Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:04:40 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 [560] 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4825604 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 07:27:59 PM
 #11181

ok, cgminer -n gets the following:

./cgminer -n
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Platform 0 devices: 1                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01]    0   Tahiti                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] This error says the device is not enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] This error says the device is not enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] 1 GPU devices max detected                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] No known USB devices

aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series


There is a Sapphire 7970 in the PCIe X16  slot and a GigaByte  7950 on a PCIe X16 PCIe X16 extender which is plugged into a PCIe X16 connector on the MB which is actually X4. any ideas why I'm only seeing one card? this is running on 64 bit ubuntu 12.whatever LTS i didn't see anything specific to this in README or GPU-README

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
1481339080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339080
Reply with quote  #2

1481339080
Report to moderator
1481339080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339080
Reply with quote  #2

1481339080
Report to moderator
1481339080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339080
Reply with quote  #2

1481339080
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481339080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339080
Reply with quote  #2

1481339080
Report to moderator
1481339080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481339080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481339080
Reply with quote  #2

1481339080
Report to moderator
bronan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


Lazy Lurker Reads Alot


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 08:46:32 PM
 #11182

I am experiencing similer problems with the bfl asic jalapeno device
Posted on the bfgminer thread as well, this thing baffles me.

Now to make it even more interresting i do have 5 pc's in the house and all are somewhat different machines
The weirdest of all is on some of them do work without messing with winusb driver crap
Well as long as i use easyminer or bitminter client they run.

Ofcourse this would be good if i really wanted to mine on these pools.

Now if i want to run cgminer or bfgminer from command line they fail, giving messages device not found or timed out messages.
To be precise i use the same pools to test to see if it actually wants to run.

My main intel pc which i want to run the miner on simply does not work, i tried installing the winusb v6 driver which caused me numerous problems with attached usb devices as well.
I also tried another similar usb driver which gave me the same problems and not finding usb devices for mining problem
Do not get me wrong windows even with its own driver finds the device and reports it connected.

Just cgminer does not find it or times out for some reason. I get the same with bfgminer
I do however not want the programs to use any of my gpu's simply because they eat too much juice.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 08:51:27 PM
 #11183

Run the 3.1.1 one above like you already are but add --usb BAS:0 so it will ignore the BFL SC's - the Jalapeno
Just curious, should that be "BAJ:0" instead of "BAS:0" or does "BA<any letter>" disable all BFL ASICs?

Edit: Of course, where I said <any letter> I really meant the valid choices for BFL ASICs: [J | L | S | M ].  (Is it "M" for minirig?)
It's BAS because you're disabling that whole brand of ASICs. Also, I believe the minirig is recognized as several (8?) singles; so that's still BAS. Not sure what the L would stand for.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 09:50:25 PM
 #11184

ok, cgminer -n gets the following:

./cgminer -n
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Platform 0 devices: 1                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01]    0   Tahiti                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] This error says the device is not enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] This error says the device is not enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] 1 GPU devices max detected                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] No known USB devices

aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series


There is a Sapphire 7970 in the PCIe X16  slot and a GigaByte  7950 on a PCIe X16 PCIe X16 extender which is plugged into a PCIe X16 connector on the MB which is actually X4. any ideas why I'm only seeing one card? this is running on 64 bit ubuntu 12.whatever LTS i didn't see anything specific to this in README or GPU-README
SDK 2.8

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 10:58:20 PM
 #11185

ok, cgminer -n gets the following:

./cgminer -n
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP (1113.2)                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Platform 0 devices: 1                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01]    0   Tahiti                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] This error says the device is not enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] Failed to ADL_Adapter_ID_Get. Error -10                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] This error says the device is not enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series  hardware monitoring enabled                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] 1 GPU devices max detected                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] USB all: found 7 devices - listing known devices                    
 [2013-06-21 15:10:01] No known USB devices

aticonfig --lsa
* 0. 01:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series
  1. 04:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series


There is a Sapphire 7970 in the PCIe X16  slot and a GigaByte  7950 on a PCIe X16 PCIe X16 extender which is plugged into a PCIe X16 connector on the MB which is actually X4. any ideas why I'm only seeing one card? this is running on 64 bit ubuntu 12.whatever LTS i didn't see anything specific to this in README or GPU-README
SDK 2.8

