Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:18:09 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 [621] 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828265 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
scrubadub
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 02:40:10 PM
 #12401

Can cgminer support scrypt (on gpus) and blf asic's on the same computer? Would you have to run two instances? Does the --scrypt and --bfl options automatically designate which instance should mine off which hardware?
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481458689
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458689

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458689
Reply with quote  #2

1481458689
Report to moderator
1481458689
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458689

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458689
Reply with quote  #2

1481458689
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 09, 2013, 02:46:57 PM
 #12402

Can cgminer support scrypt (on gpus) and blf asic's on the same computer? Would you have to run two instances? Does the --scrypt and --bfl options automatically designate which instance should mine off which hardware?
Yes.

I run "cgminer.exe --scrypt" on my GPUs, and then "cgminer-nogpu.exe" for my ASICs. Works fine.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 02:47:54 PM
 #12403

Latest git fail to compile on windows:
Code:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
cgminer 3.4.2
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Configuration Options Summary:

  curses.TUI...........: FOUND: -lpdcurses
  OpenCL...............: FOUND. GPU mining support enabled
  scrypt...............: Enabled
  ADL..................: SDK found, GPU monitoring support enabled

  Avalon.ASICs.........: Disabled
  BFL.ASICs............: Disabled
  BitForce.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Icarus.FPGAs.........: Disabled
  ModMiner.FPGAs.......: Disabled
  Ztex.FPGAs...........: Disabled

Compilation............: make (or gmake)
  CPPFLAGS.............:
  CFLAGS...............: -O3 -msse2
  LDFLAGS..............:
  LDADD................:  -LC:/MinGW/lib -lcurl -lcurldll   compat/jansson
nsson.a -lpthread -lOpenCL   -lws2_32 -lm

Installation...........: make install (as root if needed, with 'su' or 'su
  prefix...............: /usr/local

Making clean in ccan
make[1]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/ccan'
rm -rf .libs _libs
test -z "libccan.a" || rm -f libccan.a
rm -f *.o
rm -f *.lo
make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/ccan'
Making clean in compat
make[1]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
Making clean in jansson
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat/jansson'
rm -rf .libs _libs
test -z "libjansson.a" || rm -f libjansson.a
rm -f *.o
rm -f *.lo
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat/jansson'
Making clean in .
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
rm -rf .libs _libs
rm -f *.lo
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
Making clean in lib
make[1]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
Making clean in .
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
test -z "" || rm -f
rm -rf .libs _libs
test -z "libgnu.a" || rm -f libgnu.a
test -z "" || rm -f
rm -f *.o
test -z "core *.stackdump arg-nonnull.h arg-nonnull.h-t c++defs.h c++defs.
gnal.h signal.h-t stddef.h stddef.h-t stdint.h stdint.h-t string.h string.
rn-on-use.h warn-on-use.h-t" || rm -f core *.stackdump arg-nonnull.h arg-n
.h-t c++defs.h c++defs.h-t signal.h signal.h-t stddef.h stddef.h-t stdint.
nt.h-t string.h string.h-t warn-on-use.h warn-on-use.h-t
rm -f *.lo
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
Making clean in .
make[1]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer'
 rm -f cgminer.exe
 rm -f cgminer
rm -rf .libs _libs
rm -f *.o
rm -f *.lo
make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer'
make  all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer'
Making all in lib
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
  GEN    arg-nonnull.h
  GEN    c++defs.h
  GEN    warn-on-use.h
  GEN    signal.h
  GEN    string.h
make  all-recursive
make[3]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
make[4]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
  CC     dummy.o
  CC     memmem.o
  CC     sigaction.o
  CC     sigprocmask.o
  AR     libgnu.a
make[4]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
make[3]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/lib'
Making all in compat
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
Making all in jansson
make[3]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat/jansson'
  CC     dump.o
  CC     error.o
  CC     hashtable.o
  CC     load.o
  CC     memory.o
  CC     pack_unpack.o
  CC     strbuffer.o
  CC     strconv.o
  CC     utf.o
  CC     value.o
  AR     libjansson.a
make[3]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat/jansson'
make[3]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/compat'
Making all in ccan
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/ccan'
  CC     libccan_a-helpers.o
  CC     libccan_a-opt.o
  CC     libccan_a-parse.o
  CC     libccan_a-usage.o
  AR     libccan.a
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer/ccan'
make[2]: Entering directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer'
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
  CC     cgminer-util.o
  CC     cgminer-sha2.o
  CC     cgminer-api.o
  CC     cgminer-logging.o
  CC     cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  CC     cgminer-ocl.o
  CC     cgminer-findnonce.o
  CC     cgminer-adl.o
  CC     cgminer-scrypt.o
  CCLD   cgminer.exe
cgminer-util.o:util.c:(.text+0xd87): undefined reference to `inet_network'
collect2.exe: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer.exe] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/c/msysgit/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Error 2

