Bitcoin Forum
July 29, 2021, 07:24:41 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 1431 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Claymore's Dual Ethereum AMD+NVIDIA GPU Miner v15.0 (Windows/Linux)  (Read 6583177 times)
frostminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 505


View Profile WWW
May 21, 2016, 01:51:40 PM
 #2161

fyi, asrock h81 btc pro doesnt work with 2 psu (another problem miner argh)
Can you explain this in details, I am going to use one server PSU for cards and one PC PSU for H81 BTC Pro just bought. Any issues?

I fail to see how the type or brand of mother board can matter when using 2 psu, I have asrock z87 mboard and use https://www.pccasegear.com/products/24241/phobya-24pin-2-way-psu-starting-cable this cable to start both psu. I have 5 gpu 1000w + 850w psu, the 1000w runs the mboard + accessories and 3 gpu and powered risers, the 850w runs 2 gpu and their powered risers.

Thats how you fry risers. If two psu-s have different voltage at any time, they get shorted and luckily the riser is the weakest link. If u power only pci-e power connectors with second psu, there will be no short as those "+" contacts are not connected directly to mb.

So right way would be,
secondary: power all cards that it can handle only thru pcie power connectors and nothing more.
primary: everything else, mb, drives, all risers, leftover cards power.

interresting, according to this plan its the opposite?


from this http://omg-it.works/building-an-ethereum-mining-rig/
quote "If you do not follow this wiring scheme you risk shorts or unbalanced power distribution, leading to overload and/or bad power efficiency."


i do have powered usb 3 riser with molex connected to sata power
i also connected the 2 molex on the mainboard with one adapter connected to one molex which is the same line that goes to one gpu on 1st psu
that maybe no good idea ^^
ive tried to connect it to the 2nd psu, as soon as i start the 2nd psu the cpu and gpu fans will turn on, at first i though the pc booted, i guess it didnt only the vents got power, i did not try to start up the pc with this config, too worried

i could try the h81 with your setup above.



fyi, asrock h81 btc pro doesnt work with 2 psu (another problem miner argh)
Can you explain this in details, I am going to use one server PSU for cards and one PC PSU for H81 BTC Pro just bought. Any issues?

I fail to see how the type or brand of mother board can matter when using 2 psu, I have asrock z87 mboard and use https://www.pccasegear.com/products/24241/phobya-24pin-2-way-psu-starting-cable this cable to start both psu. I have 5 gpu 1000w + 850w psu, the 1000w runs the mboard + accessories and 3 gpu and powered risers, the 850w runs 2 gpu and their powered risers.

ASrock H81 BTC is a well known board for mining for many years - very good reviews and it just works.
2 x PSUs powering 5,6 or 7 GPUs is not an issue with the board.
Like what merc84 said above, you need to get the adapter to get both PSU powered on at same time, as if it's one single big PSU.
Then you need to allocated how many GPUs per PSU in the right order.
Many many good videos out there - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t3iup26oUN4 / https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZiWciJLK3o

yes ive read about that that solution, i guess that would be that best way to go..
http://www.add2psu.com/

add2psu is the only solution for this? ive seen it on another site and didnt investigate further...
and yeah im sorry that i kicked this offtopic with one wrong sentence xD

All my GPUs get their power directly from the PSUs.

I've played around alot with this.. having up to 5 shitty PSUs in 1 system.. no problem.
But ive NEVER connected them togheter.. they operate directly with one or more GPUs.

I now like to have a sep. psu just for the mobo, disk and fans.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1627543481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627543481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627543481
Reply with quote  #2

1627543481
Report to moderator
1627543481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627543481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627543481
Reply with quote  #2

1627543481
Report to moderator
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 01:58:01 PM
 #2162

Using the dual psu connection plug i have both psu sharing a ground I think it should not matter what device i power with which psu. I know servers use multiple psu and this is the reason for such plugs to exists I highly doubt that in such setups u can only use pcie connectors for power additional components, but i am no electrician so i could be totally wrong on this, but i would like to know if i have my rig setup incorrectly googling around and i do not find a definitive answer to this subject.
tolazy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 01:58:20 PM
 #2163

@Claymore I'm running two GPU's in crossfire because I play games sometimes, and I'm only getting gpu0 temperature readout. Not gpu0 and gpu1 temps. Can you look into this?



