Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:49:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 [522] 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4818090 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Blisk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 312


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 09:30:23 AM
 #10421

thanks now works I have downloaded.

1480942144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942144
Reply with quote  #2

1480942144
Report to moderator
1480942144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942144
Reply with quote  #2

1480942144
Report to moderator
1480942144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942144
Reply with quote  #2

1480942144
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480942144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942144
Reply with quote  #2

1480942144
Report to moderator
1480942144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942144
Reply with quote  #2

1480942144
Report to moderator
1480942144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480942144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480942144
Reply with quote  #2

1480942144
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 27, 2013, 12:12:04 PM
 #10422

So I have completed 3 major rewrites of the avalon driver code to improve it. One was playground for testing things out and never really built, but I'm left with two different rewrites, and a question for existing users.

The first is a complete rewrite of the read/write mechanism using the existing serial usb driver (ftdi) which should be much more robust at staying in sync with results coming in from the device, as well as more accurately picking when the device is misbehaving and hopefully be more reliable at resetting it. This code is currently in a git branch called avalon-serialdev .

The second is an even more complete rewrite, built on the avalon-serialdev one with direct USB bypassing the ftdi driver entirely. The avalon does some weird and (not so) wonderful things to emulate running serial at 115200 baud, and the ftdi chip has some serious limitations I never would have known about had I not started poking around (for instance, the driver reads from the device every 1 millisecond because the buffer is so small it easily overflows). The modified code is more efficient and uses a lot less OS-kernel time but the demonstrable CPU usage of cgminer itself looks the same. This code works reliably and solidly... on a linux PC. This code is currently in a git branch called avalon-usbdev .

Now this is where it gets tricky. The direct USB code does not really work at all on the MIPS router that is built into the Avalon device itself. I'm not really sure if it's a libusb limitation, a different implementation or what, but it just does not work, and what does work appears extraordinarily slow. Only installing usbmon onto the device will tell me for sure, and that's not as trivial as I wish it were. We'll see how much time I get in the future to investigate this and whether it's even worth doing or not.

So down to my questions. How many avalon users here wish to be running them via a PC instead of as the standalone device it is? I suspect precious few. How many of you even want to be building your own binaries versus the number downloading the latest firmware? It would be possible to release a new version of cgminer that has both drivers but that will become a maintenance burden long term - and without having an avalon myself, it could end up going to bitrot. I've already made massive improvements to the serial usb based code and would be happy to push that alone into the next cgminer version and Xiangfu should be able to make you all new firmware with it.

I should add the Avalon team have made it clear they will not be providing me with a free Avalon outright to further development. Talks continue on that front...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 12:48:19 PM
 #10423

So down to my questions. How many avalon users here wish to be running them via a PC instead of as the standalone device it is? I suspect precious few.

I'll probably be interested.
I don't think that upgrading firmwares is viable for me long-term: I manage pools, configurations and watchdogs by deploying various scripts on my rigs that won't easily run on an Avalon (lots of dependencies to install).
If I understand correctly, to mine with a PC we need to disconnect the MIPS-based card from the controller (an USB cable to disconnect) and connect the controller to a PC with a simple USB cable. If it's not much more difficult than that chances are this is how I'll run my Avalon just after I tested it in its standard configuration.

How many of you even want to be building your own binaries versus the number downloading the latest firmware? It would be possible to release a new version of cgminer that has both drivers but that will become a maintenance burden long term - and without having an avalon myself, it could end up going to bitrot. I've already made massive improvements to the serial usb based code and would be happy to push that alone into the next cgminer version and Xiangfu should be able to make you all new firmware with it.

