Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 11:34:58 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 [561] 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5761143 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:54:17 AM
 #11201

3.3.0a
3.3.0 recompiled on 64 bit Fedora18, 64 bit xubuntu 11.04 and also on the RPi 32 (2012-12-16-wheezy-raspbian and rpi-update)

https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries

To get the 64 bit xubuntu 11.04 binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/Ubuntu_11.04_x86_64/cgminer-3.3.0a
chmod +x cgminer-3.3.0a
md5sum cgminer-3.3.0a

bbabc0f5d047b8b91656719dd2f796f9  cgminer-3.3.0a
(this version should also work on Fedora 16 and Fedora 17)

To get the RPi 32bit binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/RPi_32/cgminer-3.3.0a
chmod +x cgminer-3.3.0a
md5sum cgminer-3.3.0a

6d3dad50604e26fff44316b01ac52419  cgminer-3.3.0a

To get the Fedora 18 binary:
wget https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/raw/master/Fedora18_x86_64/cgminer-3.3.0a
chmod +x cgminer-3.3.0a
md5sum cgminer-3.3.0a

6b7e23ea8012618b236db3a4456d99c6  cgminer-3.3.0a

For anyone who didn't realise, it's just the executable file to put in place of 'cgminer'
Nothing else needs changing
On xubuntu 11.04 - first get and extract the full binary release from ckolivas and then copy my file in place of 'cgminer'

I've run all three binaries for 3.5hrs without any problems so far, with 1x6950, 1xJalapeno, 1xAMU, 1xBLT, 1xBFL, 1xICA, 1xMMQ (Total ~8.6GH/s)

All have been built with -g
The -g (instead of -O2) means it's a debug build so if anyone finds a problem and has core dumps enabled, it will dump a much more useful debug core.

Otherwise, the same configure options as ckolivas' binary version for 64 bit xubuntu 11.04
In case anyone was wondering:
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon --enable-scrypt
make clean
make


All USBs (only) for the RPi 32bit version
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon
make clean
make

You will need to install libusb-1.0.0

All USBs (only) for the Fedora18 x86_64 version
CFLAGS="-g -W -Wall" ./autogen.sh --enable-bflsc --enable-icarus --enable-bitforce --enable-modminer --enable-ztex --enable-avalon
make clean
make

You will need to install libusb-1.0.0


Note I have binary folders of ckolivas official release files in my binaries git also, for if you can't get to his downloads
To get them you select the folder (e.g. 3.3.0) then click on the file you want then right-click save-as "View Raw"


Important: Read ASIC-README or FPGA-README about USB configuration on linux and windows

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
andrewsg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:57:18 AM
 #11202

Can't wait to try it.

Quick question - I believe 3.3.2 had a note in the changelog about fixing cgminer from hanging on stratum disconnects. This still happened to me a few times after upgrading, is it a known issue, are others experiencing the same issue?

Bitcoin can be bad for your chi. Improve yours and mine by sending BTC to: 1N1zRYSwKQbZ8Kx1bKvTskrjGMNynVFEr1
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 08:12:56 AM
 #11203

Can't wait to try it.

Quick question - I believe 3.3.2 had a note in the changelog about fixing cgminer from hanging on stratum disconnects. This still happened to me a few times after upgrading, is it a known issue, are others experiencing the same issue?
It's a known issue, for some versions of windows only, and if you had the problem in 3.2.2, you will still have it in 3.3.0 since I have not found a code reason for why it would happen.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
andrewsg
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 11:23:30 AM
 #11204

Can't wait to try it.

Quick question - I believe 3.3.2 had a note in the changelog about fixing cgminer from hanging on stratum disconnects. This still happened to me a few times after upgrading, is it a known issue, are others experiencing the same issue?
It's a known issue, for some versions of windows only, and if you had the problem in 3.2.2, you will still have it in 3.3.0 since I have not found a code reason for why it would happen.

Thanks for the update! This happens to me on Windows 7 x64, I will have a go with different versions.

Bitcoin can be bad for your chi. Improve yours and mine by sending BTC to: 1N1zRYSwKQbZ8Kx1bKvTskrjGMNynVFEr1
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 11:40:14 AM
 #11205

For Avalon users:

So I thought I'd make it easy for everyone to try the latest cgminer 3.3.0 and overclock settings all rolled into one, so here is a firmware with the overclock settings settable from the web interface:

http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/avalon/20130624/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory.bin

Note that I have donation settings in the configuration so if you do not use your own config settings, it will start mining for me until you change them.

Usual warnings apply with aggressive overclocking: do so at your own risk!