I was using that one:

1 )Starting Installation of AMD APPSDK v2.8 ....
2 )64-bit Operating System Found..
3 )Version Information Available in VersionInfo.txt
4 )Untar command executed succesfully, The SDK package available
5 )Untar command executed succesfully, The ICD package available
6 )SDK Binaries/Source/Samples/Other files copying to  = /opt/AMDAPP
7 )SDK files copied successfully at /opt/AMDAPP/
8 )Copying the OpenCL runtime files to System...  
9 )Updating Environment vairables...
10 )Updating LD_LIBRARY_PATH in /etc/profile
11 )Environment vairables updated successfully
12 )Initialize global environment vairables...
13 )Global environment vairables Initialized
14 )AMD APP installation Completed
15 )Reboot required to reflect the changes

is there a command line setting that i need to make? I'm just using: ./cgminer

or do i need to set something with aticonfig?

or do i need a dummy plug to enable the board?

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
pirate1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 12:06:32 AM
 #11186

Can someone break down for me exactly how you do a configuration file?  Is that all you need to do to compile and enable a BFL ASIC?  I know about changing the driver and have zadig.  I have been mining with my fpga and a couple of video cards with the newest version of cgminer.  cgminer-3.2.2  I just can't get it working with the ASIC.  I know I have to enable bflsc but need to know exactly how to do that.  I realize it is probably something simple but I am at a loss and have gone through all the read me files.  Do I just take the example conf file and change it to a conf file and input my info along with the line "--enable-bflsc" : "enabled"  Huh  As you can tell I need some help.

As long as I wake up breathing it's all a bonus.  Sometimes not much of a bonus but still a bonus.
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
June 22, 2013, 01:32:34 AM
 #11187

Can someone break down for me exactly how you do a configuration file?  Is that all you need to do to compile and enable a BFL ASIC?  I know about changing the driver and have zadig.  I have been mining with my fpga and a couple of video cards with the newest version of cgminer.  cgminer-3.2.2  I just can't get it working with the ASIC.  I know I have to enable bflsc but need to know exactly how to do that.  I realize it is probably something simple but I am at a loss and have gone through all the read me files.  Do I just take the example conf file and change it to a conf file and input my info along with the line "--enable-bflsc" : "enabled"  Huh  As you can tell I need some help.
That's a compile option that's already enabled in ckolivas' binaries. You don't need that unless you compile it yourself. With 3.2.2 and the right drivers installed, it should instantly recognize it when you plug it in.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
pirate1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 01:38:30 AM
 #11188

It is giving me the message--  BitForceSc detect (2:1) Warning unknown firmware 'FIRMWARE: 1.2:40x00'     
I did use zadig and changed the driver.

As long as I wake up breathing it's all a bonus.  Sometimes not much of a bonus but still a bonus.
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 02:14:39 AM
 #11189




Using difficulty 128 is HW value too high . Any feedback would be helpful.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 04:40:20 AM
 #11190

It is giving me the message--  BitForceSc detect (2:1) Warning unknown firmware 'FIRMWARE: 1.2:40x00'    
I did use zadig and changed the driver.
Coz you are using 3.2.2

We only got to access hardware with the new firmware after 3.2.2 was released

Current git for 1.2.x firmware.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 04:47:57 AM
 #11191

Run the 3.1.1 one above like you already are but add --usb BAS:0 so it will ignore the BFL SC's - the Jalapeno
Just curious, should that be "BAJ:0" instead of "BAS:0" or does "BA<any letter>" disable all BFL ASICs?

Edit: Of course, where I said <any letter> I really meant the valid choices for BFL ASICs: [J | L | S | M ].  (Is it "M" for minirig?)

The usbutils drivers are BAS, BFL, MMQ, AVA, ICA
The name you use there is the driver abbreviation, not the device abbreviation shown on the screen.
Thus when you say BAS:0 it refers to the BFL SC driver and disables trying to mine on all BAX (X = J, L, S and M)
There were 4 SC ASIC products, Jalapeno, LIttle Single, Single and Minirig - so that answers what the letters stand for.

There are other ways to select with --usb as per the README ...

