Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:00:30 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 [495] 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4820086 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 01:39:44 PM
 #9881

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481054430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054430
Reply with quote  #2

1481054430
Report to moderator
1481054430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054430
Reply with quote  #2

1481054430
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481054430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054430
Reply with quote  #2

1481054430
Report to moderator
1481054430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481054430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481054430
Reply with quote  #2

1481054430
Report to moderator
Eric Rye
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 02:00:30 PM
 #9882

I just moved my 7970 from a Linux machine to a windows machine and it went from 760 khash/s to 580 khash/s with the same settings. I did change the cgminer version from 2.11.3 to 3.1.0 and the AMD drivers from 13.3 beta to 13.4, but people seem to be getting good hashrates with both of those, so I don't think they're the problem. The only other thing I've noticed is different is that the last two characters of the .bin file changed from l8 on Linux to l4 on windows, otherwise they're the same. What do those characters signify? Does anyone have any ideas what the problem might be? Thanks.
king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 02:52:49 PM
 #9883

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 02:59:31 PM
 #9884

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.

Scroll the F up and you'll see the there has been a discussion of alternative download URLs in the past 24 hours (or read the F-ing OP which also specifies the backup download location).  Not to mention that ckolivas explained that he is in fact getting a better hosting plan just 4 posts ago.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:16:22 PM
 #9885

the last two characters of the .bin file changed from l8 on Linux to l4 on windows, otherwise they're the same

The compiled opencl binary file name for scrypt is defined as:
name + kernelname + g + lg + lookup_gap + tc + thread_concurrency + w + work_size + l + sizeof(long) + .bin

l4 indicates 32-bit (4 byte) longs whereas l8 indicates 64-bit (8 byte) longs. This is unlikely to be related to your speed discrepancy.

king_pin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 375



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 03:29:21 PM
 #9886

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.
Scroll the F up and you'll see the there has been a discussion of alternative download URLs in the past 24 hours (or read the F-ing OP which also specifies the backup download location).  Not to mention that ckolivas explained that he is in fact getting a better hosting plan just 4 posts ago.

STFU you know it all spammer, and give me a link! Cheesy
GITHUB is not working, server is not working, nothing is working.

Help to save a persons life with BITCOIN - http://www.bitcoinsaves.org/en/
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:39:24 PM
 #9887

Where The F can i download CGminer 3 Cheesy
Server hasan't been working for 2 days! You get enough donations (including me) to buy a better host plan.
Scroll the F up and you'll see the there has been a discussion of alternative download URLs in the past 24 hours (or read the F-ing OP which also specifies the backup download location).  Not to mention that ckolivas explained that he is in fact getting a better hosting plan just 4 posts ago.

STFU you know it all spammer, and give me a link! Cheesy
GITHUB is not working, server is not working, nothing is working.

I just downloaded it from github as a test.  Worked fine.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
LameCooter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:52:10 PM
 #9888

Well I tried to search for this but came up empty. Currently solo farming for feathercoin when I see this:
Code:
Rejected 000001f9 Diff 8.49M/5432796 BLOCK! GPU 1 pool 0
What does this mean? I solved for higher than the current diff. Did some one else beat me to the punch?


Thanks
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 03:53:35 PM
 #9889

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

CK,
 does it mean i have to limit the submitting value? If so, what value it should be and how to limit it?
thank you
LameCooter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:02:50 PM
 #9890

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

CK,
 does it mean i have to limit the submitting value? If so, what value it should be and how to limit it?
thank you


It's just reporting information. It's as if you went up to the counter to pay $88,800 for a new toy that costs $31,621,939 and the clerk said "NO!"

I think
Nadia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:22:55 PM
 #9891

Hello all,

Is it possible on cgminer to run different parameters on different GPUs ?  Huh
For example I need to set different intensity on my 2 cards to prevent hardware error :

cgminer.exe -d 0 -I 13 -d 1 -I 20

Set on device 0 intensity 13 and on device 1 intensity 20, but it does not work, it sets intensity 20 to all GPU.

So what I currently do is running 2 instances of cgminer with a disabled GPU on each one and different parameters. But it's pretty bad because it can lead to strange behaviour : for example, each instance want to modify fan speed of ALL gpu, even if GPU is "disabled" in current one...