Hum, can't Xiangfu maintain the driver for Avalon's firmware so that you can only focus on the more standard one? When I get my Avalon (edit: batch2 ordered February the 18th) if all goes well (horror stories about Avalons damaged in transport haunt me) I can volunteer myself for the maintenance of the standard PC driver if you need help.
That would not be the first time I develop/maintain drivers for hardware I own, I'm already familiar with parts of cgminer's code and this time it would even be profitable to do so.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 27, 2013, 02:39:02 PM
 #10424

...
Hum, can't Xiangfu maintain the driver for Avalon's firmware so that you can only focus on the more standard one? When I get my Avalon (edit: batch2 ordered February the 18th) if all goes well (horror stories about Avalons damaged in transport haunt me) I can volunteer myself for the maintenance of the standard PC driver if you need help.
That would not be the first time I develop/maintain drivers for hardware I own, I'm already familiar with parts of cgminer's code and this time it would even be profitable to do so.
PC version uses my new usbutils libusb library (that ckolivas has now worked on also) that is quite different is some respects to the old serial-usb library.
So you'd need to look at the other drivers, that have all now been rewritten since the end of last year, and their 'quirks' (which with the next release will be ALL the other drivers except ZTex since it will finally include Icarus)
ZTex uses libusb also, but has it's own interface library nelisky and dennisx wrote (which is why it doesn't support hotplug among other things)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 08:17:50 PM
 #10425

...
Hum, can't Xiangfu maintain the driver for Avalon's firmware so that you can only focus on the more standard one? When I get my Avalon (edit: batch2 ordered February the 18th) if all goes well (horror stories about Avalons damaged in transport haunt me) I can volunteer myself for the maintenance of the standard PC driver if you need help.
That would not be the first time I develop/maintain drivers for hardware I own, I'm already familiar with parts of cgminer's code and this time it would even be profitable to do so.
PC version uses my new usbutils libusb library (that ckolivas has now worked on also) that is quite different is some respects to the old serial-usb library.
So you'd need to look at the other drivers, that have all now been rewritten since the end of last year, and their 'quirks' (which with the next release will be ALL the other drivers except ZTex since it will finally include Icarus)
ZTex uses libusb also, but has it's own interface library nelisky and dennisx wrote (which is why it doesn't support hotplug among other things)

That's one of the positive sides for me: I've often wanted to get my hands dirty with low-level usb (as it doesn't always work like it's supposed too) so libusb instead of the serial interface would probably be far more interesting.
I did the same with one Linux PATA driver more than 10 years ago and I learned a lot (about how vendors don't always follow specs among other things). At least with USB I wouldn't have to get it right to boot the system...

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 12:44:31 AM
 #10426


What else is running?  I have 2 machines with the same setup with 4x7970 with no problems.

M

I had 2 separate machines - one connected via the LAN and one via wireless same internet connection, and they both did the same thing. I think it has something to do with a connection drop.

Does yours do it when your Internet connection pauses/hangs or drops?

No.  It's been quite a few versions before I had that issue.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2013, 12:51:22 AM
 #10427


What else is running?  I have 2 machines with the same setup with 4x7970 with no problems.

I had 2 separate machines - one connected via the LAN and one via wireless same internet connection, and they both did the same thing. I think it has something to do with a connection drop.

Does yours do it when your Internet connection pauses/hangs or drops?

No.  It's been quite a few versions before I had that issue.

I removed the libcurl code for stratum in the last cgminer version which fixed quite a few crashes. However I wonder if there's a difference between a simple disconnect and a local IP or routing change.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
pavimus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 06:36:14 AM
 #10428

Hi, All! May be someone can give me advice.

I want to run fans on my gpus minimum at 60% for better vrm cooling. I have following settings in my cgminer.conf:

"auto-fan":true,
"gpu-fan":"60-80,60-80,60-80,60-80",
"temp-target" : "69,69,69,69",

In last days weather is relatively cold, and i have following situation:
1) Before starting cgminer, fans run at 50%.
2) I start cgminer, but fans stay run at 50%.
3) when gpu temperature reaches temp-target, cgminer will change fan speed and after this moment it holds fan speed in defined 60%-80% range.

But if weahter is cold and 50% of fan speed is enough to hold gpu temp under temp-target, cgminer don't touches fan speed at all, and fans run all time at speed that was before starting cgminer.

