Bitcoin Forum
July 26, 2017, 08:32:30 PM *
News: BIP91 seems stable: there's probably only slightly increased risk of confirmations disappearing. You should still prepare for Aug 1.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 [497] 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 ... 835 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5310390 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 01:38:02 AM
 #9921

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?
Decentralized search
Search for products or services and get paid for it
Join pre-ICO
25 July. 50% discount
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1501101150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501101150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501101150
Reply with quote  #2

1501101150
Report to moderator
1501101150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501101150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501101150
Reply with quote  #2

1501101150
Report to moderator
1501101150
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501101150

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501101150
Reply with quote  #2

1501101150
Report to moderator
ZeikHunter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 02:18:57 AM
 #9922

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?

Its like priority in the windows task manager, it sets how important the hashing is to the GPU. 'd' setting is good for computers being used while mining, while most dedicated mining cards see performance benefits in the 9-15 intensity range, from what I've seen.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 02:52:47 AM
 #9923

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?
GPU-README (yeah another of the files people don't read)

INTENSITY INFORMATION:

Intensity correlates with the size of work being submitted at any one time to
a GPU. The higher the number the larger the size of work. Generally speaking
finding an optimal value rather than the highest value is the correct approach
as hash rate rises up to a point with higher intensities but above that, the
device may be very slow to return responses, or produce errors.

NOTE: Running BTC intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. 11 is the upper
limit for intensity while BTC mining, if the GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS variable
is set (see FAQ). The upper limit for sha256 mining is 14 and 20 for scrypt.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Tia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 03:21:31 AM
 #9924

Any bright types out here seen something like this before? Is there anything actionable I should take aware from this:

 [2013-05-03 22:03:47] New block: 0124e5430a473503... diff 10.1M
 [2013-05-03 22:03:47] JSON-RPC decode failed: [
   20,
   "_stratum_mining_subscribe() takes exactly 1 positional argument (3 given)",
   "Traceback (most recent call last):\n  File \"/home/bitcoinpool/eloipool/stratumserver.py\", line 91, in found_terminator\n    rv = getattr(self, funcname)(*rpc['params'])\nTypeError: _stratum_mining_subscribe() takes exactly 1 positional argument (3 given)\n"
]
 [2013-05-03 22:03:48] Stratum authorisation success for pool 2
LameCooter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 04:39:11 AM
 #9925

Well I tried to search for this but came up empty. Currently solo farming for feathercoin when I see this:
Code:
Rejected 000001f9 Diff 8.49M/5432796 BLOCK! GPU 1 pool 0
What does this mean? I solved for higher than the current diff. Did some one else beat me to the punch?
If blocks come in quickly on your altchain, and you were mining solo on your *coind then it doesn't have a way of telling you blocks have changed (like longpoll or stratum), so you risk mining on old blocks and increasing rejects. Lots of ways to improve this, someone else might have time to tell you.

Thanks for the reply. I wondered if it was something like that. Must've been bad luck because I actually put in a second pool to get the longpoll... must've missed it by that much... Thanks for the great app
ZeikHunter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:26:15 AM
 #9926

updated to catalyst 13.4 from 13.1 last night. now cgminer (301 and 310) hangs on start. i get as far as this:

Code:
[2013-05-03 16:18:35] Started cgminer 3.0.1
[2013-05-03 16:18:35] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
[2013-05-03 16:18:36] Probing for an alive pool
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Disabling extra threads due to dynamic mode.
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Tune dynamic intensity with --gpu-dyninterval
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Network diff set to 10.1M
[2013-05-03 16:18:38] Thread 1 being disabled

and it just sits there indefinitely. tried a few different .conf settings, and get ther same. without a .conf and specifying url and such, it crashes a few seconds after hitting return after entering password.

any ideas?

nobody? I'm to the point where im mining with guiminer, seeing ~150Mhs slower than i should be Sad
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:30:05 AM
 #9927

updated to catalyst 13.4 from 13.1 last night. now cgminer (301 and 310) hangs on start. i get as far as this:

Code:
[2013-05-03 16:18:35] Started cgminer 3.0.1
[2013-05-03 16:18:35] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
[2013-05-03 16:18:36] Probing for an alive pool
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Disabling extra threads due to dynamic mode.
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Tune dynamic intensity with --gpu-dyninterval
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Network diff set to 10.1M
[2013-05-03 16:18:38] Thread 1 being disabled

and it just sits there indefinitely. tried a few different .conf settings, and get ther same. without a .conf and specifying url and such, it crashes a few seconds after hitting return after entering password.

any ideas?

nobody? I'm to the point where im mining with guiminer, seeing ~150Mhs slower than i should be Sad
Read your first line ... that a hint?
Downgrade.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ZeikHunter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 09:11:01 AM
 #9928

updated to catalyst 13.4 from 13.1 last night. now cgminer (301 and 310) hangs on start. i get as far as this:

