Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2018, 07:47:11 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 1136 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3401571 times)
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 10:55:57 PM
 #2481

Allright, today I found two consecutive Yacoin blocks in a row.

Block 378923

Block 378924

to the Moon!

Just 160 or so more confirmations until they mature...

The chances of that happening is just like.... wow!
Congrats

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
1539805631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539805631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539805631
Reply with quote  #2

1539805631
Report to moderator
1539805631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539805631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539805631
Reply with quote  #2

1539805631
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539805631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539805631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539805631
Reply with quote  #2

1539805631
Report to moderator
1539805631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539805631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539805631
Reply with quote  #2

1539805631
Report to moderator
1539805631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539805631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539805631
Reply with quote  #2

1539805631
Report to moderator
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 10:59:22 PM
 #2482

[
Everyone's opinion will differ.  I have ~7KH/sec and prefer to use a pool.  

the problem with the only stratum capable pool for yacoin (yac.coinmine.pl) is: they currently control 80-90% of the hash rate.
Essentially if that pool operator went rogue, this would destroy Yacoin.

Look at the tantrum the bitcoin community made when one pool got close to 51%.

Maybe consider solo'ing to improve network health.

Christian
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:06:09 PM
 #2483

The chances of that happening is just like.... wow!

Not that unlikely actually.

Assume you have a 1% (1/100) chance every minute to grab a block because
you hold 1% of the network's total hash rate.

Then every minute you have a 1/10000 chance to grab two consecutive blocks.
So it takes 10000 minutes on average until you grab two in a row - about a week.

And a 1/1000000 chance to grab three consecutive block. That's going to happen
about once every two years.

But I'd rather win a lottery that really pays big.

Christian

TheSmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:07:20 PM
 #2484

2 questions:

1) I have a NVidia 660TI, all works fine. If I run it on a machine with NVidia GT 530, it gets overheated and shuts down. Is there a setting that the graphic card get's not that much heat?

2) when i run cudaminer after I played a game, it crashes (no error message). When I reboot the machine, cudaminer works fine again. Is there a way to "reset" the graphic cardf without rebooting? Or a setting for cudaminer to reset all graphic card settings maybe?
1) Try -i 1 (interactive) or -h 0 (single threaded CPU hashing)
2) Put pause in your .bat file (on a new line). If it says nothing, probably driver issue.

[/quote]

I tried (1), but no changes, still overheating in a minute. Any other suggestiojn please? When i use cgminer it works, but results are looow.
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:10:37 PM
 #2485


I am currently trying to port Dave Anderson's code design to Fermi. I will have to replace the Kepler-specific __shfl() intrinsics with shared memory.

Hopefully there will be some love for Fermi again...  Fermi based GT 630 cards are cheap.

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:11:49 PM
 #2486

I tried (1), but no changes, still overheating in a minute. Any other suggestiojn please? When i use cgminer it works, but results are looow.

you can always lower some of the settings in your launch config, so the card runs less efficiently... and generates less heat as a result.

Christian
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:18:16 PM
 #2487



What a fabulous creation and render!

I think a coin that is only mineable on CUDA devices would not really find a large enough fanbase to be listed on any exchanges. Cuda isn't as sexy as a trash talking Doge or as a gay fish ("Coinye"). The Cudacoin surely would appease some (may be a lot of) miners, but miners aren't necessarily coin users who create a demand for the coin. You need a userbase that is willing to purchase the mined supply of coins.

Christian
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:33:54 PM
 #2488

I present the designated cases for my two purpose-built mining rigs



wooden, stackable, and highly combustible. Perfect Wink

I will cut in openings for air intake and outflow and try to secure everything nicely inplace.

It's a going to be space heating furniture objects. Auto-refilling treasure chests with external power supply. Cash-cows in a box.

Christian
manofcolombia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10

SizzleBits


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2014, 11:35:43 PM
 #2489

I present the designated cases for my two purpose-built mining rigs


wooden, stackable, and highly combustible. Perfect Wink

I will cut in openings for air intake and outflow and try to secure everything nicely inplace.

It's a going to be space heating furniture objects.

Christian


Nice non-US plugs...now we know where you live... Wink

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:38:07 PM
 #2490


Nice non-US plugs...now we know where you live... Wink

230 Volts for teh win!
Tweek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250

CoinTweak profitability charts


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2014, 11:39:59 PM
 #2491

Any chances of an update that includes back-up pools any time soon? Cheesy

cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:42:20 PM
 #2492

Any chances of an update that includes back-up pools any time soon? Cheesy

currently busy with this:

Quote from: cbuchner1
I am currently trying to port Dave Anderson's code design to Fermi. I will have to replace the Kepler-specific __shfl() intrinsics with shared memory.

