Bitcoin Forum
January 24, 2018, 01:48:14 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 [99] 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 ... 1147 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3391727 times)
RbelMonstr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 10:59:51 PM
 #1961

For now it might not be complete, but you can leave comments here or on the spreadsheet if you want changes or new features and all that stuff. Now I'm off to work, but will check back after.

Thank you very much for this spreadsheet.

I want to suggest Permission to edit your own entry's (if that is even possible), or just a way to re-do the survey.
I've been sloppy when i did the survey and its bothering me, so i would like to fix that.

1516758494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516758494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516758494
Reply with quote  #2

1516758494
Report to moderator
1516758494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516758494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516758494
Reply with quote  #2

1516758494
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516758494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516758494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516758494
Reply with quote  #2

1516758494
Report to moderator
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 11:43:30 PM
 #1962

Thank you very much for this spreadsheet.

I want to suggest Permission to edit your own entry's (if that is even possible), or just a way to re-do the survey.
I've been sloppy when i did the survey and its bothering me, so i would like to fix that.

To be honest the whole survey/spreadhseet combo is completely new to me, but I'll read up on how to work with things.
I'm not sure if editing own entries is possible but I'll look into it later, in the meantime I'm happy to do any changes manually, just add a note or comment on the cell or just pm me here or whatever suits you.

I made a private copy of the survey/spreadheet which I can play with without ruinning the original one so tomorrow I'll my priority will be to come up with something to sort the entries.

Edit: On another note, can someone please throw me a couple of lines explaining what do I need and how can I compile the github version of cudaMiner?

RIP Bittrex
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 11:50:42 PM
 #1963

I'll try to take a look at it this weekend.  Semester is starting up again, so I'm going to be not very present, though.

No problem. Your job comes first Wink

I think my problems arise from your primary order which has the matrix elements for the ChaCha mixing function grouped like this:

Code:
Primary Order
 0  4  8 12     thread 0 b[], bx[]
 5  9 13  1     thread 1 b[], bx[]
10 14  2  6     thread 2 b[], bx[]
15  3  7 11     thread 3 b[], bx[]

whereas I kind of expected it to be like this...

Code:
Transposed Order
 0  4  8 12
 1  5  9 13
 2  6 10 14
 3  7 11 15

I am still fiddling with the code to get it working. Your primary order (in transposed form) would be very useful for the "Operate on diagonals" step, whereas I need my transposed order for the "Operate on columns" step.

EDIT: github now has a version that can do scrypt-jane also with the Kepler kernel. But I think the big speed advantage has vanished now. Meh.

Christian
RbelMonstr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 12:30:53 AM
 #1964


To be honest the whole survey/spreadhseet combo is completely new to me, but I'll read up on how to work with things.
I'm not sure if editing own entries is possible but I'll look into it later, in the meantime I'm happy to do any changes manually, just add a note or comment on the cell or just pm me here or whatever suits you.

I made a private copy of the survey/spreadheet which I can play with without ruinning the original one so tomorrow I'll my priority will be to come up with something to sort the entries.

Awesome, i'll comment on the cells as it would be the easiest way.

edit-:  I saw your to-do list, and if you want actual prises for comparrison, would a column for Model Name be usefull?

Quote
Edit: On another note, can someone please throw me a couple of lines explaining what do I need and how can I compile the github version of cudaMiner?

I've done it 6 months ago, but i can't remember how i did it. I do know it took me a lot of reading before i had it figured out.
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 12:36:05 AM
 #1965

I've done it 6 months ago, but i can't remember how i did it. I do know it took me a lot of reading before i had it figured out.

Yeah, I've done that, and ran into like 10 different issues during compiling, mostly with missing files, and when I ironed them all out and finally ended up with a compiled version, it didn't even started.

All I want to know really is what softwares and which versions should I use.

Edit: got stuck at:
Code:
1>  Generating Code...
1>  scrypt.cpp
1>LINK : fatal error LNK1123: failure during conversion to COFF: file invalid or corrupt
1>
1>Build FAILED.

RIP Bittrex
RbelMonstr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 01:20:16 AM
 #1966

All I want to know really is what softwares and which versions should I use.

I assume you have checked the OP, but all needed dependencies are linked there.
I'd like to help you more but i am afraid it is above my knowledge.
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 02:15:50 AM
 #1967

Yeah, I checked and now I found out what caused my error (wrong cvtres.exe version) and now I have a working build.
Edit: Buuuuuut, now my hashrate is about 17 Kh/s instead of 210 Kh/s regardless of settings, libcurl version or anything I could think of.  Sad

RIP Bittrex
beachking2000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 02:22:29 AM
 #1968

I see Cuda 6.0 is coming soon with a few improvements will you implement cuda 6.0 into your programming when its available?
Drop-in Libraries – Automatically accelerates applications' BLAS and FFTW calculations by up to 8X by simply replacing the existing CPU libraries with the GPU-accelerated equivalents.

Would this increase mining speed?
No. cudaMiner doesn't use these libraries.

  No I know it doesn't now but in the future if it was compiled to cuda 6.0 standards I would think it would improve hash rate a bit?
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 02:26:04 AM
 #1969

No I know it doesn't now but in the future if it was compiled to cuda 6.0 standards I would think it would improve hash rate a bit?

I think he meant cudaminer is working without using those libraries at all, as in, they are not needed.

RIP Bittrex
avemt1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 02:42:07 AM
 #1970

When playing with Settings of overclocking with the Asus GT 630, I get ~1024 Khash/s. Is this an issue of the software reading the card hash rate incorrectly, or did I actually find a trick to making a $45 card run like a $900 card?
RbelMonstr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 04:23:56 AM
 #1971

Hai cbuchner1,

I just send my first 0.25LTC your way as a thank you for your awesome work.

