Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:13:40 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 [559] 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827859 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Trance104
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 02:26:37 AM
 #11161

How do I use CGminer to ONLY mine using my ASIC? I have block eruptors plugged in and I get an INSANE error log while my Jalapeno, and 2 GPU's are mining. I want it to STOP mining using my GPU's and STOP trying to connect to the Block eruptors.

Use CGMiner-nogpu.

Block Erupters are ASIC's too.  If they are getting errors try putting some fans on them and use the WinUSB driver like it says.

If you don't want to use the Block Erupters then unplug them from your USB ports.


Thank you for your quick reply!

I'd like to use them, but with a different client. How can I do this?

Thank you for the No GPU info.

Can't stop the Trance! Dance!! DANCE!!!
www.youtube.com/pixelfixgaming
1481436820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481436820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481436820
Reply with quote  #2

1481436820
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:37:43 AM
 #11162

I'd like to use them, but with a different client. How can I do this?

Use a second PC?

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
dangue
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:39:37 AM
 #11163

How do I use CGminer to ONLY mine using my ASIC? I have block eruptors plugged in and I get an INSANE error log while my Jalapeno, and 2 GPU's are mining. I want it to STOP mining using my GPU's and STOP trying to connect to the Block eruptors.

Use CGMiner-nogpu.

Block Erupters are ASIC's too.  If they are getting errors try putting some fans on them and use the WinUSB driver like it says.

If you don't want to use the Block Erupters then unplug them from your USB ports.


Thank you for your quick reply!

I'd like to use them, but with a different client. How can I do this?

Thank you for the No GPU info.

Use 3.1.1 where you have to specify the com port of each individual device and then just don't list the com ports of your block erupters?
ak49er
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 03:42:21 AM
 #11164

Nor does the GPU readme.
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist

Pretty sure this is in the readme.
JordanL
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 04:41:02 AM
 #11165

I'm trying to run my first BFL 5GH miner (Jalapeno) using cgminer 3.1.1 alongside 10 ASICMINER USBs in Windows, and I could use some help from someone with more experience! Can I run this combination of ASICs in the same cgminer instance?

Currently when I add "--enable-bflsc" to what I've used to run the ASICMINERs, or just try "cgminer --enable-bflsc", I get the following error:

[timestamp] cgminer: --enable-bflsc: unrecognized option

I have installed the winUSB driver with zidig as outlined in the readme.

Any help would be vastly appreciated!! I'd be more than happy to dontate something small, say BTC0.1, to whoever can help me figure this out, and smaller amounts to anyone who takes the time to try.

Perhaps someone could start by posting the proper start up command to use with BFL ASICs? I can't seem to find it spelled out explicitly anywhere more than it is in the manual.

Thanks
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 04:44:33 AM
 #11166

I'm trying to run my first BFL 5GH miner (Jalapeno) using cgminer 3.1.1 alongside 10 ASICMINER USBs in Windows, and I could use some help from someone with more experience! Can I run this combination of ASICs in the same cgminer instance?

Currently when I add "--enable-bflsc" to what I've used to run the ASICMINERs, or just try "cgminer --enable-bflsc", I get the following error:

[timestamp] cgminer: --enable-bflsc: unrecognized option


Any help would be vastly appreciated!! I'd be more than happy to dontate something small, say BTC0.1, to whoever can help me figure this out, and smaller amounts to anyone who takes the time to try.

Thanks
That's a compile option, not a cgminer option.

You don't use any options for it to see the Jalapeno - it's automatic.

However, you probably didn't read the ASIC-README about how to set the correct windows driver ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-Redacted-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 04:46:44 AM
 #11167

Don't use --enable-bflsc option.  That's a compile time option, not a run-time option.  
Yes you can run the combination.    See the ASIC readme file.

EDIT:

D'oh.  Kano beat my reply by 14 seconds.

Now hanging out on Atomic-Trade.com...
JordanL
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 04:47:43 AM
 #11168

I'm trying to run my first BFL 5GH miner (Jalapeno) using cgminer 3.1.1 alongside 10 ASICMINER USBs in Windows, and I could use some help from someone with more experience! Can I run this combination of ASICs in the same cgminer instance?

Currently when I add "--enable-bflsc" to what I've used to run the ASICMINERs, or just try "cgminer --enable-bflsc", I get the following error:

[timestamp] cgminer: --enable-bflsc: unrecognized option


Any help would be vastly appreciated!! I'd be more than happy to dontate something small, say BTC0.1, to whoever can help me figure this out, and smaller amounts to anyone who takes the time to try.

Thanks
That's a compile option, not a cgminer option.

You don't use any options for it to see the Jalapeno - it's automatic.

However, you probably didn't read the ASIC-README about how to set the correct windows driver ...

Sorry, I forgot to include that in my original post, I updated it as you were posting to say that I did do the correct driver from the readme.

Thanks a ton for the help.

