Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:51:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 [604] 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826948 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:32:48 PM
 #12061

Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.

What is the current rating of your hub power supplies?  You need more than 3 Amps as each Erupter draws .5 Amp.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
1481395915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395915
Reply with quote  #2

1481395915
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481395915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395915
Reply with quote  #2

1481395915
Report to moderator
1481395915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395915
Reply with quote  #2

1481395915
Report to moderator
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:36:49 PM
 #12062

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad
That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?
I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.
I did that when I flashed my firmware.  Even with the increased hash rate, I went from ~42 to ~38.  Just breathes better.
Did you guys keep the big 120mm fans, or get rid of them along with the case? If you got rid of them, I'd imagine just the two smaller fans would be a lot quieter than all 4.

Its a single 92mm fan.  I kept it, its not bad.  Its sitting on top of my desk in an office.  I get enough of people talking around me, plus I have headphone on 99% of the time so I never hear it.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 03:39:04 PM
 #12063

Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.

What is the current rating of your hub power supplies?  You need more than 3 Amps as each Erupter draws .5 Amp.
3A, 5V power supplies.  Over on the USB hub thread, these have been consistently reported as supporting 6BE each, sometimes 6 + a fan.

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 23, 2013, 03:39:51 PM
 #12064

Hubs 2-5 each contain six block erupters.  Each is plugged into hub #1.

What is the current rating of your hub power supplies?  You need more than 3 Amps as each Erupter draws .5 Amp.

Yeah, I see that happen too with mine.  Sometimes they go 2 days without crashing, and some days they crash every other hour. I dont know.  I do have a crappy hub but not trying to spend money on one for the 3 I have.

I would say make sure you have some sort of fan blowing on them, even just a small USB fan.  Plus, since you are using Windows, download CGWatcher and run it.  It will watch for the crash and if so will restart them.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 05:51:54 PM
 #12065

I would say make sure you have some sort of fan blowing on them, even just a small USB fan.  Plus, since you are using Windows, download CGWatcher and run it.  It will watch for the crash and if so will restart them.
I do have a fan on them; I'm also debating whether to add another one or not.  The miners are distinctly warmer now since I added the last batch of 10.

Thanks for the tip about CGWatcher! It seems to be exactly what I need. =)

I do plan to eventually port my rig over to an RPi, but that can be an adventure for another day. =)

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2013, 06:03:55 PM
 #12066

Stuck it in the fridge for about 30 minutes and it doesn't seem to have helped. If anything, it looks like it's gotten worse; down to ~5.4 GH/s now. Sad

That doesnt sound like a particularly good idea.  Have you tried removing the casing and inverting the fan so its blowing down?

I did that a couple days ago and my temp went from 45C to 35C.

I did that when I flashed my firmware.  Even with the increased hash rate, I went from ~42 to ~38.  Just breathes better.
Mine has always been around 35C since I moved it down to my basement. Smiley

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:56:19 AM
 #12067

Hi All,

Trying to run cgminer to mine Litecoin with Kattare pool on an NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti and getting the following error with these BAT file settings:

Code:
color 0F
cgminer --scrypt -o http://ltc.kattare.com:9332 -u jmevz.litedigger -p y6ZzAWza --shaders 192 --intensity 10 --worksize 256 -g 1

Code:
[2013-08-24 16:51:11] Started cgminer 2.11.3
                       ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
<program source>:128:24: note: instantiated from:
#define EndianSwap(n) (rotl(n & ES[0], 24U)|rotl(n & ES[1], 8U))
                       ^
<program source>:124:19: note: instantiated from:
#define rotl(x,y) rotate(x,y)
                  ^~~~~~
<built-in>:3025:26: note: candidate function
ulong16 __OVERLOADABLE__ rotate(ulong16 [2013-08-24 16:51:36] Failed to init GPU
 thread 0, disabling device 0
 [2013-08-24 16:51:36] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
 [2013-08-24 16:51:36] Try restarting cgminer.
Press enter to continue:

Any advice would be appreciated. Is it just the settings?

OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 09:58:48 AM
 #12068

Hi All,

Trying to run cgminer to mine Litecoin with Kattare pool on an NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti and getting the following error with these BAT file settings:

Any advice would be appreciated. Is it just the settings?
My advice would be not to mine with a nvidia GPU, as odds are it won't be profitable.
Also it seems your running a highly outdated build of CGminer, we're at 3.4.0 now..
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 01:19:46 PM
 #12069

The error simply means that whatever bazaar OpenCL SDK he is using, it doesn't support the current cgminer *.cl code.

... and that is about the end of the story.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Its About Sharing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Antifragile


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 01:27:41 PM
 #12070

Question - is there an easy way to run a few erupters, one Jalapeno and some custom rigs (e.g., Burning Mining) off of one Raspberry Pi w/ MinePeon w/ cgminer AND be able to overclock the custom rig?

Could I just install another instance of CG Miner or can I do the overclock of a specific rig while not affecting all rigs?
Or would it be better/simpler to get another Raspberry Pi?

I am not script writing capable, so please consider that.

Very much appreciated,
IAS

BTC = Black Swan.
BTC = Antifragile - "Some things benefit from shocks; they thrive and grow when exposed to volatility, randomness, disorder, and stressors and love adventure, risk, and uncertainty. Robust is not the opposite of fragile.
svirus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 02:02:23 PM
 #12071

I have problem on gentoo system witch new version.

