Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2021, 10:15:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 ... 1431 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Claymore's Dual Ethereum AMD+NVIDIA GPU Miner v15.0 (Windows/Linux)  (Read 6582767 times)
phzi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 07:37:03 AM
 #1601

i have this rig with 2x r9 390 and 1x r9 390x

using gpu-z monitoring (sensors tab), i OC all the cards 1120 clock and 1600 ram ...

looking at sensors tab only one card is at 1120 clock the rest are ~ 930 clock (i'm not sure which card is 390x coz gpuz labels them all 390)

therefore only one GPU is OC'ed...

all ram are at 1600mhz

graphics card tab at gpu-z shows uniform 1120 clock for all cards...sensors do not

any tips?

my 280x rig is uniform, all clocks matched.

edit: these issue occurs only in dual mining mode, mining in ETH only (-mode 1) shows uniform clocks in sensors tab of GPU-Z.

claymore..any suggestions?

Sounds like down throttling, of course.  If cards are getting too hot or drawing too much power, the firmware downclocks them.

Why do you overclock RAM?  It doesn't seem to offer any hashrate increase from my testing.  In fact, on my R9 290 cards, I downclock VRAM to 1125mhz for increased power savings (with no hashrate decrease).

I also find downvolting usually results in more stable hashrates, as the GPU is less stressed and is more likely not to throttle.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1624486520
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624486520

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624486520
Reply with quote  #2

1624486520
Report to moderator
1624486520
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1624486520

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1624486520
Reply with quote  #2

1624486520
Report to moderator
restless
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1151
Merit: 1001


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 07:53:05 AM
 #1602

i have this rig with 2x r9 390 and 1x r9 390x

using gpu-z monitoring (sensors tab), i OC all the cards 1120 clock and 1600 ram ...

looking at sensors tab only one card is at 1120 clock the rest are ~ 930 clock (i'm not sure which card is 390x coz gpuz labels them all 390)

therefore only one GPU is OC'ed...

all ram are at 1600mhz

graphics card tab at gpu-z shows uniform 1120 clock for all cards...sensors do not

any tips?

my 280x rig is uniform, all clocks matched.

edit: these issue occurs only in dual mining mode, mining in ETH only (-mode 1) shows uniform clocks in sensors tab of GPU-Z.
How are you overclocking?
AB or with -mclock -cclock ?
Dum3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 09:33:42 AM
 #1603

For some reason, version 4 crashes my gfx card drivers on one of my rigs.  I've moved back to 3.3, and everything is working fine again.  Not sure what is going on...

Exactly the same  i had, 4 x 390x righ,left stock everything ,even moved down power limits,crash random ,drier 15.12,windows 10,i switched back to 1.0 which always worked best and with it i can run 1100/1500 with -100 mv perfect stable !!
Masked_Immortal
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 10:53:23 AM
 #1604

hmm..
I have problem with 4.1 version
I have 4 cards on one of my rigs

r9 280x
r9 280x
7970
r9 390x

i adjust core clock for each card in msi afterburner, but when i start miner 390x downclocks to around 950 MHz, this is not throttling because temp is blow 70C for all cards!

SCAVO  Technologies
SELF-SUSTAINING CRYPTO MINING FARM  BY USING RENEWABLE ENERGY RESOURCES - LIFETIME CONTRACT
────────  Whitepaper ⬝  Twitter ⬝  Telegram ⬝   Facebook ⬝  Ann Thread     ───────  Join our ICO:  July. 15- Oct. 31
Trimegistus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1563
Merit: 1026



View Profile
May 08, 2016, 10:57:21 AM
 #1605

hmm..
I have problem with 4.1 version
I have 4 cards on one of my rigs

r9 280x
r9 280x
7970
r9 390x

i adjust core clock for each card in msi afterburner, but when i start miner 390x downclocks to around 950 MHz, this is not throttling because temp is blow 70C for all cards!

In my rigs, using 270x and 7950, every time I use Afterburner to change some settings I always restart the system before starting the miner.

This way, I make sure the settings are permanent because I double check they are in effect before firing up the miner.

It works for me  Grin

malefactor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 01:35:33 PM
 #1606

Took first crack at using this (linux).

Works fine for a bit, then crashes one of the GPUs.  Interestingly enough, the watchdog doesn't.  :-)  YOU HAD ONE JOB, WATCHDOG!

