Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:31:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 [498] 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4816660 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
shatter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 05:17:02 PM
 #9941

I tried to setup cgminer 3.1.0 with the simpliest settings

cgminer.exe -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -scrypt
Try --scrypt instead of -scrypt

I AM AN IDIOT! Smiley i think i can figure it out an post the result here.
1480854674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854674
Reply with quote  #2

1480854674
Report to moderator
1480854674
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854674

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854674
Reply with quote  #2

1480854674
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 05:53:44 PM
 #9942

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?
GPU-README (yeah another of the files people don't read)

INTENSITY INFORMATION:

Intensity correlates with the size of work being submitted at any one time to
a GPU. The higher the number the larger the size of work. Generally speaking
finding an optimal value rather than the highest value is the correct approach
as hash rate rises up to a point with higher intensities but above that, the
device may be very slow to return responses, or produce errors.

NOTE: Running BTC intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. 11 is the upper
limit for intensity while BTC mining, if the GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS variable
is set (see FAQ). The upper limit for sha256 mining is 14 and 20 for scrypt.


well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
shatter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 06:28:31 PM
 #9943

I tried to setup cgminer 3.1.0 with the simpliest settings

cgminer.exe -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -scrypt
Try --scrypt instead of -scrypt

I AM AN IDIOT! Smiley i think i can figure it out an post the result here.


ok something was messed up with the driver installation.

Iam getting "only" 550 khs right now. I need now to find out how to implement a config file into all this and which settings for the card to put in Smiley
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 06:33:13 PM
 #9944

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?
GPU-README (yeah another of the files people don't read)

INTENSITY INFORMATION:

Intensity correlates with the size of work being submitted at any one time to
a GPU. The higher the number the larger the size of work. Generally speaking
finding an optimal value rather than the highest value is the correct approach
as hash rate rises up to a point with higher intensities but above that, the
device may be very slow to return responses, or produce errors.

NOTE: Running BTC intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. 11 is the upper
limit for intensity while BTC mining, if the GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS variable
is set (see FAQ). The upper limit for sha256 mining is 14 and 20 for scrypt.


well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

What hardware are you using for mining?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 07:47:38 PM
 #9945

just what is "intensity"?

Did you see this?

--intensity|-I <arg> Intensity of GPU scanning (d or -10 -> 10, default: d to maintain desktop interactivity)

and what does that mean? how does it affect miner output?
GPU-README (yeah another of the files people don't read)

INTENSITY INFORMATION:

Intensity correlates with the size of work being submitted at any one time to
a GPU. The higher the number the larger the size of work. Generally speaking
finding an optimal value rather than the highest value is the correct approach
as hash rate rises up to a point with higher intensities but above that, the
device may be very slow to return responses, or produce errors.

NOTE: Running BTC intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. 11 is the upper
limit for intensity while BTC mining, if the GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS variable
is set (see FAQ). The upper limit for sha256 mining is 14 and 20 for scrypt.


well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

What hardware are you using for mining?

I'm using an Asus C60M1-I AMD C-60/ AMD FCH A50M/ DDR3/ SATA3/ A&V&GbE/ Mini ITX Motherboard & CPU Combo

The goals for this little miner were low cost an low power. as it sits it cost $180 dollars and is using about 40 watts. i'm going to be adding a sapphire 6570 video card tomorrow. that will bring the cost up to about $240.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:01:56 PM
 #9946


>> What hardware are you using for mining?

I'm using an Asus C60M1-I AMD C-60/ AMD FCH A50M/ DDR3/ SATA3/ A&V&GbE/ Mini ITX Motherboard & CPU Combo

The goals for this little miner were low cost an low power. as it sits it cost $180 dollars and is using about 40 watts. i'm going to be adding a sapphire 6570 video card tomorrow. that will bring the cost up to about $240.


Are you CPU or GPU mining  currently?  Not that it matters at this point I guess.  Since you'll be mining 80 to 100Mhs tomorrow.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 08:46:23 PM
 #9947

<cut off>
well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

10Mhash/s? how do you get the Mhash ? ty
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 09:16:36 PM
 #9948


What hardware are you using for mining?