JordanL
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 05:06:51 AM
 #11169

Okay so am I supposed to be running it using the exact command I did with just the ASICMINER UBSs? Which was something like this:

--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3 -S COM4 -S COM5 -S COM6 -S COM7 -S COM8 -S COM9

When I try that, the ASICMINERs run fine but then I also get this error:

"BitForceSC detect <2:27> get details return invalid/timed out <0:-7>"

I just noticed that at first when I had used the wrong driver (the one from the BFL page) I could see the BLFSC in the ports section of device manager, but now that I have used zadig to install the WinUSB driver (v6.1.7600.16385), it's not showing up there.

Is it supposed to be?

Again any help will be greatly appreciated!


Thanks again
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 05:10:03 AM
 #11170

win7 64 with cgminer 3.1.1 and usb stick miners.
i cannot use more than 9 usbs since cgminer cannot work with Com10 and above. it seems it has an issue with 2 digit coms?
cgminer above 3.1.1 cannot detect any usb miner and also cannot accept the -Scomx switch!!!!

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
JordanL
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 05:16:58 AM
 #11171

win7 64 with cgminer 3.1.1 and usb stick miners.
i cannot use more than 9 usbs since cgminer cannot work with Com10 and above. it seems it has an issue with 2 digit coms?
cgminer above 3.1.1 cannot detect any usb miner and also cannot accept the -Scomx switch!!!!

I have used more than ten at once with two digit coms and they work fine, same cgminer but it was Windows 8.
-Redacted-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 05:53:09 AM
 #11172

I currently run 37 miners on one PC and 11 on another (this one) under win-7 64 bit.  Com ports above 9 work just fine:

--api-listen --api-allow W:127.0.0.1 --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM4 -S //./COM5 -S //./COM6 -S  //./COM9 -S //./COM10 -S //./COM11 -S //./COM12 -S //./COM14 -S //./COM16  -S //./COM17  -S //./COM18

cgminer versions past 3.1.1 don't use com ports, they use the WinUSB driver.  Lots of information available about that over the last few forum pages.   

Now hanging out on Atomic-Trade.com...
JordanL
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 07:31:31 AM
 #11173

Okay so am I supposed to be running it using the exact command I did with just the ASICMINER UBSs? Which was something like this:

--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3 -S COM4 -S COM5 -S COM6 -S COM7 -S COM8 -S COM9

When I try that, the ASICMINERs run fine but then I also get this error:

"BitForceSC detect <2:27> get details return invalid/timed out <0:-7>"

I just noticed that at first when I had used the wrong driver (the one from the BFL page) I could see the BLFSC in the ports section of device manager, but now that I have used zadig to install the WinUSB driver (v6.1.7600.16385), it's not showing up there.

Is it supposed to be?

Again any help will be greatly appreciated!


Thanks again


Update: I left this machine mining for about an hour, with that error continuing (as the ASICMINERs where running), and it seems to have corrected itself. So far it looks like it is hashing at almost exactly 5GH/s, hopefully the error won't persist.

I've very grateful everyone who read my post and/or offered help!

0.075 tip sent with thanks to each -Redacted- and kano, spend it in good health.   Smiley
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 10:29:17 AM
 #11174

How do I use CGminer to ONLY mine using my ASIC? I have block eruptors plugged in and I get an INSANE error log while my Jalapeno, and 2 GPU's are mining. I want it to STOP mining using my GPU's and STOP trying to connect to the Block eruptors.
Use CGMiner-nogpu.

Block Erupters are ASIC's too.  If they are getting errors try putting some fans on them and use the WinUSB driver like it says.

If you don't want to use the Block Erupters then unplug them from your USB ports.
I'd like to use them, but with a different client. How can I do this?
Use a second PC?
OR you could search / read the thread / read the manual instead of reposting questions...
I'm trying to disable two AMU's, out of 4 total, in each CGMiner session.

"-d 0 -d 1 --remove-disabled" in the first session works fine.
"-d 2 -d 3 --remove-disabled" in the second session does not work.

when I run CGMiner-nogpu -n it says "failed to open, err -3"

It appears that you intend for CGMiner to be able to do this and I would like to run two sessions for two different pools.
Thanks,
Sam
The --usb command gives you finer control over this. The --device command only takes one set of values now (-d 0-1 instead of -d 0 -d 1) and only works for usb devices since version 3.2.1, and it is a coarse command.
Ah, in other words RTFM Smiley.  I found the section in the readme and I'll give it a whirl tonight.
Thanks,
Sam
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 01:18:20 PM
 #11175

Okay so am I supposed to be running it using the exact command I did with just the ASICMINER UBSs? Which was something like this:

--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3 -S COM4 -S COM5 -S COM6 -S COM7 -S COM8 -S COM9

When I try that, the ASICMINERs run fine but then I also get this error:

"BitForceSC detect <2:27> get details return invalid/timed out <0:-7>"

I just noticed that at first when I had used the wrong driver (the one from the BFL page) I could see the BLFSC in the ports section of device manager, but now that I have used zadig to install the WinUSB driver (v6.1.7600.16385), it's not showing up there.

