Bitcoin Forum
May 18, 2024, 06:40:59 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 [574] 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805238 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
antome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 11:25:55 AM
Last edit: July 18, 2013, 12:27:38 PM by antome
 #11461

Like I said, I only sometimes use the 6770 for mining, though I did not mention that was for when I was not using the desktop.

While there may not be an ideal compromising driver/setup, could you recommend the most compromising driver/setup? And would this be the likely reason why windows freezes?

While I can't really confirm, the system only tends to freeze when it performs some sort of GPU task unrelated to the mining, randomly mind you (get 30 minutes into a fps, watching youtube, though that seems to be solved thanks to disabling hardware acceleration), random webpages and applications here and there. This doesn't happen often at all mind you, maybe once every half-2 hours. So I may be on another bad lead, but could applications be utilizing the 5770? Can I stop that? And is there a way to limit the amount of GPU usage CGminer uses? On afterburner It shows they use 99-100% of GPU even at the lowest of intensities.

Another thought was if it's a driver issue, cgminer/afterburner dynamically changing settings ala fan rate, clock rates could be a cause. I know I can set the gpu/memory/fan rates, but can I force them to not change in cgminer/afterburner? Would that help?

EDIT: also http://sites.amd.com/PublishingImages/Public/Graphic_Illustrations/WebBannerJPEG/AMD_CrossfireX_Chart_1618W.jpg shows that they can crossfire, which would suggest that one driver can effectively handle both cards.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1090


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 01:53:54 PM
 #11462

Hey guys, I can't seem to get CGMiner to work under scrypt no matter what I try. My cards (2 5970s WC'd) work perfectly fine with Bitcoin, but I try out scrypt mining for Litecoin nothing seems to be working Sad

Also I have 4GB of RAM and am running a AMD Sempron 145 if that helps.

This is what I am faced with:



These are the parameters I am using:
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt  -o stratum+tcp://stratum.give-me-ltc.com:3333 -u USERNAME -p PASSWORD -I 9

Also I am using SDK 2.1 and Drivers 11.12

I don't know jack didley squat about scrypt mining.  But, did you happen try decreasing TC or increasing LG?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4116
Merit: 1635


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 02:05:22 PM
 #11463

Hey guys, I can't seem to get CGMiner to work under scrypt no matter what I try. My cards (2 5970s WC'd) work perfectly fine with Bitcoin, but I try out scrypt mining for Litecoin nothing seems to be working Sad

Also I have 4GB of RAM and am running a AMD Sempron 145 if that helps.

This is what I am faced with:

[snip]

These are the parameters I am using:
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt  -o stratum+tcp://stratum.give-me-ltc.com:3333 -u USERNAME -p PASSWORD -I 9

Also I am using SDK 2.1 and Drivers 11.12
SDK 2.1 won't work with scrypt.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
.m.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 260



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 02:31:55 PM
 #11464

Hi,
I tried cgminer recently, and I am experiencing strange behaviour.
Starting like this:

cgminer/cgminer -v 1 -w 256 -d 0 -I d -o http://gw:9332 -u cgminer7850 -p 234rert2231 --fix-protocol -g 2

After some time I see sooo many rejected after some time running cgminer version 3.3.1 from git,
but I do not see it with DiabloMiner (connected to p2pool 13.1).
Please help me debug the problem? Any idea ?
Thanks a lot.