I'm using an Asus C60M1-I AMD C-60/ AMD FCH A50M/ DDR3/ SATA3/ A&V&GbE/ Mini ITX Motherboard & CPU Combo

The goals for this little miner were low cost an low power. as it sits it cost $180 dollars and is using about 40 watts. i'm going to be adding a sapphire 6570 video card tomorrow. that will bring the cost up to about $240.


Are you CPU or GPU mining  currently?  Not that it matters at this point I guess.  Since you'll be mining 80 to 100Mhs tomorrow.
Sam
[/quote]

GPU mining, but this board doesn't have a traditional Video card. I think it is attached to the CPU.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 09:19:43 PM
 #9949

<cut off>
well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

10Mhash/s? how do you get the Mhash ? ty

Did i mislabel? isn't Mhs, Mega Hashes? I've only been into this for about 2 weeks so it would be easy for me to mispeak.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Schrankwand
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:38:32 PM
 #9950

Hi!

I have a smaller issue I have tested with  2.11, 2.11.2, 3.0 and 3.1 to date. I mine Scrypt coins, namely feathercoin and litecoin.

I have noticed that seemingly random, Cgminer crashes after Stratum disconnect. Usually, the server looses connection and cgminer will restart work after Stratum at pool 0 requests work restart.

Sometimes, after the disconnect, Cgminer crashes completely.


I use a Gigabyte 7970, Windows 8 professional, Ati driver version 8.982-120727a-144338C-Rage 6.

I use the following commands : --shaders 2048 --thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -g 2 -w 256

Joerii
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:47:18 PM
 #9951

Hi guys. Quick question : i'm trying to solo mine CHNcoin and when I run my freshly created solomine.bat, I get error -61. WHat does it mean and how do I er...." decrease TC or increase LG" I don't know what those two settings even mean.

Is it because overclocking software was started at boot or some other process is interfering with CG miner ?

thanks in advance for replying.

.
PROMO  ViDEO
   E x p l a i n e r s     ►   T e a s e r s   
.
H Y P E R C U B E
.
.
  PORTFOLiO
  S e n a n   E - m a i la   acaaaaaaaaaa
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                     ,Hv                                      
                               ¿
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 10:52:35 PM
 #9952

Hi guys. Quick question : i'm trying to solo mine CHNcoin and when I run my freshly created solomine.bat, I get error -61. WHat does it mean and how do I er...." decrease TC or increase LG" I don't know what those two settings even mean.

Is it because overclocking software was started at boot or some other process is interfering with CG miner ?

thanks in advance for replying.
TC = Thread Concurrency
LG = Lookup Gap
Answer = SCRYPT-README

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 10:54:40 PM
 #9953

Hi!

I have a smaller issue I have tested with  2.11, 2.11.2, 3.0 and 3.1 to date. I mine Scrypt coins, namely feathercoin and litecoin.

I have noticed that seemingly random, Cgminer crashes after Stratum disconnect. Usually, the server looses connection and cgminer will restart work after Stratum at pool 0 requests work restart.

Sometimes, after the disconnect, Cgminer crashes completely.


I use a Gigabyte 7970, Windows 8 professional, Ati driver version 8.982-120727a-144338C-Rage 6.

I use the following commands : --shaders 2048 --thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -g 2 -w 256
Yes unfortunately the library that does the communications, libcurl, seems to continually be the cause of subtle bugs with stratum. It's ironic that most crashes we've spent a lot of time tracking down are the software bits we didn't write ourselves I've been tempted to rewrite all that part to do it raw, but it would lose the proxy and ipv6 support (though people don't seem to be able to use the ipv6 and the number of proxy users is small).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Schrankwand
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:12:33 PM
 #9954

Hi!

I have a smaller issue I have tested with  2.11, 2.11.2, 3.0 and 3.1 to date. I mine Scrypt coins, namely feathercoin and litecoin.

I have noticed that seemingly random, Cgminer crashes after Stratum disconnect. Usually, the server looses connection and cgminer will restart work after Stratum at pool 0 requests work restart.

Sometimes, after the disconnect, Cgminer crashes completely.


