Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 06:32:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 [593] 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 ... 842 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5746644 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 05:16:01 PM
 #11841

Well that may make sense if it were a scrypt miner.  But it is not it's a Bitcoin mining program which has graciously added scrypt support.

So this is not a bug.

Maybe clarification in the Scrypt Readme, if its not already there, would be in order.
Sam
I call bullshit on pretty much everything in this post.  But a fix may not be the highest priority so at least a note as to the behavior would be useful.

OK, fine,  I'm just expressing my opinion a bit and attempting to apply common sense.

It would just seem to make sense to me to tell the the mining software what type of mining I want it to do before telling it how I want it to mine that specific coin.

The previous posters remark about regression is very valid too, it seems to me.
Later,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
1513319521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513319521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513319521
Reply with quote  #2

1513319521
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513319521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513319521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513319521
Reply with quote  #2

1513319521
Report to moderator
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2013, 05:26:48 PM
 #11842

It's not that big a deal, I only just heard of it and I'll fix it next version. Let the discussion go.

I am not blaming anyone or trying to make a fuss, just reporting/confirming a bug.
CGMiner is the program for mining for me and I like to see it at top level.
Which reminds me, I don't believe I donated before. A small thank you something sent to 15qSxP1SQcUX3o4nhkfdbgyoWEFMomJ4rZ  Smiley

#101Life
Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
crazyearner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 05:39:57 PM
 #11843

First problem found in  --avalon-freq <arg> Set frequency range for avalon-auto, single value or range

with range set from 330-360 this is not working and miner has been sat on 330 for over an hour not increasing on decreasing in speed yet on previous version was working?

=
  R E B E L L I O U S 
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▄▄                           ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▄
▄▀        █▄▄                     ▄▄█        ▀▄
█            █████████████████████            █
█▄          ██       ██ ██       ██          ▄█
█        █            █            █        █
  █    █               █               █    █
   █ ██               █ █               ██ █
    █ █               █ █               █ █
    █ ███▄  █████▄   ██ ██   ▄█████  ▄███ █
    █     ███     █         █     ███     █
     █   █   ▀███ █  █   █  █ ███▀   █   █
     █   █      █ █  █   █  █ █      █   █
     █   █      ██  █     █  ██      █   █
      █  █     ██  █       █  ██     █  █
      █  █    ██  █ ███████ █  ██    █  █
      █ ███   ██  █         █  ██   ███ █
       █   ▀███      █   █      ███▀   █
        █     ██       █       ██     █
         █      █   ▄▄███▄▄   █      █
          ███   ███▀       ▀███   ███
             █████           █████
                  ███████████
  R E B E L L I O U S
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2013, 06:11:40 PM
 #11844

Exactly. It's actually impossible now to specify all scrypt settings using solely the config file, since the intensity sanity check doesn't detect "scrypt" : true from the config file.

Code:
"kernel" : "scrypt"

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316


Ø1Ø11ØØØ


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:30:14 PM
 #11845

Heads up, http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer appears to be inaccessible.
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:33:27 PM
 #11846

Exactly. It's actually impossible now to specify all scrypt settings using solely the config file, since the intensity sanity check doesn't detect "scrypt" : true from the config file.

Code:
"kernel" : "scrypt"

This didn't help, and seems redundant. I've never had to specify a kernel for scrypt, only one exists anyway. I'll just wait for the sanity check code to be fixed.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2013, 06:38:49 PM
 #11847

Exactly. It's actually impossible now to specify all scrypt settings using solely the config file, since the intensity sanity check doesn't detect "scrypt" : true from the config file.

Code:
"kernel" : "scrypt"

This didn't help, and seems redundant. I've never had to specify a kernel for scrypt, only one exists anyway. I'll just wait for the sanity check code to be fixed.
It's not redundant if you use that instead of --scrypt on the command line. I was just telling you how to put it into the config file.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:44:35 PM
 #11848

Exactly. It's actually impossible now to specify all scrypt settings using solely the config file, since the intensity sanity check doesn't detect "scrypt" : true from the config file.

