Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 11:22:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 [495] 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 ... 841 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5647689 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 393



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 02:52:49 PM
 #9881

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 673



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 02:59:31 PM
 #9882

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.

Scroll the F up and you'll see the there has been a discussion of alternative download URLs in the past 24 hours (or read the F-ing OP which also specifies the backup download location).  Not to mention that ckolivas explained that he is in fact getting a better hosting plan just 4 posts ago.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:16:22 PM
 #9883

the last two characters of the .bin file changed from l8 on Linux to l4 on windows, otherwise they're the same

The compiled opencl binary file name for scrypt is defined as:
name + kernelname + g + lg + lookup_gap + tc + thread_concurrency + w + work_size + l + sizeof(long) + .bin

l4 indicates 32-bit (4 byte) longs whereas l8 indicates 64-bit (8 byte) longs. This is unlikely to be related to your speed discrepancy.

king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 393



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 03:29:21 PM
 #9884

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.
Scroll the F up and you'll see the there has been a discussion of alternative download URLs in the past 24 hours (or read the F-ing OP which also specifies the backup download location).  Not to mention that ckolivas explained that he is in fact getting a better hosting plan just 4 posts ago.

STFU you know it all spammer, and give me a link! Cheesy
GITHUB is not working, server is not working, nothing is working.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 673



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:39:24 PM
 #9885

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.
Scroll the F up and you'll see the there has been a discussion of alternative download URLs in the past 24 hours (or read the F-ing OP which also specifies the backup download location).  Not to mention that ckolivas explained that he is in fact getting a better hosting plan just 4 posts ago.

STFU you know it all spammer, and give me a link! Cheesy
GITHUB is not working, server is not working, nothing is working.

I just downloaded it from github as a test.  Worked fine.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
LameCooter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:52:10 PM
 #9886

Well I tried to search for this but came up empty. Currently solo farming for feathercoin when I see this:
Code:
Rejected 000001f9 Diff 8.49M/5432796 BLOCK! GPU 1 pool 0
What does this mean? I solved for higher than the current diff. Did some one else beat me to the punch?


Thanks
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:53:35 PM
 #9887

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

CK,
 does it mean i have to limit the submitting value? If so, what value it should be and how to limit it?
thank you
LameCooter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:02:50 PM
 #9888

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

CK,
 does it mean i have to limit the submitting value? If so, what value it should be and how to limit it?
thank you


It's just reporting information. It's as if you went up to the counter to pay $88,800 for a new toy that costs $31,621,939 and the clerk said "NO!"

I think
Nadia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:22:55 PM
 #9889

Hello all,

Is it possible on cgminer to run different parameters on different GPUs ?  Huh
For example I need to set different intensity on my 2 cards to prevent hardware error :

cgminer.exe -d 0 -I 13 -d 1 -I 20

Set on device 0 intensity 13 and on device 1 intensity 20, but it does not work, it sets intensity 20 to all GPU.

So what I currently do is running 2 instances of cgminer with a disabled GPU on each one and different parameters. But it's pretty bad because it can lead to strange behaviour : for example, each instance want to modify fan speed of ALL gpu, even if GPU is "disabled" in current one...

Thank you. Smiley


BTC donation : 1DAFbSSPxT2Q2rMbGEG9mXhyxkbFAnCSdQ

AUTOMATIC escrow bot : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200880
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 04:24:55 PM
 #9890

Hello all,

Is it possible on cgminer to run different parameters on different GPUs ?  Huh
For example I need to set different intensity on my 2 cards to prevent hardware error :

cgminer.exe -d 0 -I 13 -d 1 -I 20

Set on device 0 intensity 13 and on device 1 intensity 20, but it does not work, it sets intensity 20 to all GPU.

So what I currently do is running 2 instances of cgminer with a disabled GPU on each one and different parameters. But it's pretty bad because it can lead to strange behaviour : for example, each instance want to modify fan speed of ALL gpu, even if GPU is "disabled" in current one...

Thank you. Smiley
Code:
-I 13,20

It's in the readme. Roll Eyes

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Nadia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:27:17 PM
 #9891

It's in the readme. Roll Eyes
Wow thanks. I suppose it works for all parameters. Gonna try it. Thank you.  Wink

BTC donation : 1DAFbSSPxT2Q2rMbGEG9mXhyxkbFAnCSdQ

AUTOMATIC escrow bot : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200880
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 05:33:20 PM
 #9892

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

CK,
 does it mean i have to limit the submitting value? If so, what value it should be and how to limit it?
thank you


It's just reporting information. It's as if you went up to the counter to pay $88,800 for a new toy that costs $31,621,939 and the clerk said "NO!"

I think
ok. So why does it do it occasionally then?
collapse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


step forward


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 08:18:46 PM
 #9893

Compiled for 64bit windows, someone knows if cgminer has better performance or consumes less resources that 32bit?

