Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:05:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 [608] 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824271 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
milkbottlec
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 95


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 12:46:17 AM
 #12141

Thanks, Kano. Let me get my rpi and program it Smiley very thanks for the sharing of the setup! And I gotta buy that cute USB LCD!

With 3.4.0 do you still suggest arch is better option? Or both are the same?

Will be handling Drillbit System UK/EU replacement components soon (waiting to confirm details, stay tunes)
If I helped you and could pop me some treats for this Christmas, donate some BTC to: 1QEhKaUnFoEBaWmXsrE5AUvbAt95254DXr
1481263559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263559
Reply with quote  #2

1481263559
Report to moderator
The grue lurks in the darkest places of the earth. Its favorite diet is adventurers, but its insatiable appetite is tempered by its fear of light. No grue has ever been seen by the light of day, and few have survived its fearsome jaws to tell the tale.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263559
Reply with quote  #2

1481263559
Report to moderator
1481263559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263559
Reply with quote  #2

1481263559
Report to moderator
1481263559
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263559

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263559
Reply with quote  #2

1481263559
Report to moderator
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 12:58:19 AM
 #12142

Quote
And you know that how?  You know for certain some catastrophic event won't occur that'll drive the value of BTC to ridiculously low prices, causes people to abandon in droves causing difficulty to drop?  You also know they won't still be mining 10 years from now?  No moving parts, simple construction, if properly cooled they should last a while.  (That remains to be seen of course.)

M
I'd bet you 10BTC neither of those things will happen in the next 12 months ... except I can't afford to make the bet and tie up 10BTC for 12 months Sad

I'm not a gambling man.  And 12 months is a far cry from your "never" statement.  He could also solo mine and get lucky and get a block.  Just pointing out your absolute statement could quite easily be wrong. Smiley

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
chanson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 01:43:34 AM
 #12143

Hi Kano, just got a quick question. With rpi and BE, does 3.4.0 works great on it? Or should go with an earlier version? And with the latest updates, should I go with arch or raspbian? As I saw the LCD module in adafruit with raspbian seems nice Smiley
3.4.0 works great on RPi and BE, and arch is a better choice.
Thanks, I will try to set it up. I did have a look already in Kano website. How do I add an auto start cgminer when power up the rpi and load a config?

1. Install screen and pgrep
2. Create "cgminer" user (assume /home/cgminer is home directory for new cgminer user). On debian-based systems you probably need to add cgminer to the plugdev group ("adduser cgminer plugdev").
3. Login as cgminer user (possibly via "sudo su cgminer" etc)
4. Setup /home/cgminer/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
5. Test that running cgminer with no command line options does what you expect.
5. Create /home/cgminer/daemon.sh

Code:
#!/bin/bash

log () {
    logger -p local0.notice -t $1/daemon.sh "$*"
}

export HOME=$(dirname $(readlink -e $0))
cd $HOME

if ! pgrep -u cgminer cgminer >/dev/null; then
    log cgminer is dead
    screen -dmS cgminer $HOME/bin/cgminer
else
    log cgminer lives
fi


daemon.sh checks if the "cgminer" user is running a program called "cgminer". If so, then nothing happens. Otherwise it starts a new detached screen session running cgminer. You may have to adjust $HOME/bin/cgminer to your machine. (I use ./configure --prefix=/home/cgminer and make install so my cgminer binaries end up in /home/cgminer/bin/cgminer)

6. chmod +x /home/cgminer/daemon.sh
7. Add the following line to the crontab to run /home/cgminer/daemon.sh every minute (run "crontab -e" as cgminer to edit crontab)
Code:
* * * * * /home/cgminer/daemon.sh

In the future I'd like to add use of a chroot, but I haven't had time to work on that yet.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 06:20:09 PM
 #12144

A quick question: how do I instruct cgminer to use only GPU and ignore all USBs?


Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 941



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 06:28:49 PM
 #12145

A quick question: how do I instruct cgminer to use only GPU and ignore all USBs?

The README says that "--usb :0 will disable all USB I/O other than to initialise libusb".

