Bitcoin Forum
February 23, 2019, 12:04:20 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 [519] 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 ... 844 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5776902 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (2 posts by 2 users deleted.)
m5
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 08:17:40 PM
 #10361

I have one 5770 card (default 850/1200 clocks) on which I was trying to mine litecoin in my home computer and then moved it to a HP server in datacenter, however there I can only reach about 60% of performance, but don't know why.

At home, I had Windows 7 64bit, 4 GB RAM, cgminer 3.1.0, latest AMD driver and SDK and card in x16 PCIe 2.0 slot. With TC 3968 (more TC was not working) and intensity 18, I was getting about 200 kHash/s which is good for this card.

On server, I have 64bit debian linux 6.0 (squeeze), but only 3 GB RAM and the PCIe slot is only version 1.0 (x8 using a riser). Cgminer is also 3.1.0, driver 12.10, SDK 2.8 (I followed this guide http://www.scribd.com/doc/132505278/Debian-GPU-Litecoin-cgminer-install-guide ).

I was trying various TC and other options, intensities 12-20, but can't get more than 117 kHash/s. What was different is that I was able to compile bin with more TC (even more than 5000), but it had no effect on performance. Even OC didn't have any effect. Bin files for Windows had "l4" on end, those on linux have "l8". From documentation it is "size of long". Does it matter in something? Can for example linux cgminer use bin file prepared on windows version or is it incompatible?

What could be causing this?
1) Maybe is the PCIe 1.0 the bottleneck? How does scrypt mining work? Does cgminer transfer huge amounts of data to GPU memory? Or mainly the GPU itself does majority of GPU memory accesses?
2) Or only 3 GB of system RAM? But cgminer is using only 300 MB of RAM, which should be OK for just 200 KHash/s... I have read that scrypt mining needs a lot of system RAM. How does it use it? For some pre-computations or does it transfer the data to GPU memory?
3) Or is it just bad combination of driver/SDK versions?
BTW bitcoin performance is OK on the linux server (about 195 MHash/s), only scrypt is affected.
1550880260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880260
Reply with quote  #2

1550880260
Report to moderator
1550880260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880260
Reply with quote  #2

1550880260
Report to moderator
1550880260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880260
Reply with quote  #2

1550880260
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550880260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550880260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550880260
Reply with quote  #2

1550880260
Report to moderator
shawtux
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 11:02:35 PM
 #10362

Hi guys tried searching but could not find an answer.
It's probably a noob question.

Can i run different FPGA from one rasp pi on the same cgminer instance?
Or do I have to run different instances?
Can I run icarus , BFL together for example?
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 02:41:52 AM
 #10363

Can I run icarus , BFL together for example?
Yep. You can even run GPUs, FPGAs, and ASICs all at the same time.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 05:28:11 AM
 #10364

Having issues with how to assign and determine device IDs with ztex board in Windows 7. My previous experience has been with BFL singles, CM1 boards, and using the ztex boards with Linux. With the BFL singles and CM1 boards those get assigned COM numbers that you just call with -S COMn. Linux, has the nice -S auto feature which calls them automatically. The ztex boards under Windows operate differently.

I read the FPGA read me and was able to use Zadig to convert the driver to WinUSB. Cgminer now detects all of the attached boards, but crashes immediately. Using -debug returns:

Code:
-d: Invalid device number

I'm trying to help someone figure this out so any help would be greatly appreciated.

MWNinja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 629
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 01:44:06 PM
 #10365

I am getting frequent crashes somewhere in the pool failover code, happening both in cgminer and the fork of cgminer.  Keeps trying to write address 0x0, so I suspect its a Null pointer dereference somewhere in there.  It's happening any time the primary pool gets flaky, which lately has been often.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1105


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 01:48:54 PM
 #10366

Having issues with how to assign and determine device IDs with ztex board in Windows 7. My previous experience has been with BFL singles, CM1 boards, and using the ztex boards with Linux. With the BFL singles and CM1 boards those get assigned COM numbers that you just call with -S COMn. Linux, has the nice -S auto feature which calls them automatically. The ztex boards under Windows operate differently.

I read the FPGA read me and was able to use Zadig to convert the driver to WinUSB. Cgminer now detects all of the attached boards, but crashes immediately. Using -debug returns:

Code:
-d: Invalid device number

I'm trying to help someone figure this out so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Ztex's don't use any device specification code.
They auto identify them all and mine on them all and that's it.
nelisky/dennisx wrote the ztex code before I wrote and integrated the new usbutils library into cgminer.
I guess you'd have to chase one of them to switch it over to the new way to get hotplug and add use the --usb option (etc).
(I don't have a ztex)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730
Merit: 1105


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 01:49:20 PM
 #10367

I am getting frequent crashes somewhere in the pool failover code, happening both in cgminer and the fork of cgminer.  Keeps trying to write address 0x0, so I suspect its a Null pointer dereference somewhere in there.  It's happening any time the primary pool gets flaky, which lately has been often.
3.1.0 does that - try 3.1.1

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
 #10368



And it happens with any kernel! How to fix that?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 03:34:59 PM
 #10369

And you do have those files in there?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 03:49:10 PM
 #10370

Yes, I have just unpacked .7z archive to a folder, created .bat and saw the above problem
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 04:08:24 PM
 #10371

Have you tried right clicking and running as administrator?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 04:38:50 PM
 #10372

Yes! CGminer is also ticked to run as admin. I have W8x64
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 04:49:06 PM
 #10373

That's because you put it in one of the protected folders.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 05:34:20 PM
 #10374

How to check whether it is protected or not?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 05:39:31 PM
 #10375

Some are default like that like c: users

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 05:53:34 PM
 #10376

my path is D:\cgminer-3.1.1-windows
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2013, 05:57:11 PM
 #10377

Just check administrator under compatibility

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
RedLine888
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 109


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 06:04:14 PM
 #10378

Of CGminer.exe? It is already checked
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2800
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 30, 2013, 04:10:32 AM
 #10379

You probably have not changed directories with 'cd' into the directory and are calling cgminer with a pathname instead.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1016


Christian Antkow


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 05:02:37 AM
 #10380

I'm noticing after a couple hours of hashing, that every single Block Erupter USB I have running under CGMiner 3.1.1 with the --icarus-options and timings set is displaying Hardware Errors under Windows 7 64 bit.

Am I doing something wrong ?



cgminer -o xxx -u xxx -p x -I 9 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM4 -S //./COM5 -S //./COM6 -S //./COM7
-S //./COM8 -S //./COM9 -S //./COM10 -S //./COM11 -S //./COM13 -S //./COM14 -S //./COM15  -S //./COM17 -S //./COM21 -S //./COM22 -S //./COM23 -S //./COM24 -S //./COM25 -S
//./COM26 -S //./COM27 -S //./COM28
Pages: « 1 ... 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 [519] 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 ... 844 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!