Bitcoin Forum
February 17, 2019, 12:54:27 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 [118] 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 ... 1136 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3402241 times)
relm9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 11, 2014, 07:57:38 AM
 #2341

I wasn't keeping up with this thread for the last few weeks and now that I'm back, all I'm seeing is talk about scrypt-jane currencies, so I'm kind of confused.
Why the sudden surge of interest for these? Are scrypt currencies least profitable now or is this just a trend? Is this due to a new functionality of CudaMiner?

Well I think for Nvidia, yacoin mining is more profitable than LTC. Plus scrypt-jane uses less power so you save on electricity costs too. Haven't really checked the numbers to be honest, I just like tinkering with new stuff  Tongue
1550364867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550364867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550364867
Reply with quote  #2

1550364867
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550364867
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550364867

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550364867
Reply with quote  #2

1550364867
Report to moderator
Thirtybird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 11, 2014, 08:33:56 AM
 #2342

Very interesting work here - this explains some of the resurgence I've seen in the YACoin difficulty.  Those hash rates are pretty great for the cheap cards (GT 640) - I found the same thing to be true with the new Radeon R7's - the 250 seems to hit a sweet spot as they clock over 1.3 GHz and hit 1.4 KH/sec using ~25 watts, and cost about the same as the 640. 

I actually picked up doing some tweaks to YACMiner (cgminer for radeon/YACoin), and will try to evaluate the OpenCL code that someone mentioned was sloppy and unoptimized Smiley 

YACMiner: https://github.com/Thirtybird/YACMiner  N-Factor information : https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0Aj3vcsuY-JFNdC1ITWJrSG9VeWp6QXppbVgxcm0tbGc&usp=drive_web#gid=0
BTC: 183eSsaxG9y6m2ZhrDhHueoKnZWmbm6jfC  YAC: Y4FKiwKKYGQzcqn3M3u6mJoded6ri1UWHa
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 10:44:46 AM
 #2343

The numbers im getting arent great for the hashrate but who cares :-p lower power bill; and I have another system on multipool so im getting otger coins either way. For some reason my miner always seems to get blocks between midnight and 3am. Being that I got 1 block at 00:30 last night. Before that it was 2:30 and before that I got 2 blocks between those times. Nothing any time out of that time range. Very weird

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cdogster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 04:54:00 PM
 #2344

How do I avoid the "does not validate" errors?  It seems I am not submitting my work enough.

Code:
[2014-01-11 11:42:36] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://yac.coinmine.pl:9088
[2014-01-11 11:42:36] 1 miner threads started, using 'scrypt-jane' algorithm.
[2014-01-11 11:42:36] Stratum detected new block
[2014-01-11 11:42:37] Current Nfactor is 14 (N=32768)!
[2014-01-11 11:42:37] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580 with compute capability 2.0
[2014-01-11 11:42:37] GPU #1: interactive: 0, tex-cache: 2D, single-alloc: 1
[2014-01-11 11:42:39] GPU #1: Performing auto-tuning (Patience...)
[2014-01-11 11:42:39] GPU #1: maximum warps: 10
[2014-01-11 11:43:05] Stratum detected new block
[2014-01-11 11:43:17] GPU #1:    0.70 khash/s with configuration F2x5
[2014-01-11 11:43:17] GPU #1: using launch configuration F2x5
[2014-01-11 11:43:17] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.01 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:43:19] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.46 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:43:59] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.69 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:44:20] Stratum detected new block
[2014-01-11 11:44:20] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.68 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:45:20] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.69 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:46:20] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.69 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:46:25] Stratum detected new block
[2014-01-11 11:46:25] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580, 0.63 khash/s
[2014-01-11 11:46:57] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580 result does not validate on CPU (i=298, s=1)!
[2014-01-11 11:47:06] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580 result does not validate on CPU (i=250, s=1)!
69charger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:31:45 PM
 #2345

Finally got my two GTX 660's working. (-d 0 -i 1 -l K13x1 -C 0) = 2.30 khash/s and (-d 1 -i 0 -l K14x1 -C 0) = 2.48 khash/s  Grin

K14x1 on -d 0 produces validation errors. K13x1 works just fine. Desktop is very laggy though. Power use is a fraction of what it was on other coins and I am making slightly more BTC per day with Yacoin vs. middlecoin!

Thanks guys!
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:36:23 PM
 #2346

Power use is a fraction of what it was on other coins and I am making slightly more BTC per day with Yacoin vs. middlecoin!

Thanks guys!

You're welcome.

Christian
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:37:51 PM
 #2347

How do I avoid the "does not validate" errors?  It seems I am not submitting my work enough.

Code:
[2014-01-11 11:42:36] Starting Stratum on stratum+tcp://yac.coinmine.pl:9088
[2014-01-11 11:42:37] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580 with compute capability 2.0
[2014-01-11 11:42:37] GPU #1: interactive: 0, tex-cache: 2D, single-alloc: 1

[2014-01-11 11:46:57] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580 result does not validate on CPU (i=298, s=1)!
[2014-01-11 11:47:06] GPU #1: GeForce GTX 580 result does not validate on CPU (i=250, s=1)!