-RbelMonstr
ozahm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 07:43:16 AM
 #1972

I made a private copy of the survey/spreadheet which I can play with without ruinning the original one so tomorrow I'll my priority will be to come up with something to sort the entries.

To sort entries in the spreadsheet, everyone can switch the view of the spreadsheet to "list" (by clicking the 2nd entry in the 3rd pull-down menu).
With the "list"-view you can sort the data by clicking on the column names.
Although filtering with the auto filters is possible but not very feasible in the moment, cause there are not much columns with consolidated data.
I found that out myself just 5 minutes ago, perhaps you can simply include a hint in the header section of the sheet to help people like me who are not using google docs frequently.

The main problem for my personal use case is, that I can't find out fast and easy if someone else got a simular card and found out some better OC/Cudaminer setup than I have.
To support that, it would be cool if auto-filtering to the base card model could reduce the list to relevant entries.
Therefore a dropdown list in the survey form where people have to pick the card model might had helped.
But I guess we have to life now with it as it is.

Since you opt'ed for having only OC-offsets in the sheet I need some good guess (which variant of the card model is it) and google to find out what he actual clocking might be, in order to compare it with my situation. Remember some manufacturers are producing the same card model with different bios versions and clock speeds under the same marketing product name. Different cards are easier to distinguish by their part numbers like "GV-N670OC-2GD", but in an extra column for that we might not see much entries. Wink Still  having the absolute clock values in the sheet would be much easier for my purpose.

avemt1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 07:43:37 AM
 #1973

I verified with middlecoin. The trick works depending on how much overclock you have. I'm now running between 959 and 953 khs!
CrimsonGT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 10:11:39 AM
 #1974

What is the trick?

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 10:54:46 AM
 #1975

When playing with Settings of overclocking with the Asus GT 630, I get ~1024 Khash/s. Is this an issue of the software reading the card hash rate incorrectly, or did I actually find a trick to making a $45 card run like a $900 card?

the driver crashes and cudaminer doesn't notice. You might get some "result does not validate on CPU" warnings though.
CaptainBeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 10:58:07 AM
 #1976

I verified with middlecoin. The trick works depending on how much overclock you have. I'm now running between 959 and 953 khs!

So what is this trick???

Crazy setting seem to work on the miner, but doesnt really mean they are getting accepted.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 01:34:31 PM
 #1977

Quote from: beachking2000 link=topic=167229.msg4298680#msg4298680
  No I know it doesn't now but in the future if it was compiled to cuda 6.0 standards I would think it would improve hash rate a bit?

that's a definitive maybe.
avemt1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 04:33:19 PM
 #1978

What is the trick?
The trick is to force computation onto the 3D side. You do this by starting Cudaminer when 2D is running, and then disable 2D. This keeps the 2D running for the program only and forces the 2D computation into the 3D program. Its like running an 8 bit program on a 32 bit system without emulation.
avemt1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 04:47:30 PM
 #1979

When playing with Settings of overclocking with the Asus GT 630, I get ~1024 Khash/s. Is this an issue of the software reading the card hash rate incorrectly, or did I actually find a trick to making a $45 card run like a $900 card?

the driver crashes and cudaminer doesn't notice. You might get some "result does not validate on CPU" warnings though.
I'm not getting that warning at all. I'm not getting the accepted (yay!) either, but its showing up in my balance.

I'm running an Asus GT 630 on a GA-P43-ES3G board with WIN 7 x64 ultimate. It does go down to ~ 61 khs when the display shuts down.
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 05:03:31 PM
 #1980

To sort entries in the spreadsheet, everyone can switch the view of the spreadsheet to "list" (by clicking the 2nd entry in the 3rd pull-down menu).
With the "list"-view you can sort the data by clicking on the column names.
Although filtering with the auto filters is possible but not very feasible in the moment, cause there are not much columns with consolidated data.
I found that out myself just 5 minutes ago, perhaps you can simply include a hint in the header section of the sheet to help people like me who are not using google docs frequently.

Thanks! That was unbelievably easy and I completely missed it, but at least now I managed to sort the sheet by models.

The main problem for my personal use case is, that I can't find out fast and easy if someone else got a simular card and found out some better OC/Cudaminer setup than I have.
To support that, it would be cool if auto-filtering to the base card model could reduce the list to relevant entries.
Therefore a dropdown list in the survey form where people have to pick the card model might had helped.
But I guess we have to life now with it as it is.

Since you opt'ed for having only OC-offsets in the sheet I need some good guess (which variant of the card model is it) and google to find out what he actual clocking might be, in order to compare it with my situation. Remember some manufacturers are producing the same card model with different bios versions and clock speeds under the same marketing product name. Different cards are easier to distinguish by their part numbers like "GV-N670OC-2GD", but in an extra column for that we might not see much entries. Wink Still  having the absolute clock values in the sheet would be much easier for my purpose.

Yeah, I understand that. I picked offsets because they make it much easier to copy someone else's stable OC options instead of trying to copy for example 1200 Mhz GPU Clock core because you can get to 1200 Mhz in different ways which means different performances, besides when it comes to Kepler, when you set your GPU to 1200 Mhz, it most likely won't run at 1200 Mhz, it will be lower due to reasons I mentioned earlier.

Either way this sheet is not mine, but ours, so if the majority wants it, we can replace the offsets with actual values so I added notes regarding the possible change.

I think the sheet is becoming more or less complete (for it's purposes) but if there's anything anyone like to see just let me know.
I'm planning on including prices for different cards by regions ($/€/£/etc) so that we can also have some kind of a speed/price ratio. Not sure if that would be useful or just overkill though.  Cheesy

RIP Bittrex
Pages: « 1 ... 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 [99] 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 ... 1147 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!