Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 02:30:30 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 [608] 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 ... 845 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5765782 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:58:00 PM
 #12141

I am typing this at the command line to enumerate devices:

Code:
cgminer -d?

It shows devices with indexes 0 - 5:

Code:
[2013-08-26 17:57:27] Started cgminer 3.4.0
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30] Devices detected:
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   0. GPU 0: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (driver: opencl)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   1. GPU 1: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (driver: opencl)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   2. AMU 0 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   3 .AMU 1 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   4. AMU 2 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   5. AMU 3 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30] 6 devices listed

I then launch cgminer from the command line with:

Code:
cgminer -d 0 -d 1 etc. etc.

Then, I launch another instance to use the remaining 4 devices:

Code:
cgminer -d 2 -d 3 etc. etc.

When I do that, I get this output from cgminer:

Code:
Command line options set a device that doesn't exist

And this all works as expected with bfgminer.

Can anyone help please

-d command I believe is only for GPUs.  Looks like you want to separate your GPU and block erupter mining instances.  So, per the README....

instance 1: use --usb :0  (this will disable USB devices in this instance and only use your GPUs), then set your normal GPU settings (gpu engine, memclock, etc)

instance 2: use -G (this will disable all GPU devices for this instance and only use your USB devices)

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
1539743430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539743430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539743430
Reply with quote  #2

1539743430
Report to moderator
1539743430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539743430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539743430
Reply with quote  #2

1539743430
Report to moderator
"Your bitcoin is secured in a way that is physically impossible for others to access, no matter for what reason, no matter how good the excuse, no matter a majority of miners, no matter what." -- gmaxwell
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539743430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539743430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539743430
Reply with quote  #2

1539743430
Report to moderator
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1360
Merit: 1000


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 08:26:22 AM
 #12142

Use cgminer-nogpu for asic/usb/fpga devices and normal one for GPU mining using "-d x -d y -d z --remove disabled" switches.
For GPU you can also use my gpu+scrypt build from my skydrive (no usb/asic/fpga support).
I`m mining this way Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1016


Christian Antkow


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:44:26 PM
 #12143

FWIW, I've not been able to run a version of CGMiner higher than 3.3.1 for longer than 48 hours driving Erupter USB's on Windows 7 64 bit or Windows 8 64 bit. 3.4.0 just died on me across two rigs.

Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad

Have there been other reports of this perchance ?
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 06:47:02 PM
 #12144

FWIW, I've not been able to run a version of CGMiner higher than 3.3.1 for longer than 48 hours driving Erupter USB's on Windows 7 64 bit or Windows 8 64 bit. 3.4.0 just died on me across two rigs.

Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad

Have there been other reports of this perchance ?

Yeah, same here.. same setup (Win7 64bit).. never really checked the crash/dump though to confirm that dll.

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 08:42:13 PM
 #12145

Try a debug build and give me the debug output of a crash please?

Builds and instructions are here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 03:55:51 AM
 #12146

Can't get CGMiner to work with more than 50 erupters...   Please see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=283475.msg3032453#msg3032453
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 05:09:44 AM
 #12147

Can't get CGMiner to work with more than 50 erupters...   Please see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=283475.msg3032453#msg3032453
Weird, -8 is an overflow error coming from libusb. Not sure if it's a libusb or operating system limitation. I'm quite sure I've seen others use a lot more than 50 in other threads, but not sure which particular operating system/hardware.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 05:19:35 PM
 #12148

I upgraded to 3.4.0 a few days ago for gpu scrypt mining. I'm still getting unrecovered stratum disconnects. It feels like fewer, but it's at least a miner a day. Is there anything I can do to prevent stratum disconnects or to restart if cgminer hangs on one?

ghghghfgh
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 29, 2013, 07:45:00 PM
 #12149

I upgraded to 3.4.0 a few days ago for gpu scrypt mining. I'm still getting unrecovered stratum disconnects. It feels like fewer, but it's at least a miner a day. Is there anything I can do to prevent stratum disconnects or to restart if cgminer hangs on one?

That almost sounds like a pool or internet connection issue, not a cgminer issue.

If you are running Windows, I would suggest cgwatcher.  It will monitor your instance and restart if things go bad.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 08:00:31 PM
 #12150

Is anybody running more than 50 Erupters successfully with either Windows 7 64-bit cgminer or bfgminer? (latest versions...)  If so, how do your erupters appear in Device Manager?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 08:59:22 PM
 #12151

CGMiner seems to be randomly closing. I'm running cgminer-nogpu on Win 8x64 with a BFL Little Single and 2 AMUs. It runs in a batch file that loops, and the batch file keeps restarting it, so it is closing nicely, and I haven't lost any downtime. I think it's done it about 4-5 times since I updated to 3.4.0, which was about 8 days ago? The newest one was this morning, after I had left for work. It had been running for about 2 days solid before that.

