Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 11:33:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 [617] 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761143 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:11:33 PM
 #12321

Any plans to add ASICminer blade support? BFGminer did but only linux at the moment...
1534548811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534548811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534548811
Reply with quote  #2

1534548811
Report to moderator
1534548811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534548811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534548811
Reply with quote  #2

1534548811
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534548811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534548811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534548811
Reply with quote  #2

1534548811
Report to moderator
streetuff
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:39:12 PM
 #12322

Any plans to add ASICminer blade support? BFGminer did but only linux at the moment...

i'd love to have that feature for my blade. i wont need the stratum proxy running then. cgminer is running on my pi with 5 usb block errupters and a ztex quad and ztex single anyway. and i dont have to touch brickminer.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:31:16 PM
 #12323

There is no point turning cgminer into an ancient getwork mining proxy.
It's a miner, not a mining proxy for some other getwork miner.
The blades have their own (crappy) getwork miner in them.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:34:36 PM
 #12324

...
Gotta run it as root.
Or follow one of the *READMEs that tells you how to configure libusb access to USB devices for a non root user.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:41:22 PM
 #12325

There is no point turning cgminer into an ancient getwork mining proxy.
It's a miner, not a mining proxy for some other getwork miner.
The blades have their own (crappy) getwork miner in them.

I think that people are just saying that they know you guys would do it right and would prefer one stop shopping. Right now Slush's Proxy Server is is it and Slush has been markedly missing from his pool and, to my knowledge, hasn't been providing any kind of visible support. Maybe if you guys redid Slush's software people would be happy because they know they can depend on you guys. The blades are going to be an issue for a while yet.
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:47:50 PM
 #12326

I think that people are just saying that they know you guys would do it right and would prefer one stop shopping. Right now Slush's Proxy Server is is it and Slush has been markedly missing from his pool and, to my knowledge, hasn't been providing any kind of visible support. Maybe if you guys redid Slush's software people would be happy because they know they can depend on you guys. The blades are going to be an issue for a while yet.
Right on the money... Mining proxy is only one pool and blade has only 2 pools available. But still at current price it is the best miner that you can get and you get it right now. And if you can manage it to show shares and estimated speed not kb it would be even better...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 09:51:09 PM
 #12327

...
Kano or Ckolivas - any thoughts? Getting a bit desperate here.  Wink
Well ... firstly, as mentioned, I'd prefer to see the overall CPU usage not a screen snapshot at one particular time ... as I've explained already how to.
Run it for 15 minutes and get the top elapsed CPU and elapsed from the API (as I asked before)

Secondly, what is the CPU on that computer and what does cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep MHz say at the same time.

Thirdly, cgminer CPU usage includes the USB CPU usage ... that other miners will not have counted against them when they mine
They all do USB I/O but other miners CPU usage is not correct since the OS doesn't count the USB they all do, USB accounts for quite a lot of the CPU usage ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2013, 09:55:32 PM
 #12328

Can i set the order of the pools directly in the cgminer-command without moving back and forth the pools with user/pass?

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 10:07:27 PM
 #12329

I think that people are just saying that they know you guys would do it right and would prefer one stop shopping. Right now Slush's Proxy Server is is it and Slush has been markedly missing from his pool and, to my knowledge, hasn't been providing any kind of visible support. Maybe if you guys redid Slush's software people would be happy because they know they can depend on you guys. The blades are going to be an issue for a while yet.
Right on the money... Mining proxy is only one pool and blade has only 2 pools available. But still at current price it is the best miner that you can get and you get it right now. And if you can manage it to show shares and estimated speed not kb it would be even better...
10GH/s at 4BTC and current difficulty ...

Firstly ... a history of difficulty change:
Code:
Difficulty   Delta
11187257.46
12153411.70   8.64%
15605632.68  28.41%
19339258.27  23.92%
21335329.11  10.32%
26162875.68  22.63%
31256960.72  19.47%
37392766.13  19.63%
50810339.04  35.88%
65750060.14  29.40%
86933017.77  32.22%

Now ignoring electricity which is far from zero ...