This is correct behavior?

As i understand, workaround is manually set fan speed 60% before start cgminer, but this is not a good solution...

Thanks for help!

PS: cgminer v3.1.1
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2013, 06:50:06 AM
 #10429

Hi, All! May be someone can give me advice.

I want to run fans on my gpus minimum at 60% for better vrm cooling. I have following settings in my cgminer.conf:

"auto-fan":true,
"gpu-fan":"60-80,60-80,60-80,60-80",
"temp-target" : "69,69,69,69",

In last days weather is relatively cold, and i have following situation:
1) Before starting cgminer, fans run at 50%.
2) I start cgminer, but fans stay run at 50%.
3) when gpu temperature reaches temp-target, cgminer will change fan speed and after this moment it holds fan speed in defined 60%-80% range.

But if weahter is cold and 50% of fan speed is enough to hold gpu temp under temp-target, cgminer don't touches fan speed at all, and fans run all time at speed that was before starting cgminer.

This is correct behavior?

As i understand, workaround is manually set fan speed 60% before start cgminer, but this is not a good solution...

Thanks for help!

PS: cgminer v3.1.1
Indeed the startup default is 50% and it does not touch fan speeds until temp is close to range It is a "soft" bug.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
pavimus
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 07:09:54 AM
 #10430

Hi, All! May be someone can give me advice.

I want to run fans on my gpus minimum at 60% for better vrm cooling. I have following settings in my cgminer.conf:

"auto-fan":true,
"gpu-fan":"60-80,60-80,60-80,60-80",
"temp-target" : "69,69,69,69",

In last days weather is relatively cold, and i have following situation:
1) Before starting cgminer, fans run at 50%.
2) I start cgminer, but fans stay run at 50%.
3) when gpu temperature reaches temp-target, cgminer will change fan speed and after this moment it holds fan speed in defined 60%-80% range.

But if weahter is cold and 50% of fan speed is enough to hold gpu temp under temp-target, cgminer don't touches fan speed at all, and fans run all time at speed that was before starting cgminer.

This is correct behavior?

As i understand, workaround is manually set fan speed 60% before start cgminer, but this is not a good solution...

Thanks for help!

PS: cgminer v3.1.1
Indeed the startup default is 50% and it does not touch fan speeds until temp is close to range It is a "soft" bug.

May i hope that this behavior will be fixed in next version's of cgminer, most powerful miner?

Thanks!
chanberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 04:19:49 PM
 #10431

This is a total noob question, but i just recently started mining with Ztex quads on cgminer, and it works flawlessly, but when I try to access the settings while its running I run into problems. If I hit any of the option settings, (S) (P) or whatever, it just goes into a blank terminal screen. Nothing happens, and i cant exit out from it. I know its still mining, but it just chills on a blank terminal. Wondering how i would get back to the main screen, where it all started

Wondering what am I doing wrong?


bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2013, 04:24:07 PM
 #10432

Never mind then

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
m5
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 08:17:40 PM
 #10433

I have one 5770 card (default 850/1200 clocks) on which I was trying to mine litecoin in my home computer and then moved it to a HP server in datacenter, however there I can only reach about 60% of performance, but don't know why.

At home, I had Windows 7 64bit, 4 GB RAM, cgminer 3.1.0, latest AMD driver and SDK and card in x16 PCIe 2.0 slot. With TC 3968 (more TC was not working) and intensity 18, I was getting about 200 kHash/s which is good for this card.

On server, I have 64bit debian linux 6.0 (squeeze), but only 3 GB RAM and the PCIe slot is only version 1.0 (x8 using a riser). Cgminer is also 3.1.0, driver 12.10, SDK 2.8 (I followed this guide http://www.scribd.com/doc/132505278/Debian-GPU-Litecoin-cgminer-install-guide ).

