Bitcoin Forum
January 30, 2023, 08:13:53 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 [599] 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5804608 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3682
Merit: 1441


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 21, 2013, 09:26:34 PM
 #11961

How can I disable Intel GPU without using "cgminer -n" at all? I would like to automatically disable Intel GPU without having to manually check up the numbers with -n switch...
No, the numbers of the GPUs on Intel vs the numbers on AMD don't work that way anyway. cgminer will only mine on one SDK platform at any time (eg AMD or Intel). If you don't have the Intel OpenCL SDK installed, cgminer can't even mine on the Intel GPUs. If you have both the Intel and AMD OpenCL SDKs installed, you will need to specify one of them with the --gpu-platform command.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1675109633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675109633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675109633
Reply with quote  #2

1675109633
Report to moderator
1675109633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675109633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675109633
Reply with quote  #2

1675109633
Report to moderator
1675109633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1675109633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1675109633
Reply with quote  #2

1675109633
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 01:16:01 AM
 #11962

What you are showing there is libusb failing to timeout.
That's what the test program will test and show for the version of libusb you use.
I've put usbfail.c and the working libusb libusb-1.0.16-rc10.tar.bz2 in my binaries git:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries

On linux, To use the working libusb for cgminer instead of the system libusb -
First install udev-dev via one of:
Fedora: yum install libgudev1
Ubuntu derivatives: apt-get install libudev-dev
Arch: it should be installed by default as part of systemd
When you are in the cgminer folder:
mkdir libusb
cd libusb
wget -O libusb-1.0.16-rc10.tar.bz2 https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/blob/master/libusb-1.0.16-rc10.tar.bz2?raw=true
tar -xvf libusb-1.0.16-rc10.tar.bz2
cd libusb-1.0.16-rc10
./configure
make
cd ..
cd ..

If you have already autogen/configured cgminer, next you want to edit Makefile
Search for -I/usr/include/libusb-1.0 change all 3 to make sure it's working to -Ilibusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb/
Also search for -lusb-1.0 and change both of them to libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb/.libs/libusb-1.0.a -ludev (without the first -l)
Then
make clean
make

and now your cgminer will have been compiled against my specific libusb-1.0.16-rc10 properly
N.B. you have to use that version in my git, not the system versions - it would appear a lot if linux distros have a bad libusb

Thank you so much for this! Just spent a long time trying to get libusb working correctly on Ubuntu 12.04 with my usb miners. This solved the problem immediately, great guide.

Also, is there a guide for what difficulty I should set in cgminer based on hashrate? Or should I just let cgminer decide?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1700


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 01:21:18 AM
 #11963

...
Thank you so much for this! Just spent a long time trying to get libusb working correctly on Ubuntu 12.04 with my usb miners. This solved the problem immediately, great guide.
You're welcome.
I've also since updated the README with that but using the command line autogen/configure options to generate the correct Makefile so you don't have to edit it

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1700


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 01:42:48 AM
 #11964

To save making these posts too big ... and quicker for me to write Smiley ... somewhat abbreviated:

3.4.0a 3.4.0 recompiled on:
Fedora 18
64 bit xubuntu 11.04 (should also work on Fedora 16 and 17)
RPi 32bit Arch
RPi 32bit Raspbian

e.g. to get the 64 bit xubuntu 11.04 binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/Ubuntu_11.04_x86_64/cgminer-3.4.0a
chmod +x cgminer-3.4.0a


The 3 others are:
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/Fedora18_x86_64/cgminer-3.4.0a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/RPi_Arch/cgminer-3.4.0a
https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/RPi_Raspbian/cgminer-3.4.0a

The Xubuntu configure option (with GPU and scrypt):
LIBUSB_CFLAGS="-I./libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb" LIBUSB_LIBS="./libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb/.libs/libusb-1.0.a -ludev -lrt" CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon --enable-scrypt

The rest are USB only (no GPU):
LIBUSB_CFLAGS="-I./libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb" LIBUSB_LIBS="./libusb/libusb-1.0.16-rc10/libusb/.libs/libusb-1.0.a -ludev -lrt" CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon

The -g (instead of -O2) means it's a debug build so if anyone finds a problem and has core dumps enabled, it will dump a much more useful debug core.

Note I have binary folders of ckolivas official release files in my binaries git also, for if you can't get to his downloads
To get them you select the folder (e.g. 3.4.0) then click on the file you want then right-click save-as the "View Raw" link.