Code:
"kernel" : "scrypt"

This didn't help, and seems redundant. I've never had to specify a kernel for scrypt, only one exists anyway. I'll just wait for the sanity check code to be fixed.
It's not redundant if you use that instead of --scrypt on the command line. I was just telling you how to put it into the config file.

I did put that in the config file (in addition to the "scrypt" : true that was already there, above the intensity line), and cgminer's new sanity check still didn't detect I was using scrypt. It's clearly tied to the "scrypt" setting, which just isn't picked up from a config file yet . The setting itself works fine, enabling scrypt mode, but the sanity check code doesn't detect it's there. It also fails to detect scrypt mode if -I is specified on the command line before --scrypt. Neither of these bugs existed before 3.3.2.

Code:
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"gpu-engine" : "690,550,650,690",
"gpu-fan" : "80,100,100,100",
"gpu-memclock" : "930,720,790,930",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.95",
"intensity" : "17",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192"

The above config settings still won't allow high intensities, if --scrypt is not used in the command line. I can't see what that kernel setting is supposed to do with scrypt, since the default kernel is the only one that can/will be used.

I'm confident ckolivas can fix this easily. I was actually surprised the GPU mining code is still being modified.
Bitcoin_Silver_Supply
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 259



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 06:57:04 PM
 #11849

My long-delayed BFL Little Single just arrived and I excitedly opened it up only to find a plethora of errors when trying to mine it with CGMiner. It currently recognizes the device as both "BFL0" and "BFL4" in error messages. Error messages range from "Comms error" to "Error: send work reports" to "Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer" and more. The temperature of the device is often listed at 28 degrees, but it is never shown mining (while my GPUs are)

I initially had an issue with driver recognition (Win7) which was ultimately solved by doing a windows search for drivers fix... Any fellow BFL "customers" (venture capital investors) have any tips?
rocks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1149


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 07:10:44 PM
 #11850

I've looked through the FAQ and SCRYPT-README file, but could not find an answer to this.

If I run the following with version 3.3.2, the following error comes back:
Code:
cgminer --scrypt
cgminer: --scrypt: unrecognized option

Every thread I found from Googling says to recompile the source in linux and enable scrypt. However I am using windows and can not rebuild.

Does anyone know where to find a cgminer binary for windows with scrypt enabled? I would have thought it would be included in the standard build.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 414



View Profile WWW
August 10, 2013, 07:17:00 PM
 #11851

I did put that in the config file (in addition to the "scrypt" : true that was already there, above the intensity line), and cgminer's new sanity check still didn't detect I was using scrypt. It's clearly tied to the "scrypt" setting, which just isn't picked up from a config file yet . The setting itself works fine, enabling scrypt mode, but the sanity check code doesn't detect it's there. It also fails to detect scrypt mode if -I is specified on the command line before --scrypt. Neither of these bugs existed before 3.3.2.

Code:
"scrypt" : true,
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"gpu-engine" : "690,550,650,690",
"gpu-fan" : "80,100,100,100",
"gpu-memclock" : "930,720,790,930",
"gpu-threads" : "1",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.95",
"intensity" : "17",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192"

The above config settings still won't allow high intensities, if --scrypt is not used in the command line. I can't see what that kernel setting is supposed to do with scrypt, since the default kernel is the only one that can/will be used.

I'm confident ckolivas can fix this easily. I was actually surprised the GPU mining code is still being modified.
When you use the --scrypt flag, you're essentially telling cgminer to use the scrypt kernel. Assuming the intensity issue gets fixed, you can just use "kernel" : "scrypt" instead.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1253


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2013, 08:41:22 PM
 #11852

I've looked through the FAQ and SCRYPT-README file, but could not find an answer to this.

