Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:07:41 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 [499] 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4828245 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 01:12:07 AM
 #9961

New question : CG miner reports that difficulty is set to 526k. This seems overmuch as the current difficulty of CHNcoin is 8. How do i change this ?


CGMiner reports what the network is saying.  If it says 526k, then it's 526k.  Are you sure you're on the right pool/network?

M
.. and in case he are mixing coin pools ... read the first 3 lines of the README Smiley

It's funny you've quoted README's two times now without solving anything, kind of like you're telling me to RTFM while actually you don't really know what you're talking about.

Here's the answer https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195259.msg2030732#msg2030732

still puzzled by your avatar though

I guess someone could make youtube video reading the FAQ and Readme's to you so you wouldn't have to actually RTFM for yourself.

Reading The Fine (or other term) Manual may be more productive than telling one of the author's of the software "actually you don't really know what you're talking about. ".

Just sayin,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
1481458061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458061
Reply with quote  #2

1481458061
Report to moderator
1481458061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458061
Reply with quote  #2

1481458061
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481458061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458061
Reply with quote  #2

1481458061
Report to moderator
1481458061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481458061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481458061
Reply with quote  #2

1481458061
Report to moderator
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 04:06:08 AM
 #9962

What do I do if cgminer stops responding even when I run it with no tags except --scrypt? I can't get it to make a .bin file so I can see the TC.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
klotzenhotz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 09:17:03 AM
 #9963

-- solved
Joerii
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 09:56:24 AM
 #9964

New question : CG miner reports that difficulty is set to 526k. This seems overmuch as the current difficulty of CHNcoin is 8. How do i change this ?


CGMiner reports what the network is saying.  If it says 526k, then it's 526k.  Are you sure you're on the right pool/network?

M
.. and in case he are mixing coin pools ... read the first 3 lines of the README Smiley

It's funny you've quoted README's two times now without solving anything, kind of like you're telling me to RTFM while actually you don't really know what you're talking about.

Here's the answer https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195259.msg2030732#msg2030732

still puzzled by your avatar though

I guess someone could make youtube video reading the FAQ and Readme's to you so you wouldn't have to actually RTFM for yourself.

Reading The Fine (or other term) Manual may be more productive than telling one of the author's of the software "actually you don't really know what you're talking about. ".

Just sayin,
Sam

Heheh I'm a bit embarresed right now. Sorry. Was just tired and a bit frustrated after trying to configure something that's a little above my skill level. Everything's working fine now though, which is pretty rewarding.

.
PROMO  ViDEO
   E x p l a i n e r s     ►   T e a s e r s   
.
H Y P E R C U B E
.
.
  PORTFOLiO
  S e n a n   E - m a i la   acaaaaaaaaaa
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                                                               
                                     ,Hv                                      
                               ¿
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 10:08:44 AM
 #9965

...
Heheh I'm a bit embarresed right now. Sorry. Was just tired and a bit frustrated after trying to configure something that's a little above my skill level. Everything's working fine now though, which is pretty rewarding.
But just in case you didn't get what I meant the first time ...
Explanation of the error message you got and where to find details about tuning scrypt.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
tigerbit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 11:37:04 AM
 #9966

Hi,

A number of us are getting CGminer lockups following stratum connection interrupted issues:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=188533

The pool never fails over, and cgminer stops hashing and becomes unresponsive to keyboard input.

Any fix or workaround for this issue?


If you found this useful modest tips welcome BTC: 15noAopoPUcA4D4dTJihgDVE8axZh8VWia
netvope
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


Cake is delicious


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 12:38:19 PM
 #9967

That's like going back to how we mined bitcoins >2 years ago before pools and longpoll. The answer is set the scantime as low as you can before the hashrate drops. If you're solo mining, something like 5s is usual for sha coins. However it can be slow to return results for scrypt so you'll have to experiment.

Thank you for the advice. I have two more questions:

1. I don't see a reduction in the displayed hash rate when I decrease scan-time. Is the displayed hash rate reliable at very low scan-time?

2. Is scan-time=0 a valid setting? According to the README, scan-time is an "Upper bound on time spent scanning current work, in seconds", so it sounds like 0 wouldn't make sense. However, it appears to work, and I found that scan-time=0 allows cgminer to detect new blocks slightly more quickly than scan-time=1. At this moment there are ~5 CNC blocks per minute so every second of stale work counts. I'm solo-mining and I haven't mined a block since I changed to scan-time=0, so I can't tell whether it's truly working.
ImI
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 12:54:26 PM
 #9968


Hi,

i recently did some solomining and got several hints regarding the expiry setting.

As i tried to understand what the function of this settings are i checked the rm:

Quote
--expiry|-E <arg>   Upper bound on how many seconds after getting work we consider a share from it stale (default: 120)

But some questions still remain:

Am i right that a expiry setting of 5 would stop the work on the current block after 5s and switch to the next block?