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 02:55:08 PM
 #12404

...
Kano or Ckolivas - any thoughts? Getting a bit desperate here.  Wink
Well ... firstly, as mentioned, I'd prefer to see the overall CPU usage not a screen snapshot at one particular time ... as I've explained already how to.
Run it for 15 minutes and get the top elapsed CPU and elapsed from the API (as I asked before)

Secondly, what is the CPU on that computer and what does cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep MHz say at the same time.

Thirdly, cgminer CPU usage includes the USB CPU usage ... that other miners will not have counted against them when they mine
They all do USB I/O but other miners CPU usage is not correct since the OS doesn't count the USB they all do, USB accounts for quite a lot of the CPU usage ...

SOLVED! (sort of, eventually)

After days of downtime trying to troubleshoot this high cgminer cpu usage problem I have finally found the culprit, and am happy to say that it is most definitely NOT a cgminer problem, but is - as I originally suspected, a usb controller problem, in my case the controller is nvidia. It appears that some usb controllers just don't handle blocks of usb3 powered hubs filled with eruptors very well, but the problem seems to manifest itself as a cgminer issue showing extremely high cpu usage together with a high zombie/error rate. I'd like to post my findings here as, from scrolling through the thread, I can see that I am not the only user who has had this particular problem, and wrongfully assumed it to be a cgminer issue, so hopefully this will help other users in the future. I'd also like to thank Kano for his suggestions about cpu monitoring previously, as if it weren't for this I might never have found the problem. I'll try to keep it as brief as possible:

I connected a monitor & keyboard to my headless rig to carry out Kano's suggestions and noticed that even though the cpu was at a constant 33% with Xubuntu 12.04 (compared with 37% with 13.04!) it was still only using half it's cores. So, I switched off AMD cool n' quiet in the bios & rebooted. It was then that I noticed how long the rig took to boot up, minutes instead of seconds. I then disconnected all 4 usb bricks of eruptors & rebooted again - it took seconds to boot up as it did when I originally installed the OS. This behaviour only occurred on this one machine, so I knew it was a local problem. I ordered a usb addin pci card (VIA chipset) which arrived this morning, disabled all onboard usb ports in the bios, installed the usb card, plugged the 4 bricks into a powered 4 port hub & the 4 port hub into the new usb card on the rig & fired it up. It was up & running in seconds as per normal. It has now been mining for 4 hours, the cpu usage is ~12%, usb HW error rate is <1%, both of which are the lowest it has ever been.

So there you have it. I probably could have found the problem a lot sooner if a) it had not been a headless rig, b) I had paid more attention & c) I was more knowledgeable with the workings of Linux/Ubuntu. Again, big thanks to kano who put me on the right track, & ckolivas for the best mining software out there - bar none.

Conclusion:

Nvidia should stick to GFX chipsets.

Xubuntu 13.04 performed poorly compared to 12.04 (I reinstalled 12.04)

I need to learn more  Grin

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
September 09, 2013, 04:57:34 PM
 #12405

The screen does not necessarily display lines or update counts instantaneously.  You may see blink, blink, followed by two lines scrolling up the screen a second or two later.

No shit. This blinks and CGMiner never shows a thing.

If the share is a hw error does cgminer silently ignore it and only increment the hw count, like a certain other miner.

Not starting a war. Just genuinely curious as I use both.

