Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:34:32 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 [569] 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4823495 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Mylon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Mining FTW


View Profile
July 04, 2013, 09:53:42 PM
 #11361


Anybody any idea how to work around this? Aka telling CGMiner to ignore the Intel Graphics, and continue within everything else as usual. (its sees the gpu's as 0:0-3 and the intel gpu as 1:0)

Try using the CGMiner argument --remove-disable for the Intel GPU.

-------------Readme-----------------------
--remove-disabled   Remove disabled devices entirely, as if they didn't exist
--device|-d <arg>   Select device to use, one value, range and/or comma separated (e.g. 0-2,4) default: all

-------------Top Post-----------------------
Q: Can I mine with AMD while running Nvidia or Intel GPUs at the same time?
A: If you can install both drivers successfully (easier on windows) then
yes, using the --gpu-platform option.
---------------------------------------------

May not be better than a dead flying whombat or dummy plugs.  But worth looking into.
Sam
Thanks for sticking with me Sam!

Tried, unsuccessfully Sad

Really have the feeling that either OpenCL or ADL is plainly ignoring the --gpu-platform and --remove-disabled and just craps out because it sees more or less than what it is expecting. While my scripting is decent, my knowledge of C and the code base of CGMiner is giving me difficulties in finding the exact code and wrapping my head around it.

not sure about intel, but amd based MB has controls in the bios for whether or not to use the internal or card based gpu. You may want to look there.

He has already been there and done that.

He wants to use the Intel GPU for his actual display.  And wants CGMiner to not use the Intel GPU.

The problem is that OpenCL detects a different number of devices than ADL which causes problems if you want CGMiner to monitor and manage temps, clocks and fan speeds.
Sam
Bingo, exactly what I want, but somehow CGMiner is refusing to allow me to do.

Additional note, I've been googling / searching on the forums quite a bit, and at some point found a post someone was having similar ADL issues (though with AMD vs Nvidia cards) and he resolved it by deleting the amdocl* files and opencl* files in system32 and syswow64, and reinstalling the drivers after. Tried, without luck, though found some nice strange thing that might help us getting this figured out.... at first I decided not to install the intel graphics driver again after having it uninstalled. (since windows automatically installed it as a standard vga adapter) But by doing that, CGMiner... just went nuts completely complaining that it couldn't find any OpenCL devices. Even though all 4 cards showed up nicely in device manager as properly installed. Installing the Intel Graphics Driver resolved this problem.

"All Your Base Are Belong To Us" by CATS
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481229272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481229272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481229272
Reply with quote  #2

1481229272
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2013, 07:58:49 AM
 #11362

You shouldn't need to use -d or --remove-disabled if you want to use all the GPUs that belong to a particular platform when you specify it with --gpu-platform. Contrary to popular belief, AMD have reinvented the bug requiring dummy plugs on some hardware with some recent driver versions - disabling power saving features is allegedly a fix for that issue too.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2013, 07:59:46 AM
 #11363

Courtesy of Kerry Cupit, unofficial OSX binaries:
http://spaceman.ca/cgminer/

Thanks Smiley

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Mylon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Mining FTW


View Profile
July 05, 2013, 11:42:21 AM
 #11364

You shouldn't need to use -d or --remove-disabled if you want to use all the GPUs that belong to a particular platform when you specify it with --gpu-platform. Contrary to popular belief, AMD have reinvented the bug requiring dummy plugs on some hardware with some recent driver versions - disabling power saving features is allegedly a fix for that issue too.
Good to know. And yes found that disabling ULPS (power saving mode) in the registery was reducing the amount of sick GPU's by a lot. Still to much windows errors... so in the end I just went to CentOS... configured it late last morning, (7 hours ago) and everything is still running without getting sick or any other problems.

Now going back to work to see why remote monitoring is not working yet while I enabled it... Smiley

Either way, thanks a lot everybody for the help! Looks like in the end Windows was no good for this system (too much spontaneous crashes, like every hour)

"All Your Base Are Belong To Us" by CATS
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
July 05, 2013, 03:22:52 PM
 #11365

FYI, I've noticed that 3.30 has alot more trouble finding all the block eruptors, compared to 3.2.2
I have 18 of them and 3.3.0 comes up with 13 and 3.2.2 comes up with 17 everytime. There's a
Jale7 in the mix also. Always detects that.

