Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2017, 10:43:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 [572] 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 ... 834 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5227350 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
SkyNet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 08:26:23 AM
 #11421

Why decreased speed?
cgminer 3.2.1 - 645 kh
cgminer 3.3.1 - 605-610 kh

most likely you changed your settings there is no decrease in speed...

Tips: 1JmQ78JprWePM3EapnacPFfAtTrob8ofmU
1498517001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498517001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498517001
Reply with quote  #2

1498517001
Report to moderator
1498517001
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498517001

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498517001
Reply with quote  #2

1498517001
Report to moderator
POLONIEX TRADING SIGNALS
+50% Profit and more via TELEGRAM
ALTCOINTRADER.CO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
micalith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 523



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 04:18:14 PM
 #11422

very noobish question:

I'm load-balanced across three pools. I'm thinking of going for the one with the highest average yield, and hoping that the load-balanced setting is basically helping to show up which pools are better. Is using load-balance a reliable way of comparing pool efficiencies?

nullius in verba
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 04:25:50 PM
 #11423

very noobish question:

I'm load-balanced across three pools. I'm thinking of going for the one with the highest average yield, and hoping that the load-balanced setting is basically helping to show up which pools are better. Is using load-balance a reliable way of comparing pool efficiencies?
Efficiency means nothing in the stratum protocol era. Compare disconnects, GF and RF.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 04:27:00 PM
 #11424

very noobish question:

I'm load-balanced across three pools. I'm thinking of going for the one with the highest average yield, and hoping that the load-balanced setting is basically helping to show up which pools are better. Is using load-balance a reliable way of comparing pool efficiencies?
Not really. Balance or load-balance don't distribute the hashrate perfectly evenly over multiple pools. If it favors one pool over another, and sends more shares that way, you're going to think you're earning more with that pool, when the pools may end up being the same.

Whenever I've tried it, it's always given Ozcoin the short straw, submitting less shares to Ozcoin and giving more to the other pools. Idk why it happens like this, but it can make Ozcoin look less profitable, when it's really not.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
micalith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 523



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 04:58:05 PM
 #11425

very noobish question:

I'm load-balanced across three pools. I'm thinking of going for the one with the highest average yield, and hoping that the load-balanced setting is basically helping to show up which pools are better. Is using load-balance a reliable way of comparing pool efficiencies?
Not really. Balance or load-balance don't distribute the hashrate perfectly evenly over multiple pools. If it favors one pool over another, and sends more shares that way, you're going to think you're earning more with that pool, when the pools may end up being the same.

Whenever I've tried it, it's always given Ozcoin the short straw, submitting less shares to Ozcoin and giving more to the other pools. Idk why it happens like this, but it can make Ozcoin look less profitable, when it's really not.

Efficiency means nothing in the stratum protocol era. Compare disconnects, GF and RF.

OK, so I'll set it to 'balance' for unbiased results.

GF and RF are 0 for about 36 hours of run time. I'll check those periodically

thanks

nullius in verba
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 07:17:12 PM
 #11426

I just wanted to say that I have solved my issue of 2 cards hashing at same speed as one. I have no desire to share the solution on this thread. I love the miner and I thank the devs for all of their hard work but I got no help on this thread. If anyone is having issues with hash speed being cut in half after adding a second card they can pm me and I will be happy help. Thx CYA
GrapeApe
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 07:27:07 PM
 #11427

I just wanted to say that I have solved my issue of 2 cards hashing at same speed as one. I have no desire to share the solution on this thread. I love the miner and I thank the devs for all of their hard work but I got no help on this thread. If anyone is having issues with hash speed being cut in half after adding a second card they can pm me and I will be happy help. Thx CYA
GrapeApe
It's alright, that problem has been fixed many times in this thread already (I can recall at least 3 off the top of my head). Smiley

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 08:55:12 PM
 #11428

I just wanted to say that I have solved my issue of 2 cards hashing at same speed as one. I have no desire to share the solution on this thread. I love the miner and I thank the devs for all of their hard work but I got no help on this thread. If anyone is having issues with hash speed being cut in half after adding a second card they can pm me and I will be happy help. Thx CYA
GrapeApe

Damn those pesky readme files, ruining everyone's fun...... Wink

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
GrapeApe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 477



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:35:54 PM
 #11429

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS I am shocked at how far this has gone. The community here has spoken and evidently  I am the troll here so I stand corrected, you are all very helpful considerate people and I would like to thank all you for pointing out the readme to me.WOW I never thought of that. It was a power supply issue so this was no help whatsoever but I thank you again.
VERY HELPFUL
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 09:48:38 PM
 #11430

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS
VERY HELPFUL
It's obnoxious having to help people who won't help themselves over and over.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
July 11, 2013, 01:26:47 AM
 #11431

It's obnoxious having to help people who won't help themselves over and over.
It sounds harsh, but it's true. Oh so very true...  Roll Eyes Tongue

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 538



View Profile
July 11, 2013, 04:24:59 AM
 #11432

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS
VERY HELPFUL
Says the person who wouldn't post how their problem was fixed. Isn't that telling as well?


▄█████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████▀                  ▀████████
█████▀                    ████████
████▀    ▄████████████████████████
████    ███            ▀██████████
████    ███               ▀███████
████▄    ▀████████████▄     ██████
█████▄               ███    ██████
███████▄             ███    ██████
██████████████████████▀     ██████
██████                    ▄███████
██████▄                 ▄█████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████████████
.SURETLY.