[2013-07-18 16:08:02] Rejected 06855c9f Diff 39/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:08:03] Rejected e1b4d00a Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:08:12] Rejected e55d5a4a Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:08:17] Rejected ed14700b Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:08:37] Rejected 0e0a955b Diff 18/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:08:58] Rejected 52ed1a61 Diff 3/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:09:10] Rejected aac0b4da Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:09:21] Rejected 88b7f159 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:09:27] Rejected 8bc41891 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:10:06] Rejected ecaee14a Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:10:18] Rejected e090bc3d Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:10:45] Rejected ca5e24d7 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:10:57] Rejected 6d2acff0 Diff 2/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:10:59] Rejected c0219bb2 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:11:20] Rejected 92a908b0 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:11:25] Rejected 254859be Diff 6/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:12:11] Rejected 9b4f7392 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:12:14] Rejected c579d217 Diff 1/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:12:54] Rejected 14002291 Diff 12/1 GPU 0
 [2013-07-18 16:13:07] Rejected 5794cd6d Diff 2/1 GPU 0

cgminer - PC

DiabloMiner - PC

DiabloMiner - server


When I stopped cgminer and started DiabloMiner - it works fine now.
Please help, what shall I try ?
Fedora 19 x 64
amd-driver-13.6beta
amd-sdk-5.0



███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██

-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4116
Merit: 1635


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 04:29:04 PM
 #11465

Hi,
I tried cgminer recently, and I am experiencing strange behaviour.
Starting like this:

cgminer/cgminer -v 1 -w 256 -d 0 -I d -o http://gw:9332 -u cgminer7850 -p 234rert2231 --fix-protocol -g 2

Get rid of --fix-protocol as p2pool should be using stratum by now.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 774
Merit: 500


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 06:36:08 PM
 #11466

and still no anwer from the gurus on my problem with cgminer and bfgminer
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 06:47:18 PM
 #11467

and still no anwer from the gurus on my problem with cgminer and bfgminer


Take our the "name" lines in your config file.  Make the first two pools look like the third one you listed.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
July 18, 2013, 10:21:36 PM
 #11468

Just got an ASICMiner USB Block Erupter.  CGMiner 3.3.1 reports the expected 333MH/s, but I've tried it on two different pools over the course of several hours, and both pools are reporting about 100MH/s.

I don't see any rejects or hardware errors.  The 5s average is varying wildly between 600MH/s and 50MH/s, but average is a solid 333MH/s. 

I'm running the ASICMiner in a USB3 port (ASMedia chipset) off an Asu SABERTOOTH 990FX board, Windows 7 Pro x64, WinUSB drivers.

I also noticed that Karin's version of cgminer is showing an error where half the shares go missing.  Could this be the same issue in the 'official' cgminer?  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=214268.msg2748110#msg2748110
Jcw188
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


Carpe Diem


View Profile
July 18, 2013, 11:08:17 PM
 #11469

Hey guys, I can't seem to get CGMiner to work under scrypt no matter what I try. My cards (2 5970s WC'd) work perfectly fine with Bitcoin, but I try out scrypt mining for Litecoin nothing seems to be working Sad

Also I have 4GB of RAM and am running a AMD Sempron 145 if that helps.

This is what I am faced with:

[snip]

These are the parameters I am using:
Code:
cgminer.exe --scrypt  -o stratum+tcp://stratum.give-me-ltc.com:3333 -u USERNAME -p PASSWORD -I 9

Also I am using SDK 2.1 and Drivers 11.12
SDK 2.1 won't work with scrypt.

I have a problem here that's similar.  WIndows xp 32 bit, AMD Radeon 6670.  When I try to install newest SDK it will only give me 2.4.x.  To do scrypt I need 2.6 SDK don't I?  Is there any workaround?  Thanks



████▄██████████▄
███▄████████████
▄███▀
████
████
████
▀███▄
███▀████████████
████▀██████████▀


▄██████████▄
████████████
███████████▀███▄
████████████████
████████████████
████████████████
▀███▄███████████
████████████████
████▀██████████▀


▄██▄█████████▄██▄
▀████▄█████▄████▀
▀████▄▄████▀
███████████
▄███▀█████▀███▄
█████████████████
█████████████████
█████████████████
▀███████████████▀


▄███████████████▄
█████████████████
████▀███▀██████▀
███████▄█████▀
████▄▄██████████▄
▀▀██████▀███████
▄██████▄███▄████
█████▀██████████
▀██▀███▀████████▀