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
mightygoose
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 05, 2013, 03:54:11 PM
 #11366

Any way to overclock an asic such as a BFL 5Ghs?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2013, 03:55:37 PM
 #11367

Any way to overclock an asic such as a BFL 5Ghs?
Flash it, but you need to purchase certain hardware and download software to do it. There are forum threads here showing you how.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
July 05, 2013, 06:16:19 PM
 #11368

Any way to overclock an asic such as a BFL 5Ghs?
Flash it, but you need to purchase certain hardware and download software to do it. There are forum threads here showing you how.

Just did mine.  Humming nicely at ~8.5Gh/s now.  Life is good.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
Karin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2013, 07:08:41 PM
 #11369

Courtesy of Kerry Cupit, unofficial OSX binaries:
http://spaceman.ca/cgminer/

Thanks Smiley
Thanks!  That would be me (in case anyone wants to get in touch with me via the forums).

Now I can't wait for the next version to test out all my deployment code Smiley

Easiest to use bitcoin/litecoin miner for Mac: AsteroidApp.com | @AsteroidApp | Bitcointalk forum thread
Unofficial cgminer for Mac OS X | sgminer for Mac OS X
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 12:07:18 AM
 #11370

Any way to overclock an asic such as a BFL 5Ghs?
http://www.kano-kun.net/?p=70

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=236875.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=244235.0

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
micalith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 08:31:49 AM
 #11371

I've just started mining with half a dozen USB Erupters on Slush's pool (Ubuntu 11.10). Cgminer periodically stops/crashes. When it does, I can't enter anything into terminal, so have to start a new terminal and restart cgminer. I've gone through the readme but can't figure out a way to make it restart automatically when this happens.

Any tips apreciated

nullius in verba
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 10:10:08 AM
 #11372

I've just started mining with half a dozen USB Erupters on Slush's pool (Ubuntu 11.10). Cgminer periodically stops/crashes. When it does, I can't enter anything into terminal, so have to start a new terminal and restart cgminer. I've gone through the readme but can't figure out a way to make it restart automatically when this happens.

Any tips apreciated

are you using active cooling on the USB erupters?  if not that might be the source of your crashing.  (just a guess, I don't do linux)

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 10:16:55 AM
 #11373

Is there a thread that explains multiple pools set up for cgminer.
micalith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
July 06, 2013, 10:55:52 AM
 #11374

Is there a thread that explains multiple pools set up for cgminer.

I found https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=68901.0 yesterday. Pooling to bitminter and slush's nicely with the new config file.




are you using active cooling on the USB erupters?  if not that might be the source of your crashing.  (just a guess, I don't do linux)

M

Yeah. My fan only only arrived today, so we'll see if that helps, but I'm sceptical. The whole thing stops all at once, whereas with overheating I would have expected individual Erupters to stop without necessarily shutting cgminer down


This https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=51622.msg615755#msg615755    is the closest I've found to any sort of automated reconnection. I think it's for a screen thing or something, which I'm not familiar with. I don't know how to alter or implement that script for auto-restart of failed cgminer

nullius in verba
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 11:30:06 AM
 #11375

Is there a thread that explains multiple pools set up for cgminer.

I found https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=68901.0 yesterday. Pooling to bitminter and slush's nicely with the new config file.




are you using active cooling on the USB erupters?  if not that might be the source of your crashing.  (just a guess, I don't do linux)

M

Yeah. My fan only only arrived today, so we'll see if that helps, but I'm sceptical. The whole thing stops all at once, whereas with overheating I would have expected individual Erupters to stop without necessarily shutting cgminer down


This https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=51622.msg615755#msg615755    is the closest I've found to any sort of automated reconnection. I think it's for a screen thing or something, which I'm not familiar with. I don't know how to alter or implement that script for auto-restart of failed cgminer


@ micalith , cheers for the link to the OT
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 06, 2013, 12:39:27 PM
 #11376

Is there a thread that explains multiple pools set up for cgminer.
The README included does all that and more. Exciting stuff!

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:17:53 PM
 #11377

Is there a thread that explains multiple pools set up for cgminer.
The README included does all that and more. Exciting stuff!

How can I do 75%/45 minutes pool 0 , 25%/15 minutes pool 1 , is that round robin.
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:25:57 PM
 #11378

I am trying this ,

add pool
write config file
open config file

how do I specify time spent on each pool ?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:30:54 PM
 #11379

I am trying this ,

add pool
write config file
open config file

how do I specify time spent on each pool ?

--------------Readme-------------------
--rotate <arg>      Change multipool strategy from failover to regularly rotate at N minutes (default: 0)
--------------Readme Not---------------

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
July 06, 2013, 01:46:38 PM
 #11380

Cheers for the feedback , ckolivas and os2sam.
Pages: « 1 ... 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 [569] 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!