Bitcoin Forum
February 09, 2023, 02:44:52 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 [619] 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5804614 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 12:57:11 PM
 #12361

I ran into a problem with the USB block erupters.  They work great under 3.4.2 on my main PC, plugged straight into my USB 3.0 ports.  They work great on one of my rigs, plugged into multiple USB 3.0/2.0 hubs.  No configuration, just the WinUSB driver and it "just works".

Not so on my laptop. Sad  3.4.2 (and 3.4.3) do not find the miners.  WinUSB is installed.  It looks the same in device manager on my laptop as it does my PC.  But cgminer doesn't see them.

I'm going to try updating my drivers on the laptop.  They should be up to date, but I'm going to check anyhow.

Any ideas?

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a higher transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1675910692
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675910692

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675910692
Reply with quote  #2

1675910692
Report to moderator
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 01:55:28 PM
 #12362

I ran into a problem with the USB block erupters.  They work great under 3.4.2 on my main PC, plugged straight into my USB 3.0 ports.  They work great on one of my rigs, plugged into multiple USB 3.0/2.0 hubs.  No configuration, just the WinUSB driver and it "just works".

Not so on my laptop. Sad  3.4.2 (and 3.4.3) do not find the miners.  WinUSB is installed.  It looks the same in device manager on my laptop as it does my PC.  But cgminer doesn't see them.

I'm going to try updating my drivers on the laptop.  They should be up to date, but I'm going to check anyhow.

Any ideas?

M

Plugging them directly into the laptop?  If so, probably the reason they arent running.  Laptop ports are notoriously under powered.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 3556
Merit: 1081


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 01:59:06 PM
Last edit: September 13, 2013, 02:11:42 PM by os2sam
 #12363

Not so on my laptop. Sad  3.4.2 (and 3.4.3) do not find the miners.  WinUSB is installed.  It looks the same in device manager on my laptop as it does my PC.

What OS is on your laptop?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 02:38:46 PM
 #12364

Not so on my laptop. Sad  3.4.2 (and 3.4.3) do not find the miners.  WinUSB is installed.  It looks the same in device manager on my laptop as it does my PC.

What OS is on your laptop?

Win7 x64, just like the PCs.

I could see them being underpowered.  But cgminer doesn't see them.  It's not like it sees them and they don't work, it's like they aren't there.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 04:25:06 PM
 #12365

Win7 x64, just like the PCs.

I could see them being underpowered.  But cgminer doesn't see them.  It's not like it sees them and they don't work, it's like they aren't there.

M
I had the same issue. By any chance, is it a very recent PC, with a Z87 chipset? In my case, the conclusion was that my particular chipset or USB port wasn't supported by the libusb that cgminer uses. Windows was seeing the BE fine and loading the right drivers, but they still appeared invisible to cgminer. Ultimately I had to find a different platform to mine on.

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 04:39:00 PM
 #12366

Win7 x64, just like the PCs.

I could see them being underpowered.  But cgminer doesn't see them.  It's not like it sees them and they don't work, it's like they aren't there.

M
I had the same issue. By any chance, is it a very recent PC, with a Z87 chipset? In my case, the conclusion was that my particular chipset or USB port wasn't supported by the libusb that cgminer uses. Windows was seeing the BE fine and loading the right drivers, but they still appeared invisible to cgminer. Ultimately I had to find a different platform to mine on.
That's some useful information that the developers can hopefully consider in some future build.  However, if that isn't the case, I think we need to know whether or not there is any indication that the device is visible in the OS and/or powered on since, as a general rule of thumb, I would expect underpowered ports to not power on devices that require more power than is available.  Sure, there may be some mining devices could see enough power to come on, but not enough to mine without errors.  I don't know whether or not there are, but even if there are, I would expect that to be an edge case, not something typical of underpowered USB ports (unless all underpowered USB ports provide the exact same less-than-spec amount of power for some mystical reason [or they are powered to spec and "underpowered" actually means "not overpowered"]).
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 04:48:03 PM
 #12367

Win7 x64, just like the PCs.

I could see them being underpowered.  But cgminer doesn't see them.  It's not like it sees them and they don't work, it's like they aren't there.

M
I had the same issue. By any chance, is it a very recent PC, with a Z87 chipset? In my case, the conclusion was that my particular chipset or USB port wasn't supported by the libusb that cgminer uses. Windows was seeing the BE fine and loading the right drivers, but they still appeared invisible to cgminer. Ultimately I had to find a different platform to mine on.
That's some useful information that the developers can hopefully consider in some future build.  However, if that isn't the case, I think we need to know whether or not there is any indication that the device is visible in the OS and/or powered on since, as a general rule of thumb, I would expect underpowered ports to not power on devices that require more power than is available.  Sure, there may be some mining devices could see enough power to come on, but not enough to mine without errors.  I don't know whether or not there are, but even if there are, I would expect that to be an edge case, not something typical of underpowered USB ports (unless all underpowered USB ports provide the exact same less-than-spec amount of power for some mystical reason [or they are powered to spec and "underpowered" actually means "not overpowered"]).

It's a fairly recent laptop.  It has a 3rd gen i7 processor in it.  Device manager is showing the "Intel 7 series C216 chipset".