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 09:05:01 PM
 #12406

Latest git fail to compile on windows:
Code:
cgminer-util.o:util.c:(.text+0xd87): undefined reference to `inet_network'

Noted and fixed, thanks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2013, 11:43:00 PM
 #12407

SOLVED! (sort of, eventually)

Conclusion:

Nvidia should stick to GFX chipsets.

Xubuntu 13.04 performed poorly compared to 12.04 (I reinstalled 12.04)

I need to learn more  Grin
Thanks for investigating. Having coded parts of kernels that report CPU usage, I should point out that the CPU usage is not as clear as you may think, so while it appears that 13.04 is worse than 12.04 (37 vs 33% you said), it may be a measuring artefact difference, whereas 12% vs 33% is more likely to be significant.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 12:09:04 AM
 #12408

is there a reason that you moved from ubuntu 12.04 to 13.04? it seems like every time i try and do something simple, like upgrade cgminer, i have to jump through hoops. I'm running cgminer 3.3.1. i'm having trouble adding a new Hub and more ASICminer erupters. i've got about 34 running, one in the new hub works but any more gets errors and not recognised. at one point i had 3 working in the new hub, but repowering it dropped me down to one. I figured if i asked for help you would just tell me to use the latest cgminer. so i downloaded your prebuilt one. I noticed the 13.04 but figured it was a typo. So now i have to upgrade my Ubuntu version or rebuild the package for 12.04? If i try and rebuild it am i going to run into another "gotcha". I was so happy with 3.3.1, i just downloaded it and it worked.  Sad

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 12:21:55 AM
 #12409

is there a reason that you moved from ubuntu 12.04 to 13.04? it seems like every time i try and do something simple, like upgrade cgminer, i have to jump through hoops. I'm running cgminer 3.3.1. i'm having trouble adding a new Hub and more ASICminer erupters. i've got about 34 running, one in the new hub works but any more gets errors and not recognised. at one point i had 3 working in the new hub, but repowering it dropped me down to one. I figured if i asked for help you would just tell me to use the latest cgminer. so i downloaded your prebuilt one. I noticed the 13.04 but figured it was a typo. So now i have to upgrade my Ubuntu version or rebuild the package for 12.04? If i try and rebuild it am i going to run into another "gotcha". I was so happy with 3.3.1, i just downloaded it and it worked.  Sad
I've been building with 13.04 for ages. It just so happens that previous builds worked on 12.04->13.04 simply because all the libraries matched and now do not that I added the latest version of libusb. When exactly should I upgrade to a newer operating system? Well that's the nature of heavy development. If you find a version that works for you and your hardware, stick with it, but mining is a very fluid environment that is still in massive flux and development where the hardware, protocol and expectations continue to change. If you're on linux, you'll always be much better off building it for yourself, and I only reluctantly offer binaries - it is actually not hard to build it yourself. Windows is a totally different world where building the binary is hard work, so I try to make one binary work on as many different versions as possible. People newer to the linux world use their windows experience but that's not the best way to use linux.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 12:34:29 AM
 #12410

is there a reason that you moved from ubuntu 12.04 to 13.04? it seems like every time i try and do something simple, like upgrade cgminer, i have to jump through hoops. I'm running cgminer 3.3.1. i'm having trouble adding a new Hub and more ASICminer erupters. i've got about 34 running, one in the new hub works but any more gets errors and not recognised. at one point i had 3 working in the new hub, but repowering it dropped me down to one. I figured if i asked for help you would just tell me to use the latest cgminer. so i downloaded your prebuilt one. I noticed the 13.04 but figured it was a typo. So now i have to upgrade my Ubuntu version or rebuild the package for 12.04? If i try and rebuild it am i going to run into another "gotcha". I was so happy with 3.3.1, i just downloaded it and it worked.  Sad
I've been building with 13.04 for ages. It just so happens that previous builds worked on 12.04->13.04 simply because all the libraries matched and now do not that I added the latest version of libusb. When exactly should I upgrade to a newer operating system? Well that's the nature of heavy development. If you find a version that works for you and your hardware, stick with it, but mining is a very fluid environment that is still in massive flux and development where the hardware, protocol and expectations continue to change. If you're on linux, you'll always be much better off building it for yourself, and I only reluctantly offer binaries - it is actually not hard to build it yourself. Windows is a totally different world where building the binary is hard work, so I try to make one binary work on as many different versions as possible. People newer to the linux world use their windows experience but that's not the best way to use linux.