To get your 4BTC back:

Assuming a 20% change each difficulty (last 3 have been ~30%+)
20% = ~ 11.67 days (per diff change)
100days = ~ 3.19740339 BTC
200days = ~ 3.87131435 BTC
300days = ~ 4.01209658 BTC

Assuming a 30% change each difficulty
30% = ~ 10.77 days (per diff change)
100days = ~ 2.46186984 BTC
200days = ~ 2.67882072 BTC
300days = ~ 2.69784551 BTC

So a few things:

1) They are very likely to not break even on BTC i.e. a BTC loss - so I can't see people with blades donating to get a getwork proxy server written
2) So far for all the work I've done with AsicMiner hardware of the past months I've made ... less than 0.15 BTC ... slave labour rates do better than that, so I'm not interested in helping AsicMiner make MILLIONS of dollars by fleecing the Bitcoin community of it's BTC and ensuring almost everyone who buys AsicMiner hardware loses BTC doing that
3) That's my opinion ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2013, 11:20:30 PM
 #12330

Any plans to add ASICminer blade support? Brickminer did but only linux at the moment...

i'd love to have that feature for my blade. i wont need the stratum proxy running then. cgminer is running on my pi with 5 usb block errupters and a ztex quad and ztex single anyway. and i dont have to touch brickminer.
I had no idea there was demand for such a feature. I don't code features because other software has it but for my own interest in the code/feature, overwhelming user demand and sponsorship. Given I have no hardware that would use it, and the getwork protocol is not used by anything else and will not be in use by any new hardware, I don't really see a compelling reason to code up what is not a trivial feature to add, I'm afraid.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2013, 12:00:55 AM
 #12331

Got a crash report under Windows while running the 3.4.2 debug build.

---

cgminer.exe caused a Stack Overflow at location 74946ae6 in module mswsock.dll.

Registers:
eax=00add5b8 ebx=03ff3098 ecx=ff676980 edx=ffffffff esi=03ff30a8 edi=00000000
eip=74946ae6 esp=03ff3000 ebp=03ff30f8 iopl=0         nv up ei pl zr na po nc
cs=0023  ss=002b  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010246

Call stack:
74946AE6  mswsock.dll:74946AE6
75ED6A28  WS2_32.dll:75ED6A28  select
00424FDF  cgminer.exe:00424FDF
004251A8  cgminer.exe:004251A8
00413ED1  cgminer.exe:00413ED1
004B1BAB  cgminer.exe:004B1BAB
76BD1287  msvcrt.dll:76BD1287  _itow_s
76BD1328  msvcrt.dll:76BD1328  _endthreadex
750833AA  kernel32.dll:750833AA  BaseThreadInitThunk
77259F72  ntdll.dll:77259F72  RtlInitializeExceptionChain
77259F45  ntdll.dll:77259F45  RtlInitializeExceptionChain

Thanks very much for doing that. Unfortunately you're not going to like the answer. The crash is in the microsoft DLL provided and not in any of the cgminer code or any DLLs I distribute. It should not be possible for my software to make an operating system provided library crash unless there's a bug in the library. Googling around I can see a few exploits in the past for that particular DLL (so I assume some security update fixed it) and some trojans that have replaced or attached themselves to that DLL. Ironically a stack overflow is precisely the exploit described so the best I can guess is that there is an updated DLL in some software update somewhere.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1016


Christian Antkow


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 12:16:02 AM
 #12332

 TYVM for looking into that. Hrmph. Will disable antivirus on that one system and see if it makes a difference; have AV's running on every other system on the network, so I'll take a risk for troubleshooting.

 Cheers !

