Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2024, 08:44:19 AM *
News: Voting for pizza day contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 [553] 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805314 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2013, 09:11:05 PM
 #11041

I am trying to run this miner on my brother's 7970 rig. He needs to play his Battlefield 3.

Goal: mine 24/7 but allow my brother to play BF3 without fps drops

What I have tried and didn't work:

-I d (result = Fans skyrocketing, fps drops)
-I 0 (or anything under 0 uses 70%+ CPU)
--auto-gpu --temp-target 65 (same result as -I d)


Can someone please help me find the right line of arguments? I am willing to give a bounty of 0.1 BTC

Thanks in advance!
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 18, 2013, 09:19:22 PM
 #11042

I am trying to run this miner on my brother's 7970 rig. He needs to play his Battlefield 3.

Goal: mine 24/7 but allow my brother to play BF3 without fps drops

What I have tried and didn't work:

-I d (result = Fans skyrocketing, fps drops)
-I 0 (or anything under 0 uses 70%+ CPU)
--auto-gpu --temp-target 65 (same result as -I d)


Can someone please help me find the right line of arguments? I am willing to give a bounty of 0.1 BTC

Thanks in advance!

Code:
-I d --gpu-dyninterval 1 --temp-target 75
increase temp-target if the noise is too much, increase gpu-dyninterval to increase hashrate until fps drops

Edit: and don't mine scrypt coins, I don't think you can without hurting fps whatever setting you use

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2013, 09:27:44 PM
 #11043

I am trying to run this miner on my brother's 7970 rig. He needs to play his Battlefield 3.

Goal: mine 24/7 but allow my brother to play BF3 without fps drops

What I have tried and didn't work:

-I d (result = Fans skyrocketing, fps drops)
-I 0 (or anything under 0 uses 70%+ CPU)
--auto-gpu --temp-target 65 (same result as -I d)


Can someone please help me find the right line of arguments? I am willing to give a bounty of 0.1 BTC

Thanks in advance!

Code:
-I d --gpu-dyninterval 1 --temp-target 75
increase temp-target if the noise is too much, increase gpu-dyninterval to increase hashrate until fps drops

Edit: and don't mine scrypt coins, I don't think you can without hurting fps whatever setting you use


Thanks for your feedback. The thing is I am getting 75C° with -I d, but the fans are going wild.And this is without even playing. Isn't there a way to limit the hashrate (300 Mh/s for example) ? 
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 18, 2013, 09:34:56 PM
 #11044

I am trying to run this miner on my brother's 7970 rig. He needs to play his Battlefield 3.

Goal: mine 24/7 but allow my brother to play BF3 without fps drops

What I have tried and didn't work:

-I d (result = Fans skyrocketing, fps drops)
-I 0 (or anything under 0 uses 70%+ CPU)
--auto-gpu --temp-target 65 (same result as -I d)


Can someone please help me find the right line of arguments? I am willing to give a bounty of 0.1 BTC

Thanks in advance!

Code:
-I d --gpu-dyninterval 1 --temp-target 75
increase temp-target if the noise is too much, increase gpu-dyninterval to increase hashrate until fps drops

Edit: and don't mine scrypt coins, I don't think you can without hurting fps whatever setting you use


Thanks for your feedback. The thing is I am getting 75C° with -I d, but the fans are going wild.And this is without even playing. Isn't there a way to limit the hashrate (300 Mh/s for example) ? 

I assume you use --auto-fan ? Then if the fans are going wild this is because the GPU is too hot compared to the temp target. You can raise temp-target (on a 7970 I had to use 80 and even 85 in some situations).
If you use a low gpu-dyninterval, it should reduce your hashrate and the power used by the GPU: it should slow down your fan(s). If it can't bring it down enough you could test -I 1 (if the dynamic setting doesn't lower the intensity to 1) if -I 0 and lower doesn't work for you.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2013, 10:22:18 PM
 #11045

I am trying to run this miner on my brother's 7970 rig. He needs to play his Battlefield 3.

Goal: mine 24/7 but allow my brother to play BF3 without fps drops

What I have tried and didn't work:

-I d (result = Fans skyrocketing, fps drops)
-I 0 (or anything under 0 uses 70%+ CPU)
--auto-gpu --temp-target 65 (same result as -I d)


Can someone please help me find the right line of arguments? I am willing to give a bounty of 0.1 BTC

Thanks in advance!

