Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 10:59:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 [673] 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761130 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2013, 10:44:24 AM
 #13441

New release: Version 3.8.1, 10th November 2013

GPU mining in any form is gone. Long live GPU mining (see previous post). New hardware support in this release and massive change with removal of GPU mining, but only bugfixes to the remainder of the code so to existing users this should be a safe upgrade, in keeping with even number releases sounding more stable.


Human readable changelog:

- Remove all GPU code.
- Driver for Black Arrow Bitfury hardware (for use on RPi)
- Updates to make USB writes more reliable. Should help more on windows than anywhere else.
- Slight improvements to the blue and redfury drivers will decrease duplicates at startup, lost work across block changes, and will now show hardware errors - NOTE the hardware errors are not more than before, they simply weren't being reported before.
- Numerous tweaks to improve Avalon behaviour (possibly still problematic on wrt hardware but works better on PC).
- Fixes to prevent Avalons from hanging rarely on block change.
- Low level clean ups, bugfixes and preparation for more driver code.


Full changelog:

- api update version to 2.0 and remove GPU form API-README
- Remove now unused scrypt files.
- api.c remove all GPU/gpu references and correct code as required
- Rudimentary removal of GPU OpenCL and Scrypt features from api.c
- Reorder configure alphabetically for devices to compile and fail if no support
is selected to be compiled in.
- BaB update/format some comments
- BlackArrowBitfury early GPIO V1 driver
- Fine tune the reading of results in bitfury driver to not lose any across work
restarts or corrupt due to store results not parsed during restart.
- Send a zero length packet at the end of every usb transfer on windows in case
libusb internally has batched them into one maxpacket sized.

- Framework for ntime rolling, keep looking for OP_USB_INIT replies when other
packets received
- Configure source for a new BaB driver
- sha2 allow external access to some macros and the K array
- Fixed a math issue when reporting fan speed on the status line.
- Use the main hashlist to store work done in the bitfury driver and remove work
from the list by time, thereby fixing the duplicates at startup. Count hardware
errors for when no match occurs.
- Add a get and queue helper work function.
- Remove GPU mining code.
- Use libusb's own zero length packet support unless we have to emulate it on
windows since only libusb knows for sure if it's needed.
- Unlock the avalon qlock while sending tasks to not hold the lock for an
extended period.
- Sleep in avalon send task on return to the function to allow other code to
work during the sleep period.
- Send zero length packets when terminating a usb write aligned to
maxpacketsize.
- Do the driver flush in avalon code lockless since it can lead to deadlocks.
- Reset the work_restart bool after the scanwork loop in case the driver flushes
work synchronously.
- Only check for the stratum clean message if we have had a valid message.
- Get rid of the stage thread since all work can be asynchronously added now via
hash_push anyway.
- Remove the now incorrect faq entry regarding scrypt difficulty.
- Check for fatal read errors and break out of the read loop in avalon.
- Send errors are basically fatal in avalon driver so break out of the send
tasks loop.
- Make the avalon driver return -1 for hash count when usb fails, allowing the
main loop code to send it the shutdown flag.
- Break out of the hash work loops when a failure is detected instead of
dropping into mt disable.
- Use usbutils' own ftdi parser for avalon and the ftdir's own latency for
managing timeouts since we can wait on reads with completely asynchronous
reads+writes.
- Use usbutils' own cps function for slowing rate of usb writes on avalon.
- Fix build for no libcurl
- Check length before submitting sync transfers

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1534503566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534503566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534503566
Reply with quote  #2

1534503566
Report to moderator
1534503566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534503566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534503566
Reply with quote  #2

1534503566
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534503566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534503566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534503566
Reply with quote  #2

1534503566
Report to moderator
1534503566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534503566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534503566
Reply with quote  #2

1534503566
Report to moderator
aneutronic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 12:55:10 PM
 #13442

Much better than 3.7.2, it ran strong for 4 minutes before the usb errors this time.   Smiley

Don't know if you or anyone else is testing on avalon but wondering if you're seeing the same or if it's an issue with my tplink or controller.    Undecided

http://pastebin.com/bGQt7c38

aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1430
Merit: 1010


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 01:49:55 PM
 #13443

Hmmn, 3.8.0 won't work for me. Nothing initializes correctly and various error messages scroll by. The BFL unit fan stays at idle and the AMU LEDs stay on - no hashing by anything. I'll look more deeply when I get a chance - the problem may be on my end. Meanwhile, I'm back to 3.7.2 "ymmv" version, which is working well (3 day run before I took it down to try 3.8.0).

