Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 12:41:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 [589] 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756843 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 07, 2013, 05:21:23 PM

For windows users who have been fighting with the AMUs on the latest version of cgminer, can you try just dropping in this dll in place of the existing one in your cgminer directory? (Or for that matter, anyone using the latest cgminer on windows, see if this changes anything for you). It's the latest version of libusb.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/libusb-1.0.dll


And while I'm at it, there are new windows .exes with the latest changes as well in case changing the dll alone isn't enough:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1531788107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531788107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531788107
Reply with quote  #2

1531788107
Report to moderator
1531788107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531788107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531788107
Reply with quote  #2

1531788107
Report to moderator
1531788107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531788107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531788107
Reply with quote  #2

1531788107
Report to moderator
MORE CRYPTO, LESS NOISE
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1531788107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531788107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531788107
Reply with quote  #2

1531788107
Report to moderator
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1005


󮀓1刎


View Profile
August 07, 2013, 06:12:36 PM

And while I'm at it, there are new windows .exes with the latest changes as well in case changing the dll alone isn't enough:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp

 She's alive ! Happily hashing away with your latest under Windows on an Anker 10 port hub !



EDIT: Additionally, deployed this build to another rig hosting 58 sticks, and sometimes, a few sticks lag at startup and the display never gets updated.

Eg: CGMiner starts up, and displays AMU0 through AMU51. About 30 seconds after it starts up, I see hotplug messages saying devices up to AMU57 have been found, but the display is not updated to reflect the new devices.



 Finally, I notice that bank often switches back and forth between difficulty 8 and 16. Is there a way I can tell CGMiner "Don't ever go higher than Difficulty 8" ?

EDIT2: On my first 10 port hub, I had AMU8 go ZOMBIE with the green light on solid, and would not respond to a hotplug operation. Had to quit and shutdown CGMiner to get it working again. Also, restarting that one 10 port hub only seems to recognize AMU0 through 5 before AMU6-8 get added to the list as hotplug devices later, and again, the list of devices does not get refreshed to display this Sad
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 07, 2013, 08:17:15 PM

What is the correct way to specify complex usb command line parameters in the CONFIG file? I have:

--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 --usb 1:3,2:3,2:4,2:7,2:8,2:9

on the command line.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 12:07:16 AM

New dll and new .exe. Should I be seeing anything different if I'm not using AMUs? Cuz my BFL LS is plenty happy.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 12:17:37 AM

New dll and new .exe. Should I be seeing anything different if I'm not using AMUs? Cuz my BFL LS is plenty happy.
Nope, all good. Thanks for feedback.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 12:19:44 AM

And while I'm at it, there are new windows .exes with the latest changes as well in case changing the dll alone isn't enough:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp

 She's alive ! Happily hashing away with your latest under Windows on an Anker 10 port hub !


EDIT: Additionally, deployed this build to another rig hosting 58 sticks, and sometimes, a few sticks lag at startup and the display never gets updated.

Eg: CGMiner starts up, and displays AMU0 through AMU51. About 30 seconds after it starts up, I see hotplug messages saying devices up to AMU57 have been found, but the display is not updated to reflect the new devices.


 Finally, I notice that bank often switches back and forth between difficulty 8 and 16. Is there a way I can tell CGMiner "Don't ever go higher than Difficulty 8" ?

EDIT2: On my first 10 port hub, I had AMU8 go ZOMBIE with the green light on solid, and would not respond to a hotplug operation. Had to quit and shutdown CGMiner to get it working again. Also, restarting that one 10 port hub only seems to recognize AMU0 through 5 before AMU6-8 get added to the list as hotplug devices later, and again, the list of devices does not get refreshed to display this Sad
Great thanks for feedback. Unfortunately normal for windows to fail to start every single one of them and occasionally hotplug the remainders due to some being slow to initialise. Normal for hotplugged ones to not show on windows also - a workaround for crashes on resizing windows thanks to buggy pdcurses on windows. Difficulty is set by your pool and cgminer has no control over it, use a pool with a more stable variable diff algorithm.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:29:37 AM

(Or for that matter, anyone using the latest cgminer on windows, see if this changes anything for you). It's the latest version of libusb.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/libusb-1.0.dll

Yep, it changed something for me.