Code:
[2013-05-03 16:18:35] Started cgminer 3.0.1
[2013-05-03 16:18:35] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf
[2013-05-03 16:18:36] Probing for an alive pool
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Disabling extra threads due to dynamic mode.
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Tune dynamic intensity with --gpu-dyninterval
[2013-05-03 16:18:37] Network diff set to 10.1M
[2013-05-03 16:18:38] Thread 1 being disabled

and it just sits there indefinitely. tried a few different .conf settings, and get ther same. without a .conf and specifying url and such, it crashes a few seconds after hitting return after entering password.

any ideas?

nobody? I'm to the point where im mining with guiminer, seeing ~150Mhs slower than i should be Sad
Read your first line ... that a hint?
Downgrade.
Yeah, I was hoping for an actual solution rather than just reverting and ignoring the problem.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 09:12:51 AM
 #9929

If the driver is broken for mining, what do you expect cgminer to do about it?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ZeikHunter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 09:23:44 AM
 #9930

If the driver is broken for mining, what do you expect cgminer to do about it?

no idea, its why I asked. Despite what my search said, I couldnt be the first one with the problem. I was genuinely hoping for a workaround or fix I missed.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 09:25:28 AM
 #9931

If the driver is broken for mining, what do you expect cgminer to do about it?

no idea, its why I asked. Despite what my search said, I couldnt be the first one with the problem. I was genuinely hoping for a workaround or fix I missed.
The readmes go to great pains to say many times over that drivers and sdk are everything. I really wish people would pay attention to documentation.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 09:44:02 AM
 #9932

Yeah there was a time when we could ONLY use 1 11.x driver.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
aspirez
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:16:50 AM
 #9933

Is it possible to use cgminer with HTTP proxy that have username and password autentication?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 11:34:33 AM
 #9934

proxifier?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Tad3j
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 270


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 12:25:49 PM
 #9935

Hei!!

I am having strange problem. I use CGminer 2.11.3 and on my 5970 I do not have a display after starting to hash. On the pool site I have a output for khash / s but I cannot see and change anything on the fly in CGminer.

Has someone an idea, what could be wrong?


Tnx in advance ...
comal
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 12:47:12 PM
 #9936

Hy,

i have a Sapphire 7970 and try to mine LTC but i come in the best case to 400 to 500 kh/s has anyone an idea what i am doing wrong?

First i was on Sabayon 11 Linux with the amd beta driver 13.3 and sdk2.8 somehow i managed to change the driver to 13.4 and also tried sdk 2.7 no change.
Once i started to try other drivers like 12.10 my system crashed totally, right now i switched to xubuntu 12.04,  with sdk 2.6 but still with very low kh/s

when i try to change the engine clock and memory clock it has more or less no effect at all, kh/s does not really increase or decrease, the only effect is that at some point th gpu crashes and thats it.

with these options i start, which do bring the best result so far
--scrypt --auto-fan --temp-target 70 --intensity 13 --worksize 256 --thread-concurrency 22272 -g 2
Another question i have is, when i change the sdk and or driver, do i need to recompile cgminer or can i use the same binary?

thanks a bunch for any help.
cheers

shatter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 05:03:17 PM
 #9937

Having big problems with cgminer 3.1.0 on windows 7 64 bit.

Using HIS HD 7970 x2 with catalyst driver 13.1

Direct 3D 9.14.10.0945
OpenGL 6.14.10.12002

I tried to setup cgminer 3.1.0 with the simpliest settings

cgminer.exe -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -scrypt


Cgminer directly crashes with the windows screen, that the programm is not working any more.

I have absolutely no idea what i can do :/

The HIS control center is installed too, should i deinstall?

I recently changed from nvidia to Ati card.
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 646



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 05:06:12 PM
 #9938

I tried to setup cgminer 3.1.0 with the simpliest settings

cgminer.exe -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -scrypt
Try --scrypt instead of -scrypt

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
shatter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 05:17:02 PM
 #9939

I tried to setup cgminer 3.1.0 with the simpliest settings

cgminer.exe -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -scrypt
Try --scrypt instead of -scrypt

I AM AN IDIOT! Smiley i think i can figure it out an post the result here.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 05:53:44 PM
 #9940

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?
GPU-README (yeah another of the files people don't read)

INTENSITY INFORMATION:

Intensity correlates with the size of work being submitted at any one time to
a GPU. The higher the number the larger the size of work. Generally speaking
finding an optimal value rather than the highest value is the correct approach
as hash rate rises up to a point with higher intensities but above that, the
device may be very slow to return responses, or produce errors.

NOTE: Running BTC intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. 11 is the upper
limit for intensity while BTC mining, if the GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS variable
is set (see FAQ). The upper limit for sha256 mining is 14 and 20 for scrypt.


well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.
Pages: « 1 ... 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 [497] 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 ... 835 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!