Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2018, 12:34:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 [603] 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5757020 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2013, 08:37:04 PM
 #12041

Since upgrading to cgminer 3.4.0, my Jalapeno went from ~5.7 GH/s to ~5.5 GH/s. Should I let it cool down and restart it? I think something like that was discussed in this thread before.

it seems starting hash rate is partially determined based on Temperature at startup. so yeah, let it cool. some people have been refrigerateing them prior to turn on.
fair bitcoin games | pvp - pve - solo pve games | faucet |
Free satoshi code btcoon500
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532349294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532349294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532349294
Reply with quote  #2

1532349294
Report to moderator
1532349294
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532349294

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532349294
Reply with quote  #2

1532349294
Report to moderator
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 08:41:54 PM
 #12042

it seems starting hash rate is partially determined based on Temperature at startup. so yeah, let it cool. some people have been refrigerateing them prior to turn on.
Hmm, refrigerating doesn't sound like a good idea. Wouldn't there be a problem with moisture?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2013, 08:49:43 PM
 #12043

it seems starting hash rate is partially determined based on Temperature at startup. so yeah, let it cool. some people have been refrigerateing them prior to turn on.
Hmm, refrigerating doesn't sound like a good idea. Wouldn't there be a problem with moisture?

*shrug* i only know what it read here. maybe they  put them in a plastic bag or frost free freezer. Pure water isn't a great conductor. It is the impurities in most water that causes problems. (doning protective vest)
-Redacted-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 501


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 09:19:13 PM
 #12044

The problem isn't so much when they are in the freezer as it is the water that condenses on them after you take it out....
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 10:01:52 PM
 #12045

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
chanson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:04:56 AM
 #12046

Since upgrading to cgminer 3.4.0, my Jalapeno went from ~5.7 GH/s to ~5.5 GH/s. Should I let it cool down and restart it? I think something like that was discussed in this thread before.

You can isolate whether it is the Jalapeno startup or changes in 3.4.0 by comparing hash rates with your previous version of cgminer.
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:10:49 AM
 #12047

Just wanted to say that it seems 3.4.0 has made my HW errors on the USB BEs drop significantly... very nice!  thx!

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
Samael82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 07:46:35 AM
 #12048

Hi! I'm trying to mine beyond firewall and proxy, so i use tor's vidalia to connect to the work servers.
Intresting detail - if we have an http and stratum proxy on mining pool, http redirects cgminer to stratum, and cgminer works correctly.
But if we have "plain stratum", cgminer can not conect to it through tor's socks5. For example, I'm mining LTC on litepool.ru right now. I connect to it through 8337 port, old getwork protocol. I used to mine on 50btc.com, where was getting connect throug old port too.
But when i trying to connetc to liteguard.com, which have only plain strtum proto, cgminer says "credentials are invalid" or pool is down.
If you teach it to work with stratum through socks5, it will be superior!
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 23, 2013, 10:41:25 AM
 #12049

Just wanted to say that it seems 3.4.0 has made my HW errors on the USB BEs drop significantly... very nice!  thx!
What was it before and what is it now?
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:14:43 PM
 #12050

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:50:56 PM
 #12051

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 02:30:54 PM
 #12052

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.

I did that when I flashed my firmware.  Even with the increased hash rate, I went from ~42 to ~38.  Just breathes better.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:15:38 PM
 #12053

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad
That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?
I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.
I did that when I flashed my firmware.  Even with the increased hash rate, I went from ~42 to ~38.  Just breathes better.
Did you guys keep the big 120mm fans, or get rid of them along with the case? If you got rid of them, I'd imagine just the two smaller fans would be a lot quieter than all 4.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 03:22:47 PM
 #12054

Greetings.

I'm a recent entry into the world of ASIC mining. Smiley I've got a small array of 31 ASICMiner Block Erupters that I'm trying to set up as a "fire-and-forget" setup that I can just run in a remote location (where I get free electricity).  Eventually I plan to run this off a Raspberry Pi, but that's a story for another day. Smiley

Right now, I'm using a Windows 8 x64 PC as a host. I've consistently been getting crashes when running cgminer.  Here's my setup:

6x D-Link DUB-H7 hubs

Hub #1 is the "master" hub.  The other five connect to it.  Hub 1 also holds a USB fan and a single block erupter.
Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.
Hub #1 is connected to my host PC.

I ran the zadig tool and configured the drivers.

With cgminer 3.3.1, if I plug in the array first, then start cgminer, cgminer will instantly crash.  If I start cgminer first, then plug in the array, it seems to work.  At least, I didn't experience any crash issues.  However, this is unsustainable as I plan to run this rig remotely, so I need to be able to reboot the machine periodically without having to unplug and replug the array.

With cgminer 3.4.0, I can start it with the array plugged in, and it hashes normally, at expected values.  However, after about 1-12 hours (varies), it crashes as per the screenshot below:



In this screenshot, it crashed after only about an hour of running.

My config file only contains my pool info, no other options.  I start cgminer with a shortcut in the startup folder in windows, which just runs the executable - no command line options.  Alternately, when restarting cgminer after a crash, I double-click on the .exe.

Any thoughts on what I might be doing wrong?

I'm thinking of just using the looping-restart batch file someone posted earlier in the thread, but that's just a workaround, not a fix.

(Side note: My PC has an AMD APU, which cgminer picks up and runs for an extra 50MH/s.  Bonus! Smiley )

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:32:48 PM
 #12055

Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.

What is the current rating of your hub power supplies?  You need more than 3 Amps as each Erupter draws .5 Amp.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:36:49 PM
 #12056

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad
That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?
I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.
I did that when I flashed my firmware.  Even with the increased hash rate, I went from ~42 to ~38.  Just breathes better.
Did you guys keep the big 120mm fans, or get rid of them along with the case? If you got rid of them, I'd imagine just the two smaller fans would be a lot quieter than all 4.

Its a single 92mm fan.  I kept it, its not bad.  Its sitting on top of my desk in an office.  I get enough of people talking around me, plus I have headphone on 99% of the time so I never hear it.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 03:39:04 PM
 #12057

Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.

What is the current rating of your hub power supplies?  You need more than 3 Amps as each Erupter draws .5 Amp.
3A, 5V power supplies.  Over on the USB hub thread, these have been consistently reported as supporting 6BE each, sometimes 6 + a fan.

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:39:51 PM
 #12058

Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.

What is the current rating of your hub power supplies?  You need more than 3 Amps as each Erupter draws .5 Amp.

Yeah, I see that happen too with mine.  Sometimes they go 2 days without crashing, and some days they crash every other hour. I dont know.  I do have a crappy hub but not trying to spend money on one for the 3 I have.

I would say make sure you have some sort of fan blowing on them, even just a small USB fan.  Plus, since you are using Windows, download CGWatcher and run it.  It will watch for the crash and if so will restart them.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 05:51:54 PM
 #12059

I would say make sure you have some sort of fan blowing on them, even just a small USB fan.  Plus, since you are using Windows, download CGWatcher and run it.  It will watch for the crash and if so will restart them.
I do have a fan on them; I'm also debating whether to add another one or not.  The miners are distinctly warmer now since I added the last batch of 10.

Thanks for the tip about CGWatcher! It seems to be exactly what I need. =)

I do plan to eventually port my rig over to an RPi, but that can be an adventure for another day. =)

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 06:03:55 PM
 #12060

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.

I did that when I flashed my firmware.  Even with the increased hash rate, I went from ~42 to ~38.  Just breathes better.
Mine has always been around 35C since I moved it down to my basement. Smiley

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Pages: « 1 ... 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 [603] 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!