And why would i want to stop the miner working on a block?

Greetings

ImI



Protagonus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 03:14:11 PM
 #9969

I have a question, if someone maybe can answer.  I wouldn't not have thought this a valid question, but have run into it myself.  

--How does "System RAM" connect / associate with "GPU RAM" and "TC" in CGminer?

Example similar to what I ran into;

System mining LTC with 1024mb system ram, with say a TC- 10752
Change
System mining LTC with 512mb system ram, with same TC - 10752  <<<Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
eNDRangeKernel)

Anyone have thoughts on how / why / what is making the connection with system ram?  Thanks in advance for any help.


meowmeowbrowncow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 06:37:36 PM
 #9970



3.1.0 - "nogpu" version

Platform:
Win 7 64 bit


After approx. 3-6 hours the following behavior occurs.


1.  Increasingly frequent "Unable to read temperature."  Or something like that.  BFL unit in question still hashing away.

2.  Not long after 1. cgminer stops processing work.  "JSON stratum auth failed (no reason)" messages.  Have to Q out, restart to hash again.


The stratum auth failure message occurs with or without cgminer continuing to process work.  So, pool seems available - just some quirky problem.



"Bitcoin has been an amazing ride, but the most fascinating part to me is the seemingly universal tendency of libertarians to immediately become authoritarians the very moment they are given any measure of power to silence the dissent of others."  - The Bible
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 05, 2013, 09:22:31 PM
 #9971


Hi,

i recently did some solomining and got several hints regarding the expiry setting.

As i tried to understand what the function of this settings are i checked the rm:

Quote
--expiry|-E <arg>   Upper bound on how many seconds after getting work we consider a share from it stale (default: 120)

But some questions still remain:

Am i right that a expiry setting of 5 would stop the work on the current block after 5s and switch to the next block?

And why would i want to stop the miner working on a block?

Greetings

ImI

You aren't stopping work on a block.
You are stopping work on a work item.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
CommanderVenus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


Zoinks! Its the Miner Miner Forty-Niner!


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:10:06 AM
 #9972

So im trying to build the cgminer-3.1.0-windows and i have been following the directions in the windows-build.txt.
I have done everything up until the step * Build cgminer.exe *.

When i try to run autoreconf -fvi in the MINGW32 prompt it gives me the error autoreconf-2.68: 'configure.ac' or 'configure.in' is required.
Yes i did change the working directory to my cgminer-3.1.0-windows folder.

Im positive that i have done every step correctly.. I will attempt to redo it all just to be sure its not me, but does anyone else know whats going on with this error that prevents me from building this thing already? haha

Please and thank you!

BTC: 1VenusEubcLC9W7ykckHbdEzo5MVhPmCb - NXT: 15182624396855992605
DOGE: DFSd16bvB7H2HieZNAjPhBoCwZpmNujN9B - BTQ: 14b2QFPwFtBC3tcRW9F61aaRXP2ns3fh1m
Marrs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 12:46:25 AM
 #9973

I have a question, if someone maybe can answer.  I wouldn't not have thought this a valid question, but have run into it myself.  

--How does "System RAM" connect / associate with "GPU RAM" and "TC" in CGminer?

Example similar to what I ran into;

System mining LTC with 1024mb system ram, with say a TC- 10752
Change
System mining LTC with 512mb system ram, with same TC - 10752  <<<Error -5: Enqueueing kernel onto command queue. (clEnqueu
eNDRangeKernel)

Anyone have thoughts on how / why / what is making the connection with system ram?  Thanks in advance for any help.




The problem is with OpenCL being unable to allocate the gpu memory on a system with less system memory than it wants to allocate.

I'm not sure if there is any way to work around that, other than to add more memory to the system.
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 779



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 12:47:15 AM
 #9974

After 9 months mining, I fried a 6770 and 2 * PSUs. The 6770 has no physical signs however when mining it was reporting sick/dead after 10~20minutes for about 3 weeks. The PSU blew so I replaced it then it blew too so I ripped out the sick 6770, added a new PSU and things have booted up OK except for....I can no longer mine!

Upon starting up CGMiner reports that a card is already overtemp yet I am monitoring the card temp using a 3rd party which has it as 40ish degrees C when idling.

Ideas on how to fix...?

Chiz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:35:24 AM
 #9975

Someone please help me, I just built a small rig and got a Gigabyte 7950 in it.
I use all the settings suggested for varying hash rates on the charts and I cannot get it to work.

First off if I change the Memory clock either in the CGminer window or in the .bat and load it, my screen goes black and it all just locks up and I have to reset my PC, every single time.
Also, I cannot raise the thread concurrency beyond like 10600, it just gives me the GPU/thread disabling kernel error message, even though I did the "auto tune" test and it suggested 22400, I have no idea why, do I need more RAM possibly?