My third instance always crash's now.  I run three instances 5 erupters each.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 01:42:41 AM

(Or for that matter, anyone using the latest cgminer on windows, see if this changes anything for you). It's the latest version of libusb.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/libusb-1.0.dll

Yep, it changed something for me.

My third instance always crash's now.  I run three instances 5 erupters each.
Did you try the dll alone or with the new exe as well?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 01:44:03 AM

(Or for that matter, anyone using the latest cgminer on windows, see if this changes anything for you). It's the latest version of libusb.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/libusb-1.0.dll

Yep, it changed something for me.

My third instance always crash's now.  I run three instances 5 erupters each.
Did you try the dll alone or with the new exe as well?

dll alone.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 01:56:31 AM

(Or for that matter, anyone using the latest cgminer on windows, see if this changes anything for you). It's the latest version of libusb.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/libusb-1.0.dll

Yep, it changed something for me.

My third instance always crash's now.  I run three instances 5 erupters each.
Did you try the dll alone or with the new exe as well?

dll alone.
Try both then please? Lots of little fixes post 3.3.1 in that exe (in fact close to what 3.3.2 will be, hopefully).

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1005


󮀓1刎


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 02:07:25 AM

Normal for hotplugged ones to not show on windows also - a workaround for crashes on resizing windows thanks to buggy pdcurses on windows.

 Could the display toggle coMpact mode be modified to reinit the displayed devices manually ? I noticed it did not Sad
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 02:22:11 AM

Normal for hotplugged ones to not show on windows also - a workaround for crashes on resizing windows thanks to buggy pdcurses on windows.

 Could the display toggle coMpact mode be modified to reinit the displayed devices manually ? I noticed it did not Sad
The whole display thing was never meant for so many devices since it's from an era of GPU mining. I keep rewriting it over and over again yet windows just likes crashing if you get too fancy with pdcurses. I keep meaning to rewrite it to just delete all the windows and start new ones but too many other things to do all taking my attention...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1005


󮀓1刎


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 02:45:10 AM

The whole display thing was never meant for so many devices since it's from an era of GPU mining. I keep rewriting it over and over again yet windows just likes crashing if you get too fancy with pdcurses. I keep meaning to rewrite it to just delete all the windows and start new ones but too many other things to do all taking my attention...

I haven't written any significant code in over 10 years. I think it's time to dust off my bike and oil up the chains... Have been looking for something to rip me away from DOTA2...

Cheers.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 02:52:02 AM

The whole display thing was never meant for so many devices since it's from an era of GPU mining. I keep rewriting it over and over again yet windows just likes crashing if you get too fancy with pdcurses. I keep meaning to rewrite it to just delete all the windows and start new ones but too many other things to do all taking my attention...

I haven't written any significant code in over 10 years. I think it's time to dust off my bike and oil up the chains... Have been looking for something to rip me away from DOTA2...

Cheers.

When you look at the code, in windows I set it to always open one bigger than required at start so there is one spare spot for a hotplug
... in case you were wondering why it does that Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 08, 2013, 03:24:48 AM

The whole display thing was never meant for so many devices since it's from an era of GPU mining. I keep rewriting it over and over again yet windows just likes crashing if you get too fancy with pdcurses. I keep meaning to rewrite it to just delete all the windows and start new ones but too many other things to do all taking my attention...
I haven't written any significant code in over 10 years. I think it's time to dust off my bike and oil up the chains... Have been looking for something to rip me away from DOTA2...

Cheers.
When you look at the code, in windows I set it to always open one bigger than required at start so there is one spare spot for a hotplug
... in case you were wondering why it does that Smiley
Actually I was wondering why it did that. Thanks!

For the redesign, could we have it simplified and condensed into a single device type per line? For example, say you've got 3 Little Singles, 4 Jalapenos, and 14 AMUs. Rather than 21 separate lines, could we have 3 lines, saying how many of each type, and then important stats: average temp, highest temp, lowest hashrate, average hashrate, total hashrate (for that device type), reject %, etc. Similar to how you can view detailed info about a GPU, can't you also get into a submenu option that gives detailed info for each device type, listing each separate device of that type in the format it is today? I don't know if that's too fancy to work properly, but it's just a thought about how to organize the mass of information a lil cleaner.