Enjoy  Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:45:54 PM
 #11206

I have a pool that rejects about 35-50% of my shares, i run load-balancing multipool config.
I run cgminer with --disable-rejecting swith but it does not disable bad pool:

Quote
cgminer version 3.3.0 - Started: [2013-06-25 03:39:26]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (1s):385.2M (avg):383.9Mh/s | A:15  R:11  HW:0  U:1.8/m  WU:4.9/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 2  LW: 115  GF: 2  RF: 0
 Connected to multiple pools without LP
 Block: 00a3d71a4f419dc9...  Diff:19.3M  Started: [03:39:46]  Best share: 55
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [ S ]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 384.3M/383.9Mh/s | A:15 R:11 HW:0 U:1.75/m I: 8
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-06-25 03:44:26] Pool 2 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-06-25 03:44:31] Accepted ddb8d8b8 Diff 1/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2013-06-25 03:44:40] Accepted 3c8269c7 Diff 4/2 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2013-06-25 03:44:47] Accepted 6417bafe Diff 2/2 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2013-06-25 03:44:47] Accepted 0c7b0f0e Diff 20/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2013-06-25 03:44:48] Accepted fae749e0 Diff 1/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2013-06-25 03:44:56] Accepted 37bc0d55 Diff 4/2 GPU 0 pool 2
 [2013-06-25 03:44:56] Stratum from pool 2 requested work restart
 [2013-06-25 03:45:24] Rejected 324adb6e Diff 5/2 GPU 0 pool 2 ((20, u'unknown-work', None))
 [2013-06-25 03:45:25] Accepted 204e06e8 Diff 7/2 GPU 0 pool 0
 [2013-06-25 03:45:40] Rejected 74a16707 Diff 2/2 GPU 0 pool 2 ((20, u'unknown-work', None))
 [2013-06-25 03:45:57] Rejected 41228217 Diff 3/2 GPU 0 pool 2 ((20, u'unknown-work', None))
 [2013-06-25 03:46:14] Rejected 49256258 Diff 3/2 GPU 0 pool 2 ((20, u'unknown-work', None))
 [2013-06-25 03:46:16] Rejected 3612856b Diff 4/2 GPU 0 pool 2 ((20, u'unknown-work', None))
 [2013-06-25 03:46:48] Accepted 77f0404b Diff 2/1 GPU 0 pool 1
 [2013-06-25 03:47:48] Stratum connection to pool 2 interrupted
 [2013-06-25 03:47:48] Pool 2 difficulty changed to 2
 [2013-06-25 03:47:53] Accepted ea2cda0a Diff 1/1 GPU 0 pool 1

Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 24, 2013, 08:02:52 PM
 #11207

awwww, come on, don't be quick to get rid of the GPU mining ability.

It may not be cost effective, may even lose money, but it is the only way for newbies to get involved and see what mining is all about. Telling future miners that they can't mine without buying special equipment(which most are predicting won't see ROI) isn't exactly great for Bitcoins future. Telling them that the can mine with the GPU in their current computer but will spend more on electricity than the make in Bitcoin will at least see the technical side of mining and decide about buying better equipment.

I'd think that the GPU code is pretty solid by now. Would it be so hard just to leave it in? or, make a separate GPU only build for beginners to use? I've just got one GPU working this week and there is a second in the box that i want to get going. I don't care if they make expensive Bitcoins, I just need the Bitcoins to buy more ASICS, and don't want to go through transferring money through exchanges. For me this is a hobby, not a business. I'm mining because i enjoy it.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 08:50:41 PM
 #11208

awwww, come on, don't be quick to get rid of the GPU mining ability.

It may not be cost effective, may even lose money, but it is the only way for newbies to get involved and see what mining is all about. Telling future miners that they can't mine without buying special equipment(which most are predicting won't see ROI) isn't exactly great for Bitcoins future. Telling them that the can mine with the GPU in their current computer but will spend more on electricity than the make in Bitcoin will at least see the technical side of mining and decide about buying better equipment.

I'd think that the GPU code is pretty solid by now. Would it be so hard just to leave it in? or, make a separate GPU only build for beginners to use? I've just got one GPU working this week and there is a second in the box that i want to get going. I don't care if they make expensive Bitcoins, I just need the Bitcoins to buy more ASICS, and don't want to go through transferring money through exchanges. For me this is a hobby, not a business. I'm mining because i enjoy it.
Same arguments as CPU. This equation has been done before. I'm talking about a year or more from now, not very soon, but I do like to give plenty of warning.  When you're spending $300 a month in energy to earn $0.30 in BTC, you will see things differently, trust me.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
yantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 24, 2013, 08:53:24 PM
 #11209

Ckovivas -

Question for you (Cross post):

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.msg2569627#msg2569627
bicer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 12:07:48 AM
 #11210

Anyone seen below error before and perhaps knows what it relates to? I'm suspecting it's some kind of limitation on USB hubs (1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc.).
Code:
USB: AMU0 read1 buffering 252 extra bytes
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 12:10:06 AM
 #11211

Anyone seen below error before and perhaps knows what it relates to? I'm suspecting it's some kind of limitation on USB hubs (1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc.).
Code:
USB: AMU0 read1 buffering 252 extra bytes

It means cgminer found a lot more information from the device than it was expecting, but it's harmless and the equivalent to a hardware error.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 01:30:09 AM
 #11212

Quick update, version 3.3.0 has a last minute regression that prevents new firmware singles and minirigs from working, and only the latest git will work. I'll be posting a hotfix release in the not too distant future. This is the problem with us not having physical hardware yet to confirm everything works as expected Roll Eyes

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bicer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 01:51:32 AM
 #11213

thx ck.

