Bitcoin Forum
February 09, 2023, 02:46:14 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 [614] 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5804614 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 01:42:05 AM
 #12261

Someone have any idea why cgminer 3.4.2 closes when I enter pool login information? I think my eurupter is detected since its not giving me the your using the wrong driver error with the winUSB drivers but It just closes. I'm not sure if theres an error log to look at since it hasn't started doing anything yet.

PM me if you can give me a heads up.

I'm currently trying it on windows 7 since windows vista wouldn't let me set the shortcut commands.

Thanks

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
The Bitcoin network protocol was designed to be extremely flexible. It can be used to create timed transactions, escrow transactions, multi-signature transactions, etc. The current features of the client only hint at what will be possible in the future.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 01:44:16 AM
 #12262

Someone have any idea why cgminer 3.4.2 closes when I enter pool login information? I think my eurupter is detected since its not giving me the your using the wrong driver error with the winUSB drivers but It just closes. I'm not sure if theres an error log to look at since it hasn't started doing anything yet.

PM me if you can give me a heads up.

I'm currently trying it on windows 7 since windows vista wouldn't let me set the shortcut commands.

Thanks
Run it from a command prompt and the window can't close. You'll get far more useful information that way.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 02:03:03 AM
 #12263

I think its working now. I don't know what I was missing in the shortcut when I first did it since now its open and mining. Just clicking the executable would just close but now that I've got the shortcut running its got 41 shares going at 334 MHashes.

The only thing now I have to find is a way to run cgminer from the taskbar like I've done for GUIMiner and how to control multiple devices when I get more bitcoin miners (one instruction book said to tell it by com ports but that was before WinUSB was the needed).

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
The Mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 03:05:56 AM
 #12264

install ..... libudev

hey mate

Thanks for the advice

But after installing it I still get the same error.

Is there a specific version I need? Sorry, I am a linux noob.

What command should I be using to install it?

I used:

sudo apt-get install libudev-dev

It installed but cgminer still says:

./cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 03:25:44 AM
 #12265

install ..... libudev

hey mate

Thanks for the advice

But after installing it I still get the same error.

Is there a specific version I need? Sorry, I am a linux noob.

What command should I be using to install it?

I used:

sudo apt-get install libudev-dev

It installed but cgminer still says:

./cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
sudo apt-get install libudev1

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The Mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 04:47:33 AM
 #12266


sudo apt-get install libudev1


This is my error output with that command:

@-Ubuntu1:~/Desktop$ sudo apt-get install libudev1
[sudo] password for :
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
Package libudev1 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'libudev1' has no installation candidate

I have tried to run this beforehand:

sudo apt-get update

No luck Sad



On another note, ckolivas, I wanted to thank you for the windows version of 3.4.2. I installed it onto my HP N40L Microserver and have a tonne of block erupters running without a hitch. I only had to install Windows 7, then that WinUSB driver utility which didn't take long at all.

It detects and starts mining with the block erupters so quickly and without error. 3.4.0 used to crash every couple of days, but 3.4.2 doesn't seem to have that crash any more.

Thanks so much!


-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3696
Merit: 1449


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 04:55:56 AM
 #12267


sudo apt-get install libudev1


This is my error output with that command:

@-Ubuntu1:~/Desktop$ sudo apt-get install libudev1
[sudo] password for :
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree      
Reading state information... Done
Package libudev1 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'libudev1' has no installation candidate

I have tried to run this beforehand:

sudo apt-get update

No luck Sad



On another note, ckolivas, I wanted to thank you for the windows version of 3.4.2. I installed it onto my HP N40L Microserver and have a tonne of block erupters running without a hitch. I only had to install Windows 7, then that WinUSB driver utility which didn't take long at all.

It detects and starts mining with the block erupters so quickly and without error. 3.4.0 used to crash every couple of days, but 3.4.2 doesn't seem to have that crash any more.

Thanks so much!



You're welcome. Actually you're on an older ubuntu. That build is for ubuntu13.04, so you'll either have to upgrade ubuntu or build it yourself. The latter option is likely going to be less work.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
The Mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 05:01:29 AM
 #12268

Thank you very much for the info Smiley

I am keen to get 13.04 on it so I might just upgrade.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4060
Merit: 1701


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 05:05:06 AM
 #12269

Can i set the order of the pools directly in the cgminer-command without moving back and forth the pools with user/pass?
java API pools Smiley
Edit: though I should have also mentioned the exact command: poolpriority (API-README)

Now i know what you spoke about. This api has to be enabled in cgminer command first. But it looks i still have to install some form of java. JDK? It tells me only that java is unknown. I run cgminer on rpi.

I hoped there is an easy way to change the order directly in commandline since then i would have a clean stat again.
On RPi Arch: pacman -S jre7-openjdk-headless
The other way is using 'nc' but I've had trouble with that on RPi Arch ...

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 3556
Merit: 1081


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 12:39:49 PM
 #12270

The only thing now I have to find is a way to run cgminer from the taskbar like I've done for GUIMiner and how to control multiple devices when I get more bitcoin miners (one instruction book said to tell it by com ports but that was before WinUSB was the needed).

CGMiner will us all that are available by default.