Is it supposed to be?

Again any help will be greatly appreciated!


Thanks again


Update: I left this machine mining for about an hour, with that error continuing (as the ASICMINERs where running), and it seems to have corrected itself. So far it looks like it is hashing at almost exactly 5GH/s, hopefully the error won't persist.

I've very grateful everyone who read my post and/or offered help!

0.075 tip sent with thanks to each -Redacted- and kano, spend it in good health.   Smiley
Thanks Smiley

There's been quite a few changes since 3.1.1 so if you are having trouble with 3.1.1 and the Jalapeno then you can easily get around it by running 2 cgminers as follows:

Run the 3.1.1 one above like you already are but add --usb BAS:0 so it will ignore the BFL SC's - the Jalapeno

Run a second one but 3.2.2 with a different usb setting --usb ICA:0 so it will ignore all Icarus devices (the Asicminer USB is an Icarus device)

The two wont attempt to touch the other's devices.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:08:09 PM
 #11176

win7 64 with cgminer 3.1.1 and usb stick miners.
i cannot use more than 9 usbs since cgminer cannot work with Com10 and above. it seems it has an issue with 2 digit coms?
cgminer above 3.1.1 cannot detect any usb miner and also cannot accept the -Scomx switch!!!!

cgminer 3.1.1 absolutely works with higher # com ports - I _start_ my numbering at Com10.

If you go to 3.2.2 you need to switch to the WinUSB driver - this depreciates the com ports (and thus the -S switch).

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
JordanL
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:09:55 PM
 #11177

Okay so am I supposed to be running it using the exact command I did with just the ASICMINER UBSs? Which was something like this:

--icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S COM3 -S COM4 -S COM5 -S COM6 -S COM7 -S COM8 -S COM9

When I try that, the ASICMINERs run fine but then I also get this error:

"BitForceSC detect <2:27> get details return invalid/timed out <0:-7>"

I just noticed that at first when I had used the wrong driver (the one from the BFL page) I could see the BLFSC in the ports section of device manager, but now that I have used zadig to install the WinUSB driver (v6.1.7600.16385), it's not showing up there.

Is it supposed to be?

Again any help will be greatly appreciated!


Thanks again


Update: I left this machine mining for about an hour, with that error continuing (as the ASICMINERs where running), and it seems to have corrected itself. So far it looks like it is hashing at almost exactly 5GH/s, hopefully the error won't persist.

I've very grateful everyone who read my post and/or offered help!

0.075 tip sent with thanks to each -Redacted- and kano, spend it in good health.   Smiley
Thanks Smiley

There's been quite a few changes since 3.1.1 so if you are having trouble with 3.1.1 and the Jalapeno then you can easily get around it by running 2 cgminers as follows:

Run the 3.1.1 one above like you already are but add --usb BAS:0 so it will ignore the BFL SC's - the Jalapeno

Run a second one but 3.2.2 with a different usb setting --usb ICA:0 so it will ignore all Icarus devices (the Asicminer USB is an Icarus device)

The two wont attempt to touch the other's devices.


Wow great advice thanks again, I've bookmarked this in case I run in to any problems in the future.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:26:42 PM
 #11178

win7 64 with cgminer 3.1.1 and usb stick miners.
i cannot use more than 9 usbs since cgminer cannot work with Com10 and above. it seems it has an issue with 2 digit coms?
cgminer above 3.1.1 cannot detect any usb miner and also cannot accept the -Scomx switch!!!!

cgminer 3.1.1 absolutely works with higher # com ports - I _start_ my numbering at Com10.

If you go to 3.2.2 you need to switch to the WinUSB driver - this depreciates the com ports (and thus the -S switch).
Yeah with 3.1.1 you need to use \\.\COM10 etc for COM numbers > 9
... it's in the readme Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 04:46:12 PM
 #11179

win7 64 with cgminer 3.1.1 and usb stick miners.
i cannot use more than 9 usbs since cgminer cannot work with Com10 and above. it seems it has an issue with 2 digit coms?
cgminer above 3.1.1 cannot detect any usb miner and also cannot accept the -Scomx switch!!!!

cgminer 3.1.1 absolutely works with higher # com ports - I _start_ my numbering at Com10.

If you go to 3.2.2 you need to switch to the WinUSB driver - this depreciates the com ports (and thus the -S switch).
Yeah with 3.1.1 you need to use \\.\COM10 etc for COM numbers > 9
... it's in the readme Smiley

That's where I found it, just trying to help someone who didn't RTFM.   Wink

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 06:48:27 PM
 #11180

Run the 3.1.1 one above like you already are but add --usb BAS:0 so it will ignore the BFL SC's - the Jalapeno
Just curious, should that be "BAJ:0" instead of "BAS:0" or does "BA<any letter>" disable all BFL ASICs?

Edit: Of course, where I said <any letter> I really meant the valid choices for BFL ASICs: [J | L | S | M ].  (Is it "M" for minirig?)

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
Pages: « 1 ... 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 [559] 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!