It never did this before. The AMUs are pretty new. Is it the AMUs causing it, or upgrading to 3.4.0, or both?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 09:41:43 PM
 #12152

CGMiner seems to be randomly closing. I'm running cgminer-nogpu on Win 8x64 with a BFL Little Single and 2 AMUs. It runs in a batch file that loops, and the batch file keeps restarting it, so it is closing nicely, and I haven't lost any downtime. I think it's done it about 4-5 times since I updated to 3.4.0, which was about 8 days ago? The newest one was this morning, after I had left for work. It had been running for about 2 days solid before that.

It never did this before. The AMUs are pretty new. Is it the AMUs causing it, or upgrading to 3.4.0, or both?
Hard to know without excluding one thing at a time? Try running the AMUs in their own instance and see if one the other or both crashes? Also there are debug builds which would help me find out where it's crashing and fix it.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 09:51:40 PM
 #12153


Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad


Update - confirmed after today's crash, same DLL listed above.. I have a copy/paste of the WIN7 report if needed... haven't run the debug build yet.. doesnt look like Ill have time to tinker until next week...   I think my latest run went a day and a half..

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 09:58:55 PM
 #12154


Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad


Update - confirmed after today's crash, same DLL listed above.. I have a copy/paste of the WIN7 report if needed... haven't run the debug build yet.. doesnt look like Ill have time to tinker until next week...   I think my latest run went a day and a half..
Hmm... but that's in the networking code, lemme look back at the changelog and see how that code might have been affected.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 10:04:51 PM
 #12155

Not sure if it will help..

Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
  Application Name: cgminer-nogpu.exe
  Application Version: 0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp: 5214a24a
  Fault Module Name: mswsock.dll
  Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
  Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7b8e8
  Exception Code: c00000fd
  Exception Offset: 00006ae6
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Information 1: 065d
  Additional Information 2: 065d6303ad9ca09b532367badb2eeeae
  Additional Information 3: 93ac
  Additional Information 4: 93acfaaf7fada805f2b80ed090bea700

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 10:17:29 PM
 #12156

Not sure if it will help..

Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
  Application Name: cgminer-nogpu.exe
  Application Version: 0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp: 5214a24a
  Fault Module Name: mswsock.dll
  Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
  Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7b8e8
  Exception Code: c00000fd
  Exception Offset: 00006ae6
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Information 1: 065d
  Additional Information 2: 065d6303ad9ca09b532367badb2eeeae
  Additional Information 3: 93ac
  Additional Information 4: 93acfaaf7fada805f2b80ed090bea700
Hmm doesn't even look like it's crashing in cgminer, but can't tell for sure. Possibly related? :

https://community.mcafee.com/thread/36486

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 10:21:23 PM
 #12157

Not sure if it will help..

Code:
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
  Application Name: cgminer-nogpu.exe
  Application Version: 0.0.0.0
  Application Timestamp: 5214a24a
  Fault Module Name: mswsock.dll
  Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.17514
  Fault Module Timestamp: 4ce7b8e8
  Exception Code: c00000fd
  Exception Offset: 00006ae6
  OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID: 1033
  Additional Information 1: 065d
  Additional Information 2: 065d6303ad9ca09b532367badb2eeeae
  Additional Information 3: 93ac
  Additional Information 4: 93acfaaf7fada805f2b80ed090bea700
Hmm doesn't even look like it's crashing in cgminer, but can't tell for sure. Possibly related? :

https://community.mcafee.com/thread/36486

Hmm... using COMODO.. will check it out though and report back... 

Xian - what virus/firewall s/w do you use?


BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1016


Christian Antkow


View Profile
August 30, 2013, 01:41:08 AM
 #12158

Xian - what virus/firewall s/w do you use?

 Microsoft Security Essentials.

 Have not run the debug build yet. I will on next crash.

EDIT: 20GH/s rig crashed. Downloaded the cgminer.exe 3.4.0 debug build and started her up.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2674
Merit: 1143


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 30, 2013, 06:53:23 AM
 #12159

Xian - what virus/firewall s/w do you use?

 Microsoft Security Essentials.

 Have not run the debug build yet. I will on next crash.

EDIT: 20GH/s rig crashed. Downloaded the cgminer.exe 3.4.0 debug build and started her up.
Make sure to set up the debugger as described in the readme in that directory.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Grim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 404
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 30, 2013, 11:42:47 AM
 #12160

i have

1x 7950
and
1x 7850


i need to set gpu-threads to 1 for my 7950
and i need to set gpu-threads to 2 for my 7850

but it seems like setting

-g 1,2

doesnt work?!?!

Pages: « 1 ... 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 [608] 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 ... 845 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!