████▄███████████
████████████████
▄███▀███████████
███████████████
██████████████
████████████████
███████████▄███▀
████████████
▀██████████▀
████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██




██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██
████████
|
.
Listed
on
BINANCE
KUCOIN
Gate.io
|
Aurum
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 453
Merit: 250


dfgfdgfdg


View Profile WWW
July 18, 2013, 11:47:04 PM
 #11470

I'm trying to compile cgminer for 5970s and 5830s. I tried AMD ADL SDK v2.8.1 but it crashes. ReadMe recommends v2.4 or 2.5, but, AMD does not provide it in the archives any more. Does anyone know where I can download AMD ADL SDK v2.5??? TIA

ghghghfgh
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 02:05:37 AM
 #11471

If your usb hub is a usb2 hub and not a usb3 hub you will be far better off moving to the latest version of cgminer instead. The only reason to stick with the old version of cgminer is if you have multiple usb1.1 devices on a usb3 hub for there remains an instability there that we've been unable to debug so far.

Is that the cause for this:

Code:
Jul 16 18:37:12 server1 cgminer[31418]: Accepted 03e8a8b7 Diff 65/1 AMU 2 pool 0
Jul 16 18:37:12 server1 cgminer[31418]: AMU1: Comms error (werr=-7 amt=0)
Jul 16 18:37:12 server1 cgminer[31418]: AMU0: Comms error (werr=-7 amt=0)
Jul 16 18:37:13 server1 cgminer[31418]: AMU2: libusb pipe error, trying to clear

Works fine with 1 USB Erupter on the USB3 hub but it doesn't like multiples.

Let me know if I can help with any debugging.

I had some erupters on a hub that wasn't delivering the power it should have.  Erupters on that hub would give me that error.  After I wired the hub up to my PSU I don't see them any more.

Might not be the only cause, but that was it for me.

It is a powered USB3 hub (with external 3A power brick) and I get those errors with only 2 Erupters plugged in, so it would not appear to be an issue with power draw. The USB3 hub is connected to an internal USB2 header on the motherboard.

I should probably mention this is on Ubuntu 12.04 (precise).

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4508
Merit: 1815


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 04:50:27 AM
Last edit: July 19, 2013, 05:16:49 AM by kano
 #11472

For erupter/icarus problems, try current git (with a USB2 hub)

I do know that Raspbian fails badly.

What the details of the problem are is that since the Icarus devices never return a finished message, if they don't find a share, they never return anything.
This is of course expected, however, it would seem that certain linux kernels on certain hardware do not support a usb request timeout on USB1.1 devices (yes weird isn't it)
On these kernels, cgminer simply never gets a reply form the call to libusb (or more correctly, the call to libusb never returns)

I've found on my RPi when I switched from Raspbian to Arch the problem went away.
http://www.kano-kun.net/?p=87

Edit: plugging the USB3.0 hub in locked up the RPi - but once it was plugged in and the RPi rebooted, it worked fine also.

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 05:16:46 AM
 #11473

For erupter/icarus problems, try current git (with a USB2 hub)

I do know that Raspbian fails badly.

What the details of the problem are is that since the Icarus devices never return a finished message, if they don't find a share, they never return anything.
This is of course expected, however, it would seem that certain linux kernels on certain hardware do not support a usb request timeout on USB1.1 devices (yes weird isn't it)
On these kernels, cgminer simply never gets a reply form the call to libusb (or more correctly, the call to libusb never returns)

I've found on my RPi when I switched from Raspbian to Arch the problem went away.
http://www.kano-kun.net/?p=87

Have the issues I see in this thread seem to be focused around those Block Erupters. Seems they're more trouble than they're worth?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4508
Merit: 1815


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 05:19:04 AM
 #11474

For erupter/icarus problems, try current git (with a USB2 hub)

I do know that Raspbian fails badly.