... where it also says "... with BAS:n you can limit how many BFL ASIC devices will
be checked, but you cannot limit the number of each type of BFL ASIC"

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
pirate1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 11:08:02 AM
 #11192

Thanks for the answer kano but I am not sure I understand.  I found the "driver-bflsc.c" under your git hub.  Is this what I need?  If not, where do I find the current git for 1.2.x firmware?  Do I need to install git and learn how to use it?  Can I just copy and paste the driver somewhere? 

As long as I wake up breathing it's all a bonus.  Sometimes not much of a bonus but still a bonus.
rsbriggs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


Russian:: UID 0


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 05:17:47 PM
 #11193

@Polyatomic

Difficulty being much too high for hash rate.  At 800 Mh/s you should be doing difficulty 2 or 4 only.  

But if determined running at difficulty 128, must remembering only about 1 share in every 128 shares calculating being sent.  At 2% error rate, will be averaging  2.5 HW errors for each share submitting.  Suggesting to lower difficulty much.


Це́рковь бли́зко, да идти́ скли́зко, каба́к далеко́, да идти́ легко́.
rsbriggs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


Russian:: UID 0


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 05:19:47 PM
 #11194

Thanks for the answer kano but I am not sure I understand.  I found the "driver-bflsc.c" under your git hub.  Is this what I need?  If not, where do I find the current git for 1.2.x firmware?  Do I need to install git and learn how to use it?  Can I just copy and paste the driver somewhere? 

That being source code file, not driver.  You are wanting compiled version of cgminer using that version unless planning to compile software your own self.

Це́рковь бли́зко, да идти́ скли́зко, каба́к далеко́, да идти́ легко́.
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 06:07:41 PM
 #11195

Wow, what an ordeal... just got my first Jale and I was caught in a catch-22 because cg 3.2.2 has issues with ASIC Block Eruptors(which I already had). If I ran 3.1.1, it would crash from the Jale. If I ran 3.2.2, it could not start the BEs. After two hours of screwing around with different ideas, I finally came up with calling out the specific devices for each version of cg with --usb 1:31 (in my case) for the Jale with cg 3.2.2 and --usb 1:4,1:6,1:7 etc. for the BEs with 3.1.1

3.1.1 does seem to have issues either randomly or with more than a dozen or so devices with the vcp driver. Certain ones won't initialize randomly. I may move a few to a different system since I have 18 total. I did try the usb driver with 3.2.2 and no go. Went back to vcp driver and only 16 of them show-up. Did not try a reboot yet. Just happy to be hashing with double digits for now.  :-D   Also, noticed on reboot previously that the com port numbers can change(which sucks). Not a biggie since I can just leave the PC on for a week straight between reboots.

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
Subo1977
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:54:44 PM
 #11196

are there somewhere nightly builds of cgminer for win?

I provide a 1000Mbit+ Torrent-Seedbox in FR and a 500Mbit Box in NL for orginal Blockchain Bootstrap.dat download. and also for Armoryclient Torrent

Tips are welcome:  15MuGdPSXU62fEFE9XbBZN3UvJMHBDVBoy
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 09:16:14 PM
 #11197

are there somewhere nightly builds of cgminer for win?
On your computer if you make them Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
June 23, 2013, 12:16:06 AM
 #11198

Update... after a couple of reboots and trying another miner and reinstalling the usb driver - I actually got everything working in 3.2.2 together. Has been stable for an hour. see what happens.

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
June 23, 2013, 03:05:25 PM
 #11199

are there somewhere nightly builds of cgminer for win?

check windows-build.txt in the cgminer folder.

kinda involved to initially install mingw32 and set it up for cgminer but once done compiling for windows from git only takes a couple of minutes.
FiatKiller
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
June 23, 2013, 03:15:12 PM
 #11200

3.2.2 stable overnight with 10 block eruptors & a Jale7. Good job with reducing CPU usage. I can run 3D games no problem now compared to 3.1.1, so CPU usage is way down.  :-D  Total Hashrate ~13.5 G   Sending tips your way.

LTC: LdxgJQLUdr8hZ79BV5AYbxkBUdaXctXAPi
MoonCoin Gambling: https://coin-horse.com/MON/
Pages: « 1 ... 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 [560] 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!