Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2018, 01:27:48 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 [111] 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 ... 1147 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3395343 times)
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:54:32 PM
 #2201

ok so my entire system has just died. so i have lost everything i did to get compiling working, my compiled version, and everything else that was on it. installing the newest 12.04 as we speak, hope to god it works. although i will probably end up spending another 6 hours trying to get cudaminer to compile

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
1529933268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529933268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529933268
Reply with quote  #2

1529933268
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529933268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529933268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529933268
Reply with quote  #2

1529933268
Report to moderator
1529933268
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529933268

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529933268
Reply with quote  #2

1529933268
Report to moderator
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:31:59 PM
 #2202

What if we have a scrypt-jane cryptocurrency with:
"Nfactor" : 6,
"N" : 128,
instead of YaCoin's 14/32768? What I mean is, can I finetune cudaMiner to hash faster on lower N factor cryptocurrencies, as it should be using less VRAM for the same hashrate or I'm completely off here?

yes, lower NFactor uses very little RAM. Not sure how efficient it would be though.
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:42:21 PM
 #2203

cbuchner1 can you help me quickly. im running the cudaminer compile again. and right now i am getting an error of
Code:
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cudaminer] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/.local/share/Trash/files/CudaMiner-master'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/.local/share/Trash/files/CudaMiner-master'
make: *** [all] Error 2

i think this is the last part that is an issue so some quick help would be great.

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:46:57 PM
 #2204

i think this is the last part that is an issue so some quick help would be great.

Code:
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

the linker has a problem, which must be listed somewhere in the lines above. maybe not finding the CUDA runtime libraries to link against?
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 11:49:49 PM
 #2205

i just ran it again cbuchner1 so i could capture the command where it gives the error. here is the bit of the command that i can copy which might help

Code:
./legacy_kernel.cu(269): Warning: Cannot tell what pointer points to, assuming global memory space
./legacy_kernel.cu(270): Warning: Cannot tell what pointer points to, assuming global memory space
nvcc -g -O2 -Xptxas "-abi=no -v" -arch=sm_20 --maxrregcount=63 -I./compat/jansson -o fermi_kernel.o -c fermi_kernel.cu
ptxas warning : 'option -abi=no' might get deprecated in future
ptxas info    : 272 bytes gmem, 8192 bytes cmem[2], 16 bytes cmem[14]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z29fermi_scrypt_core_kernelB_texILi0ELi1EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 20 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25fermi_scrypt_core_kernelBILi0EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 24 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25fermi_scrypt_core_kernelAILi0EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 4 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z29fermi_scrypt_core_kernelB_texILi0ELi2EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 28 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z29fermi_scrypt_core_kernelB_texILi1ELi1EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 20 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25fermi_scrypt_core_kernelBILi1EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 20 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25fermi_scrypt_core_kernelAILi1EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 4 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z29fermi_scrypt_core_kernelB_texILi1ELi2EEvPjj' for 'sm_20'
ptxas info    : Used 63 registers, 44 bytes cmem[0], 36 bytes lmem
nvcc -g -O2 -Xptxas "-abi=no -v" -arch=sm_30 --maxrregcount=32 -I./compat/jansson -o kepler_kernel.o -c kepler_kernel.cu
ptxas warning : 'option -abi=no' might get deprecated in future
ptxas info    : 272 bytes gmem, 8196 bytes cmem[3]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelBILi0ELi1EEvPjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 30 registers, 340 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelBILi0ELi0EEvPjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 32 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0], 4 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelAILi0EEvPKjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 30 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelBILi0ELi2EEvPjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 29 registers, 340 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelBILi1ELi1EEvPjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 31 registers, 340 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelBILi1ELi0EEvPjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 32 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0], 4 bytes lmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelAILi1EEvPKjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 32 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z26kepler_scrypt_core_kernelBILi1ELi2EEvPjii' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 30 registers, 340 bytes cmem[0]
nvcc -g -O2 -Xptxas "-abi=no -v" -arch=sm_30 --maxrregcount=32 -I./compat/jansson -o test_kernel.o -c test_kernel.cu
ptxas warning : 'option -abi=no' might get deprecated in future
ptxas info    : 272 bytes gmem
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z24test_scrypt_core_kernelAPKjPj' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 27 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z24test_scrypt_core_kernelBPjPKj' for 'sm_30'
ptxas info    : Used 32 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
nvcc -g -O2 -Xptxas "-abi=no -v" -arch=sm_35 --maxrregcount=32 -I./compat/jansson -o titan_kernel.o -c titan_kernel.cu
ptxas warning : 'option -abi=no' might get deprecated in future
ptxas info    : 272 bytes gmem, 4 bytes cmem[3]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25titan_scrypt_core_kernelBILi0EEvPjPKj' for 'sm_35'
ptxas info    : Used 32 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25titan_scrypt_core_kernelAILi0EEvPKjPj' for 'sm_35'
ptxas info    : Used 27 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25titan_scrypt_core_kernelBILi1EEvPjPKj' for 'sm_35'
ptxas info    : Used 31 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
ptxas info    : Compiling entry function '_Z25titan_scrypt_core_kernelAILi1EEvPKjPj' for 'sm_35'
ptxas info    : Used 27 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
g++  -g -O2 -pthread -L/usr/local/cuda/lib64  -o cudaminer cudaminer-cpu-miner.o cudaminer-util.o cudaminer-sha2.o cudaminer-scrypt.o salsa_kernel.o spinlock_kernel.o legacy_kernel.o fermi_kernel.o kepler_kernel.o test_kernel.o titan_kernel.o -L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu -lcurl -Wl,-Bsymbolic-functions -Wl,-z,relro compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread  -lcudart -fopenmp  
cudaminer-cpu-miner.o: In function `miner_thread':
/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/cpu-miner.c:824: undefined reference to `scanhash_scrypt_jane'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cudaminer] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master'
make: *** [all] Error 2