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 06:49:03 PM
 #12146

Thank you, and excuse my laziness. Cheesy


Save Donbass

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
c1010010
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 09:10:58 PM
 #12147

ck-

Any idea how/why this happens?



The software works like a dream... and I love you for it.... so please don't take this as a complaint, just as a "I wonder if I'm using it incorrectly".

The GPS are hashing like MF'ers, and blocks fall before me... so why does it tell me 0% load?

         YOU TOO CAN BE A MILLIONAIRE – INFINITECOIN Infinite possibilities – http://infinitecointalk.org          
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 09:14:48 PM
 #12148

ck-

Any idea how/why this happens?



The software works like a dream... and I love you for it.... so please don't take this as a complaint, just as a "I wonder if I'm using it incorrectly".

The GPS are hashing like MF'ers, and blocks fall before me... so why does it tell me 0% load?
cgminer only reports back whatever the driver tells it the load is. However the driver will report 0 if you query it too often. I don't know what front end you're using there to communicate with cgminer but perhaps that's all it is.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
c1010010
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
August 26, 2013, 09:20:02 PM
 #12149

cgminer only reports back whatever the driver tells it the load is. However the driver will report 0 if you query it too often. I don't know what front end you're using there to communicate with cgminer but perhaps that's all it is.

BAMT and the mgpumon tool.

Good to know.  Thanks.

         YOU TOO CAN BE A MILLIONAIRE – INFINITECOIN Infinite possibilities – http://infinitecointalk.org          
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 26, 2013, 10:43:46 PM
 #12150

Thanks, Kano. Let me get my rpi and program it Smiley very thanks for the sharing of the setup! And I gotta buy that cute USB LCD!

With 3.4.0 do you still suggest arch is better option? Or both are the same?
I'm not sure why Minepeon has had trouble on Arch - so I don't know.
The original libusb problem didn't exist on Arch with that install I've used, but there is of course a simple workaround for Raspbian - use the libusb in the README (which I now use in all my binary builds)
I have had the rare network dropout occur on both Arch and Raspbian
At this point I'm using Arch for mining and Raspbian is the media player ... that's incomplete.
However I'll probably put an AMU in the media player soon just so it's running cgminer all the time rather than just testing when I build my binaries Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
LordTheron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 197


View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 11:27:26 PM
 #12151

Hi,

I was having a lot of messages in cgminer  "BTB: Idled X miners". When that happen my hash rate would go down by half. 3.4.0 resolved all the issues Smiley Great job guys! Thanks.

Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 04:46:40 AM
 #12152

If you can build from git and you're on OSX, try building now as I've added a generic workaround for this.

Cool!  Thanks for doing this.  I get this when compiling now:

Code:
util.c: In function ‘cgtimer_time’:
util.c:1017: error: ‘ts’ undeclared (first use in this function)
Thanks. git pull and try again please (I'm coding blind!)

If I could buy you a Mac to help you test I would, but thanks for this nonetheless!  I built from the latest git and it errored with:

Code:
CCLD     cgminer
ld: library not found for -lrt
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1

If you are interested in the entire compiling output, it produces a few Mac-specific warnings that don't seem to affect the program (these warnings have existed for a few versions now):