Disable crossfire, that's the only solution, ADL reports only one card when crossifre enabled.

is it only that it will show 1 card for temps if i have them on CF but it will mine with both cards?
i do play sometimes to. atm Diablo 3 and i can have miner working even when i play but not if i OC the card
elzium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:07:21 PM
 #2164


So right way would be,
secondary: power all cards that it can handle only thru pcie power connectors and nothing more.
primary: everything else, mb, drives, all risers, leftover cards power.

This is not up to the topic, but I'm curious with it. My point of view is to power any card from the one source only. So, if I use USB risers, the card is not connected to the motherboard in terms of 12V power. Then, why to mix the power sources? I power 3 cards by the secondary PSU (both PCI-E and SATA/Molex) and 3 cards by the primary one. The primary PSU also powers the motherboard (both, CPU jack and additional Molex jack) and HDD. Am I doing wrong? Why?

Im not sure about usb risers but those powered ribbon extensions connect +12V directly to mb and straight to primary psu. So thats the connection shorting two psu-s and if voltages differ there's unwanted current that does nothing but stress mb and riser and atx connection. Have some risers burned but after connecting all to primary no more problems.

I've also ran rig from 3 lo-end psu-s and this way connecting all works fine.
el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1595
Merit: 1014



View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:20:44 PM
 #2165


So right way would be,
secondary: power all cards that it can handle only thru pcie power connectors and nothing more.
primary: everything else, mb, drives, all risers, leftover cards power.

This is not up to the topic, but I'm curious with it. My point of view is to power any card from the one source only. So, if I use USB risers, the card is not connected to the motherboard in terms of 12V power. Then, why to mix the power sources? I power 3 cards by the secondary PSU (both PCI-E and SATA/Molex) and 3 cards by the primary one. The primary PSU also powers the motherboard (both, CPU jack and additional Molex jack) and HDD. Am I doing wrong? Why?

Im not sure about usb risers but those powered ribbon extensions connect +12V directly to mb and straight to primary psu. So thats the connection shorting two psu-s and if voltages differ there's unwanted current that does nothing but stress mb and riser and atx connection. Have some risers burned but after connecting all to primary no more problems.

I've also ran rig from 3 lo-end psu-s and this way connecting all works fine.

The USB Riser's shouldn't do that - also I don't see a reason why the powered risers should... maybe because like that they are also working when unpowered?
elzium
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:25:10 PM
 #2166

The reason is that one psu will feed another thru that dumb riser.
polylogic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 254


ʕʘ̅͜ʘ̅ʔ


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:32:45 PM
 #2167


So right way would be,
secondary: power all cards that it can handle only thru pcie power connectors and nothing more.
primary: everything else, mb, drives, all risers, leftover cards power.

This is not up to the topic, but I'm curious with it. My point of view is to power any card from the one source only. So, if I use USB risers, the card is not connected to the motherboard in terms of 12V power. Then, why to mix the power sources? I power 3 cards by the secondary PSU (both PCI-E and SATA/Molex) and 3 cards by the primary one. The primary PSU also powers the motherboard (both, CPU jack and additional Molex jack) and HDD. Am I doing wrong? Why?

Im not sure about usb risers but those powered ribbon extensions connect +12V directly to mb and straight to primary psu. So thats the connection shorting two psu-s and if voltages differ there's unwanted current that does nothing but stress mb and riser and atx connection. Have some risers burned but after connecting all to primary no more problems.

