Bitcoin Forum
January 30, 2023, 03:52:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 ... 1135 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3426354 times)
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 03:11:26 PM
Last edit: January 14, 2014, 03:29:48 PM by cbuchner1
 #2521

Speed scrypt-jane went from 0.46 kh/s (non-interactive) to 0.59 kh/s (interactive) or 0.63 (non-interactive)
Scrypt went from 84 kh/s (interactive) down to 63 kh/s (interactive), including some HW errors:
With scrypt and -C 0 speed is down to 57 kh/s.

At the moment I am primarily interested in boosting the jane speed for Fermi (for purely selfish motives) - and it seems I have succeeded.

My list of Fermi devices is long:
GTX 560 Ti 448 core edition
GTX 660 (OEM label "V660-4098B") <-- what a shameful product mislabeling!
GT 630

However I find it rather bizarre that scrypt performance dropped quite a bit. That is somewhat unexpected.

I have seen some validation errors even on Kepler myself when used with the -C option. I have to investigate this a bit more.

Christian
According to NIST and ECRYPT II, the cryptographic algorithms used in Bitcoin are expected to be strong until at least 2030. (After that, it will not be too difficult to transition to different algorithms.)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
patoberli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 03:33:41 PM
 #2522

As I guess that my Edit could go forgotten, just discovered that my CPU load went from ~1% to 11% with this new version with scrypt-jane.
11% = 1 CPU core fully loaded.

YAC: YA86YiWSvWEGSSSerPTMy4kwndabRUNftf
BTC: 16NqvkYbKMnonVEf7jHbuWURFsLeuTRidX
LTC: LTKCoiDwqEjaRCoNXfFhDm9EeWbGWouZjE
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 04:30:01 PM
 #2523

As I guess that my Edit could go forgotten, just discovered that my CPU load went from ~1% to 11% with this new version with scrypt-jane.
11% = 1 CPU core fully loaded.

also getting this with -b 32768  and / or -i 0 ?
patoberli
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 04:40:41 PM
 #2524

-b 32768 it's even a little bit higher (13 %) and interactive mode is "gone", means it's laggy again.
Both options is laggy and 4 % CPU load.
-i is laggy and 4-8 % load.

Can do more tests tomorrow.

YAC: YA86YiWSvWEGSSSerPTMy4kwndabRUNftf
BTC: 16NqvkYbKMnonVEf7jHbuWURFsLeuTRidX
LTC: LTKCoiDwqEjaRCoNXfFhDm9EeWbGWouZjE
sambiohazard
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 14, 2014, 05:03:30 PM
 #2525

-b 32768 it's even a little bit higher (13 %) and interactive mode is "gone", means it's laggy again.
Both options is laggy and 4 % CPU load.
-i is laggy and 4-8 % load.

Can do more tests tomorrow.

Now I am no expert but I have observed that lag can increase with increase in use of graphic card RAM. e.g. on my gtx 275 896 MB

L60x3 uses 840 MB and PC is laggy

L80x1 uses 650 MB and PC is less laggy. I can watch youtube video at least.

also 80x1 gives more khashes. Just my observation.
ManIkWeet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 05:10:21 PM
 #2526

I just found another YACoin block  Grin
I say when Christian finds 2 in a row on a frequent basis...

BTC donations: 18fw6ZjYkN7xNxfVWbsRmBvD6jBAChRQVn (thanks!)
Snard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 06:06:08 PM
 #2527

I am confused by the GTX 670 cudaminer scrypt-jane hash rates as they seem quite low for certain coins. For example, in cache using cgminer with scrypt jane support I am getting in the mhps range compared to cudaminer, which gives me around 20 khps.

Is this simply a difference in how cgminer vs cudaminer are reporting the hash rate or something else?
Treggar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 06:10:47 PM
 #2528

I am confused by the cudaminer scrypt-jane hash rates as they seem quite low for certain coins. For example, in cache using cgminer with scrypt jane support I am getting in the mhps range compared to cudaminer, which gives me around 20 khps.

Is this simply a difference in how cgminer vs cudaminer are reporting the hash rate or something else?
Depends on the coin... the older a coin is the lower the hashrates you'll get
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 06:10:51 PM
 #2529

I am confused by the cudaminer scrypt-jane hash rates as they seem quite low for certain coins. For example, in cache using cgminer with scrypt jane support I am getting in the mhps range compared to cudaminer, which gives me around 20 khps.

Is this simply a difference in how cgminer vs cudaminer are reporting the hash rate or something else?

cudaminer is not yet suitable for low Nfactor coins, as the Kekkac part is done on the CPU with unoptimized code

for such coins cgminer for scrypt-jane will beat cudaminer.
Snard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 06:13:58 PM
 #2530

I see...I thought i had read that elsewhere, but couldn't find the post. Thanks for clarifying.
ozie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 239
Merit: 103


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 06:14:45 PM
 #2531

This is due to the fact that with scrypt-jane you also need to calculate a KECCAK hash. This is done by the cpu singlethreaded atm.
I hope in the future there will be an option to offload it to the GPU like the SHA256 hash for scrypt.