yeah when to upgrade is always a tough call. I'm just afraid that if try and recompile it for 12.04 I'm going to run into a whole bunch of incompatibilities. I just wish this whole USB thing worked like it is supposed to. nothing is ever easy. well, sometimes it is easy, but we forget those times.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 12:44:51 AM
 #12411

yeah when to upgrade is always a tough call.
Strictly speaking, I move to the latest Ubuntu 3 months after it is released, and 2 releases are usually binary compatible, which means they get a year of binary compatibility before I move on. 13.04 came out in April and 13.10 is due out in a month (as per the .04 .10 nomenclature).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 05:29:02 AM
 #12412

I want to mine on a gpu on the same pc in a different pool  that my asics are on but I try  --disable-Icarus it crashes is there another command??

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 05:35:34 AM
 #12413

I want to mine on a gpu on the same pc in a different pool  that my asics are on but I try  --disable-Icarus it crashes is there another command??


That's cause there is no such command. Try --usb :0

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 06:05:08 AM
 #12414

 Grin works ty
spacebob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 12:23:33 PM
 #12415

So I got a kinda weird issue.

I started mining on my Raspberry Pi (O/S: Raspian) with 5 Block Eruptors on a DLink DUB-7 on August 19th using cgminer 3.3.4 and followed the included instructions on how to compile the libusb libraries myself. It worked great and it ran non-stop for a few weeks. The other day I decided to update cgminer to 3.4.2. After mining for about 20 minutes the Pi seemed to locked up. My SSH session died and I couldn't ping the Pi anymore. I figured it was just a fluke so I restarted the Pi but, again, after mining for about 20 minutes the Pi locks up.

I figured that this must have just been an issue with the newest version of cgminer so I went back to 3.3.4 with no luck. 3.3.4 now causes the Pi to lock up as well. I thought that maybe the Pi was overheating so I tried doing something else intensive; watching a 1080p movie over my LAN for 2hrs+ but it worked great and never locked up. I also tried mining just with 1 miner but the Pi still locked up.

Perhaps there is an issue with the newest packages for the Pi? How can I provide some more detailed info to see what is going on? Anything else I can try to resolve the issue?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 12:31:44 PM
 #12416

So I got a kinda weird issue.

I started mining on my Raspberry Pi (O/S: Raspian) with 5 Block Eruptors on a DLink DUB-7 on August 19th using cgminer 3.3.4 and followed the included instructions on how to compile the libusb libraries myself. It worked great and it ran non-stop for a few weeks. The other day I decided to update cgminer to 3.4.2. After mining for about 20 minutes the Pi seemed to locked up. My SSH session died and I couldn't ping the Pi anymore. I figured it was just a fluke so I restarted the Pi but, again, after mining for about 20 minutes the Pi locks up.

I figured that this must have just been an issue with the newest version of cgminer so I went back to 3.3.4 with no luck. 3.3.4 now causes the Pi to lock up as well. I thought that maybe the Pi was overheating so I tried doing something else intensive; watching a 1080p movie over my LAN for 2hrs+ but it worked great and never locked up. I also tried mining just with 1 miner but the Pi still locked up.

Perhaps there is an issue with the newest packages for the Pi? How can I provide some more detailed info to see what is going on? Anything else I can try to resolve the issue?
If going back to the previous version doesn't resolve the issue, how can the new version be responsible?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
spacebob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 12:43:49 PM
 #12417

So I got a kinda weird issue.

I started mining on my Raspberry Pi (O/S: Raspian) with 5 Block Eruptors on a DLink DUB-7 on August 19th using cgminer 3.3.4 and followed the included instructions on how to compile the libusb libraries myself. It worked great and it ran non-stop for a few weeks. The other day I decided to update cgminer to 3.4.2. After mining for about 20 minutes the Pi seemed to locked up. My SSH session died and I couldn't ping the Pi anymore. I figured it was just a fluke so I restarted the Pi but, again, after mining for about 20 minutes the Pi locks up.

