Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2019, 05:53:12 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 ... 1136 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3403685 times)
tron666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 02:46:34 PM
Last edit: February 04, 2014, 03:02:51 PM by tron666
 #3741

When recompiling this, is there anything wrong with doing a git pull, running autogen, configure and then make.  Or is it better to just delete and start from scratch.
Doesnt git make sure your not mixing any files?

BTW the new commits are definately improving the performance on Fermi, but still under what it was with 2014-01-20.

CCO   MNVPaetsHpxr97mRDqqPuV6PQoSVbFgPVE    NEM-test  TBZXHE-TD6AO6-PHSFZL-SZ7MWS-JEEI7C-EFCUC2-7Y7V
LTC    LcAQUMNhqDYesRRYMxMAsE5rhAAseDMDp7
XPM   AHDtLd993oYke4Zrm5dDG5WGtgyaUaMTCK
NXT   16706883867271464458
DOGE DBGiKBD1HZ8yfTdTcX5m8T7mY4X4cUVnEz
1550857992
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550857992

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550857992
Reply with quote  #2

1550857992
Report to moderator
1550857992
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550857992

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550857992
Reply with quote  #2

1550857992
Report to moderator
1550857992
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550857992

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550857992
Reply with quote  #2

1550857992
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550857992
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550857992

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550857992
Reply with quote  #2

1550857992
Report to moderator
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 02:51:51 PM
 #3742

Well I just got ripped off of a YACoin block, it said the Yay!!! thing but the damn client never actually showed the block.
The client even said it found a block but it never appeared in my wallet, so sad...
Yacoin takes ~520 confirms. That usually takes a few hours after a found block.

The same happened to me with an UltraCoin block. My wallet lists 3 transaction in total, but only 2 incoming transactions from mining are actually displayed.

If you find a way to recover that missing transaction, please let me know.


command-line command:   -rescan                Rescan the block chain for missing wallet transactions


Have you tried this?

trell0z
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 02:53:15 PM
 #3743

Mate any idea why although
I have 2 GTX 780 (and two cuda miners) one shows 520 khps and the other 605? Can it be that the one that the monitor is plugged loses hash power because of it? Any idea what is going on?

I have 3 GTX 780Ti in one PC and two of them hash 10-20 kHash/s less than the fastest one. I attribute this to subtle differences in the PCI express connectivity.

But 100 kHash/s difference - ouch? played with the -H options yet?

Since they are the same I use the same configuration. My problem is that if i start either one alone. It does reach 605. If I start em together They both reach 605 but after 2-3 minutes the gpu clock drops and the Voltage and the hash with them (drops to 520). It s the upper card and the the monitor is plugged in meaning the pcie is the most powerful. Also this card appears to have more temp (85C) than the one that works with max hash (75C). (but probably due to the limited space that it has to breath).

EDIT: I also saw the 2 next answers. Thanks I ll try to play with the H (althouh I doubt i ll see any difference).

Have you tried undervolting your cards? With the new kernel I can undervolt massively and still have a high overclock (gtx 780). Currently running +310 on core which gives me 1254mhz, no memory oc, -50mv voltage which makes it 1.100 on load.
The lowered heat might make your cards stay at higher clocks more, you should also use afterburner to set the priority to the power target and not the temp target.
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1040


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2014, 04:25:19 PM
 #3744

Something strange (or not that's the question...).
For most of the coins, the formerly known as Z kernel is the fastest especially with script coins.
However, for Vertcoin (script:2048)  it is way much slower (difference>50khash) than the formerly known as T kernel.
Is there any reason for this ?

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 04:31:39 PM
Last edit: February 04, 2014, 05:01:41 PM by cbuchner1
 #3745

Something strange (or not that's the question...).
For most of the coins, the formerly known as Z kernel is the fastest especially with script coins.
However, for Vertcoin (script:2048)  it is way much slower (difference>50khash) than the formerly known as T kernel.
Is there any reason for this ?

so you're saying the current "T" (alias name Z) kernel is slower than the current "t" kernel (formerly known as T) for VertCoin?

or do you compare current cudaminer performance with some older prerelease version?

either way, this is surprising. There should not be much of a difference between N=1024 and N=2048 scrypt coins, really. At high N the low register count kernels have a significant advantage - they reach higher occupancy under tight memory constraints. And they can do a lookup gap without running into much register pressure. But N=2048 isn't high...

Christian
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1040


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2014, 04:37:04 PM
 #3746

yes the Z kernel is the slowest for the Vertcoin (it has always been the case since it was introduced)

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 05:44:47 PM
 #3747

either way, this is surprising. There should not be much of a difference between N=1024 and N=2048 scrypt coins, really. At high N the low register count kernels have a significant advantage - they reach higher occupancy under tight memory constraints. And they can do a lookup gap without running into much register pressure. But N=2048 isn't high...