But right now support for old deprecated Fermi Devices is more important  Grin

Maxwell btw. is looking very promising for mining. If the rumors are true even Mobile GPU gets 6 Gig RAM.
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 06:49:34 PM
 #2532

But right now support for old deprecated Fermi Devices is more important  Grin

My GTX 560 Ti 448 core edition is anything but deprecated. It does something in the region of 280 kHash/s for scrypt mining.
Before Dave Andersen came along, Fermis were hashing stronger than Keplers.

Christian
Lionel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 613
Merit: 305


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 07:37:38 PM
 #2533

Guys let's try playing games while mining with cuda!
Try adding this options and let me know if the game lags

-i 1 -l S2x1

If the game lags try with

-i 1 -l S1x1

Lemme know
Lol that hashrate... 3.8kh/s while my 670 does 240kh/s on my own settings

too low you're right

try with these ones
-i 1 -l S3x3
-i 1 -l S5x5
-i 1 -l S6x6

should give a decent Kh/s while gaming,
for me
20Kh/s
40Kh/s
50Kh/s

and you? I have to try more aggressive configs
Tweek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250

CoinTweak profitability charts


View Profile WWW
January 14, 2014, 09:03:44 PM
 #2534

Guys let's try playing games while mining with cuda!
Try adding this options and let me know if the game lags

-i 1 -l S2x1

If the game lags try with

-i 1 -l S1x1

Lemme know
Lol that hashrate... 3.8kh/s while my 670 does 240kh/s on my own settings

too low you're right

try with these ones
-i 1 -l S3x3
-i 1 -l S5x5
-i 1 -l S6x6

should give a decent Kh/s while gaming,
for me
20Kh/s
40Kh/s
50Kh/s

and you? I have to try more aggressive configs
For gaming I use
-i 1 -l K8x2 = 55kh/s and game (guild wars 2) feels a little laggy with ~15fps
-i 1 -l K6x2 = 40kh/s and game runs normal with ~20fps
Tested on GTX 670 btw Smiley

cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 11:54:28 PM
Last edit: January 15, 2014, 12:47:20 AM by cbuchner1
 #2535

A bit of research on Fermi performance with the new X-perimental kernel (Dave Andersen's work ported over to Fermi)

GTX 560Ti 1280MB: 0.83 kHash/s with -X 8x1    <--- the low VRAM is really hurting
GT 630 4GB VRAM: 0.72 kHash/s                      <--- low cost, low performance. The RAM doesn't help Wink
GTX 660 OEM 4GB VRAM: 1.25 kHash/s             <--- that is one strange OEM part, I must say.

The new code is about 50% faster then the existing Fermi kernel for scrypt-jane. But I do get occasional
validation errors on Fermi + Kepler when I enable -C 1 or -C 2. Strange. Hence avoid Fermi parts like the
plague if you intend to do scrypt-jane.

In comparison.

A GT 640 (GK107) 4GB at stock clocks will do something in the range of 1.65 kHash/s. This is somewhat less than I expected
because my GT750M laptop part (same chip) delivers 2.1 kHash/s.

A GT 640 (GK208) 1GB GDDR5 manages to do 1.25 kHash/s with mild overclock. Again the low VRAM is hurting.

I will be getting more Kepler parts for comparison. GTX 650, GTX 650Ti (not the Boost version) with 2GB each.

Christian
beachking2000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 01:18:04 AM
 #2536

Hey Christian. Is there anyway to get the texture cache feature to work in the 12-18 build? I haven't had success compiling off the github with windows so cant get the extra hash rate.
Lionel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 613
Merit: 305


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 09:25:59 AM
 #2537

Guys let's try playing games while mining with cuda!
Try adding this options and let me know if the game lags

-i 1 -l S2x1

If the game lags try with

-i 1 -l S1x1

Lemme know
Lol that hashrate... 3.8kh/s while my 670 does 240kh/s on my own settings

too low you're right

try with these ones
-i 1 -l S3x3
-i 1 -l S5x5
-i 1 -l S6x6

should give a decent Kh/s while gaming,
for me
20Kh/s
40Kh/s
50Kh/s

and you? I have to try more aggressive configs
For gaming I use
-i 1 -l K8x2 = 55kh/s and game (guild wars 2) feels a little laggy with ~15fps
-i 1 -l K6x2 = 40kh/s and game runs normal with ~20fps
Tested on GTX 670 btw Smiley

20fps is not the best experience, try with -i 1 -l K4x2
sairon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


One does not simply mine Bitcoins


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 10:08:07 AM
 #2538

Hi there! Can you please plug your figures into this table for nvidia performance? Smiley
http://yacoinwiki.tk/index.php/Mining_Hardware_Comparison

GPG key ID: 5E4F108A || BTC: 1hoardyponb9AMWhyA28DZb5n5g2bRY8v
RbelMonstr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 11:03:06 AM
Last edit: January 15, 2014, 12:12:16 PM by RbelMonstr
 #2539

Hi there! Can you please plug your figures into this table for nvidia performance? Smiley
http://yacoinwiki.tk/index.php/Mining_Hardware_Comparison

There is a survey/spreadsheet combo for Scrypt-Jane a few pages back, you could get your data from there.
And in the OP there are also 2 spreadsheets.
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988
Merit: 1039


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 01:00:00 PM
 #2540

A GT 640 (GK107) 4GB at stock clocks will do something in the range of 1.65 kHash/s.

I wonder how this one performs with an N factor of 15.

Not your keys, not your coins!
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 ... 1135 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!