1.2. Have used the AMDMemTweak CLI from Eliovp, and it works, but would like to try the straps you are using in your exe. Others messing with AMD workstation gpus may get some good here too! Thanks!

Check the log file for details. Or create "config.txt" file with options and right-click EthDcrMiner64.exe and select "run as admin", it must work. Or start "cmd.exe" as admin and start miner from it to see what happens, miner cannot close without any messages.


It did not work for me with the start.bat file , just closed when running admin rights... 
Changig config.txt file and then running the  EthDcrMiner64  did work just fine...


thanks a bunch mr Claymore!
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 07:27:00 PM
 #25570

Forgot to mention: this version uses straps that were provided by Eliovp, they must be very good.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 07:34:30 PM
 #25571

I think it's a good idea to quote Readme about "-strap" option. In general, you use "-strap 1" value and then try to overclock memory to see the highest stable clock and hashrate. Then you can try "-strap 2" and do the same. After these tests just select the best strap index and clock. At the same clock "-strap 4" will show better hashrate than "-strap 1" but it will not support very high memory clocks, so final hashrate after oveclocking can be lower than "-strap 1" with very high memory clock.

Code:
-strap applies specified memory timings (strap). This option is available for Windows only and requires AMD drivers 18.x or newer (most tests were performed on 19.4.3).
Currently only AMD Polaris cards are supported, support for other cards will be added later.
Miner has built-in straps database, all straps are separated by memory (4GB or 8GB) and memory type (Samsung, Elpida, Hynix, Micron).
Straps are sorted by intensity, i.e. "-strap 1" supports higher memory clock than "-strap 2", etc. For the best hashrate you must also set high memory clock, so "-strap 1" is a good start point for tests.
You can specify just strap index, for example "-strap 1" will apply first strap from database for all Polaris GPUs based on GPU memory size and memory type, miner will show full strap name detected.
Or you can specify strap directly in format "POL8S1": "POL" means Polaris, "8" means 8GB, "S" means Samsung memory, "1" means index.
Zero index means default strap from VBIOS, i.e. no strap is applied.
You can also use "@" character after strap to specify memory clock, it works like "-mclock" but overrides it, for example, "-strap POL4E2@1900".
You can also specify values for every card, for example "-strap 1@2100,POL4H3,0".
If strap is applied, miner will return old strap and memory clock when miner is closed.
The best approach to find best strap is to set "-strap 1,0" (it sets strap #1 for first card and no straps for the rest of GPUs) and then raise memory clock to see what clocks and hashrate you can reach.
Then so the same for strap #2 etc.
You can also specify raw strap string (96 characters). Note that single option value means that this strap is applied for all GPUs, use "0" to apply strap on single GPU,
for example "-strap 0,1@2200,0" applies strap #1 and memory clock 2200MHz for second GPU only.
NOTE: if specified strap fails, Windows is crashed. After reboot default timings are restored and you can try some different settings.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
ManDoneKTM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 07:49:01 PM
 #25572

v14.0 Beta:

- Windows only: added ability to apply optimized memory timings (straps) on-the-fly, without flashing VBIOS, up to 20% speedup compared to stock BIOS. Currently only Polaris cards are supported, other cards will be added later.
   Drivers 18.x or newer are required. Best straps for Ethereum are included. Check "-strap" and "-driver" options for details.
- Windows only: added temperature/fan/clocks management for Radeon VII.
- a few minor bug fixes and improvements.


Sorry for asking , whats the dev fee on this beta version ?
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 08:01:02 PM
 #25573

Sorry for asking , whats the dev fee on this beta version ?

Please read Readme.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 253


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 08:41:52 PM
 #25574

Thanks!
But if secure boot enabled driver wouldn't be installed, right? Only disabling SB can help?
Without your driver straps can't be applied?
P.S. Why 14th version? There is no 13th...

Secure boot is not related to the driver. Miner will set "Test Mode" in Windows to use unsigned driver.
I don't like "13" number so I skipped it Smiley

Secure boot didn't allow to load unsigned drivers with UEFI bios.
I tried to run miner with admin rights but I got error:
In log:
23:39:57:796        4e14        Driver is not installed! Trying to install it...
23:39:57:854        4e14        Failed, you must run miner with admin rights.
On screen system error message appears before "Failed..."