Of possible significance, I've done all my prior testing using the cgminer-nogpu executables so this is the first time I've run cgminer.exe directly.

SpaceCadet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


Just mining my own business...


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 04:38:15 PM
 #13444

3.8.0 doesn't return anything for me - I get:

[2013-11-10 09:31:14] FAIL: USB get_lock not found (4:1)
[2013-11-10 09:31:14] FAIL: USB remove not already in use (4:1)

I get this on both an win7 box and a win8 box on both usb2 and usb3 ports. (the 4:1 reference changes with the port used) I suspect it has to do with the usb driver (zadiag), but not sure.

3.7.2 does the same sometimes, though I haven't checked all combos of it yet.

Currently sticking with 3.6.5 for my BEs Sad
IYFTech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 05:38:50 PM
 #13445

3.8.0. working fine for me on Xubuntu 12.04 64bit

Less HW errors too  Grin

-- Smiley  Thank you for smoking  Smiley --  If you paid VAT to dogie for items you should read this thread:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1018906.0
Sampey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1016



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:02:44 PM
 #13446

Hi guys, i'm running CGMiner under Windows 7.
I have 1 Bitburner Fury and 6 USB Erupter
With command i must use to tell CGMiner to use Only Bitburner Fury or Only 6 Usb Erupter?

Thank you  Grin

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:06:20 PM
 #13447

Hi guys, i'm running CGMiner under Windows 7.
I have 1 Bitburner Fury and 6 USB Erupter
With command i must use to tell CGMiner to use Only Bitburner Fury or Only 6 Usb Erupter?

Thank you  Grin

To tell it not to use BE's use
"--usb ICA:0"

Read the advanced usb options in the readme for the proper name for the other device plus many more useful options.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Sampey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1016



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:09:18 PM
 #13448

Hi guys, i'm running CGMiner under Windows 7.
I have 1 Bitburner Fury and 6 USB Erupter
With command i must use to tell CGMiner to use Only Bitburner Fury or Only 6 Usb Erupter?

Thank you  Grin

To tell it not to use BE's use
"--usb ICA:0"

Read the advanced usb options in the readme for the proper name for the other device plus many more useful options.

But i want to tell "What To Use", no "To use what is in not in use".
When i plug the 6USB Erupter, CGMiner stops work if i'm working with the Bitburner.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:12:13 PM
 #13449

New release: Version 3.8.0, 10th November 2013
in keeping with even number releases sounding more stable.

I can't remember the last time, if there was one, when I used .0 version for any length of time.

3.8.0 doesn't work for me either.  Here is the text from a Vista 32 bit machine

Code:
cgminer version 3.8.0 - Started: [2013-11-10 11:27:12]
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:0  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 11  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 0  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to pit.deepbit.net diff 1 with LP as user xxx@xxx.xxx_erupter
 Block: 81e15399...  Diff:511M  Started: [11:27:11]  Best share: 0
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-11-10 11:27:04] Started cgminer 3.8.0
 [2013-11-10 11:27:07] AMU 0 SendWork usb write err:(-7) LIBUSB_ERROR_TIMEOUT
 [2013-11-10 11:27:07] FAIL: USB get_lock not found (5:4)
 [2013-11-10 11:27:07] FAIL: USB remove not already in use (5:4)
 [2013-11-10 11:27:10] No devices detected!
 [2013-11-10 11:27:10] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-11-10 11:27:10] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-11-10 11:27:11] Pool 2 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-11-10 11:27:11] Switching to pool 2 http://stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -
rst alive pool
 [2013-11-10 11:27:11] Network diff set to 511M
 [2013-11-10 11:27:11] Pool 1 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332 alive, testing stabi
ty
 [2013-11-10 11:27:11] Switching to pool 1 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332
 [2013-11-10 11:27:11] Long-polling activated for http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/
stenChannel
 [2013-11-10 11:27:13] Pool 0 slow/down or URL or credentials invalid

Had to reboot the machine to get 3.7.2 to work again.  I also rebooted the machine before trying 3.8.0.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:15:24 PM
 #13450

But i want to tell "What To Use", no "To use what is in not in use".
When i plug the 6USB Erupter, CGMiner stops work if i'm working with the Bitburner.