I've also ran rig from 3 lo-end psu-s and this way connecting all works fine.

yes i thought of that too

but with 750w psu i cannot connect a 4th gpu

so i need to try 3x gpu + mb, sdd + all 5 usb risers on 750w
+ 3x gpu on 750w

i hope the risers dont need that much power, i should have 100w on 1st psu after mb, sdd and 3gpu, should be enough to power 5 riser

.Presale LIVE..Crypto Visa EU OUT NOW.✔ ◾ Bonus Payments.
Cashback ✔ ◾ Rainshowers ✔ ◾ Ambassador Bounty
Founding the next way of banking D E Z E N T R A L I Z E D


|







2gether.global






|


AI optimized
Community driven
Personal banking



❌ VFA Approved
✅ ERC-20 Token
⚠⚠ Join presale now!



Website
Twitter
BTCT ANN
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3318
Merit: 1945


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:46:08 PM
 #2168

Using the dual psu connection plug i have both psu sharing a ground I think it should not matter what device i power with which psu. I know servers use multiple psu and this is the reason for such plugs to exists I highly doubt that in such setups u can only use pcie connectors for power additional components, but i am no electrician so i could be totally wrong on this, but i would like to know if i have my rig setup incorrectly googling around and i do not find a definitive answer to this subject.

server PSUs are NOT setup like what we are talking about here. they have special load balance/failover circuitry.

you CAN fry stuff with multi consumer PSU setups.

but... suit yourself
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:47:00 PM
 #2169


So right way would be,
secondary: power all cards that it can handle only thru pcie power connectors and nothing more.
primary: everything else, mb, drives, all risers, leftover cards power.

This is not up to the topic, but I'm curious with it. My point of view is to power any card from the one source only. So, if I use USB risers, the card is not connected to the motherboard in terms of 12V power. Then, why to mix the power sources? I power 3 cards by the secondary PSU (both PCI-E and SATA/Molex) and 3 cards by the primary one. The primary PSU also powers the motherboard (both, CPU jack and additional Molex jack) and HDD. Am I doing wrong? Why?

Im not sure about usb risers but those powered ribbon extensions connect +12V directly to mb and straight to primary psu. So thats the connection shorting two psu-s and if voltages differ there's unwanted current that does nothing but stress mb and riser and atx connection. Have some risers burned but after connecting all to primary no more problems.

I've also ran rig from 3 lo-end psu-s and this way connecting all works fine.

yes i thought of that too

but with 750w psu i cannot connect a 4th gpu

so i need to try 3x gpu + mb, sdd + all 5 usb risers on 750w
+ 3x gpu on 750w

i hope the risers dont need that much power, i should have 100w on 1st psu after mb, sdd and 3gpu, should be enough to power 5 riser

Riser can draw upto 75w each also what 750w psu do u have with 3x2 pcie connectors?? All the psu i look at 750w has max 4 pcie connections mostly only 1000w psu have 3x2 (6) pcie connectors.
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:48:16 PM
 #2170

Using the dual psu connection plug i have both psu sharing a ground I think it should not matter what device i power with which psu. I know servers use multiple psu and this is the reason for such plugs to exists I highly doubt that in such setups u can only use pcie connectors for power additional components, but i am no electrician so i could be totally wrong on this, but i would like to know if i have my rig setup incorrectly googling around and i do not find a definitive answer to this subject.

server PSUs are NOT setup like what we are talking about here. they have special load balance/failover circuitry.

you CAN fry stuff with multi consumer PSU setups.

but... suit yourself

As i said I am no expert so I simply ask the questions so i can understand, if you can explain the reason for this then please do so but "suit yourself" is not helpful thanks for nothing...

Edit: There seems to be some miss information going around, someone earlier posted an example that shows setup as I have currently used, if what I have setup is incorrect i would like to fix it, if you can elaborate on the reason that all powered riser should be connected from primary psu then please do so.
devlin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 273
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:53:35 PM
 #2171


So right way would be,
secondary: power all cards that it can handle only thru pcie power connectors and nothing more.
primary: everything else, mb, drives, all risers, leftover cards power.