Thank you. Smiley


BTC donation : 1DAFbSSPxT2Q2rMbGEG9mXhyxkbFAnCSdQ

AUTOMATIC escrow bot : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200880
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
May 02, 2013, 04:24:55 PM
 #9892

Hello all,

Is it possible on cgminer to run different parameters on different GPUs ?  Huh
For example I need to set different intensity on my 2 cards to prevent hardware error :

cgminer.exe -d 0 -I 13 -d 1 -I 20

Set on device 0 intensity 13 and on device 1 intensity 20, but it does not work, it sets intensity 20 to all GPU.

So what I currently do is running 2 instances of cgminer with a disabled GPU on each one and different parameters. But it's pretty bad because it can lead to strange behaviour : for example, each instance want to modify fan speed of ALL gpu, even if GPU is "disabled" in current one...

Thank you. Smiley
Code:
-I 13,20

It's in the readme. Roll Eyes

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Nadia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35



View Profile
May 02, 2013, 04:27:17 PM
 #9893

It's in the readme. Roll Eyes
Wow thanks. I suppose it works for all parameters. Gonna try it. Thank you.  Wink

BTC donation : 1DAFbSSPxT2Q2rMbGEG9mXhyxkbFAnCSdQ

AUTOMATIC escrow bot : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200880
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 05:33:20 PM
 #9894

Yes, solo submits any share >64k on litecoin mining.

CK,
 does it mean i have to limit the submitting value? If so, what value it should be and how to limit it?
thank you


It's just reporting information. It's as if you went up to the counter to pay $88,800 for a new toy that costs $31,621,939 and the clerk said "NO!"

I think
ok. So why does it do it occasionally then?
collapse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122


step forward


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 08:18:46 PM
 #9895

Compiled for 64bit windows, someone knows if cgminer has better performance or consumes less resources that 32bit?

Bitcoin: 32vpp7CTUsQMubvUfsJsyfrkkTM3sMwWtC
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 09:06:22 PM
 #9896

Compiled for 64bit windows, someone knows if cgminer has better performance or consumes less resources that 32bit?


With a 64-bit binary, performance will be the same because all of the work happens on the GPU/FPGA/ASIC and it will use more resources in terms of disk space and memory (although only trivially more).
collapse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122


step forward


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 11:15:08 PM
 #9897

Compiled for 64bit windows, someone knows if cgminer has better performance or consumes less resources that 32bit?


With a 64-bit binary, performance will be the same because all of the work happens on the GPU/FPGA/ASIC and it will use more resources in terms of disk space and memory (although only trivially more).



in scrypt, Cgminer puts hexacore 3930K 4.11Ghz at 34% of full power..., mining in GPU

Bitcoin: 32vpp7CTUsQMubvUfsJsyfrkkTM3sMwWtC
Eric Rye
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 02, 2013, 11:23:38 PM
 #9898

the last two characters of the .bin file changed from l8 on Linux to l4 on windows, otherwise they're the same

The compiled opencl binary file name for scrypt is defined as:
name + kernelname + g + lg + lookup_gap + tc + thread_concurrency + w + work_size + l + sizeof(long) + .bin

l4 indicates 32-bit (4 byte) longs whereas l8 indicates 64-bit (8 byte) longs. This is unlikely to be related to your speed discrepancy.



Thanks for the reply. All I can really try is rolling back the drivers I suppose.
Peleus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 03, 2013, 12:51:21 AM
 #9899

As crazy as it sounds, I tend to get different performance if I start the miner in person vs over VNC.

In person it usually averages about 500 kH/s per card.

Over VNC it drops to around 400 kH/s per card.

Would it have something to do with the screen that it's using when starting? Should I take Display=:0 out of the script?

Any thoughts would be interesting, cheers.
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
May 03, 2013, 12:57:30 AM
 #9900

Would it have something to do with the screen that it's using when starting? Should I take Display=:0 out of the script?

If you take the DISPLAY=:0 out of your script, you won't be doing any mining, that's how the program gets access to the graphics card Smiley

I have noticed with my laptop (5450M) that if I start cgminer on the console, it seems to push the card harder and causes it to overheat and stop after ~10 minutes. If I start it via RDP, then it doesn't push it quite so hard, so doesn't overheat and hence keeps running indefinitely.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
Pages: « 1 ... 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 [495] 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!