Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2018, 08:37:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 1136 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3401821 times)
manofcolombia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

SizzleBits


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 03:09:12 PM
 #2161


[/quote]

Is it mining better or worse???

Because my machines are only for mining so if its not seeing an improvement i'm not updating them.
[/quote]

Same. Just waiting for a guinea pig to say whether or not todays drivers do anything for mining Tongue

1542616652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616652
Reply with quote  #2

1542616652
Report to moderator
1542616652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616652
Reply with quote  #2

1542616652
Report to moderator
1542616652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542616652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542616652
Reply with quote  #2

1542616652
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:11:35 PM
 #2162

My 780 is mining scrypt-jane the same with the new drivers. I havent tried normal scrypt though

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:27:43 PM
 #2163

What does having a scrypt-jane cryptocurrency having an Nfactor of 6 and N of 128 potentionally mean? I mean could cudaMiner be optimized for that for higher hashrates?

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:34:00 PM
 #2164

higher N factor means lower rewards for mining blocks and a higher memory requirement every time it increases. eventually it will get so high that gpus wont have enough memory to even hash once so the hashrate will drop very quickly. this is why cpu mining will carry on as desktop memory is cheap and can be replaced

personally I think scrypt-jane when the N factor goes up is going to force up memory prices when the cpu miners start to be the only ones able to mine. unless we can find a way to use our system memory for gpu crunching on scrypt-jane it will eventually be impossible to mine with a gpu

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
manofcolombia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

SizzleBits


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 03:53:52 PM
 #2165

Just patiently waiting for the update with scrypt-jane Wink
Wanna jump on ya coin quick. Its actually a bit more profitable than ltc right now if I mine ya and convert to btc= $$

bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 03:59:47 PM
 #2166

It is a lot more for me. Although solo mining is un predictable. I could maybe mine 0.16 ltc in a day. I can get abiut 150 yacoins in a day  which is just over 0.35 litecoins.

Then again I still have a system on multipool, mining doge the dieing dog still as tue most profitable one. And if thats the most profitable with its price over halving in a week. It shows how bad the rest of the alt coins are doing

edit: saying that. I got 150 coins in 7 hours solo mining  its been 29 hours since then and I have added an extra 1khash/s and not got anything.

I just hope the damn config im using that causes the driver crash is actually doing something and not just wasting my time saying it is mining. As I have no way to tell if its even sending off anything

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:07:05 PM
 #2167

I have to strongly recommend to mine yacoin using Linux on Kepler devices (Compute 3.0 or 3.5). For Linux, github has always been the preferred way of getting the source code.

The Windows version (for some bizarre reason) does not achieve comparable performance on the same kernel launch configurations.

I will attempt to optimize scrypt-jane mining for Fermi later, but that may take a bit longer.

Solo-Mining is a lottery.  Only when you average several days or weeks you get a reliable estimates of your expected income. And even that estimate may change, as people start jumping on yacoin with CUDA, driving up the difficulty. Today for example the dominant pool had a failure of its stratum port, losing more than half of its hash rate. That's more profit for us solo'ers, right there.

Christian
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:09:01 PM
 #2168

Can you explain to me how to get cuda 5.5 running? I mean I have ubuntu 13.10 but setting up cuda was so long winded I couldnt do it.

If you can explain that I will give it a go and let you know how things run. Because I just have a feeling my windows one is doing nothing right now

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:13:58 PM
 #2169

Can you explain to me how to get cuda 5.5 running? I mean I have ubuntu 13.10 but setting up cuda was so long winded I couldnt do it.

If you can explain that I will give it a go and let you know how things run. Because I just have a feeling my windows one is doing nothing right now

Typically you download a RPM or .deb package for the CUDA toolkit from nvidia, and if there isn't one for Ubuntu 13.10, there may be one for 13.04 or 12.10 or 12.04 at least.  In my experience versions for older Ubuntu releases still run on more recent Ubuntu installations.  Installation requires root privileges.

If the driver shipping with the toolkit doesn't install easily (it requires installation from a text console, without the X server running and it needs linux kernel headers etc...), maybe try getting nvidia-331 with apt-get. There is a ppa repository called xorg-edgers (and another one called  X-Swat) which may have even more recent nvidia driver versions.

Good luck!