This is not up to the topic, but I'm curious with it. My point of view is to power any card from the one source only. So, if I use USB risers, the card is not connected to the motherboard in terms of 12V power. Then, why to mix the power sources? I power 3 cards by the secondary PSU (both PCI-E and SATA/Molex) and 3 cards by the primary one. The primary PSU also powers the motherboard (both, CPU jack and additional Molex jack) and HDD. Am I doing wrong? Why?

Im not sure about usb risers but those powered ribbon extensions connect +12V directly to mb and straight to primary psu. So thats the connection shorting two psu-s and if voltages differ there's unwanted current that does nothing but stress mb and riser and atx connection. Have some risers burned but after connecting all to primary no more problems.

I've also ran rig from 3 lo-end psu-s and this way connecting all works fine.

Two PSU will have always different voltages, and connecting two will not shorting them, only if you put them in serial..... My multimeter say +12V line is same on MB, PCI-E, CPU, etc. and I have cards who is powered from two different PSU with no problem.

Not2Smart
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 02:56:27 PM
 #2172

Hi All,

Claymore is by far the best Eth miner I've used, many many thanks!

However, I'm having trouble with the temperature monitor/target in as much as I dont think they are being reported to Claymore.

I've got 3 x Asus R390's running at circa 30MH/s on Windows 7 64bit with Catalyst 5.12 driver.

I get no temp or frequency reports for the GPU's from Claymore or from CPU-z

The only app I can find that will report them is AIDA64.

I think it's tied up with OpenCL, using --list-devices (via Ethminer) reports all the cards ok.

Any help gratefully received.
Trimegistus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1566
Merit: 1026



View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:00:20 PM
 #2173


Riser can draw upto 75w each also what 750w psu do u have with 3x2 pcie connectors?? All the psu i look at 750w has max 4 pcie connections mostly only 1000w psu have 3x2 (6) pcie connectors.

You are mistaken. I use this:

http://www.corsair.com/en/rmx-series-rm850x-850-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu

and I use it to connect 3 GPU + Mb + SSD

btcluka
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:02:01 PM
 #2174

What mean Received unknown response ("json rpc", "2.0", "id": null, "result": "True")?
Because Coinotron was fine, but I have this on Coinmine.
thanks
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:07:51 PM
 #2175

What mean Received unknown response ("json rpc", "2.0", "id": null, "result": "True")?
Because Coinotron was fine, but I have this on Coinmine.
thanks

Send me your command line so I can check it.

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:18:53 PM
 #2176


Riser can draw upto 75w each also what 750w psu do u have with 3x2 pcie connectors?? All the psu i look at 750w has max 4 pcie connections mostly only 1000w psu have 3x2 (6) pcie connectors.

You are mistaken. I use this:

http://www.corsair.com/en/rmx-series-rm850x-850-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu

and I use it to connect 3 GPU + Mb + SSD

I said Mostly only my point being he said he is using 750w psu and i was wondering if perhaps he is using splitters or adapters for the 3rd gpu.
polylogic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 254


ʕʘ̅͜ʘ̅ʔ


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:20:10 PM
Last edit: May 21, 2016, 03:45:49 PM by polylogic
 #2177


Riser can draw upto 75w each also what 750w psu do u have with 3x2 pcie connectors?? All the psu i look at 750w has max 4 pcie connections mostly only 1000w psu have 3x2 (6) pcie connectors.