Code:
Making install in lib
  GEN      arg-nonnull.h
  GEN      c++defs.h
  GEN      warn-on-use.h
  GEN      signal.h
  GEN      stdint.h
  GEN      string.h
make  install-recursive
  CC       dummy.o
  CC       memmem.o
  AR       libgnu.a
/usr/bin/ranlib: file: libgnu.a(dummy.o) has no symbols
ranlib: file: libgnu.a(dummy.o) has no symbols
make[4]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
make[4]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
Making install in compat
Making install in jansson
  CC       dump.o
  CC       hashtable.o
  CC       load.o
  CC       strbuffer.o
  CC       utf.o
  CC       value.o
  CC       memory.o
  CC       error.o
  AR       libjansson.a
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
make[3]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
Making install in ccan
  CC       libccan_a-helpers.o
  CC       libccan_a-opt.o
  CC       libccan_a-parse.o
  CC       libccan_a-usage.o
  AR       libccan.a
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
  CC       cgminer-cgminer.o
  CC       cgminer-util.o
util.c: In function ‘keep_sockalive’:
util.c:209: warning: unused variable ‘tcp_keepidle’
  CC       cgminer-sha2.o
  CC       cgminer-api.o
api.c: In function ‘print_data’:
api.c:1166: warning: format ‘%06ld’ expects type ‘long int’, but argument 6 has type ‘__darwin_suseconds_t’
  CC       cgminer-logging.o
  CC       cgminer-driver-opencl.o
  CC       cgminer-ocl.o
  CC       cgminer-findnonce.o
  CC       cgminer-adl.o
  CC       cgminer-scrypt.o
  CC       cgminer-fpgautils.o
  CC       cgminer-usbutils.o
usbutils.c: In function ‘resource_unlock’:
usbutils.c:3609: warning: unused variable ‘timeout’
  CC       cgminer-driver-bflsc.o
  CC       cgminer-driver-bitforce.o
  CC       cgminer-driver-icarus.o
driver-icarus.c: In function ‘icarus_scanhash’:
driver-icarus.c:927: warning: format ‘%06ld’ expects type ‘long int’, but argument 10 has type ‘__darwin_suseconds_t’
driver-icarus.c:964: warning: format ‘%06ld’ expects type ‘long int’, but argument 11 has type ‘__darwin_suseconds_t’
  CC       cgminer-driver-avalon.o
  CC       cgminer-driver-modminer.o
  CC       cgminer-driver-ztex.o
  CC       cgminer-libztex.o
  CCLD     cgminer
ld: library not found for -lrt
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 05:20:20 AM
 #12153

Thanks. git pull and try again please (I'm coding blind!)

If I could buy you a Mac to help you test I would, but thanks for this nonetheless!  I built from the latest git and it errored with:

Code:
CCLD     cgminer
ld: library not found for -lrt
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
Heh Sad try again.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 06:41:16 AM
 #12154

If I could buy you a Mac to help you test I would, but thanks for this nonetheless!  I built from the latest git and it errored with:

Code:
CCLD     cgminer
ld: library not found for -lrt
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
Heh Sad try again.
Perfect, that did it, and thank you!  I just sent you a very tiny bitcoin tip.  Don't even look at the value, seriously, it's so tiny (that's not sarcasm either).  But hey, good work should be recognized.

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
gal40n0k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 08:06:10 AM
 #12155

Hi!
I am just updating cgminer and i have only rejects, R=18500 in 3 hours! Working on gpu, solo mining.
Is it normal?

It is my conf:

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "localhost:xxxxx",
      "user" : "x",
      "pass" : "x"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "15",
"vectors" : "2",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "2",
"thread-concurrency" : "3100",
"shaders" : "0",
"gpu-engine" : "850-900",
"gpu-fan" : "70-100",
"gpu-memclock" : "1200-1300",
"gpu-memdiff" : "0",
"gpu-powertune" : "10",
"gpu-vddc" : "0.000",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "120",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"gpu-threads" : "2",
"hotplug" : "5",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "30",
"scrypt" : true,
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 08:07:11 AM
 #12156

Hi!
I am just updating cgminer and i have onli rejects, R=18500 in 3 hours! Working on gpu, solo mining.
Is it normal?
You're solo mining. Only a block solve would get accepted.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gal40n0k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 08:12:55 AM
 #12157

Hi!
I am just updating cgminer and i have onli rejects, R=18500 in 3 hours! Working on gpu, solo mining.
Is it normal?
You're solo mining. Only a block solve would get accepted.

But in the earlier version was all good...

gal40n0k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 08:15:02 AM
 #12158

I have to go back to the previous version?

HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 08:37:17 AM
 #12159

Solo mining with GPU?    Shocked  Did someone fall asleep for 2 years?  Huh
gal40n0k
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 09:14:34 AM
 #12160

Solo mining with GPU?    Shocked  Did someone fall asleep for 2 years?  Huh

I've been mining alternate coins. Someone will answer my question seriously or is there only one clown?

Pages: « 1 ... 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 [608] 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!