Important: Read README, ASIC-README or FPGA-README about USB configuration on linux and windows

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
Economics
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 04:43:27 AM
 #11965

I've been using cgminer v3.3.0 with my ATI/Radeon 5700 successfully since 3.3.0 was released.  Recently, the cpu was pegged at 100% and the system very sluggish as a result.  I rebooted and now I can't get cgminer to startup.  If I disable-gpu, it will start, otherwise it hangs with the following messages:

    cgminer --verbose -D -T -c cgminer.conf.empty
    [2013-08-22 13:33:00] Started cgminer 3.3.0                   
    [2013-08-22 13:33:00] Loaded configuration file cgminer.conf.empty                   
    [2013-08-22 13:33:00] RES: thread starting


Additionally "./cgminer --ndevs" will hang.

The system runs linux (bamt) and the GUI looks o.k., but I'm afraid that my GPU is dying.

What else can I try?

--E
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 06:15:31 AM
 #11966

I'm unable to compile 3.4.0 on Mac OS X:

Code:
util.c: In function ‘cgtimer_time’:
util.c:891: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘clock_gettime’
util.c:891: error: ‘CLOCK_MONOTONIC’ undeclared (first use in this function)
util.c:891: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
util.c:891: error: for each function it appears in.)
util.c: In function ‘nanosleep_abstime’:
util.c:899: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘clock_nanosleep’
util.c:899: error: ‘CLOCK_MONOTONIC’ undeclared (first use in this function)
util.c:899: error: ‘TIMER_ABSTIME’ undeclared (first use in this function)

Seems like clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC, ...) is not available on OS X.

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3682
Merit: 1441


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 06:41:18 AM
 #11967

I'm unable to compile 3.4.0 on Mac OS X:

Code:
util.c: In function ‘cgtimer_time’:
util.c:891: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘clock_gettime’
util.c:891: error: ‘CLOCK_MONOTONIC’ undeclared (first use in this function)
util.c:891: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
util.c:891: error: for each function it appears in.)
util.c: In function ‘nanosleep_abstime’:
util.c:899: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘clock_nanosleep’
util.c:899: error: ‘CLOCK_MONOTONIC’ undeclared (first use in this function)
util.c:899: error: ‘TIMER_ABSTIME’ undeclared (first use in this function)

Seems like clock_gettime(CLOCK_MONOTONIC, ...) is not available on OS X.
Yay for more unimplemented POSIX features on an operating system that claims to be POSIX. More like POSOSX.

Will create a generic workaround for the next version.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 07:10:04 PM
 #11968

Unofficial Mac binaries updated to 3.3.4 at http://spaceman.ca/cgminer.

This directly relates to the whole libusb monologue I've been having in here over the last month
That specifically means your libusb on your mac is bugged - the timeout option when doing I/O isn't working
The README says how to build with a working libusb and it works on Linux and Windows - no idea about a Mac ...
Tell whoever Karin is to read the README ...

Karin, read the README  Tongue
I'm Karin! Cheesy

I keep a very close eye on the readme's (even following their changes on github), and I've tried using rc10 but if I recall it had no effect on this bug on Macs, so I instead include the latest libusb in my builds.

Kano makes it sounds like the error confidently lies within libusb, so I'll do a full spectrum of tests with various libusb versions.  If I can find a version that works I will update cgminer for Mac OS X and Asteroid (my Mac GUI to cgminer) accordingly.

Otherwise, we'll have to dig deeper into libusb, and any errors generated from cgminer (and what the community can help with) would be our best bet in figuring out the issue with libusb + Macs.  I'll try and do these test builds tonight and will post back with what I find.
Yes the problem is clearly libusb.
As I have already stated, I can run two different libusb versions on the same architecture and one works while the other doesn't.
The test problem that I've mentioned in here a few times is standalone code (bits and pieces of the code I've written in cgminer - but modified) and that shows if timeouts are working ... and if they are matching the expected values also.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2817682;topicseen#msg2817682
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2846296;topicseen#msg2846296
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2938585;topicseen#msg2938585

That specific version - libusb-1.0.16-rc10 - works on Linux and Windows
I've seen other 1.0.16 versions that don't work ... thus using the 'latest' libusb is not guaranteed to solve it.
Also, libusb has 2 sources: libusb and libusbx, and some OSs provide libusbx instead of libusb

The README also states how to use the libusb mentioned

Okay, I've solved this problem on Mac OS X by using libusb-1.0.2.  Unfortunately, this version is from 2009, but it has worked well in testing with my own admittedly limited gear (one USB block erupter, one GPU).

