Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:48:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 [609] 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827136 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 09:15:21 AM
 #12161

Solo mining with GPU?    Shocked  Did someone fall asleep for 2 years?  Huh
Unless something changed far more recent then that mining using scrypt should still be profitable. I don't mine scrypt so I don't know for sure.

I don't know for sure but if your difficulty provided by your alt-coin wallet wasn't detected properly then you would submit shares and they would be less then a block. I wouldn't think you had that many close to a block since the last version was posted. I am guessing as I have dealt with neither. Likely someone knowledgeable will have a better idea.

As far as the facts go though just watch hopefully a block level difficulty share will come up and you can see if its being rejected. Oh and check your CGMiner difficulty against if there is a source for diffictulty like blockchaininfo for bitcoins.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 09:54:03 AM
 #12162

Hi!
I am just updating cgminer and i have onli rejects, R=18500 in 3 hours! Working on gpu, solo mining.
Is it normal?
You're solo mining. Only a block solve would get accepted.

But in the earlier version was all good...
The scrypt and GPU mining code is unchanged now for 6 months+. Likely you have changed something else.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ajw107
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
August 27, 2013, 03:11:47 PM
 #12163

Yikes, I'm about to look into getting cgminer or something to mine all the coins that CGWatcher supports with it's profitability calculator, sounds like I'll be running into a whole world of pain if some of them require more exotic settings.  Why do I do this to myself?  Ah the fun of tinkering, he he.
Alex

----
Windows 8.1 (Build 9431) x64 Intel i7 3770S on a ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe board (Normal TPD Mode) with 16GB Corsair DDR3 PC3-12800 RAM. ASUS ATI HD7950 3GB DirectCU II Graphics (Driver 13.150.1.0), System Drive: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD (Max Performance Mode), Data Drive: WD Black 750GB HDD
Server: Ubuntu 13.04 12GB RAM, ATI 5650, 120GB SDD, 640GB HDD, 29TB from greyhole server
HeathenMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 04:54:47 PM
 #12164

since the last idk how much versions, cgminer is just closing after tipping the login information Huh
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1749


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 05:12:25 PM
 #12165

hi
is it possible to compile cgminer for/on a linksys NSLU2?
TIA
albon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:51:10 PM
 #12166

I am typing this at the command line to enumerate devices:

Code:
cgminer -d?

It shows devices with indexes 0 - 5:

Code:
[2013-08-26 17:57:27] Started cgminer 3.4.0
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30] Devices detected:
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   0. GPU 0: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (driver: opencl)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   1. GPU 1: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (driver: opencl)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   2. AMU 0 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   3 .AMU 1 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   4. AMU 2 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   5. AMU 3 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30] 6 devices listed

I then launch cgminer from the command line with:

Code:
cgminer -d 0 -d 1 etc. etc.

Then, I launch another instance to use the remaining 4 devices:

Code:
cgminer -d 2 -d 3 etc. etc.

When I do that, I get this output from cgminer:

Code:
Command line options set a device that doesn't exist

And this all works as expected with bfgminer.

Can anyone help please

Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 27, 2013, 06:58:00 PM
 #12167

I am typing this at the command line to enumerate devices:

Code:
cgminer -d?

It shows devices with indexes 0 - 5:

Code:
[2013-08-26 17:57:27] Started cgminer 3.4.0
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30] Devices detected:
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   0. GPU 0: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (driver: opencl)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   1. GPU 1: AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series (driver: opencl)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   2. AMU 0 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   3 .AMU 1 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   4. AMU 2 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30]   5. AMU 3 (driver: Icarus)
 [2013-08-26 17:57:30] 6 devices listed

I then launch cgminer from the command line with:

Code:
cgminer -d 0 -d 1 etc. etc.

Then, I launch another instance to use the remaining 4 devices:

Code:
cgminer -d 2 -d 3 etc. etc.

When I do that, I get this output from cgminer:

Code:
Command line options set a device that doesn't exist

And this all works as expected with bfgminer.

Can anyone help please

-d command I believe is only for GPUs.  Looks like you want to separate your GPU and block erupter mining instances.  So, per the README....

instance 1: use --usb :0  (this will disable USB devices in this instance and only use your GPUs), then set your normal GPU settings (gpu engine, memclock, etc)

instance 2: use -G (this will disable all GPU devices for this instance and only use your USB devices)

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1320


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 08:26:22 AM
 #12168

Use cgminer-nogpu for asic/usb/fpga devices and normal one for GPU mining using "-d x -d y -d z --remove disabled" switches.
For GPU you can also use my gpu+scrypt build from my skydrive (no usb/asic/fpga support).
I`m mining this way Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
My SatoshDice bot https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=897685
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302


Ø1Ø11ØØØ


View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:44:26 PM
 #12169

FWIW, I've not been able to run a version of CGMiner higher than 3.3.1 for longer than 48 hours driving Erupter USB's on Windows 7 64 bit or Windows 8 64 bit. 3.4.0 just died on me across two rigs.

Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad

Have there been other reports of this perchance ?
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 06:47:02 PM
 #12170

FWIW, I've not been able to run a version of CGMiner higher than 3.3.1 for longer than 48 hours driving Erupter USB's on Windows 7 64 bit or Windows 8 64 bit. 3.4.0 just died on me across two rigs.

Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad

Have there been other reports of this perchance ?

Yeah, same here.. same setup (Win7 64bit).. never really checked the crash/dump though to confirm that dll.

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 08:42:13 PM
 #12171

Try a debug build and give me the debug output of a crash please?

Builds and instructions are here:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 03:55:51 AM
 #12172

Can't get CGMiner to work with more than 50 erupters...   Please see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=283475.msg3032453#msg3032453
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 05:09:44 AM
 #12173

Can't get CGMiner to work with more than 50 erupters...   Please see

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=283475.msg3032453#msg3032453
Weird, -8 is an overflow error coming from libusb. Not sure if it's a libusb or operating system limitation. I'm quite sure I've seen others use a lot more than 50 in other threads, but not sure which particular operating system/hardware.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 441


Ego auri metalla, ergo sum


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 05:19:35 PM
 #12174

I upgraded to 3.4.0 a few days ago for gpu scrypt mining. I'm still getting unrecovered stratum disconnects. It feels like fewer, but it's at least a miner a day. Is there anything I can do to prevent stratum disconnects or to restart if cgminer hangs on one?

Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
August 29, 2013, 07:45:00 PM
 #12175

I upgraded to 3.4.0 a few days ago for gpu scrypt mining. I'm still getting unrecovered stratum disconnects. It feels like fewer, but it's at least a miner a day. Is there anything I can do to prevent stratum disconnects or to restart if cgminer hangs on one?

That almost sounds like a pool or internet connection issue, not a cgminer issue.

If you are running Windows, I would suggest cgwatcher.  It will monitor your instance and restart if things go bad.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
galgitron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 08:00:31 PM
 #12176

Is anybody running more than 50 Erupters successfully with either Windows 7 64-bit cgminer or bfgminer? (latest versions...)  If so, how do your erupters appear in Device Manager?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 08:59:22 PM
 #12177

CGMiner seems to be randomly closing. I'm running cgminer-nogpu on Win 8x64 with a BFL Little Single and 2 AMUs. It runs in a batch file that loops, and the batch file keeps restarting it, so it is closing nicely, and I haven't lost any downtime. I think it's done it about 4-5 times since I updated to 3.4.0, which was about 8 days ago? The newest one was this morning, after I had left for work. It had been running for about 2 days solid before that.

It never did this before. The AMUs are pretty new. Is it the AMUs causing it, or upgrading to 3.4.0, or both?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 09:41:43 PM
 #12178

CGMiner seems to be randomly closing. I'm running cgminer-nogpu on Win 8x64 with a BFL Little Single and 2 AMUs. It runs in a batch file that loops, and the batch file keeps restarting it, so it is closing nicely, and I haven't lost any downtime. I think it's done it about 4-5 times since I updated to 3.4.0, which was about 8 days ago? The newest one was this morning, after I had left for work. It had been running for about 2 days solid before that.

It never did this before. The AMUs are pretty new. Is it the AMUs causing it, or upgrading to 3.4.0, or both?
Hard to know without excluding one thing at a time? Try running the AMUs in their own instance and see if one the other or both crashes? Also there are debug builds which would help me find out where it's crashing and fix it.
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
miter_myles
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
August 29, 2013, 09:51:40 PM
 #12179


Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad


Update - confirmed after today's crash, same DLL listed above.. I have a copy/paste of the WIN7 report if needed... haven't run the debug build yet.. doesnt look like Ill have time to tinker until next week...   I think my latest run went a day and a half..

BTC - 1D7g5395bs7idApTx1KTXrfDW7JUgzx6Z5
LTC - LVFukQnCWUimBxZuXKqTVKy1L2Jb8kZasL
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 29, 2013, 09:58:55 PM
 #12180


Any version that uses the new USB drivers eventually crashes on me with mwsock.dll causing the error under Windows Sad


Update - confirmed after today's crash, same DLL listed above.. I have a copy/paste of the WIN7 report if needed... haven't run the debug build yet.. doesnt look like Ill have time to tinker until next week...   I think my latest run went a day and a half..
Hmm... but that's in the networking code, lemme look back at the changelog and see how that code might have been affected.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 [609] 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!