I figured that this must have just been an issue with the newest version of cgminer so I went back to 3.3.4 with no luck. 3.3.4 now causes the Pi to lock up as well. I thought that maybe the Pi was overheating so I tried doing something else intensive; watching a 1080p movie over my LAN for 2hrs+ but it worked great and never locked up. I also tried mining just with 1 miner but the Pi still locked up.

Perhaps there is an issue with the newest packages for the Pi? How can I provide some more detailed info to see what is going on? Anything else I can try to resolve the issue?
If going back to the previous version doesn't resolve the issue, how can the new version be responsible?

I'm not saying the newest version is responsible for the issue. I was just describing what I've tried so far.

Quote
Perhaps there is an issue with the newest packages for the Pi
What I meant by this is maybe updating my Pi's firmware and packages are causing the issue.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 02:53:21 PM
 #12418

SOLVED! (sort of, eventually)

Conclusion:

Nvidia should stick to GFX chipsets.

Xubuntu 13.04 performed poorly compared to 12.04 (I reinstalled 12.04)

I need to learn more  Grin
Thanks for investigating. Having coded parts of kernels that report CPU usage, I should point out that the CPU usage is not as clear as you may think, so while it appears that 13.04 is worse than 12.04 (37 vs 33% you said), it may be a measuring artefact difference, whereas 12% vs 33% is more likely to be significant.

You're welcome! And thanks for the reply. Yeah, I've been really happy with 12.04 - the thinking behind trying 13.04 was that maybe the drivers for my usb controllers had been updated and/or improved in the newer version, but if they had it didn't seem to cure the problem, the opposite in fact. I liked the new desktop look though..... Cheesy Another thing that put me off a little was that the installation no longer fitted on a CD, not that it makes much difference since as soon as I install an OS I immediately set about uninstalling everything that isn't needed for mining anyway - gimp, Thunderbird, gstreamer etc. I run the OS on a small 40GB ssd & keep all the wallet data (5 different coins ATM) on a separate, larger & faster ssd in an effort to decrease latency.
It still strikes me as a little funny that the expensive super duper nvidia chipset was outclassed & outperformed by a £8 amazon cheap n' cheerful add-on card.... Cheesy
As you say, it's a case of horses for courses, I'll be sticking with 12.04 for the time being, but if I decide on upgrading the mobo to a non-nvidia chipset type I might try 13.04 again.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 10, 2013, 09:04:03 PM
 #12419

So I got a kinda weird issue.

I started mining on my Raspberry Pi (O/S: Raspian) with 5 Block Eruptors on a DLink DUB-7 on August 19th using cgminer 3.3.4 and followed the included instructions on how to compile the libusb libraries myself. It worked great and it ran non-stop for a few weeks. The other day I decided to update cgminer to 3.4.2. After mining for about 20 minutes the Pi seemed to locked up. My SSH session died and I couldn't ping the Pi anymore. I figured it was just a fluke so I restarted the Pi but, again, after mining for about 20 minutes the Pi locks up.

I figured that this must have just been an issue with the newest version of cgminer so I went back to 3.3.4 with no luck. 3.3.4 now causes the Pi to lock up as well. I thought that maybe the Pi was overheating so I tried doing something else intensive; watching a 1080p movie over my LAN for 2hrs+ but it worked great and never locked up. I also tried mining just with 1 miner but the Pi still locked up.

Perhaps there is an issue with the newest packages for the Pi? How can I provide some more detailed info to see what is going on? Anything else I can try to resolve the issue?
If going back to the previous version doesn't resolve the issue, how can the new version be responsible?

I'm not saying the newest version is responsible for the issue. I was just describing what I've tried so far.

Quote
Perhaps there is an issue with the newest packages for the Pi
What I meant by this is maybe updating my Pi's firmware and packages are causing the issue.
No idea then sorry. Perhaps your Pi is coincidentally failing or as you say, some upgraded other package is responsible.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
September 10, 2013, 09:12:01 PM
 #12420

After I installed the latest libudev-dev package, the linux froze at the beginning of start up, two leds on keyboard just flashes and no response from keyboard/mouse. I can never enter the system anymore, even with ssh

The prompt at frozen point is:

/init: line 318: can't open /root/dev/console: no such file (only part of the text were displayed, see below)



Pages: « 1 ... 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 [621] 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!