...excerpt from debug log...
WATCHDOG: GPU 2 hangs in OpenCL call, exit
<hang>


can't fall back & try older version (no linux build for pre-4.1).  If you can fix this, I'd prefer to deploy this, even with a fee.  The problem here is that it's constantly crashing at variable rates.




arielbit
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1034


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 01:36:27 PM
 #1607

i have this rig with 2x r9 390 and 1x r9 390x

using gpu-z monitoring (sensors tab), i OC all the cards 1120 clock and 1600 ram ...

looking at sensors tab only one card is at 1120 clock the rest are ~ 930 clock (i'm not sure which card is 390x coz gpuz labels them all 390)

therefore only one GPU is OC'ed...

all ram are at 1600mhz

graphics card tab at gpu-z shows uniform 1120 clock for all cards...sensors do not

any tips?

my 280x rig is uniform, all clocks matched.

edit: these issue occurs only in dual mining mode, mining in ETH only (-mode 1) shows uniform clocks in sensors tab of GPU-Z.

claymore..any suggestions?

Sounds like down throttling, of course.  If cards are getting too hot or drawing too much power, the firmware downclocks them.

Why do you overclock RAM?  It doesn't seem to offer any hashrate increase from my testing.  In fact, on my R9 290 cards, I downclock VRAM to 1125mhz for increased power savings (with no hashrate decrease).

I also find downvolting usually results in more stable hashrates, as the GPU is less stressed and is more likely not to throttle.

tried cclock 1100 vram 1125

dual mining core clocks (gpu-z sensors tab) are 970, 995, 1100 ...all vram are 1500

gpu-z (gpu-z graphics card tab) core clock are all 1100 and vram are 1125..

in ETH only mode (gpu-z sensors tab and graphics card tab) all core clock 1100 and vram 1125 (sensors tab 1500)

i could say in dual mining mode, two out of three of my cards are under-performing.

my cards are ~77 temp, only msi r9 390 can reach up to 81 temp ..... i could say it is not down throttling due to heat, besides i run gpu-z right after i started the miner...i don't know if it is a power draw issue.

i haven't done downvolting yet..

sensors tab says..you cannot downlclock below 1500 or VRAM..

@restless

i OC thru cclock and mclock
restless
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1151
Merit: 1001


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 02:38:10 PM
 #1608

Check with Hwinfo, temperatures of VRMs and voltages (12V line)
With 80 on core, VRMs can easily go above 90-95.
Dual mining needs more power..., ether alone barely heats VRMs to 60
Q_R_V
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 429
Merit: 250


Inactivity: 8963


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 07:00:34 PM
 #1609


sensors tab says..you cannot downlclock below 1500 or VRAM..


In that case you would have to flash gpu with modified bios and set memclocks in it (vbe7 and atiflash would be the easiest way).
Claymore
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1325

Miners developer


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 07:13:34 PM
 #1610

Within 24 hours I will release version with Ethereum solo mining support (and with some new options/features).

Please read Readme and FAQ in the first post of this thread before asking any questions, probably the answer is already there.
List of my miners: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3019607
Dum3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 07:49:42 PM
 #1611

For some reason, version 4 crashes my gfx card drivers on one of my rigs.  I've moved back to 3.3, and everything is working fine again.  Not sure what is going on...

Any solution to this,i encountered same problem with 4.1, driver crashing,windows 10 x64 , 16 gb virtual memory 8 gb ram, 4 x 390x ,catalyst 15.12,all cards are stable on 1.0 or 3.2 on 1100/1500 -100 mv for days! on 4.1 they crash after a few hours even default freq/voltage not working....
Vaslime
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 142
Merit: 10


Cryptotalk.org


View Profile
May 08, 2016, 07:54:53 PM
 #1612

For some reason, version 4 crashes my gfx card drivers on one of my rigs.  I've moved back to 3.3, and everything is working fine again.  Not sure what is going on...

Any solution to this,i encountered same problem with 4.1, driver crashing,windows 10 x64 , 16 gb virtual memory 8 gb ram, 4 x 390x ,catalyst 15.12,all cards are stable on 1.0 or 3.2 on 1100/1500 -100 mv for days! on 4.1 they crash after a few hours even default freq/voltage not working....

I had similar problem. I reduce the clock frequency and also reduce the intensity. It is working well now.

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
CryptoTalk.org| 
MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!
🏆
arielbit
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1034


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 12:18:55 AM
Last edit: May 09, 2016, 02:10:50 AM by arielbit
 #1613

Check with Hwinfo, temperatures of VRMs and voltages (12V line)
With 80 on core, VRMs can easily go above 90-95.
Dual mining needs more power..., ether alone barely heats VRMs to 60

i OC clock to 1160 so if there is down throttling it would become more obvious due to heat..but i think VRM temp is no issue here..

hwinfo

VRM temps and voltage (maximun temp and volt only)..gpu 1 is 390x the rest are 390

eth mode only

gpu 0

81c 83c 11.531v

gpu 1

90c 75c 11.563v

gpu 2

61c 77c 11.781v

dual mode..

gpu 0 - down to 1000+ mhz

90c 81c 11.531v

gpu 1 - down to 1000+ mhz

97c 76c 11.531v

gpu 2 still at 1160 mhz

87c 61c 11.781v


sensors tab says..you cannot downlclock below 1500 or VRAM..


