Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2019, 08:55:21 AM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 [675] 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5770881 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2013, 07:52:14 PM
 #13481

OK so I have compiled cgminer onto my laptop running Ubuntu. But when i run cgminer and it runs the config file it follows with an error saying that no devices were found. I have three klondike 16's hooked up to a usb hub. I followed directions but i did not install ADL_SDK. I did not think I needed it since i am not gpu mining. Do i need something else? OR do i Need ADL_SDK?

No. Did you copy the udev rules file?

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1547801721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547801721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547801721
Reply with quote  #2

1547801721
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547801721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547801721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547801721
Reply with quote  #2

1547801721
Report to moderator
1547801721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547801721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547801721
Reply with quote  #2

1547801721
Report to moderator
1547801721
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547801721

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547801721
Reply with quote  #2

1547801721
Report to moderator
bitcoinanon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


The way of the future...


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 07:55:44 PM
 #13482

OK so I have compiled cgminer onto my laptop running Ubuntu. But when i run cgminer and it runs the config file it follows with an error saying that no devices were found. I have three klondike 16's hooked up to a usb hub. I followed directions but i did not install ADL_SDK. I did not think I needed it since i am not gpu mining. Do i need something else? OR do i Need ADL_SDK?

No. Did you copy the udev rules file?

I did try to copy that file into the 01-cgminer.rules file but terminal did not respond. I rebooted and my computer still did not recognize the miners. Perhaps I am using the wrong code. But it was from the ASIC readme.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2702
Merit: 1068


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:00:45 PM
 #13483

OK so I have compiled cgminer onto my laptop running Ubuntu. But when i run cgminer and it runs the config file it follows with an error saying that no devices were found. I have three klondike 16's hooked up to a usb hub. I followed directions but i did not install ADL_SDK. I did not think I needed it since i am not gpu mining. Do i need something else? OR do i Need ADL_SDK?

No. Did you copy the udev rules file?

I did try to copy that file into the 01-cgminer.rules file but terminal did not respond. I rebooted and my computer still did not recognize the miners. Perhaps I am using the wrong code. But it was from the ASIC readme.

Firstly
lsusb
should show something like:
Code:
Bus 001 Device 007: ID 04d8:f60a Microchip Technology, Inc.
for each Klondike ... just to be sure they are plugged in Smiley

Next
./cgminer -n
should show details about each

Also try running as sudo ./cgminer .... to see if it is a privilege (udev) problem
(i.e. you didn't do what the README says to do)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
bitcoinanon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


The way of the future...


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 08:15:53 PM
Last edit: November 21, 2013, 08:51:23 PM by bitcoinanon
 #13484

is there code to check if my user has plugdev permissions?

Edit: I figured it out. Went through the steps one more time and then did a hard reboot from terminal. I booted cgminer and the k16's began hashing.
CustomDesigned
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 09:37:41 PM
 #13485


Restarted with cgminer this morning with 3.8.2 + patches from git master.  It has been 6 hours, and 8 ASICs have gone zombie, and then been rediscovered without issue.  So, this looks like a keeper on Fedora 19!

With this approach, the AMU number will keep rising.  How high can it go before restarting is advisable?  Does each disabled AMU use memory?  Or is it just a matter of overflowing 2^31 ?  Restarting weekly is probably a sane policy. 

After approx. 2 days, half of the ASIC units are zombies again.  BUT, now simply restarting the software did not awake them.  I had to unplug, and replug the failed units.  (Fortunately, when they aren't hashing, they don't burn your fingers!) 

This reminds me of the ALWAC II [ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Axel_Wenner-Gren ] at Naval Research Labs.  It had 256 bytes all electronic (vacuum tube) RAM, which was paged in its entirety from a magnetic drum memory.  Computations within the page of RAM were blindingly fast by the standards of the day, and the Fortran compiler was able to optimize for this.  However, because 256 bytes (with parity) was a lot of vacuum tubes, the failure rate was fairly high.  You needed to run your program 3 times, and if it got the same answer 2 out of 3 times, you were good.   