After cgminier restart the same unit that was showing that error now shows zero value for A: R: and /m but correct hashing speed. Is it safe to assume the unit is actually not doing anything?

Anyone seen below error before and perhaps knows what it relates to? I'm suspecting it's some kind of limitation on USB hubs (1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc.).
Code:
USB: AMU0 read1 buffering 252 extra bytes

It means cgminer found a lot more information from the device than it was expecting, but it's harmless and the equivalent to a hardware error.
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


Miner Developer


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 05:15:20 AM
 #11214

awwww, come on, don't be quick to get rid of the GPU mining ability.

It may not be cost effective, may even lose money, but it is the only way for newbies to get involved and see what mining is all about. Telling future miners that they can't mine without buying special equipment(which most are predicting won't see ROI) isn't exactly great for Bitcoins future. Telling them that the can mine with the GPU in their current computer but will spend more on electricity than the make in Bitcoin will at least see the technical side of mining and decide about buying better equipment.

I'd think that the GPU code is pretty solid by now. Would it be so hard just to leave it in? or, make a separate GPU only build for beginners to use? I've just got one GPU working this week and there is a second in the box that i want to get going. I don't care if they make expensive Bitcoins, I just need the Bitcoins to buy more ASICS, and don't want to go through transferring money through exchanges. For me this is a hobby, not a business. I'm mining because i enjoy it.
Same arguments as CPU. This equation has been done before. I'm talking about a year or more from now, not very soon, but I do like to give plenty of warning.  When you're spending $300 a month in energy to earn $0.30 in BTC, you will see things differently, trust me.
It's still quite profitable for alt-coins. Anyway, are you gonna add in the scrypt OpenCL optimization somebody posted on the Litecoin forums?

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1123


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2013, 05:16:53 AM
 #11215

Anyway, are you gonna add in the scrypt OpenCL optimization somebody posted on the Litecoin forums?
Discussed before. It does nothing.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 05:37:14 AM
 #11216

thx ck.

After cgminier restart the same unit that was showing that error now shows zero value for A: R: and /m but correct hashing speed. Is it safe to assume the unit is actually not doing anything?

Anyone seen below error before and perhaps knows what it relates to? I'm suspecting it's some kind of limitation on USB hubs (1a40:0101 Terminus Technology Inc.).
Code:
USB: AMU0 read1 buffering 252 extra bytes

It means cgminer found a lot more information from the device than it was expecting, but it's harmless and the equivalent to a hardware error.
I added  a buffer into the Icarus driver to handle the VERY rare case of getting 2 answers back at the same time (extremely rare ...)
The 2nd answer seems to be rubbish when it happens.

It showed up this particular issue you see, of sometimes getting extra data back from libusb.
It doesn't affect anything but the data at the time it happens - which either doesn't contain a share or has a corrupted one in it.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 677
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 07:30:44 AM
 #11217

Can devs cooment on mulipool issue i have https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2569165#msg2569165 ?
thanks
ebereon
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 493
Merit: 500


ICOForums.net - A Cryptocurrency & ICO Forum


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 07:46:18 AM
 #11218

can anyone help me with the flags for cross compiling to avalon openwrt?

I do:
Code:
./configure --build=mips-openwrt-linux-uclibc --disable-opencl --disable-adl --enable-avalon

But got error on make:
Code:
  CC     cgminer-cgminer.o
cgminer.c:15:20: fatal error: curses.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.

Sorry, I'm not a linux expert with cross compiling  Wink
please help, thank you!


████████
██████████████
█████████████████
████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
████████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████████████
██████████████████
███████████████
███    ████████   
██         ████████
█         ████████

|
███
Activity Contest██████Promotion Contest██████ ̅ ̅ ̅ ̅ ̅ \
███
\___████ICO Review Contest███Signature Campaign
||
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1052


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 25, 2013, 08:34:22 AM
 #11219

Can devs cooment on mulipool issue i have https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2569165#msg2569165 ?
thanks
Don't use that pool ...

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
yantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 109
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 25, 2013, 11:17:44 AM
 #11220

ckolivas / kano - Can you tell me which is a better stat for measuring. Its is MHS or Work Utility?

From your readme: WU:  The Work Utility defined as the number of diff1 shares work / minute (accepted or rejected).

On some units at 375 Mhz overclock I get a higher work utility but lower MHS than I do at 350 Mhz. (and on other units I get a what I feel is good scaling). I am not sure how work utility is calculated or if its just an estimate.
My theory was if Work Utility provided a better stat then I would target that vs MHS. I just have so much variance so was trying to figure it out. Any help appreciated!

Thanks!
Pages: « 1 ... 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 [561] 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!