Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2021, 05:31:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 [139] 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 ... 1429 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Claymore's Dual Ethereum AMD+NVIDIA GPU Miner v15.0 (Windows/Linux)  (Read 6583727 times)
Arska
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 10:46:22 AM
 #2761

When can we, exactly  expect temperature dependent eth mode/eth+dcri mode  switching?

I'm testing what approach is more effective, for now it looks lowering -dcri automatically is better, so probably I will select it instead of disabling DCR mining at all. An update will be available in 1-2 days.
f

But dual mode   costs 2percent fee instead of 1% so if lowered dcri will give decresese earning increase it could be unprofitable..
Yea thats why I suggested to have a thereshold value for -dcri so people can adjust it depending on their own electricity costs/profitability.

For example if you calculate that you need at least -dcri 30 for it to cover the extra 1 % then you would set -dcri changing between 30-50 or something. When your card couldnt keep the temperature setting even at -dcri 30 it would then change to the 1 % ether only mode.
1631943092
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631943092

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631943092
Reply with quote  #2

1631943092
Report to moderator
1631943092
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631943092

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631943092
Reply with quote  #2

1631943092
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1631943092
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1631943092

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1631943092
Reply with quote  #2

1631943092
Report to moderator
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 02:21:54 PM
 #2762

When can we, exactly  expect temperature dependent eth mode/eth+dcri mode  switching?

I'm testing what approach is more effective, for now it looks lowering -dcri automatically is better, so probably I will select it instead of disabling DCR mining at all. An update will be available in 1-2 days.
f

But dual mode   costs 2percent fee instead of 1% so if lowered dcri will give decresese earning increase it could be unprofitable..
Yea thats why I suggested to have a thereshold value for -dcri so people can adjust it depending on their own electricity costs/profitability.

For example if you calculate that you need at least -dcri 30 for it to cover the extra 1 % then you would set -dcri changing between 30-50 or something. When your card couldnt keep the temperature setting even at -dcri 30 it would then change to the 1 % ether only mode.

Right now devfee is not card-related, it is either 36 or 72 seconds. With your approach, if some cards mine DCR and some not, time must be recalculated and it will be between 36 and 72 seconds. Ok, I'm going to do it, but it will require more time to implement it.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
Ajeto
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 02:51:27 PM
 #2763

Claymore, could you please add an option to show Hashrate for individual cards in monitoring please? It helps to spot a problem tremendously!

Already done, set checkbox on "Options" tab.
Great, did not notice it before!
azibert
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 04:11:32 PM
 #2764

Sorry if you have already discussed, someone has a step by step guide to install claymore in ubuntu?
d57heinz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1450
Merit: 1011


Bitcoin Talks Bullshit Walks


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 04:56:58 PM
 #2765

Confirmed, today after reboot Windows 10 closed v4.5 (on one rig it even removed .exe). I disabled "Windows Update" service in past, but it didn't help, Windows downloaded some update anyway. Damn, how to stop it? It seems I can disable all services and it still downloads all that it wants.

just move to Linux :-)

See my edited questions above.  Would love to see how everyone's experience is with Linux.  Trying to find best stability if I'm going to scale more than 100+ GPUs.  

Or disable the garbage windows defender and windows update =).

For stress free mining 24/7, do the following:

1. Install Windows 7 x64
2. Disable windows defender and windows update
3. Install 15.12 drivers
4. Run 6x GPU mod if needed from https://lbr.id.lv/6xgpu_mod/6xGPU_mod.html
5. Install free Comodo Anti-Virus (Optional)
6. Disable all automatic power options for sleep/hibernate for a certain amount of time. (To make sure computer stays on 24/7)
7. Increase pagefile to 16gb.
8. Run Claymore Dual Mining and configure to your options.
9. Grab a beer and chill
10. Profit

That's basically it, unless you use your computer for other things besides mining, but if it's just for mining only, no need for all the other junk to be on there.


You da man.  I disabled Windows Update but Defender caught me off guard as many today.  The 6GPU trick was what I wanted Linux for but since you reference another method, that is just pure awesomeness!  Now I will just stick with Windows for now.  Currently I'm only mining Eth, is it even worth mining Decred at the expense of hottest GPU and more power consumed?  