In that case you would have to flash gpu with modified bios and set memclocks in it (vbe7 and atiflash would be the easiest way).

maybe i'll tinker with the 280x's but not with the 390's because it is still under warranty.
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1080


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 01:15:56 AM
 #1614

Within 24 hours I will release version with Ethereum solo mining support (and with some new options/features).


fantastic - looking forward to get my rigs to test

If I provided you good and useful info or just a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
adamvp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 708



View Profile
May 09, 2016, 02:19:06 AM
 #1615

what should I expect with my r9 280x (how much Decred hashrate without big ethhashrt drop.. let's say I'll get not less than 90% of Ethhashrte?) and if how much dual mine mode increase power consumption?
And what with: r7 370
and r9 380x
i will aprecciate your help

I am looking for signature campaign Wink pm me
phzi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 02:44:38 AM
 #1616

Claymore - do you think further optimizations for fiji chips are possible? Memory controller usage seems to be sitting pretty low, and I get the feeling after playing with intensities that there's more room left for optimization.

It seems a higher ethi allows for increased decred hashrate without ethash loss. I am now pushing ~30MH/s ethash and 1650MH/s decred with ethi 20 and dcri 110.  With ethi 16, dcri can't go that high without losing a chunk of ethash.  Compare that to 30MH and under 1000MH/s decred max with lower ethi.
phzi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 02:50:34 AM
 #1617


sensors tab says..you cannot downlclock below 1500 or VRAM..


In that case you would have to flash gpu with modified bios and set memclocks in it (vbe7 and atiflash would be the easiest way).

Or you can use the 15.7.1 drivers, where downclocking still works.  Downclocking is broken (intentionally by amd?) in later drivers.  From my testing, there didn't seem to be an advantage between 15.7.1 or 15.12 in terms of performance, but 15.7.1 lets me downclock ram and save on power for free.
ExcelThroughKnowledge
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 03:37:31 AM
 #1618

Claymore - do you think further optimizations for fiji chips are possible? Memory controller usage seems to be sitting pretty low, and I get the feeling after playing with intensities that there's more room left for optimization.

It seems a higher ethi allows for increased decred hashrate without ethash loss. I am now pushing ~30MH/s ethash and 1650MH/s decred with ethi 20 and dcri 110.  With ethi 16, dcri can't go that high without losing a chunk of ethash.  Compare that to 30MH and under 1000MH/s decred max with lower ethi.

Wasn't ethi 16 the max? For my case the ethi isn't doing anything though, setting it to 8 or 16 doesn't affect a single thing.

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ [D]ecentralized application [E]liminated third parties [C]ontent distribution

 █ DECENT FOUNDATION    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░   JOIN NOW! ICO ⏰ 10th of September

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ [E]ncrypted & secure         [N]o borders                  [T]imeless reputation
ExcelThroughKnowledge
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 04:30:42 AM
 #1619

@Claymore

Could you make the ethi intensity change easily adjustable like dcri? So that I could test the speed out on different ethi without closing the miner. Currently ethi 8 and ethi 16 has no difference on my rate, which I don't know why.. You have any idea about that?

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ [D]ecentralized application [E]liminated third parties [C]ontent distribution

 █ DECENT FOUNDATION    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░   JOIN NOW! ICO ⏰ 10th of September

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ [E]ncrypted & secure         [N]o borders                  [T]imeless reputation
arielbit
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1034


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 05:39:52 AM
 #1620


sensors tab says..you cannot downlclock below 1500 or VRAM..


In that case you would have to flash gpu with modified bios and set memclocks in it (vbe7 and atiflash would be the easiest way).

Or you can use the 15.7.1 drivers, where downclocking still works.  Downclocking is broken (intentionally by amd?) in later drivers.  From my testing, there didn't seem to be an advantage between 15.7.1 or 15.12 in terms of performance, but 15.7.1 lets me downclock ram and save on power for free.

what do you use for downclocking? 15.7.1 is my driver here.

you may see your downclocked VRAM in info but "sensors" do not show downclocked speed.
Pages: « 1 ... 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 [81] 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 ... 1431 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!