the main error part seems to be
Code:
ptxas info    : Used 27 registers, 336 bytes cmem[0]
g++  -g -O2 -pthread -L/usr/local/cuda/lib64  -o cudaminer cudaminer-cpu-miner.o cudaminer-util.o cudaminer-sha2.o cudaminer-scrypt.o salsa_kernel.o spinlock_kernel.o legacy_kernel.o fermi_kernel.o kepler_kernel.o test_kernel.o titan_kernel.o -L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu -lcurl -Wl,-Bsymbolic-functions -Wl,-z,relro compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread  -lcudart -fopenmp  
cudaminer-cpu-miner.o: In function `miner_thread':
/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/cpu-miner.c:824: undefined reference to `scanhash_scrypt_jane'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

so is this a g++ issue or something? as if has an undefined reference. i have tried running the make with g++ and gcc 4.4 and get the same error

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:21:57 AM
 #2206

i just ran it again cbuchner1 so i could capture the command where it gives the error. here is the bit of the command that i can copy which might help

Code:
cudaminer-cpu-miner.o: In function `miner_thread':
/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/cpu-miner.c:824: undefined reference to `scanhash_scrypt_jane'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

so is this a g++ issue or something? as if has an undefined reference. i have tried running the make with g++ and gcc 4.4 and get the same error

this is caused by not running ./autogen.sh before ./configure
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:25:59 AM
 #2207

i 100% ran both. in that order

ok so i just called ./autogen.sh again, i was just running the file before.
i am getting a response of
"./autogen.sh: line 1: aclocal: command not found


EDIT!!!!!!!!!!!
someone shoot me, i didnt have automake installed :p
compiles now haha

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:31:53 AM
 #2208

i 100% ran both. in that order

ok so i just called ./autogen.sh again, i was just running the file before.
i am getting a response of
"./autogen.sh: line 1: aclocal: command not found

I guess you need to install the autoconf and automake packages via apt-get then
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:32:11 AM
 #2209

yes, lower NFactor uses very little RAM. Not sure how efficient it would be though.

I think it's fairly efficient:


and considering that I have 3 cudaminer instances running on a single GTX 660, by fairly efficient I mean amazing! And yes, this is scrypt-jane.

If I would have a decent CPU, I could get more, my poor Athlon II X2 270 is getting stomped by cudaMiner, even though it's at 4.2 Ghz.

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:35:41 AM
 #2210

yes, lower NFactor uses very little RAM. Not sure how efficient it would be though.

I think it's fairly efficient
and considering that I have 3 cudaminer instances running on a single GTX 660, by fairly efficient I mean amazing! And yes, this is scrypt-jane.

If I would have a decent CPU, I could get more, my poor Athlon II X2 270 is getting stomped by cudaMiner, even though it's at 4.2 Ghz.

ah yes. The Kekkac hashing on the CPU is singlethreaded, and non SSE optimized yet.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:38:49 AM
 #2211

Can someone make a short list of other scrypt-jane currencies please? I only heard about QQCoin so far.
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:39:46 AM
 #2212

ok got it all working now. so i need to create the launch file now.
so i created a file called, cudaminer.sh with run permission. put the following code inside of it

Code:
./cudaminer --algo=scrypt-jane -H 0 -i 0 -d 0 -l T16x1 -o http://127.0.0.1:3339 -u user -p pass -D

run it and it doesnt show anything. but if i type it directly into the terminal it loads up and shows. and i am telling this to run in terminal when i click it. any ideas?

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 12:55:39 AM
 #2213

ah yes. The Kekkac hashing on the CPU is singlethreaded, and non SSE optimized yet.