Christian
manofcolombia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

SizzleBits


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2014, 04:17:38 PM
 #2170

I have to strongly recommend to mine yacoin using Linux on Kepler devices (Compute 3.0 or 3.5). For Linux, github has always been the preferred way of getting the source code.

The Windows version (for some bizarre reason) does not achieve comparable performance on the same kernel launch configurations.

I will attempt optimizing for Fermi once more, but that may take a bit longer.

Solo-Mining is a lottery.  Only when you average several days or weeks you get a good, reliable estimates of your expected income. And even that may change, as people start jumping on yacoin with CUDA, driving up the difficulty. Today for example the dominant pool had a failure of its stratum port, losing more than half of its hash rate. That's more profit for us solo'ers, right there.

Christian

*sigh* thats annoying...my linux box (Home server) is an old Pentium 4 with PCI...Sad

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:18:39 PM
 #2171

higher N factor means lower rewards for mining blocks and a higher memory requirement every time it increases. eventually it will get so high that gpus wont have enough memory to even hash once so the hashrate will drop very quickly. this is why cpu mining will carry on as desktop memory is cheap and can be replaced

personally I think scrypt-jane when the N factor goes up is going to force up memory prices when the cpu miners start to be the only ones able to mine. unless we can find a way to use our system memory for gpu crunching on scrypt-jane it will eventually be impossible to mine with a gpu

I think a lookup-gap will allow me to GPU mine even with N factors of 15,16,17,18 but the requirements on the number of CUDA cores will increase. You can always trade memory for more computation power (and extra electricity waste) - but at some point that power will become the bottleneck.
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:18:55 PM
 #2172

I have edgers for the driver and that works. It was only cuda that I hadnt got. I foubd instructions online and they were sooo long. It wasnt a case of just running the cuda installer. But does this work if I just run the cuda installer?

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:20:20 PM
 #2173

I have edgers for the driver and that works. It was only cuda that I hadnt got. I foubd instructions online and they were sooo long. It wasnt a case of just running the cuda installer. But does this work if I just run the cuda installer?

after running the cuda installer you should have a /usr/local/cuda-5.5 folder and the ./configure script of cudaminer will hopefully run through.

There may be other required dependencies, such as libssl-dev, libcurl-dev, ...

Christian

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:21:17 PM
 #2174

*sigh* thats annoying...my linux box (Home server) is an old Pentium 4 with PCI...Sad

PCI is a showstopper.  Pentium 4 isn't. Wink

I still have an nVidia 8400 GS for the PCI bus, supporting CUDA. But that one won't mine you a fortune.

I am currently evaluating a Fermi based GT 630 with 128bit DDR3 memory for possible use in mining, but I am not very hopeful.

Christian
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:42:06 PM
 #2175

It appears that CUDA can find some very profitable niches in mining.

I am implementing scrypt-jane,  dga-dave is implementing the Momentum algorithm used in protoshares: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=404915.msg4390501#msg4390501
CaptainBeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:48:37 PM
 #2176

Unless i'm going blind whats the where is the github for the scrypt-jane algo work??
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:50:22 PM
 #2177

Unless i'm going blind whats the where is the github for the scrypt-jane algo work??

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=cudaminer&l=1
Banin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:51:31 PM
 #2178

Can someone post a guide on how to compile on windows for alternate coins like scrypt-jane ?
CaptainBeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:53:53 PM
 #2179

Unless i'm going blind whats the where is the github for the scrypt-jane algo work??

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=cudaminer&l=1

I both love and hate you!!
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 05:13:13 PM
 #2180

so i got cuda 5.5 toolkit installed now. but and i have run the ./configure

now when i run make i get this, can you help?