First time compile I got this error:
Code:
make[2]: Wejście do katalogu `/media/tmp/cgminer'
  CC     cgminer-driver-icarus.o
In file included from driver-icarus.c:50:0:
usbutils.h:14:20: fatal error: libusb.h: Nie ma takiego pliku ani katalogu
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [cgminer-driver-icarus.o] Błąd 1
make[2]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/media/tmp/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Błąd 1
make[1]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/media/tmp/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Błąd 2
libusb.h: Nie ma takiego pliku ani katalogu = no such file or directory

on my Gentoo I have libusb.h on directory /usr/include/libusb-1.0/libusb.h
so I added to this path to configure
Code:
./configure CPPFLAGS="-I/usr/include/libusb-1.0/"

Configure works ok, but I see new error on make:

Code:
  CC     cgminer-driver-icarus.o
driver-icarus.c: In function ‘icarus_initialise’:
driver-icarus.c:257:12: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:277:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:283:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:290:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:317:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:324:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:331:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:338:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:352:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:360:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:375:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c:382:14: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c: In function ‘icarus_get_nonce’:
driver-icarus.c:423:13: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
driver-icarus.c: In function ‘icarus_scanhash’:
driver-icarus.c:874:12: error: ‘struct cgpu_info’ has no member named ‘usbinfo’
make[2]: *** [cgminer-driver-icarus.o] Błąd 1
make[2]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/media/tmp/cgminer'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Błąd 1
make[1]: Opuszczenie katalogu `/media/tmp/cgminer'
make: *** [all] Błąd 2

I have compiled 3.3.1 version and it's works.
Also I have latest in gentoo libusb version 1.0.9

Any help ?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 02:40:14 PM
 #12072

Coz you have to put it in CFLAGS before ./configure ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
svirus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 02:46:53 PM
 #12073

same problem...
There is no diffrent to put in above or before
Code:
# ./configure --help
`configure' configures cgminer 2.11.4 to adapt to many kinds of systems.

Usage: ./configure [OPTION]... [VAR=VALUE]...

To assign environment variables (e.g., CC, CFLAGS...), specify them as
VAR=VALUE.  See below for descriptions of some of the useful variables.
...
Some influential environment variables:
...
  CPPFLAGS    (Objective) C/C++ preprocessor flags, e.g. -I<include dir> if
              you have headers in a nonstandard directory <include dir>

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 03:09:06 PM
 #12074

Ignoring the fact that you are not using the current cgminer 3.4.0
You must also either being using some weird version of configure or typing something wrong

On Windows Mingw, Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Debian, Fedora, Mac OSX, Arch it works.
Though, the fact that your environment is not setting up libusb correctly probably doesn't help ...
Also your configure command is missing asking for any drivers ...

Bottom line, if you are going to use some non standard linux environment that doesn't work the same as all the above ones, then you'll need to work out how to set it up yourself - if on the other hand you simply aren't typing the configure command correctly, look in the README ...

The makefile won't compile the Icarus code without --enable-icarus ... so my guess is you are messing with the configure yourself and that is the problem.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 04:59:26 PM
 #12075

Trying to run cgminer to mine Litecoin with Kattare pool on an NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti and getting the following error with these BAT file settings:
For Litecoin try cudaMiner:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0
It's way faster on Nvidia cards.

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 941



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 05:28:31 PM
 #12076

Trying to run cgminer to mine Litecoin with Kattare pool on an NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti and getting the following error with these BAT file settings:
For Litecoin try cudaMiner:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0
It's way faster on Nvidia cards.

Oh, no - please don't mention a different miner in this thread!  Kano will post a 10 paragraph reply accusing you of being a shill who is just advertising for that crapminer you mentioned.  Roll Eyes


Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:01:38 PM
 #12077

Trying to run cgminer to mine Litecoin with Kattare pool on an NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti and getting the following error with these BAT file settings:
For Litecoin try cudaMiner:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0
It's way faster on Nvidia cards.
Oh, no - please don't mention a different miner in this thread!  Kano will post a 10 paragraph reply accusing you of being a shill who is just advertising for that crapminer you mentioned.  Roll Eyes
A miner that adds features that CGMiner does not have is not a bad thing. A miner that copies CGMiner and then claims that CGMiner is inferior in every imaginable way is something that Kano does not seem to take lightly. See the difference? Wink

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 941



View Profile
August 24, 2013, 06:50:29 PM
 #12078

Trying to run cgminer to mine Litecoin with Kattare pool on an NVIDIA GTX 550 Ti and getting the following error with these BAT file settings:
For Litecoin try cudaMiner:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0
It's way faster on Nvidia cards.
Oh, no - please don't mention a different miner in this thread!  Kano will post a 10 paragraph reply accusing you of being a shill who is just advertising for that crapminer you mentioned.  Roll Eyes
A miner that adds features that CGMiner does not have is not a bad thing. A miner that copies CGMiner and then claims that CGMiner is inferior in every imaginable way is something that Kano does not seem to take lightly. See the difference? Wink

I don't care about the difference.  When a user posts a bug report and happens to mention that the problem does not occur with some other mining software, that user does not deserve to be attacked, and the report ignored just because Kano has personal issues with another developer.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 24, 2013, 09:29:04 PM
 #12079

Fortunately we have nothing against the author of cudaminer, and it fills a need which I have no intention of filling - direct cuda support for nvidia miners - though the miners themselves have to figure out they can't make a profit with nvidia cards.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kentt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
August 24, 2013, 10:33:34 PM
 #12080

Hi
I'm hoping to get some advice on debugging an issue I'm having.  I'm not sure it's directly related to cgminer, but after running for a few days Xorg eats up 100% of my CPU.  I can't kill/relaunch it (even with -9).  This happens every few days.  Any advice?
Pages: « 1 ... 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 [604] 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!