What the details of the problem are is that since the Icarus devices never return a finished message, if they don't find a share, they never return anything.
This is of course expected, however, it would seem that certain linux kernels on certain hardware do not support a usb request timeout on USB1.1 devices (yes weird isn't it)
On these kernels, cgminer simply never gets a reply form the call to libusb (or more correctly, the call to libusb never returns)

I've found on my RPi when I switched from Raspbian to Arch the problem went away.
http://www.kano-kun.net/?p=87

Have the issues I see in this thread seem to be focused around those Block Erupters. Seems they're more trouble than they're worth?
Worth? Smiley
Way too much and return way too little.
They currently mine only 0.00640097 BTC a day ... ouch!

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:05:48 AM
 #11475

Yeah, they're expensive, yeah they're slow, but they should still work. 

Why does cgminer report one thing, and pools report another.  There's obviously a bug or some weirdness somewhere...
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1002


View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:10:16 AM
 #11476

Yeah, they're expensive, yeah they're slow, but they should still work. 

Why does cgminer report one thing, and pools report another.  There's obviously a bug or some weirdness somewhere...


I'm not sure what's wrong with your setup, but git head works fine with my block erupters with p2pool.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4116
Merit: 1635


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2013, 07:42:54 AM
 #11477

Have the issues I see in this thread seem to be focused around those Block Erupters. Seems they're more trouble than they're worth?
I certainly don't think they're worth it, in fact I'd go so far as to call them a rip off, but there are now hundreds of threads discussing this very issue and there are people still buying them. Most have valid explanations, but it just looks like post purchase rationalisation to me. There are no doubt quite a few new buyers who had no clue about the likelihood of meaningful profit amongst them.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:44:40 AM
 #11478

I stuck the Erupter in a USB2 port this morning and it seems to be going better, BTCGuild is reporting 233MH/s in the space of about 20 minutes, which is much better.

Perhaps it's some funkiness with the USB3 on the SABERTOOTH?

I'm going to try it on an Intel machine this evening (B75 chipset) and see if it's any better.
.m.
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 260



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:45:28 AM
 #11479

Hi,
I tried cgminer recently, and I am experiencing strange behaviour.
Starting like this:

cgminer/cgminer -v 1 -w 256 -d 0 -I d -o http://gw:9332 -u cgminer7850 -p 234rert2231 --fix-protocol -g 2

Get rid of --fix-protocol as p2pool should be using stratum by now.

Thanks a lot for the tips.
The problem is cgminer - it just does not like p2pool or the fedora core 17 combination.
p2pool errors : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.msg2752965#msg2752965
Switched back to DiabloMiner.
I was using BFGminer some years ago with no problem (dunno now).


███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████▐████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
███████████████████████████████████████
DECENT
FOUNDATION



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[D]ecentralized application
[E]liminated third parties
[C]ontent distribution



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██


[E]ncrypted & secure
[N]o borders
[T]imeless reputation



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██



██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██

██
██
██

HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
July 19, 2013, 07:49:39 AM
 #11480


I certainly don't think they're worth it, in fact I'd go so far as to call them a rip off, but there are now hundreds of threads discussing this very issue and there are people still buying them. Most have valid explanations, but it just looks like post purchase rationalisation to me. There are no doubt quite a few new buyers who had no clue about the likelihood of meaningful profit amongst them.

I'm personally not interested in profit.  I bought mine with BTC I made from GPU mining, which I also don't see a profit in.  I buy these things for fun - like some people who spend money on rigs for SETI@Home, RC5, etc.  It's a silly little hobby.  Expensive silly little hobby, but you should see my collection of wifi routers, hard-drives, and motherboards.  It's extensive. Wink

Hell, I've even got a Jalapeno on order - I don't expect to see a profit when (if) it arrives later this year.  But I'll have fun playing with it.

I suppose, if that's your attitude to the Erupters, I can't see there being much hope of getting a fix, or you even looking to see if there's a bug.  Maybe BFGMiner will be better?
Pages: « 1 ... 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 [574] 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!