I was trying various TC and other options, intensities 12-20, but can't get more than 117 kHash/s. What was different is that I was able to compile bin with more TC (even more than 5000), but it had no effect on performance. Even OC didn't have any effect. Bin files for Windows had "l4" on end, those on linux have "l8". From documentation it is "size of long". Does it matter in something? Can for example linux cgminer use bin file prepared on windows version or is it incompatible?

What could be causing this?
1) Maybe is the PCIe 1.0 the bottleneck? How does scrypt mining work? Does cgminer transfer huge amounts of data to GPU memory? Or mainly the GPU itself does majority of GPU memory accesses?
2) Or only 3 GB of system RAM? But cgminer is using only 300 MB of RAM, which should be OK for just 200 KHash/s... I have read that scrypt mining needs a lot of system RAM. How does it use it? For some pre-computations or does it transfer the data to GPU memory?
3) Or is it just bad combination of driver/SDK versions?
BTW bitcoin performance is OK on the linux server (about 195 MHash/s), only scrypt is affected.
shawtux
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:02:35 PM
 #10434

Hi guys tried searching but could not find an answer.
It's probably a noob question.

Can i run different FPGA from one rasp pi on the same cgminer instance?
Or do I have to run different instances?
Can I run icarus , BFL together for example?

contributions -> 1KHWkHWKKd2yrZQVvGh4Z3X4D9VoDeYMyM
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 02:41:52 AM
 #10435

Can I run icarus , BFL together for example?
Yep. You can even run GPUs, FPGAs, and ASICs all at the same time.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 05:28:11 AM
 #10436

Having issues with how to assign and determine device IDs with ztex board in Windows 7. My previous experience has been with BFL singles, CM1 boards, and using the ztex boards with Linux. With the BFL singles and CM1 boards those get assigned COM numbers that you just call with -S COMn. Linux, has the nice -S auto feature which calls them automatically. The ztex boards under Windows operate differently.

I read the FPGA read me and was able to use Zadig to convert the driver to WinUSB. Cgminer now detects all of the attached boards, but crashes immediately. Using -debug returns:

Code:
-d: Invalid device number

I'm trying to help someone figure this out so any help would be greatly appreciated.

MWNinja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 01:44:06 PM
 #10437

I am getting frequent crashes somewhere in the pool failover code, happening both in cgminer and the fork of cgminer.  Keeps trying to write address 0x0, so I suspect its a Null pointer dereference somewhere in there.  It's happening any time the primary pool gets flaky, which lately has been often.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 01:48:54 PM
 #10438

Having issues with how to assign and determine device IDs with ztex board in Windows 7. My previous experience has been with BFL singles, CM1 boards, and using the ztex boards with Linux. With the BFL singles and CM1 boards those get assigned COM numbers that you just call with -S COMn. Linux, has the nice -S auto feature which calls them automatically. The ztex boards under Windows operate differently.

I read the FPGA read me and was able to use Zadig to convert the driver to WinUSB. Cgminer now detects all of the attached boards, but crashes immediately. Using -debug returns:

Code:
-d: Invalid device number

I'm trying to help someone figure this out so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Ztex's don't use any device specification code.
They auto identify them all and mine on them all and that's it.
nelisky/dennisx wrote the ztex code before I wrote and integrated the new usbutils library into cgminer.
I guess you'd have to chase one of them to switch it over to the new way to get hotplug and add use the --usb option (etc).
(I don't have a ztex)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 01:49:20 PM
 #10439

I am getting frequent crashes somewhere in the pool failover code, happening both in cgminer and the fork of cgminer.  Keeps trying to write address 0x0, so I suspect its a Null pointer dereference somewhere in there.  It's happening any time the primary pool gets flaky, which lately has been often.
3.1.0 does that - try 3.1.1

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
 #10440



And it happens with any kernel! How to fix that?

If I helped and You do wanna thank:
1FoiQYVPtUwWWnrYe1oYV3GCtJP8YBe1fv
Feel free to PM if you're in a need of any help
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Pages: « 1 ... 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 [522] 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!