@adamvp - There's no need to waste money on more than 4GB of RAM.  My rig performed the same with 4, 8 or 16GB of RAM for 5x R9 390 cards.  So I just split my RAM for 4 rigs instead.

Edit - Actually I just read the 6GPU trick.  That's not my issue.  My issue is that Windows won't boot or be able to see the screen with the 6GPU in.  I've been told to make 6GPU to work will required a headless option and Linux.  Anyone got it to work with Windows 10 with the ASR H81 BTC pro board?

http://imgur.com/o4LyhAH


I have that exact board running 6 gpu in win 10. Did you manage to get this to work.. I use powered risers and power to the two molex on the mobo.  Then my monitor is connected to the 1st full 16x slot card.  I did however once i got it setup hook a headless to it so that it would boot w/o monitor but that was only after i spent a few days tweaking it..

Best Regards
d57heinz.

As in nature, all is ebb and tide, all is wave motion, so it seems that in all branches of industry, alternating currents - electric wave motion - will have the sway. ~Nikola Tesla~
soyab0007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 12, 2016, 06:18:08 PM
 #2766

For stress free mining 24/7, do the following:

1. Install Windows 7 x64
2. Disable windows defender and windows update
3. Install 15.12 drivers
4. Run 6x GPU mod if needed from https://lbr.id.lv/6xgpu_mod/6xGPU_mod.html
5. Install free Comodo Anti-Virus (Optional)
6. Disable all automatic power options for sleep/hibernate for a certain amount of time. (To make sure computer stays on 24/7)
7. Increase pagefile to 16gb.
8. Run Claymore Dual Mining and configure to your options.
9. Grab a beer and chill
10. Profit

That's basically it, unless you use your computer for other things besides mining, but if it's just for mining only, no need for all the other junk to be on there.


Above looks best solution to me....  cheers
Trimegistus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1566
Merit: 1026



View Profile
June 12, 2016, 06:25:39 PM
 #2767

For stress free mining 24/7, do the following:

1. Install Windows 7 x64
2. Disable windows defender and windows update
3. Install 15.12 drivers
4. Run 6x GPU mod if needed from https://lbr.id.lv/6xgpu_mod/6xGPU_mod.html
5. Install free Comodo Anti-Virus (Optional)
6. Disable all automatic power options for sleep/hibernate for a certain amount of time. (To make sure computer stays on 24/7)
7. Increase pagefile to 16gb.
8. Run Claymore Dual Mining and configure to your options.
9. Grab a beer and chill
10. Profit

That's basically it, unless you use your computer for other things besides mining, but if it's just for mining only, no need for all the other junk to be on there.


Above looks best solution to me....  cheers

I did something similar to this, without any Comodo AV, and my rigs work flawlessly.

But I guess we'll have to change something in our setups if we want to use the new R9 480 GPU, right?

I mean, will this new GPU work under the 15.12 drivers? I'm assuming we'll have to install the latest AMD drivers in order to take advantage of the new Polaris stuff.

I'm planning on buying some as soon as they are available but I wonder how long will it take for our miners to be fully optimized for the new architecture.

@Claymore: How will your miner perform with this new GPU? Any comments on this?

fredeq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1521
Merit: 1005


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2016, 07:03:59 PM
 #2768

Could someone please post 390 wattage mining ETH only / dual with DCR? (stock and undervolted would be best)

https://whattomine.com - Check what to mine Smiley
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3360
Merit: 2057


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 07:57:51 PM
 #2769

Sorry if you have already discussed, someone has a step by step guide to install claymore in ubuntu?

hardest part is installing the video driver. i followed a youtube video. ill try to find the link and post it. once that stuff is installed just decompress claymore to /home or desktop, set up the config and pool text files.

i used ubunto 15.10. btw DONT update the install, i did and it broke claymore. may of been operator error though.
BitJunkie223
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 10

Vertcoin stealthy master race.


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2016, 08:23:33 PM
 #2770

Sorry if you have already discussed, someone has a step by step guide to install claymore in ubuntu?

hardest part is installing the video driver. i followed a youtube video. ill try to find the link and post it. once that stuff is installed just decompress claymore to /home or desktop, set up the config and pool text files.

i used ubunto 15.10. btw DONT update the install, i did and it broke claymore. may of been operator error though.