I ran 44 test cases to determine this: 22 versions of libusb, 20 versions of libusbx, and a few alternates I located around the web.  They span every official release and release candidate of the two libusb branches since 2009.

6 would not configure, 1 would not compile, 4 would not link with cgminer, 5 would not successfully access the USB device, 28 exhibited "TIMEOUT GetResults took 2000ms but was 100ms" errors, and only one worked without errors and generated the correct output (libusb-1.0.2).  I could not get kano's usbfail.c to compile, so I simply built 44 versions of cgminer statically linked to the different libusb builds and ran my tests over 10 minutes of runtime each.

I've updated my cgminer for Mac OS X universal binaries as of a few moments ago, and will be submitting my findings to the other Mac cgminer projects (asteroid, xgminer, multiminer, macminer) for their own testing.

If this does indeed work for others, then the next step would be to approach the libusbx people and/or dig into the code myself, so that we can get a newer libusb/libusbx but with the correct operability of v1.0.2.  Or perhaps 1.0.2 is fine.

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 08:33:57 PM
 #11969

Since upgrading to cgminer 3.4.0, my Jalapeno went from ~5.7 GH/s to ~5.5 GH/s. Should I let it cool down and restart it? I think something like that was discussed in this thread before.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2013, 08:37:04 PM
 #11970

Since upgrading to cgminer 3.4.0, my Jalapeno went from ~5.7 GH/s to ~5.5 GH/s. Should I let it cool down and restart it? I think something like that was discussed in this thread before.

it seems starting hash rate is partially determined based on Temperature at startup. so yeah, let it cool. some people have been refrigerateing them prior to turn on.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 08:41:54 PM
 #11971

it seems starting hash rate is partially determined based on Temperature at startup. so yeah, let it cool. some people have been refrigerateing them prior to turn on.
Hmm, refrigerating doesn't sound like a good idea. Wouldn't there be a problem with moisture?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 22, 2013, 08:49:43 PM
 #11972

it seems starting hash rate is partially determined based on Temperature at startup. so yeah, let it cool. some people have been refrigerateing them prior to turn on.
Hmm, refrigerating doesn't sound like a good idea. Wouldn't there be a problem with moisture?

*shrug* i only know what it read here. maybe they  put them in a plastic bag or frost free freezer. Pure water isn't a great conductor. It is the impurities in most water that causes problems. (doning protective vest)
-Redacted-
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 501


View Profile
August 22, 2013, 09:19:13 PM
 #11973

The problem isn't so much when they are in the freezer as it is the water that condenses on them after you take it out....
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2013, 10:01:52 PM
 #11974

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
chanson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:04:56 AM
 #11975

Since upgrading to cgminer 3.4.0, my Jalapeno went from ~5.7 GH/s to ~5.5 GH/s. Should I let it cool down and restart it? I think something like that was discussed in this thread before.

You can isolate whether it is the Jalapeno startup or changes in 3.4.0 by comparing hash rates with your previous version of cgminer.
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:10:49 AM
 #11976

Just wanted to say that it seems 3.4.0 has made my HW errors on the USB BEs drop significantly... very nice!  thx!

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
Samael82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 07:46:35 AM
 #11977

Hi! I'm trying to mine beyond firewall and proxy, so i use tor's vidalia to connect to the work servers.
Intresting detail - if we have an http and stratum proxy on mining pool, http redirects cgminer to stratum, and cgminer works correctly.
But if we have "plain stratum", cgminer can not conect to it through tor's socks5. For example, I'm mining LTC on litepool.ru right now. I connect to it through 8337 port, old getwork protocol. I used to mine on 50btc.com, where was getting connect throug old port too.
But when i trying to connetc to liteguard.com, which have only plain strtum proto, cgminer says "credentials are invalid" or pool is down.
If you teach it to work with stratum through socks5, it will be superior!
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 10:41:25 AM
 #11978

Just wanted to say that it seems 3.4.0 has made my HW errors on the USB BEs drop significantly... very nice!  thx!
What was it before and what is it now?
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:14:43 PM
 #11979

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3554
Merit: 1081


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 01:50:56 PM
 #11980

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 [599] 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!