Why does this remind me of USB ASIC mining?  Well, a ground breaking invention on the ALWAC was a parity bit on each byte of memory.  Each byte was on its own vacuum tube board, with a neon (high reliability) lamp which glowed when the parity check failed.  An apprentice had a cart of vacuum tubes, and would race down the aisle to each board that was lit, replace all 9 tubes (they could be tested and the good ones recycled later), and run to the next.  That's what I feel like, checking for the green LEDs on the USB ASIC array, and replugging the units.
nov
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433
Merit: 251


Independent crypto developer


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2013, 12:03:20 PM
 #13486

I use Raspberry PI and ASIC Butterfly 30 GHs.

I have configured auto start of cgminer, which works perfectly.

But it always reports "USB device in use" type of message, if I remove power cord and put it back in this case.
I need to manually delete /tmp/cgminer-usb-1-4 file to cgminer be able to access the ASIC USB device.

Could you advice how to automate process the way that the cgminer will always have access to USB device?

WowDoge - DogeCoin Lightweight Wallet DOGE: DLoawzLvw5WvvpGUkSTxrwMgKhkamsqFo7
Vertigo - VertCoin Lightweight Wallet VTC: VertGv5nVwYYR7mTmDDeAP9et1NJyAsC9P | Exelite - ExeCoin Lightweight Wallet EXE: ELiteWbMDwX95YZj5Jf5BkHS54qbH7wpXg | Lightweight Wallet Creation Service
MultiCoin - Multiple Crypto Coin Lightweight Wallet in Development BTC: 1EKT9uaaDbTRuwjttFQbfax7KmGNZX32HP | BitcoinViewer - Bitcoin Balances & Transactions on iPhone/iPad BTC: 1NEvfbiA5Bs2sG2jqRdCidGUjLD5JjAjEZ
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 501



View Profile
November 22, 2013, 01:08:57 PM
 #13487

I use Raspberry PI and ASIC Butterfly 30 GHs.


Why not use something like MinePeon? 

  A revolutionary decentralized digital economy 
`Join us:██`Twitter  ◽  Facebook  ◽  Telegram  ◽  Youtube  ◽  Github`
.ATHERO
.Internet 3.0 solution
nov
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 433
Merit: 251


Independent crypto developer


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2013, 02:04:27 PM
 #13488

I do not know what are advantages?
Did not try it yet.

I am new to mining.

Started this week.

I use Raspberry PI and ASIC Butterfly 30 GHs.


Why not use something like MinePeon? 

WowDoge - DogeCoin Lightweight Wallet DOGE: DLoawzLvw5WvvpGUkSTxrwMgKhkamsqFo7
Vertigo - VertCoin Lightweight Wallet VTC: VertGv5nVwYYR7mTmDDeAP9et1NJyAsC9P | Exelite - ExeCoin Lightweight Wallet EXE: ELiteWbMDwX95YZj5Jf5BkHS54qbH7wpXg | Lightweight Wallet Creation Service
MultiCoin - Multiple Crypto Coin Lightweight Wallet in Development BTC: 1EKT9uaaDbTRuwjttFQbfax7KmGNZX32HP | BitcoinViewer - Bitcoin Balances & Transactions on iPhone/iPad BTC: 1NEvfbiA5Bs2sG2jqRdCidGUjLD5JjAjEZ
Coinpicker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 02:20:24 PM
Last edit: November 22, 2013, 02:46:19 PM by Coinpicker
 #13489

Edit: works
chr0me
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 02:46:11 PM
 #13490

What do i wrong?


Code:
C:\Users\PCJK123>Desktop\cgminer-3.8.2-windows\cgminer -o stratum+tcp://stratum.coinex.pw:9015 -u rGqRsWc7eDGRZBBQu.awgawgaw-p awgawg
 [2013-11-22 15:24:56] Unexpected extra commandline arguments

You're missing a space between your workername and "-p"

This:

Code:
-u rGqRsWc7eDGRZBBQu.awgawgaw-p awgawg

Should look like this:

Code:
-u rGqRsWc7eDGRZBBQu.awgawgaw -p awgawg

- I do translations! PM me if interested -
19sfw2W3dAFrzerkxLS26aL4HuYGpN1LNP
Coinpicker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 02:46:38 PM
 #13491

ty^^ i saw it at the moment^^
Gaywallet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 03:14:24 PM
 #13492

Trying to run it on my laptop, and cgminer crashes.