-C 2, scrypt-jane and Fermi is currently a no-go. I will fix it tonight. 1D cache might work, if you're not using more than 2 GB of RAM
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:39:50 PM
 #2348

Very interesting work here - this explains some of the resurgence I've seen in the YACoin difficulty.  Those hash rates are pretty great for the cheap cards (GT 640) - I found the same thing to be true with the new Radeon R7's - the 250 seems to hit a sweet spot as they clock over 1.3 GHz and hit 1.4 KH/sec using ~25 watts, and cost about the same as the 640. 

I actually picked up doing some tweaks to YACMiner (cgminer for radeon/YACoin), and will try to evaluate the OpenCL code that someone mentioned was sloppy and unoptimized Smiley 

Yes. Cheap cards with lots of memory are the way to go for Yacoin.

I havent actually looked at the OpenCL code, but considering that high end AMD cards produce 1.5 kHash/s for Nfactor=14 and I've seen mid range nVidia cards push 3.5 kHash/s there must be something wrong in the AMD code. Wink
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:43:16 PM
 #2349

Did you get the full rig running Christian?
Does -C do much or anything on the titan kernal with scrypt-jane?

I have the mainboard installed with Ubuntu 12.04 now (the UEFI was causing lots of trouble, so I had to go legacy).
Blockchain syncing for a YAC wallet takes forever (using 100% CPU on low end AMD CPUs) - It might take 24 hours.

Currently I have two Fermi cards to play with
GT 630 with 4 GB
GTX 660 OEM with 4 GB (<-- one of the most atrocious product mislabeling I have ever come across)

My 4 GTX 640 haven't arrived yet.

Christian
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:47:17 PM
 #2350

Nice. Two blocks solo-mined just 4 minutes apart. But WTF. Payout dropped from 50 to 47 YAC. Does that mean the difficulty went down too?


bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:51:17 PM
 #2351

Difficulty going up makes the reward going down. As far as I can tell from the formula that is. Ive got 2 blocks all day lol. Im clearly doing something wrong haha

Then again I cant tell what is actually finding the blocks. My cpu or my gpu

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:55:15 PM
 #2352

Difficulty going up makes the reward going down. As far as I can tell from the formula that is. Ive got 2 blocks all day lol. Im clearly doing something wrong haha

Y'all stop miing please so I get higher payouts...

Oh, and would you guys share whether you think "jane" coins other than YAC are currently better to mine or more profitable?
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:57:59 PM
 #2353

You want higher payouts then stop giving us a way to mine ;-) get my 780 mining at double speed and I will donate coins personally. Editing your post when I asked the same question. How rude :p

I know we have a list of scrypt-jane coins but it would be great if someone with some real understanding could have a look through them and figure out whats best to mine. Why have a miner giving us massive advantage over ati if we dont have proper knowledge on whats best to mine :-)

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 05:59:50 PM
 #2354

You want higher payouts then stop giving us a way to mine :-p

I know we have a list of scrypt-jane coins but it would be great if someone with some real understanding could have a look through them and figure out whats best to mine. Why have a miner giving us massive advantage over ati if we dont have proper knowledge on whats best to mine :-)

I was considering keeping everything secret for a while. But hey, I am not a selfish asshole.

Just maybe don't blabber about it in other forums, like yacointalk - so we keep the first mover advantage Wink
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:00:43 PM
 #2355

This is the only forum I use for coins, and I only use this thread so your secrets are safe with me :-p

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
beachking2000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:12:37 PM
 #2356

Need help compiling Cudaminer off git on windows 8.1. Using visual studio 2013.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:13:48 PM
 #2357

You want higher payouts then stop giving us a way to mine ;-) get my 780 mining at double speed and I will donate coins personally. Editing your post when I asked the same question. How rude :p

We can use more SMX'es by doing a lookup_gap implementation. Not sure about doubling the speed, but it might actually be faster. However it also drives up the power consumpton.

I will go for it soon, as I have 3 GTX 780Ti and one 780.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:15:32 PM
 #2358

Need help compiling Cudaminer off git on windows 8.1.

Get Visual Studio 2010 Express and use my precompiled dependencies. Also install the CUDA 5.5 toolkit. Compilation should be a matter of opening the project file, selecting whether a 32 or 64 bit build is required - and that you want a "Release" build.

bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:16:22 PM
 #2359

Sorry I cant help with that. Im only able to compile on linux.

I think the thing with other jane coins is that with lower N values, amd seems to get a good result. But nvidia wouldnt be too far behind nor would cpu mining.

Higher N values are much better on nvidia. So it will mainly be down to what N value is optimal for us to start mining at, what their worth, and what the rewards are like. More people means less reward so ideally you want to hit something new, worth a decent amount, with a reasonable N value.

A lot to calculate I think

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
beachking2000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 11, 2014, 06:23:09 PM
 #2360

I get two errors. The second one im guessing is I forgot to get cuda 5.5 toolkit.
E:\CudaMiner-master\CudaMiner-master\cudaminer.vcxproj : error  : Unable to read the project file "cudaminer.vcxproj".
E:\CudaMiner-master\CudaMiner-master\cudaminer.vcxproj(50,5): The imported project "C:\Program Files (x86)\MSBuild\Microsoft.Cpp\v4.0\V120\BuildCustomizations\CUDA 5.5.props" was not found. Confirm that the path in the <Import> declaration is correct, and that the file exists on disk.

Pages: « 1 ... 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 [118] 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 ... 1136 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!