Got a crash report under Windows while running the 3.4.2 debug build.
cgminer.exe caused a Stack Overflow at location 74946ae6 in module mswsock.dll.
Call stack:
74946AE6  mswsock.dll:74946AE6
Thanks very much for doing that. Unfortunately you're not going to like the answer. The crash is in the microsoft DLL provided and not in any of the cgminer code or any DLLs I distribute. It should not be possible for my software to make an operating system provided library crash unless there's a bug in the library. Googling around I can see a few exploits in the past for that particular DLL (so I assume some security update fixed it) and some trojans that have replaced or attached themselves to that DLL. Ironically a stack overflow is precisely the exploit described so the best I can guess is that there is an updated DLL in some software update somewhere.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 12:40:32 AM
 #12333

Can i set the order of the pools directly in the cgminer-command without moving back and forth the pools with user/pass?
java API pools Smiley
Edit: though I should have also mentioned the exact command: poolpriority (API-README)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
The Mafia
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 06:42:20 AM
 #12334

Sorry about the dumb question but:

I was running 3.3.1 and decided to upgrade to 3.4.2, Running Ubuntu 12.04, I get this error:

./cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Is there an easy way to fix this? Googled around and there were no answers that solved this for me.

Thanks in advance.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 08:54:21 AM
 #12335

install ..... libudev

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2013, 09:45:06 AM
 #12336

On IRC is really nice bot that helps in cases like this, it react on .faq and answer is "READ THE F**N README" Tongue

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 06, 2013, 04:10:49 PM
 #12337

1 - Reinstalled the operating system
2 - Installed all the drivers
3 - Installed any and all software
4 - Created a RESTORE POINT (IMPORTANT: Do not insert a single erupter before this point)
I wonder, would you be able to do this with a virtual machine instead? Create a VM with just Windows 7, cgminer, and the drivers installed, then save the state.  Next plug in the miners and do the USB device forwarding. Then, if there's some sort of issue, just reset the virtual machine to the saved state each time. I guess the hard part would just be forwarding 181 USB devices to the virtual machine...
I actually started with VMWare workstation, but there's a small limit on the number of allowed connected USB devices to a VM, and don't even get me started on the stability issues.  I can't definitively speak for the MS hypervisor but I don't expect there to be much different results as the underlying hardware support that facilitates virtualization is probably the limiting factor.  For mining with many usb erupters, there's really no efficient way to virtualize this process because it does take quite a bit of CPU power and the virtualization overhead and limitations won't let you get too far.  Currently without virtualization, I'm running an Intel quad i5 3.2GHz with 2GBs of ram and it's constantly at 45% CPU, and about 1.1 GB of ram, using 3 separate USB buses to run 181 erupters.  I expect ~300 erupters to be the capacity for this CPU.. hope to find out in the very near term Smiley
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1013


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2013, 07:24:42 PM
 #12338

Can i set the order of the pools directly in the cgminer-command without moving back and forth the pools with user/pass?
java API pools Smiley
Edit: though I should have also mentioned the exact command: poolpriority (API-README)

Now i know what you spoke about. This api has to be enabled in cgminer command first. But it looks i still have to install some form of java. JDK? It tells me only that java is unknown. I run cgminer on rpi.

I hoped there is an easy way to change the order directly in commandline since then i would have a clean stat again.

Please ALWAYS contact me through bitcointalk pm before sending someone coins.
squall1066
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1010


www.bitcointalk.club


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2013, 08:17:54 PM
 #12339

Allright guys, Got a question I cant find an answer too, I am running latest cgminer, set up a back up pool, EEverything is good, But sometimes main pool is "not submitting work fast enough" but as the pool has not failed cgminer will not switch to backup pool?

I shall clarify this a little, When pool is "not submitting work fast enough" there are a trickle of odd shares, this prevents it from switching, and also means I am running at 0.01% of capacity, Is there an <arg> to pass work onto backup pool but keeping the first pool as active as poss?
So I am allways at 100% speed no matter what?

Let me know what other info you need. I just input details in cgminer, and went through the options (p) for the pool menu, tryed all the options, none of them seams to run both pools at the same time whilst first pool is in this state.

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
◥◤
◢◣
.
JOIN THE CLUB !
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄

Bitrated user: squall1066.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 06, 2013, 09:25:42 PM
 #12340

sometimes main pool is "not submitting work fast enough" but as the pool has not failed cgminer will not switch to backup pool?

That's not a pool failure.

If you don't want that to happen then you'll need to have a pool that provides work fast enough as your primary pool.

Failover only goes to the next pool when the primary actually fails for good and for a certain amount of time.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 [617] 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!