Catalyst mobility 13.9; cgminer any version I've tried... tried as far back as 2.10.1

Any help on what drivers to use to not crash cgminer?

Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   cgminer.exe
  Application Version:   0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp:   50c5c2b3
  Fault Module Name:   cgminer.exe
  Fault Module Version:   0.0.0.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   50c5c2b3
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   00022c9e
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   bff4
  Additional Information 2:   bff41f1be3cd4d1bb87c59a3b18ce19f
  Additional Information 3:   b59a
  Additional Information 4:   b59a7986763d996ceaff15c0752ec258
Coinpicker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 10:57:23 PM
 #13493

Hey guys, i have a problem, i get nothing at mining.



I mine 10-30 minutes and nothing happened, i will get LW (i dont know what it means) and some NB(i dont know what it means)  but i have all time 0khash/s.
I don t know what is wrong, in the past i had mined bitcoins whit 200mhash (gpu) and now 0khash??? There must be something wrong. I mean this is with cpu i think but there muste be some khash.... What is wrong?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2013, 11:05:01 PM
 #13494

Hey guys, i have a problem, i get nothing at mining.


I mine 10-30 minutes and nothing happened, i will get LW (i dont know what it means) and some NB(i dont know what it means)  but i have all time 0khash/s.
I don t know what is wrong, in the past i had mined bitcoins whit 200mhash (gpu) and now 0khash??? There must be something wrong. I mean this is with cpu i think but there muste be some khash.... What is wrong?
You don't have any hardware for cgminer to mine with. It is no longer a cpu or gpu miner.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 22, 2013, 11:07:27 PM
 #13495

Hey guys, i have a problem, i get nothing at mining.


I mine 10-30 minutes and nothing happened, i will get LW (i dont know what it means) and some NB(i dont know what it means)  but i have all time 0khash/s.
I don t know what is wrong, in the past i had mined bitcoins whit 200mhash (gpu) and now 0khash??? There must be something wrong. I mean this is with cpu i think but there muste be some khash.... What is wrong?
You don't have any hardware for cgminer to mine with. It is no longer a cpu or gpu miner.

What was the last version with GPU support and would that one work with Blue Furys?
Coinpicker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 22, 2013, 11:09:16 PM
 #13496

What need it else?

EDIT: ok i saw it asic fpga never heard before from it^^
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 22, 2013, 11:55:30 PM
 #13497

Hey guys, i have a problem, i get nothing at mining.


I mine 10-30 minutes and nothing happened, i will get LW (i dont know what it means) and some NB(i dont know what it means)  but i have all time 0khash/s.
I don t know what is wrong, in the past i had mined bitcoins whit 200mhash (gpu) and now 0khash??? There must be something wrong. I mean this is with cpu i think but there muste be some khash.... What is wrong?
You don't have any hardware for cgminer to mine with. It is no longer a cpu or gpu miner.

What was the last version with GPU support and would that one work with Blue Furys?

3.7.2, and it had red/blue fury support though not sure if the performance was down on that version.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 12:04:41 AM
 #13498

New release: Version 3.8.3, 23rd November 2013

Minor driver update and bugfixes.

Human readable changelog:

- Average hashrate shown for BF1 and BXF devices will now rise quickly on startup.
- The bi*fury device in its release form had different firmware from my development one so the driver has been updated to work with it.
- Fixed the bxf device to align in the display column if temperature went above 100 degrees.
- Don't keep displaying json auth failed on stratum pools that are misbehaving except at verbose logging level.
- Very small improvement in hardware error rate on some USB devices due to the way return messages are handled.
- Fix a memory leak when json is used to communicate with the RPC API
- Avalon improvements to fix the sudden drops in hashrate (these fixes are all already in the last avalon firmware I uploaded).
- Unlimited re-hotplugging of devices that have USB failures and turn into zombies but have had their USB reset by the operating system.