Exactly what I needed to know...

But wait... I put the folder where I thought I could run it, but I still can't straight up run any of it... Good lord, I remember I used to complain about people not using Linux (because of Microsoft bullcrap). Now that I find myself having to use it, it literally makes no sense for any normal person to adopt it for anything other than web browsing and some office work...

I can't even get a file to run, let alone try to install video drivers... Cry

http://cryptos4all.com - The ultimate cryptocurrency faucet!

BTC: 1Q2RkkSo4LSY1m5Q7JtMLZw1QjV1Lfnmgd
Q_R_V
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429
Merit: 250


Inactivity: 8963


View Profile
June 12, 2016, 09:57:11 PM
 #2771

Could someone please post 390 wattage mining ETH only / dual with DCR? (stock and undervolted would be best)
ETH only: 235W
Dual: 275W
Both undervolted
fredeq
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1521
Merit: 1005


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2016, 10:01:03 PM
 #2772

Could someone please post 390 wattage mining ETH only / dual with DCR? (stock and undervolted would be best)
ETH only: 235W
Dual: 275W
Both undervolted

Thanks!
Think I will buy more 380 then.

https://whattomine.com - Check what to mine Smiley
adamvp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 708



View Profile
June 12, 2016, 10:46:48 PM
 #2773

Sorry if you have already discussed, someone has a step by step guide to install claymore in ubuntu?
Do you have ATI or nVidia cards?
I could tell that I made it in about 15minutes..
  • First I installed fglrx driver:
Code:
$ sudo apt-get install fglrx-updates
$ sudo aticonfig --adapter=all --initial
$ aticonfig --list-adapters


I am looking for signature campaign Wink pm me
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3360
Merit: 2057


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 01:12:44 AM
 #2774

Sorry if you have already discussed, someone has a step by step guide to install claymore in ubuntu?

hardest part is installing the video driver. i followed a youtube video. ill try to find the link and post it. once that stuff is installed just decompress claymore to /home or desktop, set up the config and pool text files.

i used ubunto 15.10. btw DONT update the install, i did and it broke claymore. may of been operator error though.

Exactly what I needed to know...

But wait... I put the folder where I thought I could run it, but I still can't straight up run any of it... Good lord, I remember I used to complain about people not using Linux (because of Microsoft bullcrap). Now that I find myself having to use it, it literally makes no sense for any normal person to adopt it for anything other than web browsing and some office work...

I can't even get a file to run, let alone try to install video drivers... Cry

claymores miner already has correct permissions when you decompress the files. i execute it like this from its folder:

Code:
./ethdcrmier64

no command line parameters i set everything in the config.txt, dpool.txt and epool.txt

this is the video i followed, it sets up 15.12
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tc8s5yhylbo

nothing else is needed for claymore.
bitwitt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 02:39:23 AM
 #2775

By the time you get the new card, you will mine the same amount with the same price as the difficulty will be much higher.

You have a valid point there.  By the time they come out and a ginny pig spends $200 to find out if it will mine ETH and we get word of it, it's quite possible my 3,000 MH/s from 100 x MSI 390's will have mined approximately $10,000 worth of ETH at current difficulty, block time and price of ETH.

That's $10,000 towards a $34,000 to $35,000 investment.  That investment could be paid off in 4 months.

I'm an ignoramus as to how ETH works.  Any idea who or what determines when ETH changes from POW to POS?  Of course, I could research to find out for myself.  However, if someone knows the answer, I would appreciate the info.



Its simple really.

They will release the new software for nodes to update to and if they mine then wont update and POS will be delayed.  The guys at ETH put a difficulty bomb to make mining impossibility hard in the future so the majority will update or the network will freeze and kill the coin.  In crypto generally once 51% of the network decides to use a update then it becomes official, its like share holders making a vote in a publicly traded company.

Sounds like all of us need to begin kick starting our own ETH nodes to have a vote to keep the mining going a bit.  eh?   Grin

Be careful with this Idiot  dmwardjr . He had over 3000 posts on the bitcoin boards. He took his wife 401k and spent it on miners trying to become a bitcoin millionaire. He wasted many hours of peoples time trying to make a a bad investment  good. A true bitcoin MORON. if you reply to him  do it at your own risk.  
He filled 5 pages of BS on how he was going to move to Washington St. and start a mining farm. HA HA . DON'T REPLY TO THIS IDIOT !!!