The only way I can get it to work now is leave everything default (1000/1250clock) and just put the intensity at 18....but it gets too damn hot, its open case with a bunch of exhaust fans, Its around 85-90 C right now depending if I just Accepted a share, it gets hotter, and this is only at a K/hash rate of like 570-600, can anyone help why my card is getting so damn hot?? and all my other issues Sad I tried 20 first and it got up to 95 and just shut the card off similar to how it reacts when I increase the mem clock....

25 LTC to anyone or a group of you guys that help me solve this problem

Also in my pool it says I am only getting 46 k/hash on the card
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:42:40 AM
 #9976

After 9 months mining, I fried a 6770 and 2 * PSUs. The 6770 has no physical signs however when mining it was reporting sick/dead after 10~20minutes for about 3 weeks. The PSU blew so I replaced it then it blew too so I ripped out the sick 6770, added a new PSU and things have booted up OK except for....I can no longer mine!

Upon starting up CGMiner reports that a card is already overtemp yet I am monitoring the card temp using a 3rd party which has it as 40ish degrees C when idling.

Ideas on how to fix...?
At a wild guess - your config file may still be setup to include the other card?
(and thus the GPU settings are going to the wrong devices?)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dbabo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:44:07 AM
 #9977

<cut off>
well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

10Mhash/s? how do you get the Mhash ? ty

Did i mislabel? isn't Mhs, Mega Hashes? I've only been into this for about 2 weeks so it would be easy for me to mispeak.
eee, stop and reload..
you are talking litecoin? you are talking GPU mining?
may i ask how a tiny rig gives you Mega Hash/s? the top listed here is 7970(x2) in low megashas/s...
// i'm obviously missing something obvious. sorry about it.
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 779



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2013, 01:49:15 AM
 #9978

After 9 months mining, I fried a 6770 and 2 * PSUs. The 6770 has no physical signs however when mining it was reporting sick/dead after 10~20minutes for about 3 weeks. The PSU blew so I replaced it then it blew too so I ripped out the sick 6770, added a new PSU and things have booted up OK except for....I can no longer mine!

Upon starting up CGMiner reports that a card is already overtemp yet I am monitoring the card temp using a 3rd party which has it as 40ish degrees C when idling.

Ideas on how to fix...?
At a wild guess - your config file may still be setup to include the other card?
(and thus the GPU settings are going to the wrong devices?)

I deleted the 2nd cards Intensity rating from the config and boot shortcut...hmmm...will go back and have a look at removing all the secondary settings within the config files...

If it works...some compensating BTC or LTC will be shelled out

Chiz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 01:59:18 AM
 #9979

Someone please help me, I just built a small rig and got a Gigabyte 7950 in it.
I use all the settings suggested for varying hash rates on the charts and I cannot get it to work.

First off if I change the Memory clock either in the CGminer window or in the .bat and load it, my screen goes black and it all just locks up and I have to reset my PC, every single time.
Also, I cannot raise the thread concurrency beyond like 10600, it just gives me the GPU/thread disabling kernel error message, even though I did the "auto tune" test and it suggested 22400, I have no idea why, do I need more RAM possibly?

The only way I can get it to work now is leave everything default (1000/1250clock) and just put the intensity at 18....but it gets too damn hot, its open case with a bunch of exhaust fans, Its around 85-90 C right now depending if I just Accepted a share, it gets hotter, and this is only at a K/hash rate of like 570-600, can anyone help why my card is getting so damn hot?? and all my other issues Sad I tried 20 first and it got up to 95 and just shut the card off similar to how it reacts when I increase the mem clock....

25 LTC to anyone or a group of you guys that help me solve this problem

Also in my pool it says I am only getting 46 k/hash on the card
Please please someone help me out here, btw I have 2 gigs of system RAM.
Also when I launch CUDAminer, cause I want to use my 570 (which is the primary card) to mine as well, it takes away from CGminer and my hash and everything starts going down. Why is that? I could have sworn you could run both programs at the same time to mine both cards, help pl0x!
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
May 06, 2013, 02:32:26 AM
 #9980

<cut off>
well, the intensity was set a -1 on the little machine that i am playing with. moving it to 5 raised the hash rate from 6Mhash to 10Mhash. moving it to 6 looked like it  caused the rate to drop a little, so 5 it is.

10Mhash/s? how do you get the Mhash ? ty

Did i mislabel? isn't Mhs, Mega Hashes? I've only been into this for about 2 weeks so it would be easy for me to mispeak.
eee, stop and reload..
you are talking litecoin? you are talking GPU mining?
may i ask how a tiny rig gives you Mega Hash/s? the top listed here is 7970(x2) in low megashas/s...
// i'm obviously missing something obvious. sorry about it.


heh, we are talking bitcoin GPU mining. If a good  video card can give 600+Mhs ( like a 7850), then a small rig churning 10Mhs isn't all that impressive. I'm not sure what you consider "low megahashes". everything is relative.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Pages: « 1 ... 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 [499] 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!