Well like my daddy always used to say "want in one hand and crap in the other and see what fills up first" Smiley

Check the advanced USB options and see if there is a --usb command that does it the way you want it to.  I tell my instances what I don't want them to use and how many of the devices that I do want them to use.

To tell it to use 6 BE's use
"--usb ICA:6,<furydrivernamehere>:1"

I don't know the bitburner interface type/drivername.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:28:33 PM
 #13451

... people must be pressing F5 lots on this forum Cheesy ...

Yes I was about to edit and add ...

If on the other hand it is indeed returning mostly rubbish results, it will affect the calculations of the hash rate also.
The good old saying: garbage in garbage out.
Yes the driver is not designed to correct the 'garbage in'

Aside: I do have a long standing TODO: comment in the code ...
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/driver-icarus.c#L1204
and the line after it.
But that is to do with timing mode also.

When you say "But that is to do with timing mode also." do you mean overriding the default timings?  Or that the default timings may be an issue as well?

I had two more BE's start reporting GHash rates overnight with 3.7.2.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Sampey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1016



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 06:38:57 PM
 #13452

But i want to tell "What To Use", no "To use what is in not in use".
When i plug the 6USB Erupter, CGMiner stops work if i'm working with the Bitburner.

Well like my daddy always used to say "want in one hand and crap in the other and see what fills up first" Smiley

Check the advanced USB options and see if there is a --usb command that does it the way you want it to.  I tell my instances what I don't want them to use and how many of the devices that I do want them to use.

To tell it to use 6 BE's use
"--usb ICA:6,<furydrivernamehere>:1"

I don't know the bitburner interface type/drivername.

Ok! Thank you so much.

nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2013, 07:57:07 PM
 #13453

I can't remember the last time, if there was one, when I used .0 version for any length of time.

3.8.0 doesn't work for me either.  Here is the text from a Vista 32 bit machine

Same results for me on a Windows 7 x64 machine. Same LibUSB timeout errors. cgminer doesn't detect any devices.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2013, 08:13:47 PM
 #13454

Weee what a fun ride, not. Apologies to windows users.

Windows users having trouble try this binary instead please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:42:52 PM
 #13455

Weee what a fun ride, not. Apologies to windows users.

Windows users having trouble try this binary instead please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe


It's working on the Vista machine.

I'm in the process of rebooting the Win7 machine.  It takes a while.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
aigeezer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1430
Merit: 1010


Cryptanalyst castrated by his government, 1952


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:47:50 PM
 #13456

Weee what a fun ride, not. Apologies to windows users.

Windows users having trouble try this binary instead please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe


It's working on the Vista machine.

I'm in the process of rebooting the Win7 machine.  It takes a while.

The new version is working for me so far, Win7, living dangerously without a reboot.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
November 10, 2013, 08:49:30 PM
 #13457

Thanks very much for your quick testing guys. Posting a hotfix 3.8.1 release for windows users. Linux/osx users should be unaffected.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:51:49 PM
 #13458

3.8.0 doesn't return anything for me - I get:

[2013-11-10 09:31:14] FAIL: USB get_lock not found (4:1)
[2013-11-10 09:31:14] FAIL: USB remove not already in use (4:1)

Weee what a fun ride, not. Apologies to windows users.

Windows users having trouble try this binary instead please:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/cgminer.exe

BFL devices are now working, but my 2 BEs are not. Who really cares about 2 BE's anyways? I'm gonna keep 3.8. Thanks for the fix!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 10, 2013, 08:53:40 PM
 #13459

Thanks very much for your quick testing guys. Posting a hotfix 3.8.1 release for windows users. Linux/osx users should be unaffected.

BFL devices are now working, but my 2 BEs are not. Who really cares about 2 BE's anyways? I'm gonna keep 3.8. Thanks for the fix!

Weird. Now 3.8.1 is working with my BEs. Well as I said, thanks for your hard work!

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
November 10, 2013, 09:26:04 PM
 #13460

Since a new version came out before I was able to get my Win7 w/49 Port Hub rebooted, again, I went with the new version 3.8.1.

So far so good.  One instance with 40 BE's and one with one Jalapeno.

Wonder if my 1 Ths BE's will recur again?
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 [673] 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!