If I run the following with version 3.3.2, the following error comes back:
Code:
cgminer --scrypt
cgminer: --scrypt: unrecognized option

Every thread I found from Googling says to recompile the source in linux and enable scrypt. However I am using windows and can not rebuild.

Does anyone know where to find a cgminer binary for windows with scrypt enabled? I would have thought it would be included in the standard build.

Try my skydrive.

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:01:31 AM
 #11853

My long-delayed BFL Little Single just arrived and I excitedly opened it up only to find a plethora of errors when trying to mine it with CGMiner. It currently recognizes the device as both "BFL0" and "BFL4" in error messages. Error messages range from "Comms error" to "Error: send work reports" to "Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer" and more. The temperature of the device is often listed at 28 degrees, but it is never shown mining (while my GPUs are)

I initially had an issue with driver recognition (Win7) which was ultimately solved by doing a windows search for drivers fix... Any fellow BFL "customers" (venture capital investors) have any tips?
1) Use latest cgminer
2) You cannot use cgminer before 3.3.1
3) (you've probably already done this) Zadig as mentioned in README, ASIC-README and FPGA-README
Then report back if it's still not working Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:11:49 AM
 #11854

I've looked through the FAQ and SCRYPT-README file, but could not find an answer to this.

If I run the following with version 3.3.2, the following error comes back:
Code:
cgminer --scrypt
cgminer: --scrypt: unrecognized option

Every thread I found from Googling says to recompile the source in linux and enable scrypt. However I am using windows and can not rebuild.

Does anyone know where to find a cgminer binary for windows with scrypt enabled? I would have thought it would be included in the standard build.

Well, 3.3.0 is in my cgminer-binaries (as listed in the first post)
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries

I just added 3.3.1 in there now also.

I added 3.3.2 yesterday, however, the 3.3.2 in my cgminer-binaries doesn't have the updated windows zip file unfortunately ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
ak49er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 243



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:29:21 AM
 #11855

Having trouble downloading 3.3.2.  Can't get to the main site as the connection times out, and GitHub isn't giving me a download option but instead trying to open the file in the browser.  Not had this trouble before.  Any ideas?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:32:45 AM
 #11856

Having trouble downloading 3.3.2.  Can't get to the main site as the connection times out, and GitHub isn't giving me a download option but instead trying to open the file in the browser.  Not had this trouble before.  Any ideas?
In github ... click on the file you want and it will give you a "View Raw" link.
Right click, save as ......

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
m3ta
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422



View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 12:33:30 AM
 #11857

Having trouble downloading 3.3.2.  Can't get to the main site as the connection times out, and GitHub isn't giving me a download option but instead trying to open the file in the browser.  Not had this trouble before.  Any ideas?

It's down most of the time. Just retry until it's up.
But keep in mind that it will stay up for a short time, then down again for several hours.

Why the frell so many retards spell "ect" as an abbreviation of "Et Cetera"? "ETC", DAMMIT! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Et_cetera

Host:/# rm -rf /var/forum/trolls
ak49er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 243



View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:34:46 AM
 #11858

Having trouble downloading 3.3.2.  Can't get to the main site as the connection times out, and GitHub isn't giving me a download option but instead trying to open the file in the browser.  Not had this trouble before.  Any ideas?
In github ... click on the file you want and it will give you a "View Raw" link.
Right click, save as ......
Thanks!  The one thing I hadn't tried. Cheesy

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:36:23 AM
 #11859

Having trouble downloading 3.3.2.  Can't get to the main site as the connection times out, and GitHub isn't giving me a download option but instead trying to open the file in the browser.  Not had this trouble before.  Any ideas?
In github ... click on the file you want and it will give you a "View Raw" link.
Right click, save as ......
Thanks!  The one thing I hadn't tried. Cheesy
No worries Smiley
The first time it happened to me when I added the binaries I was like "Eh?" Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 02:14:46 AM
 #11860

Heads up, http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer appears to be inaccessible.
Down for maintenance, be back tomorrow.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 [593] 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 ... 842 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!