I gladly take code submissions for entire features Wink   In one case I have even sent a working GTX 560 graphics
card as a "thank you, now would you please take my electronic waste" gift to greece.
Silverwolf_Ru
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100

Astrophotographer and Ham Radioist!


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:49:54 PM
 #2493

I am very glad I tossed the idea your way OP! Look at how much new discoveries it spurred!

I compiled the latest code with my Visual Studio 2010 on Windows. Working good, if a bit whirr with all those release builds. Pthreads.dll I had to grab from your pre-compiled one, since it gave me an error on start up. But it seems to be puttering away. I have a GTX 560Ti, could further Fermi optimizations be done to achieve at least 200 khash on scrypt? Looking towards the optimized .cl kernel for AMD cards that is floating around improving hashing speeds by 1-7%

Bitcoin: 17kz4pWKoMoVupGUYgj8kGomxXUkDHNtVe
Shadowcoin: Seta8CFwP6yvbeCkgfjxXjpkokrQMQovGF ~Coin of the Future!
TheSmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:51:55 PM
 #2494

I tried (1), but no changes, still overheating in a minute. Any other suggestiojn please? When i use cgminer it works, but results are looow.

you can always lower some of the settings in your launch config, so the card runs less efficiently... and generates less heat as a result.

Christian


Hi Christian. Thanks for the feedback, but I don't know, what you mean.

I start it with a bat file:
Quote
cudaminer.exe  -i 1 -H 1 -o stratum+tcp://pool.coinyechain.info:3333 -O Login.Worker:x
I also tried -i 0 and -H0
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 13, 2014, 11:56:27 PM
 #2495

Maybe consider solo'ing to improve network health.

Or give yac.m-s-t.org some love.


On another note, I found an old thread which was funny when it was created, and now it's funny again for another reason.  Wink

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 12:02:23 AM
 #2496

Quote
cudaminer.exe  -i 1 -H 1 -o stratum+tcp://pool.coinyechain.info:3333 -O Login.Worker:x
Hi Christian. Thanks for the feedback, but I don't know, what you mean.
After auto-tuning is complete it will report a somewhat optimal "launch config", e.g. K4x8

you can then always this pass to cudaminer with the parameter for faster startup times:
-l K4x8

And in order to reduce temperatures, you could reduce the 4 or the 8 to smaller values in order
to "under-utilize" your GPU a bit. Making it run cooler at lower hash rates.

clearer now?

Christian



cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 12:12:23 AM
 #2497

Maybe consider solo'ing to improve network health.

Or give yac.m-s-t.org some love.


On another note, I found an old thread which was funny when it was created, and now it's funny again for another reason.  Wink

except that it's all Fermi cards in the picture, and they currently suck at scrypt-jane.... which I am trying to improve.

Nice pool interface. This really deserves some mining love.
TheSmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 12:13:59 AM
 #2498

Quote
cudaminer.exe  -i 1 -H 1 -o stratum+tcp://pool.coinyechain.info:3333 -O Login.Worker:x
Hi Christian. Thanks for the feedback, but I don't know, what you mean.
After auto-tuning is complete it will report a somewhat optimal "launch config", e.g. K4x8

you can then always this pass to cudaminer with the parameter for faster startup times:
-l K4x8

And in order to reduce temperatures, you could reduce the 4 or the 8 to smaller values in order
to "under-utilize" your GPU a bit. Making it run cooler at lower hash rates.

clearer now?

Christian

Yes, many thanks, I will work on that.
bathrobehero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1026


ICO? Not even once.


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 12:29:02 AM
 #2499

Nice pool interface. This really deserves some mining love.

I average more coins there than I do on yacointalk for some reason. Maybe because of vardiff?

Is Keccak optimization planned? The reason I ask is because currently YAC is getting all the attention, but otherwise there would also be:
CacheCoin N 5
microcoin N 5
Internetcoin N 7
QQCoin  N 7
Velocitycoin N 7
Applecoin N 10
that I know of.

RIP Bittrex
RIP Poloniex
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 14, 2014, 12:45:01 AM
 #2500

Nice pool interface. This really deserves some mining love.

I average more coins there than I do on yacointalk for some reason. Maybe because of vardiff?

Is Keccak optimization planned? The reason I ask is because currently YAC is getting all the attention, but otherwise there would also be:
CacheCoin N 5
microcoin N 5
Internetcoin N 7
QQCoin  N 7
Velocitycoin N 7
Applecoin N 10
that I know of.

Only putting Kekkac on the GPU would help. Considering that I have about 2 hours a day to spare, this is going to take a while.
Pages: « 1 ... 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 [125] 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 ... 1136 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!