---
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 09:06:22 PM
 #9894

Compiled for 64bit windows, someone knows if cgminer has better performance or consumes less resources that 32bit?


With a 64-bit binary, performance will be the same because all of the work happens on the GPU/FPGA/ASIC and it will use more resources in terms of disk space and memory (although only trivially more).
collapse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


step forward


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 11:15:08 PM
 #9895

Compiled for 64bit windows, someone knows if cgminer has better performance or consumes less resources that 32bit?


With a 64-bit binary, performance will be the same because all of the work happens on the GPU/FPGA/ASIC and it will use more resources in terms of disk space and memory (although only trivially more).



in scrypt, Cgminer puts hexacore 3930K 4.11Ghz at 34% of full power..., mining in GPU

---
Eric Rye
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 11:23:38 PM
 #9896

the last two characters of the .bin file changed from l8 on Linux to l4 on windows, otherwise they're the same

The compiled opencl binary file name for scrypt is defined as:
name + kernelname + g + lg + lookup_gap + tc + thread_concurrency + w + work_size + l + sizeof(long) + .bin

l4 indicates 32-bit (4 byte) longs whereas l8 indicates 64-bit (8 byte) longs. This is unlikely to be related to your speed discrepancy.



Thanks for the reply. All I can really try is rolling back the drivers I suppose.
Peleus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 12:51:21 AM
 #9897

As crazy as it sounds, I tend to get different performance if I start the miner in person vs over VNC.

In person it usually averages about 500 kH/s per card.

Over VNC it drops to around 400 kH/s per card.

Would it have something to do with the screen that it's using when starting? Should I take Display=:0 out of the script?

Any thoughts would be interesting, cheers.
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile
May 03, 2013, 12:57:30 AM
 #9898

Would it have something to do with the screen that it's using when starting? Should I take Display=:0 out of the script?

If you take the DISPLAY=:0 out of your script, you won't be doing any mining, that's how the program gets access to the graphics card Smiley

I have noticed with my laptop (5450M) that if I start cgminer on the console, it seems to push the card harder and causes it to overheat and stop after ~10 minutes. If I start it via RDP, then it doesn't push it quite so hard, so doesn't overheat and hence keeps running indefinitely.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960



View Profile
May 03, 2013, 01:28:35 AM
 #9899

Competing with myself in mining doesn't make any sense.
You aren't "competing with yourself."  Difficulty is programed to adjust periodically to a target of 6 blocks per hour.  Mining slower to only get 6 blocks per hour will prevent a difficulty change, but won't change how often you get a block vs mining faster once difficulty is done adjusting.  If you want difficulty to stay low, you could CPU mine (although not with cgminer).  If you need more than 6 blocks per hour, maybe modifying the code for your testchain would make more sense.  If you want to use less power, then it probably makes sense to "detune" your video card.  In that case, I would recommend starting with the tuning suggestions in the readme and trying to use logic to get the results you want (IE, underclock the video card).
Well, underclocking the video card is a quite involved process, especially on a laptop. It seems like the AMD drivers keep the set of clock settings per power state of the OS. So when underclocked while plugged in the machine upclocks when unplugged and put on the battery power. And vice versa: when underclocked on the battery it upclocks when plugged in.

The goal is to be able to mine at least one blockchain without triggering the increase of the difficulty and without raising the temperatures of the CPU & GPU to trigger the internal fan of the laptop.

With the fan working I could mine at least three competing branches of the blockchain without raising the difficulty; all on the low-end laptop. This is really helpful for the reorganization testing, but not really required for the usual tests.

I absolutely want to mine against the official binaries without changing anything or even a recompilation. This is an explicit goal of the test process: to successfully interface with the official Satoshi clients.

Mining on the CPU even with a single core always results in the fans spinning and produces blocks at the annoyingly slow rate that would needlessly prolong the test runs.

Yes, I fully understand that cgminer is 99.99% designed for the production mining and not for the development mining. I have to rethink how to cover the remaining 0.01% use case: R&D on the testnet.

I'll maybe need to think about a creative use of cgminer API to slow it down or maybe come up with a simple slow-it-down mining proxy server.

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2338


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2013, 01:40:06 AM
 #9900

Well I tried to search for this but came up empty. Currently solo farming for feathercoin when I see this:
Code:
Rejected 000001f9 Diff 8.49M/5432796 BLOCK! GPU 1 pool 0
What does this mean? I solved for higher than the current diff. Did some one else beat me to the punch?
If blocks come in quickly on your altchain, and you were mining solo on your *coind then it doesn't have a way of telling you blocks have changed (like longpoll or stratum), so you risk mining on old blocks and increasing rejects. Lots of ways to improve this, someone else might have time to tell you.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 [495] 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 ... 841 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!