But who am I to tell you guys what to do. I'm not a coder, and I have great respect for your work.

Actually, now that I think about it, I haven't sent you guys a donation in a while. I should do that, since you've been very helpful. Smiley

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 08:10:57 AM

That all sounds like a great idea and pretty much what I had in mind. However we're just too busy working on new (and old) drivers for now.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 10:14:55 AM

(Or for that matter, anyone using the latest cgminer on windows, see if this changes anything for you). It's the latest version of libusb.

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/temp/libusb-1.0.dll

Yep, it changed something for me.

My third instance always crash's now.  I run three instances 5 erupters each.
Did you try the dll alone or with the new exe as well?

dll alone.
Try both then please? Lots of little fixes post 3.3.1 in that exe (in fact close to what 3.3.2 will be, hopefully).

I tried both the new dll and exe and all 3 instances of erupters did start.  But I had erupters falling off and coming back up continuously.  Ozco is bouncing up and down and it seems to keep trying bring it back up.  I went back to stock 3.3.1 and it failed over to a backup pool and is running stable again.

Also I noticed that the U: went away.  I like contrasting the U: and WU: with the variable difficulty to make sure they are in line.  I wouldn't like it if U: went away.  It doesn't seem that it would make a difference in window realestate.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1110


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 10:36:57 AM

I tried both the new dll and exe and all 3 instances of erupters did start.  But I had erupters falling off and coming back up continuously.  Ozco is bouncing up and down and it seems to keep trying bring it back up.  I went back to stock 3.3.1 and it failed over to a backup pool and is running stable again.

Also I noticed that the U: went away.  I like contrasting the U: and WU: with the variable difficulty to make sure they are in line.  I wouldn't like it if U: went away.  It doesn't seem that it would make a difference in window realestate.
Sam
Hmm the erupters are going zombie and being hotplugged? That's undesirable behaviour.

I'm wondering if the bouncing up and down wasn't sheer coincidence to do with outage time at ozcoin? I will investigate though, somewhere in my infinite hours I have available...

Actually WU is just U multiplied by diff within the cgminer code so they will ALWAYS be in line... and U, along with all diff1 calculations, was the source of endless confusion, especially with newer miners. You probably didn't even notice that the Accepted and Rejected are now scaled with difficulty as well. More information is always available via the API for advanced users, but as you have seen by the WU vs U example, fully understanding and parsing most of the displayed information is far from trivial so I'm trying to do away with information that is not useful yet is confusing on the main display. In fact, at larger ASIC hashrates, there is a screen real estate problem.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 10:44:28 AM

I tried both the new dll and exe and all 3 instances of erupters did start.  But I had erupters falling off and coming back up continuously.  Ozco is bouncing up and down and it seems to keep trying bring it back up.  I went back to stock 3.3.1 and it failed over to a backup pool and is running stable again.

Also I noticed that the U: went away.  I like contrasting the U: and WU: with the variable difficulty to make sure they are in line.  I wouldn't like it if U: went away.  It doesn't seem that it would make a difference in window realestate.
Sam
Hmm the erupters are going zombie and being hotplugged? That's undesirable behaviour.

No they aren't going zombie.  They just continually idled, green light going solid, and then pick up and run again.

I will try to run the new binaries again later when I have more time to tinker with it.
Thanks,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 11:04:54 AM

I tried both the new dll and exe and all 3 instances of erupters did start.  But I had erupters falling off and coming back up continuously.  Ozco is bouncing up and down and it seems to keep trying bring it back up.  I went back to stock 3.3.1 and it failed over to a backup pool and is running stable again.

Also I noticed that the U: went away.  I like contrasting the U: and WU: with the variable difficulty to make sure they are in line.  I wouldn't like it if U: went away.  It doesn't seem that it would make a difference in window realestate.
Sam
Hmm the erupters are going zombie and being hotplugged? That's undesirable behaviour.

No they aren't going zombie.  They just continually idled, green light going solid, and then pick up and run again.

I will try to run the new binaries again later when I have more time to tinker with it.
Thanks,
Sam

I had similar behavior with erupters , swapping a usb cable , resolved the issue .
Pages: « 1 ... 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 [589] 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!