Also look at the Advanced USB options in the readme.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
September 07, 2013, 07:06:14 PM
 #12271

./cgminer: error while loading shared libraries: libudev.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


sudo apt-get upgrade

Had a similar problem earlier with "the other miner" on a fresh Ubuntu Server 13.04 install.  The command above fixed it.
eneloop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1509
Merit: 1040



View Profile
September 07, 2013, 08:29:02 PM
 #12272

I tried to get my ASICMiner BEs to work with zadigs USB driver and cgminer 3.4.2. BEs are listed as USB devices in win7 device manager correctly.

"cgminer-nogpu.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --enable-icarus"
DOS windows shows up for a second. Without --enable-icarus cgminer starts but no devices found.

any ideas?
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 08:53:42 PM
 #12273

I tried to get my ASICMiner BEs to work with zadigs USB driver and cgminer 3.4.2. BEs are listed as USB devices in win7 device manager correctly.

"cgminer-nogpu.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --enable-icarus"
DOS windows shows up for a second. Without --enable-icarus cgminer starts but no devices found.

any ideas?

Are you running as an admin when you load? That one of the things I forgot to do. Check the properties for your shortcut if your using one and make sure the "run as admin" is checked off.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 07, 2013, 09:02:30 PM
 #12274

I tried to get my ASICMiner BEs to work with zadigs USB driver and cgminer 3.4.2. BEs are listed as USB devices in win7 device manager correctly.

"cgminer-nogpu.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --enable-icarus"
DOS windows shows up for a second. Without --enable-icarus cgminer starts but no devices found.

any ideas?

Are you running as an admin when you load? That one of the things I forgot to do. Check the properties for your shortcut if your using one and make sure the "run as admin" is checked off.

I just moved all my USB miners to a win7 PC with 3.4.2.  It's working flawlessly.  I'm not running as admin, and not using "-enable-icarus".  No parms at all aside from pointing to config file, that has nothing in it but pool addresses.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 09:08:09 PM
 #12275

I tried to get my ASICMiner BEs to work with zadigs USB driver and cgminer 3.4.2. BEs are listed as USB devices in win7 device manager correctly.

"cgminer-nogpu.exe -o eu-stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u xxxxx -p xxxxx --enable-icarus"
DOS windows shows up for a second. Without --enable-icarus cgminer starts but no devices found.

any ideas?

Are you running as an admin when you load? That one of the things I forgot to do. Check the properties for your shortcut if your using one and make sure the "run as admin" is checked off.

I just moved all my USB miners to a win7 PC with 3.4.2.  It's working flawlessly.  I'm not running as admin, and not using "-enable-icarus".  No parms at all aside from pointing to config file, that has nothing in it but pool addresses.

M

--enable-icarus is only for compiling cgminer, it is not a command line argument.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
eneloop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1509
Merit: 1040



View Profile
September 07, 2013, 09:10:39 PM
 #12276

Ah, ok.

Got it to work now. cgminer won't recognise BEs they are already plugged in before cgminer is running. I just switched my 10 port hub off and on again and here we go. Smiley
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 07, 2013, 09:24:25 PM
 #12277

Ah, ok.

Got it to work now. cgminer won't recognise BEs they are already plugged in before cgminer is running. I just switched my 10 port hub off and on again and here we go. Smiley

That's not what I saw either.

I plugged my first 4 into my hub, and fired up cgminer.  Found them without a problem.

While it was running, I added another 2.  They showed up and started mining away.

I then plugged a hub in with another 10.  That was too much, I guess it saw them before windows gave them the right USB driver.  It crashed.  I restarted cgminer, as was well.

I then plugged in another hub with another 10.  That worked flawlessly, no crashing.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 09:31:10 PM
 #12278


I just moved all my USB miners to a win7 PC with 3.4.2.  It's working flawlessly.  I'm not running as admin, and not using "-enable-icarus".  No parms at all aside from pointing to config file, that has nothing in it but pool addresses.

M

What page do I look into to make and use a config file. I have no idea why you would not need and I do need admin, but since I have a build version all that should be recognized without the icaris options?

I just know it works with the options in the string on admin mode for cgminer.

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
September 07, 2013, 10:52:01 PM
 #12279


I just moved all my USB miners to a win7 PC with 3.4.2.  It's working flawlessly.  I'm not running as admin, and not using "-enable-icarus".  No parms at all aside from pointing to config file, that has nothing in it but pool addresses.

M

What page do I look into to make and use a config file. I have no idea why you would not need and I do need admin, but since I have a build version all that should be recognized without the icaris options?

I just know it works with the options in the string on admin mode for cgminer.

Not quite sure what you are asking. If you are using Windows, the Windows downloads from ckolivas git already come configured I believe to recognize USB devices, as well as scrypt mining, there shouldnt be anything more you need to do but to make sure your command line has the correct arguments.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
techman05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2013, 11:08:57 PM
 #12280

I was more asking how you get to the config file and use it for other devices. It says its in a hidden folder but in windows I have all hidden folders to be set to be seen. I want to when I get more devices transplant them into something like a raspberry pi .

Like the info address for potential tips Wink
BTC 1CL5BnNhdL2wDVmSDwMbW1cNhZew87CAPV
* http://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=563
Pages: « 1 ... 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 [614] 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!