  
  
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1080


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 04:10:58 AM
 #2776

Could someone please post 390 wattage mining ETH only / dual with DCR? (stock and undervolted would be best)

MSI 390, AB settings: -100mV, 1050, 1125 @ 30MHs
5 x 390 with above settings drawing about 1350w@150MHs
ETH mining mode only. CDM v4.4
Currently running 230 hours, 30k shares and 2-3 rejects (0.01%)

If I provided you good and useful info or just a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 04:35:43 AM
 #2777

MSI 390, AB settings: -100mV, 1050, 1125 @ 30MHs

What is the purpose to downclock Memory Clock to 1125 (I assume the stock value was 1500)?
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1080


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 04:55:29 AM
 #2778

MSI 390, AB settings: -100mV, 1050, 1125 @ 30MHs

What is the purpose to downclock Memory Clock to 1125 (I assume the stock value was 1500)?

Stock is 1500 and 1125 works fine, and it helps bring the total power draw around 1300w for 5 x 390s.
The 390 has plenty of VRAM and 1125 is good enough for it to perform DAG activities.
I observe CDM take a bit more time to write the DAG files, but once it's in there no issues since its on board VRAM.
The 390 is a power hungry card so I needed to tame it down as much as possible without too much reduction in MHs.
The combination of "-100mV, 1050, 1125" without any ROM mod is perfect for now.
I haven't tried Heliox rom mods yet - but if it can further reduce power consumption for the 390, it's worth a try.


If I provided you good and useful info or just a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 895
Merit: 504


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 05:40:19 AM
 #2779

MSI 390, AB settings: -100mV, 1050, 1125 @ 30MHs

What is the purpose to downclock Memory Clock to 1125 (I assume the stock value was 1500)?

Stock is 1500 and 1125 works fine, and it helps bring the total power draw around 1300w for 5 x 390s.
The 390 has plenty of VRAM and 1125 is good enough for it to perform DAG activities.
I observe CDM take a bit more time to write the DAG files, but once it's in there no issues since its on board VRAM.
The 390 is a power hungry card so I needed to tame it down as much as possible without too much reduction in MHs.
The combination of "-100mV, 1050, 1125" without any ROM mod is perfect for now.
I haven't tried Heliox rom mods yet - but if it can further reduce power consumption for the 390, it's worth a try.



What is your power limit (- %) if you are using MSI Afterburner?

For quality risers, splitters or 133 CFM fans, please visit my eBay listings,
http://www.ebay.com/sch/hawkfish007/m.html?_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1
nhando
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2016, 06:05:52 AM
 #2780

Here are my settings.  I have mostly Asus Strix R9 390 and a few MSI cards.  I will test the same when my Gigabyte, Visiontek and XFX cards arrive next week.

Stock settings

28.7-30.5MH

I use MSI Afterburner even though most of my cards are Asus.

-100mV
-30%
1100
1500

5 GPU Righ with 4 Asus and 1 MSI R9 390 with ASR H81 and Intel Celeron 1820 does 1340W at the wall.  So I'm getting 154MH which is 4-6 more than stock setting while saving some wattages too.  Very awesome.  The MSI cards are hit, they perform anywhere between 29-31.5 with the same exact settings on different machines.  The Asus seems more consistent but runs a little hotter hence why it have 3 FANs vs 2 on the MSI.  I'm not sure if the driver 15.12 is still the best way to go anymore, doesn't seem as stable at that version for me.  I got 1-2 MH more using the latest driver.

P.S I set my fan to manual and run it at 100% just to test reliability on this RIG compare to Auto on the other rig to see if they would last longer than 6 months that way.  I'm guessing it will as most MTBF are done at 80-100% fan speed but I'm sure there will be plenty of naysayers so it's best to let real life testing to validate.  I rather have a dead fan then a dead GPU as these GPUs are running in Texas heat of 90-105F.  So far they are doing well but I'm sure it will be much more challenging the more GPUs I add.
 

Just "Mining" my own business.
Pages: « 1 ... 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 [139] 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 ... 1429 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!