"Value protected by secure boot policy and can't be changed"
davescream
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 08:47:44 PM
 #25575

This magic with straps took me a lot of time and efforts
If you spend so much time, how is the fastest way to found the best  strap/mem clock?

Is there way to found max mem clock without restarting whole miner? As I remember, when I overclock memory, hashrate go up only after restartminer... so restart miner every time is slow... maybe you found beter way for fast applyong new memclock and see new hashrate without restarting miner?
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 09:07:09 PM
 #25576

Secure boot didn't allow to load unsigned drivers with UEFI bios.
I tried to run miner with admin rights but I got error:
In log:
23:39:57:796        4e14        Driver is not installed! Trying to install it...
23:39:57:854        4e14        Failed, you must run miner with admin rights.
On screen system error message appears before "Failed..."
"Value protected by secure boot policy and can't be changed"

Oh, you are correct, I completely forgot how it must work.

If you spend so much time, how is the fastest way to found the best  strap/mem clock?
Is there way to found max mem clock without restarting whole miner? As I remember, when I overclock memory, hashrate go up only after restartminer... so restart miner every time is slow... maybe you found beter way for fast applyong new memclock and see new hashrate without restarting miner?

I spent much time in attempts to implement this trick, not in overclocking. Anyway, use WattMan or AfterBurner for overclocking. Put hdmi dummy plug into card and it will apply new clocks immediately. Or set new clock and disable GPU in the miner ("0" key for first GPU, "1" for second GPU, etc) and wait until memory clock will go idle (in a few seconds), then enable GPU again in the miner, new clock will be applied after that.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
davescream
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 09:11:09 PM
 #25577

until memory clock will go idle (in a few seconds), then enable GPU again in the miner, new clock will be applied after that.
It will be the same as restart miner? I remember that at startup miner try ti find best dcri value, so trick with enabling/disabling GPU with new memclock may be not best way, because optimal DCRI for this card with new memclock may change?

Or optimal DCRI may change only if CORE clock have changed? So for new memclock auto_dcri routines is needless
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 09:14:22 PM
 #25578

until memory clock will go idle (in a few seconds), then enable GPU again in the miner, new clock will be applied after that.
It will be the same as restart miner? I remember that at startup miner try ti find best dcri value, so trick with enabling/disabling GPU with new memclock may be not best way, because optimal DCRI for this card with new memclock may change?
Or optimal DCRI may change only if CORE clock have changed?

It depends... Anyway you can use "+" and "-" keys to change dcri to see if they are good for new clock. Or just set fixed -dcri, find highest stable clock and then find best -dcri value for this clock.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
hustleman
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 6


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 09:30:18 PM
 #25579

How much hashrates for ETH were you able to pull out of 580 8gb cards with these new straps?
UnclWish
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414
Merit: 253


View Profile
May 07, 2019, 09:44:17 PM
 #25580

Secure boot didn't allow to load unsigned drivers with UEFI bios.
I tried to run miner with admin rights but I got error:
In log:
23:39:57:796        4e14        Driver is not installed! Trying to install it...
23:39:57:854        4e14        Failed, you must run miner with admin rights.
On screen system error message appears before "Failed..."
"Value protected by secure boot policy and can't be changed"

Oh, you are correct, I completely forgot how it must work.
So, without disabling secure boot no chances to run with straps, right? It's not good...
Pages: « 1 ... 1229 1230 1231 1232 1233 1234 1235 1236 1237 1238 1239 1240 1241 1242 1243 1244 1245 1246 1247 1248 1249 1250 1251 1252 1253 1254 1255 1256 1257 1258 1259 1260 1261 1262 1263 1264 1265 1266 1267 1268 1269 1270 1271 1272 1273 1274 1275 1276 1277 1278 [1279] 1280 1281 1282 1283 1284 1285 1286 1287 1288 1289 1290 1291 1292 1293 1294 1295 1296 1297 1298 1299 1300 1301 1302 1303 1304 1305 1306 1307 1308 1309 1310 1311 1312 1313 1314 1315 1316 1317 1318 1319 1320 1321 1322 1323 1324 1325 1326 1327 1328 1329 ... 1430 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!