It's stressing the CPU in a weird way, I haven't really seen anything like it before. If I run 3-4 instances (or 2 with -i 0) I get massive mouse lag and eventually a BSOD about a timed out CPU interrupt while the GPU is almost idling.

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
DBG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 100


Digital Illustrator + Software/Hardware Developer


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 01:26:43 AM
 #2214

DBG are you using the 12-18-2013 binary?

According to https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdHR4ZUN5alozQUNvU1pyd2NGeTNicGc&usp=sharing#gid=0 people are getting 300+ kH/s with the 660 Ti. Most of them are using K7x32. If you're using a more recent commit from github, try -C 1.

Thanks m8, I'm using the last official release but I am setting things up for nightly builds.  I went and changed my flags to the following "-H 1 -i 0 -l K14x16 -C 0 -m 1" and now I'm finally able to hit the 250kH/s talked about in the readme.  The 250 Ghz boost to the GPU is actually working (overclocking was only working during an interactive/auto start-up) and puts me up another ~30kH/s.  I have a lot more playing around to do but finally sitting down and fully RTFM helped a lot (also with a bit of luck).

Also grazie cbuchner1, thanks for going open-source and being so active with the community Smiley.

/* Coins are never required but are always appreciated in any amount if you are feeling generous! */
Bitcoin - 1KFinZmxUE8PsTuMfvLDW1SSz3P2pA9uxK
Ethereum - 0x338057Fb38bbd22338D2299a68ebA2dDF7929FeA
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 01:56:50 AM
 #2215

So im now fine for compiling a lot of stuff. I have compiled a version of minerd which runs and gets 0.08 per thread instead of 0.07. But strangely when I run my shell file to launch that in terminal it launches. But cudaminer from the shell file wont. Weird

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
coercion
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 02:20:10 AM
 #2216

Can someone make a short list of other scrypt-jane currencies please? I only heard about QQCoin so far.
scrypt-N parameters included for anyone who wants try them out.

YBCoin  (YBC) Start time: 1372386273 minN: 4, maxN: 30
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=243046.0
Chinese YAC clone, NFactor just hit 14 today, same as YaCoin. YBC has a much higher network hash rate. This is the only other jane coin I've mined, though I've slowly been looking into the others.

ZcCoin (ZCC) Start time: 1375817223 minN: 12, maxN: 30
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=268575.0

FreeCoin (FEC) Start time: 1375801200, minN: 6, maxN: 32
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=269669

OneCoin (ONC) Start time: 1371119462 minN: 6, maxN: 30
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=200177.0

QQCoin Start Time: 1387769316 minN: 4, maxN: 30
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=389238.0

Memory Coin
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=267522.0
This one apparently uses scrypt-jane but doesn't appear to use it the same way as the others. Couldn't find any start times or min max parameters.

On another note, I picked up a gt 640 today. Best I've gotten out of it on Yacoin is 1.5 kH/s with K6x3. I thought I might be able to push those a little higher, having 4GB and all, but anything more inevitably crashes the driver and halts my system.
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 02:37:45 AM
 #2217

There's also CACHeCoin (CACH) (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=400389.0) and Radioactivecoin (RAD)(https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=405481.0) but I don't know much about them.
Rad is completely new, but it's a weird one, couldn't figure out much about it.

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
manofcolombia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

SizzleBits


View Profile WWW
January 09, 2014, 03:20:14 AM
 #2218

Quote

holy crap...you just gave me a link to the best most sarcastic site ever.
I WILL use this daily...

PS. All this talk about scrypt-jane is making my windows machines jealous...

jots
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 04:47:25 AM
 #2219

Hi-ya Christian,

My 660Ti registers at ~270 khash/s peak (scrypt) for a single instance of cudaminer (which appears to start a single mining thread) - By starting two instances, I'd have expected that rate to halve.  Instead, each instance reports ~200khash/s peak.

Is there any efficiency to be gained by running multiple instances of cudaminer on the same card?  Or, am I reading these figures wrong?  Smiley
eduncan911
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10

Miner / Engineer


View Profile WWW
January 09, 2014, 05:11:57 AM
 #2220

The search on this forum software is horrendous... 

Sorry if this has been asked, but Google couldn't find this.

How do you set the difficulty factor manually with cudaminer like you can with cgminer?

I ask because I am solo mining directly against my wallet app and the difficulty dropped significantly today for the coin i was on, but yet it still took nearly twice as long as it should have to find a block.  But I have no way of knowing at what difficulty cudaminer is running at.

cgminer detects new difficulty levels and prints it to the screen and adjusts accordingly.  Does cudaminer have this ability in debug output perhaps?




BTC: 131Zt92zoA7XUfkLhm1p2FwSP3tAxE43vf
Pages: « 1 ... 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 [111] 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 ... 1147 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!