Christian


GTX 660:
N:1024, Y5x32, ~240 kH/s
N:2048, Y5x32, ~128 kH/s

Edit: Y5x32 seems to be the fastest kernel/config, even though autotune tends to find Y5x28 the fastest most of the time.

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
sin242
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:03:03 PM
 #3748

either way, this is surprising. There should not be much of a difference between N=1024 and N=2048 scrypt coins, really. At high N the low register count kernels have a significant advantage - they reach higher occupancy under tight memory constraints. And they can do a lookup gap without running into much register pressure. But N=2048 isn't high...

Christian


GTX 660:
N:1024, Y5x32, ~240 kH/s
N:2048, Y5x32, ~128 kH/s

Edit: Y5x32 seems to be the fastest kernel/config, even though autotune tends to find Y5x28 the fastest most of the time.


Hi there, long time lurker.  Reg'd to post up for this.


I'm seeing the same trend on GTX 670s.
 
1024 would get me ~280 with best results from Y14x20
2048 it's ~133 with the best results from K7x32

Dark:  Xk9BoVerBd41JCjWQEhnxoowP7YNUK439z
BTC:  1JzPN2h8WGSi7kQeY5wuP4PjVD2hxkHJQM
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:04:21 PM
 #3749


1024 would get me ~280 with best results from Y14x20
2048 it's ~133 with the best results from K7x32

isn't Y an alias for K? Wink
sin242
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:13:14 PM
 #3750


1024 would get me ~280 with best results from Y14x20
2048 it's ~133 with the best results from K7x32

isn't Y an alias for K? Wink


Actually, it's funny you mention that.  If i try to run Y7x32, it fails horribly aand crashes the driver

Dark:  Xk9BoVerBd41JCjWQEhnxoowP7YNUK439z
BTC:  1JzPN2h8WGSi7kQeY5wuP4PjVD2hxkHJQM
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:21:25 PM
 #3751


1024 would get me ~280 with best results from Y14x20
2048 it's ~133 with the best results from K7x32

isn't Y an alias for K? Wink


Actually, it's funny you mention that.  If i try to run Y7x32, it fails horribly aand crashes the driver

according to the code, it shouldn't crash.... K and Y really do the same thing.

Code:
           switch (kernelid)
            {
                case 'T': case 'Z': *kernel = new NV2Kernel(); break;
                case 't':           *kernel = new TitanKernel(); break;
                case 'K': case 'Y': *kernel = new NVKernel(); break;
                case 'k':           *kernel = new KeplerKernel(); break;
                case 'F': case 'L': *kernel = new FermiKernel(); break;
                case 'f': case 'X': *kernel = new TestKernel(); break;
                case ' ': // choose based on device architecture
                    *kernel = Best_Kernel_Heuristics(props);
                break;
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1040


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2014, 06:22:00 PM
 #3752

either way, this is surprising. There should not be much of a difference between N=1024 and N=2048 scrypt coins, really. At high N the low register count kernels have a significant advantage - they reach higher occupancy under tight memory constraints. And they can do a lookup gap without running into much register pressure. But N=2048 isn't high...

Christian


GTX 660:
N:1024, Y5x32, ~240 kH/s
N:2048, Y5x32, ~128 kH/s

Edit: Y5x32 seems to be the fastest kernel/config, even though autotune tends to find Y5x28 the fastest most of the time.
same here with my gtx 660 oem 1.5gb for the kernel, although in 2048 it is rather Y6x20
but it is well known that the gtx660oem is not really a gtx660  Grin

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
sin242
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:28:09 PM
 #3753


1024 would get me ~280 with best results from Y14x20
2048 it's ~133 with the best results from K7x32

isn't Y an alias for K? Wink


Actually, it's funny you mention that.  If i try to run Y7x32, it fails horribly aand crashes the driver

according to the code, it shouldn't crash.... K and Y really do the same thing.

Code:
           switch (kernelid)
            {
                case 'T': case 'Z': *kernel = new NV2Kernel(); break;
                case 't':           *kernel = new TitanKernel(); break;
                case 'K': case 'Y': *kernel = new NVKernel(); break;
                case 'k':           *kernel = new KeplerKernel(); break;
                case 'F': case 'L': *kernel = new FermiKernel(); break;
                case 'f': case 'X': *kernel = new TestKernel(); break;
                case ' ': // choose based on device architecture
                    *kernel = Best_Kernel_Heuristics(props);
                break;




After tinkering some more K7x32 isn't working.  Has to be something on my end.  There's a seperate 670 in another machine that's happily hashing away with K7x32, but now the 670s won't. Going to reinstall drivers/cuda and see if anything changes