Full changelog:

- Set the bitfury device start times from when we first get valid work.
- Fix stack corruption of zeroing too much in bf1 driver.
- Make usb_detect return the cgpu associated with it to check if it succeeds to
decide on whether to increment the device count or not.
- Set tv work start time for bxf driver.
- Age the bxf work items over 90 seconds, not the bf1 work items.
- Zero the read buffer in _usb_read to avoid stale data and only use stack
memory instead of using the bulkbuf since it is only used in _usb_read.
- Leave room for temperatures above 100 degrees and pad consistently for bxf
statline.
- Drop json stratum auth failed message log level to verbose.
- Change the processed value not the bufsiz in response to an end of message
marker.
- Don't lose data beyond the end of message in a usb read.
- Silence irrelevant warning.
- Only check strlen on end if end exists.
- Simplify the end of message detection in _usb_read and allow it to return
without doing another read if the message is already in the buffer.
- Increase work ageing time to 90 seconds for bxf driver to account for firmware
changes.
- Use the age_queued_work function in the bitfury driver.
- Provide a function to discard queued work based on age.
- The json_val in api.c is a borrowed reference, not a new one so don't decref
it.
- Decrement json references in api.c to not leak memory.
- line 2913 added urlencode
- With reliable writes to the avalon there is no need for the sleep delays
between writes.
- There is no need to limit usb write transfers to maxpacketsize and it's
harmful for large transfers on slow devices such as wrt routers.
- Disable USB stats which were not meant to be enabled by default and add extra
memory for a memory error when stats are enabled.
- Set limit and count to integers to not overflow during failed hotplug attempts
and then not trying again.
- Update api example compilation instructions.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 01:32:41 AM
 #13499

Hi Guys,

Are there any "tricks" to the KnC Driver?  This is my frist play with it and I am unsure if I should be doing any i2cset's.

What I am getting is;-

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.2 - Started: [2013-11-22 17:55:08]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 99  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 2 with stratum as user MineForemanKNC_1
 Block: 48cf772b...  Diff:609M  Started: [17:55:08]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 KnC 0:                | SICK  / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-22 17:55:05] Started cgminer 3.8.2
 [2013-11-22 17:55:05] Loaded configuration file /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf
 [2013-11-22 17:55:05] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-22 17:55:08] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-22 17:55:08] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-22 17:55:13] API running in IP access mode on port 4028 (12)
 [2013-11-22 17:57:09] KnC0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-11-22 17:57:09] KnC0: Attempting to restart

Any notes you have on running these things would be appreciated.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 1149


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2013, 02:13:00 AM
 #13500

Hi Guys,

Are there any "tricks" to the KnC Driver?  This is my frist play with it and I am unsure if I should be doing any i2cset's.

What I am getting is;-

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.2 - Started: [2013-11-22 17:55:08]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 99  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to stratum.btcguild.com diff 2 with stratum as user MineForemanKNC_1
 Block: 48cf772b...  Diff:609M  Started: [17:55:08]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 KnC 0:                | SICK  / 0.000h/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-22 17:55:05] Started cgminer 3.8.2
 [2013-11-22 17:55:05] Loaded configuration file /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf
 [2013-11-22 17:55:05] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-22 17:55:08] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-22 17:55:08] Network diff set to 609M
 [2013-11-22 17:55:13] API running in IP access mode on port 4028 (12)
 [2013-11-22 17:57:09] KnC0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-11-22 17:57:09] KnC0: Attempting to restart

Any notes you have on running these things would be appreciated.

Neil
Based on your config file info, you seem to be running that binary on an RPi? The KnC devices come with a beaglebone built in, so what is this combination? Have you built a custom one plugging the GPIO pins of an RPi to the KnC hardware? There's an awful lot more to running those devices than just cgminer, if I'm not mistaken. The firmware does a lot more than just run cgminer on a beaglebone.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 [675] 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!