Windows knows about the USB device.  It installed the drivers just fine (via Zadig).  It shows in device manager.  But cgminer is none the wiser.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 05:07:49 PM
 #12368

New chipsets take time to be supported in *nix (and presumably libusb originates in *nix, translating to Windows).  It's unfortunate, but a reality.  That having been said, the easiest way to confirm a problem is a chipset vs libusb problem would be to try to run the cgminer binaries off of a live distro (presumably the same OS & version in use by the developers).  If cgminer doesn't detect the device there, it's definietly due to the version of libusb included with cgminer.  Also unfortunate, many other libusb versions cause mining problems as seen earlier in this thread, so even if the developer's OS of choice can detect the device on your machine, that doesn't mean cgminer can use it and be stable.  Presumably you would have to hack and compile on your own to be able to have cgminer use a newer libusb whilst not being stable.  Beyond that, all you can do in this scenario is hope that a future version of libusb comes out that is stable for mining, which also requires hoping the developers are trying new libusb versions.  However, the live distro test would at least allow you to know that so you don't waste additional time troubleshooting.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 05:10:33 PM
 #12369

New chipsets take time to be supported in *nix (and presumably libusb originates in *nix, translating to Windows).  It's unfortunate, but a reality.  That having been said, the easiest way to confirm a problem is a chipset vs libusb problem would be to try to run the cgminer binaries off of a live distro (presumably the same OS & version in use by the developers).  If cgminer doesn't detect the device there, it's definietly due to the version of libusb included with cgminer.  Also unfortunate, many other libusb versions cause mining problems as seen earlier in this thread, so even if the developer's OS of choice can detect the device on your machine, that doesn't mean cgminer can use it and be stable.  Presumably you would have to hack and compile on your own to be able to have cgminer use a newer libusb whilst not being stable.  Beyond that, all you can do in this scenario is hope that a future version of libusb comes out that is stable for mining, which also requires hoping the developers are trying new libusb versions.  However, the live distro test would at least allow you to know that so you don't waste additional time troubleshooting.

Linux and I don't mix well.  Last time I tried it, one of us had to go, and you see who's still here.

I intend to try 3.1.1 which uses COM drivers and see if I can get it working that way.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 05:35:20 PM
 #12370

Was 3.1.1 the last version to support COM functionality?

Oh, and side note: mdude, your sig is out of date. Smiley

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 807
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 07:13:41 PM
 #12371

I intend to try 3.1.1 which uses COM drivers and see if I can get it working that way.
Hopefully that works.  While it doesn't prove that the issue is compatibility between your chipset and libusb, it is an easier way to narrow things down significantly and a potential workaround at the same time.
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 07:20:40 PM
 #12372

Unofficial Mac binaries updated to 3.4.3 at http://spaceman.ca/cgminer.
Cheesy

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 13, 2013, 07:24:26 PM
 #12373

Was 3.1.1 the last version to support COM functionality?

Oh, and side note: mdude, your sig is out of date. Smiley

I think 3.1.1 was the last version to use COM.  I was using it on my mining rigs until very recently.

Thanks for the reminder on my sig, I fixed it.  One neat thing about sigs here is it always shows your current one.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 07:55:31 PM
 #12374

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
DrGuns4Hands
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 550


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 10:59:36 PM
 #12375

Just compiled from the git running good so far no issues no zombies. I did notice during the configure step that a line popped up showing

./configure: line 11925: -pthread: command not found

seems to be working without it ,but what would i need to get to fix this part.

Raspberry Pi Raspbian Wheezy 7.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 11:02:47 PM
 #12376

Just compiled from the git running good so far no issues no zombies. I did notice during the configure step that a line popped up showing

./configure: line 11925: -pthread: command not found

seems to be working without it ,but what would i need to get to fix this part.

Raspberry Pi Raspbian Wheezy 7.
Nothing, it's a normal part of the libusb check.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1701


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 11:19:53 PM
 #12377

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
As the screen error message says ... and the README, FPGA-README and ASIC-README says - the WinUSB driver

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
The Mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 11:28:08 PM
 #12378

After having a similar issue (moving from 3.1.1 to 3.4.0) and cigminer not seeing devices, I formatted and reinstalled windows and installed the winusb driver only and the devices detected again.
vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 06:56:36 AM
 #12379

when using Zadig, do you select the winusb driver or one of the others?
As the screen error message says ... and the README, FPGA-README and ASIC-README says - the WinUSB driver

Ok, thanks kano, I have done this and still after 30 mins or so 2 of my erupters turn into zombies.  Does this mean that the driver needs to be installed on all the erupters or do I just do it once?
martinm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 10:29:35 AM
 #12380

Hello ck,
Hello Kano,

I've a question related to the identification of a device in cgminer and the a hardware device. As I'm currently about to develop a application that creates statistics for every device, it's essential to have a clear mapping between hardware device and the related device in cgminer for that. Previously I thought that the combination of the Device Type (GPU/BAS/AVA/....) and ID provided from cgminer could achieve that task, I had the hope it works as long the devices are connected to the same Port(USB/PCE...). Unfortunately I discovered that's not right. During the run of CGMiner I unplugged an Avalon from the USBPort and reconnected after a short time. After the reconnect the Id changed from AVA0 to AVA1. Now I'm questioning myself, how I can achieve the unique identification of a hardware device by reported data from CGMiner. I hope you can give me some advice!

Thany you very much in advance 
Pages: « 1 ... 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 [619] 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!