Code:
make  all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master'
Making all in compat
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/compat'
Making all in jansson
make[3]: Entering directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/compat/jansson'
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT dump.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/dump.Tpo -c -o dump.o dump.c
mv -f .deps/dump.Tpo .deps/dump.Po
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT hashtable.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/hashtable.Tpo -c -o hashtable.o hashtable.c
mv -f .deps/hashtable.Tpo .deps/hashtable.Po
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT load.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/load.Tpo -c -o load.o load.c
mv -f .deps/load.Tpo .deps/load.Po
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT strbuffer.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/strbuffer.Tpo -c -o strbuffer.o strbuffer.c
mv -f .deps/strbuffer.Tpo .deps/strbuffer.Po
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT utf.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/utf.Tpo -c -o utf.o utf.c
mv -f .deps/utf.Tpo .deps/utf.Po
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../..     -g -O2 -MT value.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/value.Tpo -c -o value.o value.c
mv -f .deps/value.Tpo .deps/value.Po
rm -f libjansson.a
ar cru libjansson.a dump.o hashtable.o load.o strbuffer.o utf.o value.o
ranlib libjansson.a
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/compat/jansson'
make[3]: Entering directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/compat'
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `all-am'.
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/compat'
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/compat'
make[2]: Entering directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master'
gcc -std=gnu99 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I.  -msse2  -fopenmp -pthread -fno-strict-aliasing -I./compat/jansson   -g -O2 -MT cudaminer-cpu-miner.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/cudaminer-cpu-miner.Tpo -c -o cudaminer-cpu-miner.o `test -f 'cpu-miner.c' || echo './'`cpu-miner.c
cpu-miner.c:37:23: fatal error: curl/curl.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [cudaminer-cpu-miner.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master'
make: *** [all] Error 2

EDIT
ok so i forgot to run autogen.sh, done that now, and im getting this error now.
Code:
/bin/bash ./config.status --recheck
running CONFIG_SHELL=/bin/bash /bin/bash ./configure --no-create --no-recursion
checking build system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking host system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking target system type... x86_64-unknown-linux-gnu
checking for a BSD-compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
checking whether build environment is sane... yes
/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/missing: Unknown `--is-lightweight' option
Try `/home/jamie/Downloads/CudaMiner-master/missing --help' for more information
configure: WARNING: 'missing' script is too old or missing
checking for a thread-safe mkdir -p... /bin/mkdir -p
checking for gawk... gawk
checking whether make sets $(MAKE)... yes
checking whether make supports nested variables... yes
checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
checking for style of include used by make... GNU
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler works... yes
checking for C compiler default output file name... a.out
checking for suffix of executables...
checking whether we are cross compiling... no
checking for suffix of object files... o
checking whether we are using the GNU C compiler... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C89... none needed
checking dependency style of gcc... gcc3
checking for gcc option to accept ISO C99... -std=gnu99
checking how to run the C preprocessor... gcc -std=gnu99 -E
checking for grep that handles long lines and -e... /bin/grep
checking for egrep... /bin/grep -E
checking whether gcc -std=gnu99 needs -traditional... no
checking whether gcc -std=gnu99 and cc understand -c and -o together... yes
checking dependency style of gcc -std=gnu99... gcc3
checking for ranlib... ranlib
checking for g++... g++
checking whether we are using the GNU C++ compiler... yes
checking whether g++ accepts -g... yes
checking dependency style of g++... gcc3
checking for gcc -std=gnu99 option to support OpenMP... -fopenmp
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for sys/types.h... yes
checking for sys/stat.h... yes
checking for stdlib.h... yes
checking for string.h... yes
checking for memory.h... yes
checking for strings.h... yes
checking for inttypes.h... yes
checking for stdint.h... yes
checking for unistd.h... yes
checking sys/endian.h usability... no
checking sys/endian.h presence... no
checking for sys/endian.h... no
checking sys/param.h usability... yes
checking sys/param.h presence... yes
checking for sys/param.h... yes
checking syslog.h usability... yes
checking syslog.h presence... yes
checking for syslog.h... yes
checking for sys/sysctl.h... yes
checking whether be32dec is declared... no
checking whether le32dec is declared... no
checking whether be32enc is declared... no
checking whether le32enc is declared... no
checking for size_t... yes
checking for working alloca.h... yes
checking for alloca... yes
checking for getopt_long... yes
checking whether we can compile AVX code... yes
checking whether we can compile XOP code... yes
checking whether we can compile AVX2 code... yes
checking for json_loads in -ljansson... no
checking for pthread_create in -lpthread... yes
./configure: line 6116: syntax error near unexpected token `,'
./configure: line 6116: `LIBCURL_CHECK_CONFIG(, 7.15.2, ,'
make: *** [config.status] Error 2

i have libcurl3 installed, which is version 7.30.0, and i dont get the option to install an older version

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 1136 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!