Dark:  Xk9BoVerBd41JCjWQEhnxoowP7YNUK439z
BTC:  1JzPN2h8WGSi7kQeY5wuP4PjVD2hxkHJQM
sebs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:34:04 PM
 #3754

Hi, I have a problem and I'm out of ideas of how to fix it. The cudaminer gives me this error:
Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# ./CudaMiner-master/cudaminer --help
  *** CudaMiner for nVidia GPUs by Christian Buchner ***
            This is version 2014-02-02 (beta)
based on pooler-cpuminer 2.3.2 (c) 2010 Jeff Garzik, 2012 pooler
   Cuda additions Copyright 2013,2014 Christian Buchner
 LTC donation address: LKS1WDKGED647msBQfLBHV3Ls8sveGncnm
 BTC donation address: 16hJF5mceSojnTD3ZTUDqdRhDyPJzoRakM
 YAC donation address: Y87sptDEcpLkLeAuex6qZioDbvy1qXZEj4
[2014-02-04 15:08:32] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?
I have CUDA installed:
Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# nvcc -V
nvcc: NVIDIA (R) Cuda compiler driver
Copyright (c) 2005-2013 NVIDIA Corporation
Built on Wed_Jul_17_18:36:13_PDT_2013
Cuda compilation tools, release 5.5, V5.5.0
And the Nvidia Driver updated:
Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# nvidia-settings -v
nvidia-settings:  version 331.38  (buildmeister@swio-display-x64-rhel04-15)  Wed Jan  8 19:53:03 PST 2014
I've already searched the forum and I'm sure I
 - have correctly installed autoconf and automake
 - first run autogen.sh, then configure and the make.
 - have the path for CUDA to work correctly exported system wide

I've been dealing with this for more than a day so any suggestions are welcome!!

[ps]
Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# uname -a
Linux fedora 3.12.9-301.fc20.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed Jan 29 15:56:22 UTC 2014 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:35:39 PM
 #3755

I posted a new release 2014-02-04 fixing two important bugs.

- autotune underreporting kHash/s values if the kernel finished in under 50ms (forgot to divide time elapsed by number of measurements, doh!)
- Multi-GPU support was not working - it is now.

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:37:04 PM
 #3756

[2014-02-04 15:08:32] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?

creating the nvidia device nodes manually may be required.

see here
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.msg4750585;topicseen#msg4750585
sebs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:42:15 PM
 #3757

[2014-02-04 15:08:32] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?

creating the nvidia device nodes manually may be required.

see here
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.msg4750585;topicseen#msg4750585
Thanks for a fast reply!!

I've already tried. With this configuration:
Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# cat ./nvidia_nodes
#!/bin/bash
timestamp=`date`
modprobe nvidia-uvm

if [ ! -c /dev/nvidiactl ]
then
    echo "Server $HOSTNAME device files re-created at $timestamp"
    
    # Count the number of NVIDIA controllers found.
    N3D=`lspci | grep -i NVIDIA | grep "3D controller" | wc -l`
    NVGA=`lspci | grep -i NVIDIA | grep "VGA compatible controller" | wc -l`

    N=`expr $N3D + $NVGA - 1`
    for i in `seq 0 $N`; do
        mknod -m 666 /dev/nvidia$i c 195 $i;
    done
    mknod -m 666 /dev/nvidiactl c 195 255
else
    echo "Files exists"
    exit 1
fi

... and this result:
Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# ./nvidia_nodes
Files exists

Anything else I could check?
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:43:27 PM
 #3758

Anything else I could check?
what device nodes starting with nvidia are in your /dev folder? only the nvidiactl node or also a node representing a GPU?

is the nvidia kernel module loaded?

any nvidia related error messages in your kernel log or system log?

Christian
sebs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:49:27 PM
 #3759

Anything else I could check?
what device nodes starting with nvidia are in your /dev folder? only the nvidiactl node or also a node representing a GPU?

is the nvidia kernel module loaded?

Christian


Code:
[root@fedora cudaminer]# ls -lh /dev/nvidia*
crw-rw-rw-. 1 root root 195,   0 feb  4 14:35 /dev/nvidia0
crw-rw-rw-. 1 root root 195, 255 feb  4 14:35 /dev/nvidiactl
[root@fedora cudaminer]# lsmod | grep nvidia
nvidia_uvm             34728  0
nvidia              10677446  57 nvidia_uvm
drm                   283349  2 nvidia
i2c_core               38476  3 drm,i2c_i801,nvidia

(sorry for the delay, the forum doesn't let me post to many replies in a short time)
Crixxus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:53:51 PM
 #3760

Nice work Smiley
Running scrypt jane (UTC) on GTX 680 at 400kh(430 normally) using -i 0 -C 0 -m 0 -H 2  -l K8x32
Pages: « 1 ... 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 [188] 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 ... 1136 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!