I use a Gigabyte 7970, Windows 8 professional, Ati driver version 8.982-120727a-144338C-Rage 6.

I use the following commands : --shaders 2048 --thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -g 2 -w 256
Yes unfortunately the library that does the communications, libcurl, seems to continually be the cause of subtle bugs with stratum. It's ironic that most crashes we've spent a lot of time tracking down are the software bits we didn't write ourselves I've been tempted to rewrite all that part to do it raw, but it would lose the proxy and ipv6 support (though people don't seem to be able to use the ipv6 and the number of proxy users is small).

ipv6 is quite annoying on Windows 8 computers anyway. For some reason, Microsoft managed to implement it in a way that almost always leaks your DNS even when you are behind a VPN.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:19:30 PM
 #9955

<cut off>
well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

10Mhash/s? how do you get the Mhash ? ty

Did i mislabel? isn't Mhs, Mega Hashes? I've only been into this for about 2 weeks so it would be easy for me to mispeak.

No, just misunderstood me I think.  I was intending to ask what your mining device was that was getting only 6 to 10Mhs/s.  But you said you were getting a Radeon 6570 which can get you 68 to 100Mhs/s.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Joerii
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 11:33:53 PM
 #9956


thanks in advance for replying.
TC = Thread Concurrency
LG = Lookup Gap
Answer = SCRYPT-README
[/quote]

Hi guys. Quick question : i'm trying to solo mine CHNcoin and when I run my freshly created solomine.bat, I get error -61. WHat does it mean and how do I er...." decrease TC or increase LG" I don't know what those two settings even mean.

Is it because overclocking software was started at boot or some other process is interfering with CG miner ?

thanks in advance for replying.
TC = Thread Concurrency
LG = Lookup Gap
Answer = SCRYPT-README

Thanks Kano. Your avatar is fascinating, by the way. Is that a picture of you trying to provoke your audience into thinking you are about to sever your forearm with a katana blade ?

Anyhoo.

Turns out I didn't set the MAX ALLOCATION too 100%. That fixed it.

New question : CG miner reports that difficulty is set to 526k. This seems overmuch as the current difficulty of CHNcoin is 8. How do i change this ?

.
PROMO  ViDEO
   E x p l a i n e r s     ►   T e a s e r s   
.
H Y P E R C U B E
.
.
  PORTFOLiO
  S e n a n   E - m a i la   acaaaaaaaaaa
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                     ,Hv                                      
                               ¿
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 12:21:21 AM
 #9957

New question : CG miner reports that difficulty is set to 526k. This seems overmuch as the current difficulty of CHNcoin is 8. How do i change this ?


CGMiner reports what the network is saying.  If it says 526k, then it's 526k.  Are you sure you're on the right pool/network?

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 12:24:12 AM
 #9958

New question : CG miner reports that difficulty is set to 526k. This seems overmuch as the current difficulty of CHNcoin is 8. How do i change this ?


CGMiner reports what the network is saying.  If it says 526k, then it's 526k.  Are you sure you're on the right pool/network?

M
.. and in case he are mixing coin pools ... read the first 3 lines of the README Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Joerii
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 12:51:00 AM
 #9959

New question : CG miner reports that difficulty is set to 526k. This seems overmuch as the current difficulty of CHNcoin is 8. How do i change this ?


CGMiner reports what the network is saying.  If it says 526k, then it's 526k.  Are you sure you're on the right pool/network?

M
.. and in case he are mixing coin pools ... read the first 3 lines of the README Smiley

It's funny you've quoted README's two times now without solving anything, kind of like you're telling me to RTFM while actually you don't really know what you're talking about.

Here's the answer https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195259.msg2030732#msg2030732

still puzzled by your avatar though

.
PROMO  ViDEO
   E x p l a i n e r s     ►   T e a s e r s   
.
H Y P E R C U B E
.
.
  PORTFOLiO
  S e n a n   E - m a i la   acaaaaaaaaaa
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                     ,Hv                                      
                               ¿
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 12:55:07 AM
 #9960

...
It's funny you've quoted README's two times now without solving anything, kind of like you're telling me to RTFM while actually you don't really know what you're talking about.
...
What would I know Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 [498] 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!