You are mistaken. I use this:

http://www.corsair.com/en/rmx-series-rm850x-850-watt-80-plus-gold-certified-fully-modular-psu

and I use it to connect 3 GPU + Mb + SSD

I said Mostly only my point being he said he is using 750w psu and i was wondering if perhaps he is using splitters or adapters for the 3rd gpu.

this is mine
http://www.corsair.com/en/cx-series-cx750m-750-watt-80-plus-bronze-certified-modular-atx-psu-eu

yes i am using a adapter for 1 pcie power on one gpu

i like the rm850x
well worth the price, i hate those adapters

1 riser draws 75w or all 5? if one it would be 375w extra charge on the riser? i dont think so!?


Using the dual psu connection plug i have both psu sharing a ground I think it should not matter what device i power with which psu. I know servers use multiple psu and this is the reason for such plugs to exists I highly doubt that in such setups u can only use pcie connectors for power additional components, but i am no electrician so i could be totally wrong on this, but i would like to know if i have my rig setup incorrectly googling around and i do not find a definitive answer to this subject.

server PSUs are NOT setup like what we are talking about here. they have special load balance/failover circuitry.

you CAN fry stuff with multi consumer PSU setups.

but... suit yourself

im not sure if understand, your are talkin about the add2psu plug? i cant use them with my psu?
or talking about connecting all mainboard related hardware like riser, to the mainboard psu (1st psu)




.Presale LIVE..Crypto Visa EU OUT NOW.✔ ◾ Bonus Payments.
Cashback ✔ ◾ Rainshowers ✔ ◾ Ambassador Bounty
Founding the next way of banking D E Z E N T R A L I Z E D


|







2gether.global






|


AI optimized
Community driven
Personal banking



❌ VFA Approved
✅ ERC-20 Token
⚠⚠ Join presale now!



Website
Twitter
BTCT ANN
merc84
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 799
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:29:12 PM
 #2178

I would not be running more than 2 gpu from that psu it has a max rating of 62amps on the 12v rail. 3 gpu may well be drawing more than 62amp depending on model and clocks etc.
polylogic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 254


ʕʘ̅͜ʘ̅ʔ


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:35:31 PM
 #2179

I would not be running more than 2 gpu from that psu it has a max rating of 62amps on the 12v rail. 3 gpu may well be drawing more than 62amp depending on model and clocks etc.

thanks i didnt consider this.. this may be the reason why 6 gpu dont work and 5 do on my h61!?

but 5 gpu, 4 riser i only draw 883w ..

this is my gpu
http://www.sapphiretech.com/productdetial.asp?pid=B520A2A6-4D37-4499-9584-B6BE8823AAC0&lang=eng
no mentions of amps on the 12v rail

.Presale LIVE..Crypto Visa EU OUT NOW.✔ ◾ Bonus Payments.
Cashback ✔ ◾ Rainshowers ✔ ◾ Ambassador Bounty
Founding the next way of banking D E Z E N T R A L I Z E D


|







2gether.global






|


AI optimized
Community driven
Personal banking



❌ VFA Approved
✅ ERC-20 Token
⚠⚠ Join presale now!



Website
Twitter
BTCT ANN
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3318
Merit: 1945


what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
May 21, 2016, 03:44:31 PM
 #2180


server PSUs are NOT setup like what we are talking about here. they have special load balance/failover circuitry.

you CAN fry stuff with multi consumer PSU setups.

but... suit yourself

As i said I am no expert so I simply ask the questions so i can understand, if you can explain the reason for this then please do so but "suit yourself" is not helpful thanks for nothing...

Edit: There seems to be some miss information going around, someone earlier posted an example that shows setup as I have currently used, if what I have setup is incorrect i would like to fix it, if you can elaborate on the reason that all powered riser should be connected from primary psu then please do so.

my apologies. no disrespect meant.

the different psus will have slightly different 12 volt outputs. that difference can lead to current flowing between the 12 volt outputs. the current can even be backwards from normal. if that current goes through the wrong component damage can happen.

its too much to explain simply, and its easy to get away with doing it wrong. and loads of misinformation on the net, so its easy to get overloaded.
Pages: « 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 [109] 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 ... 1431 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!