.First crowdvouching platform
.Vouch for people and make money!
|ICO
July,11
...
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
July 11, 2013, 11:57:56 AM
 #11433

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS
VERY HELPFUL
Says the person who wouldn't post how their problem was fixed. Isn't that trolling as well?

Fixed it for you.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
alatvian
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:19:41 AM
 #11434

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS
VERY HELPFUL
Says the person who wouldn't post how their problem was fixed. Isn't that telling as well?

So you guys aren't willing to help me fix a problem on my one setup which is most likely different than every other setup because everyone's machine is different?  Well... Screw you guys... I'm going home.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:31:35 AM
 #11435

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS
VERY HELPFUL
Says the person who wouldn't post how their problem was fixed. Isn't that telling as well?

So you guys aren't willing to help me fix a problem on my one setup which is most likely different than every other setup because everyone's machine is different?  Well... Screw you guys... I'm going home.
Bye Smiley

Really, the problem is people not bothering to read the README files that have the answers.

Basically:

"Oooh wow - free software to make money"

"Damn I'm not getting my free money"

"Why should I bother to read README files to get free money, I'm sure I can get someone else to do that for me so I get free money for no effort at all"

"Hey - can someone help me"

...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:36:29 AM
 #11436

Blame Obama.  Grin

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:39:53 AM
 #11437

Blame Obama.  Grin
Thanks Obama!
Don't judge me.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
os2sam
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2128


Think for yourself


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:44:31 AM
 #11438

I find very telling that the only responses I got here were after I said I fixed it and to just talk shit, basically because I'm upset. Very helpful. How about pointing out some of those posts. No you just wait for a troll moment then pounce. THANK YOU
TROLLS
VERY HELPFUL
Says the person who wouldn't post how their problem was fixed. Isn't that telling as well?

So you guys aren't willing to help me fix a problem on my one setup which is most likely different than every other setup because everyone's machine is different?  Well... Screw you guys... I'm going home.

What are you whining about?  This conversation had nothing to do with you.  Unless your the same person as GrapeApe using more than one account?!?!?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
prehistoric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:24:46 AM
 #11439

ckolivas, you mentioned that Windows default 15ms timer resolution is shitty. Today I've just read that 15ms resolution is for reason http://randomascii.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/windows-timer-resolution-megawatts-wasted/
Indeed, after executing clockres and "powercfg -energy duration 5" I see, cgminer switched it to 1ms
Code:
ClockRes v2.0 - View the system clock resolution
Copyright (C) 2009 Mark Russinovich
SysInternals - www.sysinternals.com

Maximum timer interval: 15.600 ms
Minimum timer interval: 0.500 ms
Current timer interval: 1.000 ms

Platform Timer Resolution:Timer Request Stack
The stack of modules responsible for the lowest platform timer setting in this process.
Requested Period 10000
Requesting Process ID 5356
Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume6\Downloads\prog\bt\cgminer\cgminer.exe
 Calling Module Stack  \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll
 \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Windows\System32\winmm.dll
 \Device\HarddiskVolume6\Downloads\prog\bt\cgminer\cgminer.exe
I haven't found exact notice of that in NEWS.txt, but this
Code:
Version 3.0.0 - April 22nd, 2013
- Create a cgminer specific gettimeofday wrapper that is always called with tz
set to NULL and increases the resolution on windows.
- Add high resolution to nmsleep wrapper on windows.
So is timer resolution change in cgminer intentional?
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2013, 05:39:11 AM
 #11440

ckolivas, you mentioned that Windows default 15ms timer resolution is shitty. Today I've just read that 15ms resolution is for reason http://randomascii.wordpress.com/2013/07/08/windows-timer-resolution-megawatts-wasted/
Indeed, after executing clockres and "powercfg -energy duration 5" I see, cgminer switched it to 1ms
Code:
ClockRes v2.0 - View the system clock resolution
Copyright (C) 2009 Mark Russinovich
SysInternals - www.sysinternals.com

Maximum timer interval: 15.600 ms
Minimum timer interval: 0.500 ms
Current timer interval: 1.000 ms

Platform Timer Resolution:Timer Request Stack
The stack of modules responsible for the lowest platform timer setting in this process.
Requested Period 10000
Requesting Process ID 5356
Requesting Process Path \Device\HarddiskVolume6\Downloads\prog\bt\cgminer\cgminer.exe
 Calling Module Stack  \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll
 \Device\HarddiskVolume4\Windows\System32\winmm.dll
 \Device\HarddiskVolume6\Downloads\prog\bt\cgminer\cgminer.exe
I haven't found exact notice of that in NEWS.txt, but this
Code:
Version 3.0.0 - April 22nd, 2013
- Create a cgminer specific gettimeofday wrapper that is always called with tz
set to NULL and increases the resolution on windows.
- Add high resolution to nmsleep wrapper on windows.
So is timer resolution change in cgminer intentional?
Indeed it is intentional. We work with very tight timeframes and 15ms resolution isn't remotely accurate enough for what's required by some higher performance, but poorly designed hardware. If the hardware in question had nice queues for submitting work and buffers for returning work and didn't require polling, we wouldn't need to do this, but we do. Otherwise, depending on which device we're talking about, we'd lose results, the results would be corrupted or we'd be unable to keep it busy (the avalon suffers from all of the above for example).

Note that we try to only enable high resolution timers for the duration we need them, but with so much going on in cgminer, it ends up being on most of the time.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at ckpool.org Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 [572] 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 ... 834 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!