Code:
-I d --gpu-dyninterval 1 --temp-target 75
increase temp-target if the noise is too much, increase gpu-dyninterval to increase hashrate until fps drops

Edit: and don't mine scrypt coins, I don't think you can without hurting fps whatever setting you use


Thanks for your feedback. The thing is I am getting 75C° with -I d, but the fans are going wild.And this is without even playing. Isn't there a way to limit the hashrate (300 Mh/s for example) ? 

I assume you use --auto-fan ? Then if the fans are going wild this is because the GPU is too hot compared to the temp target. You can raise temp-target (on a 7970 I had to use 80 and even 85 in some situations).
If you use a low gpu-dyninterval, it should reduce your hashrate and the power used by the GPU: it should slow down your fan(s). If it can't bring it down enough you could test -I 1 (if the dynamic setting doesn't lower the intensity to 1) if -I 0 and lower doesn't work for you.


Thanks!
Not using --auto-fan,
-I 1 no difference noticed compared to -I d
Isn't there a possibility to stop mining when the game is opened?

dwolfman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 18, 2013, 11:18:29 PM
 #11046

Thanks!
Not using --auto-fan,
-I 1 no difference noticed compared to -I d
Isn't there a possibility to stop mining when the game is opened?

I've been using Bitcoin Miners in Tray to do that.  See this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=149442.0

If the games are in Steam or can be opened through Steam, it makes it even easier.  Just make sure GameOverlayUI is one of the processes it watches for and that you have Steam set up to use that when starting a game (so you have the Shift-Tab function for Steam community stuff).

Wanna send coins my way? 1BY2rZduB9j8Exa4158QXPFJoJ2NWU1NGf or just scan the QR code in my avatar.  :-)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4536
Merit: 1847


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 18, 2013, 11:44:12 PM
 #11047

Hmm ... although it's not hashing up full speed quite yet (and the numbers aren't reporting properly at the top) ... I realised that this screen grab I took was in fact the first ever view of an 8 BAS MiniRig mining on all 8 devices ... so I thought I'd post it even thought it's not hashing at full speed there ... (yeah the back screen shows all 8, not the front screen)


... and the fact that I know this is the first time also means that BFL clearly haven't been mining their own MiniRigs since there was no complete software combination that could do that even 24 hours ago ... the clock shown is KC time.

Soon it will be hashing at it's expected speed Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1091


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 12:09:18 AM
 #11048

Not using --auto-fan,

Use --auto-fan and --auto-gpu

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4144
Merit: 1637


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2013, 02:19:45 AM
 #11049

First BFL SC Minirig mining with cgminer:

It's been up and down numerous times as I've been chipping away at the code to make it work at its theoretical maximum 480GH.

It's mostly working now. Here's what I've got:

Code:
cgminer version 3.2.2 - Started: [2013-06-19 02:17:06]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):477.6G (avg):472.1Gh/s | A:16  R:0  HW:193  U:10.8/m  WU:6575.3/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 2  LW: 11012  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to XXX diff 500
 Block: 00179d4404ca1359...  Diff:19.3M  Started: [02:18:28]  Best share: 9.56K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 BAS 0:  max 68C 3.28V | 56.23G/58.22Gh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:18 U: 0.67/m
 BAS 1:  max 69C 3.27V | 58.92G/60.48Gh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:23 U: 0.67/m
 BAS 2:  max 74C 3.27V | 60.53G/59.85Gh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:19 U: 2.69/m
 BAS 3:  max 80C 3.28V | 62.52G/61.58Gh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:20 U: 0.67/m
 BAS 4:  max 86C 3.27V | 74.56G/59.90Gh/s | A:4 R:0 HW:39 U: 2.69/m
 BAS 5:  max 71C 3.28V | 64.25G/58.79Gh/s | A:1 R:0 HW:25 U: 0.67/m
 BAS 6:  max 81C 3.27V | 59.93G/58.98Gh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:25 U: 1.34/m
 BAS 7:  max 72C 3.27V | 43.22G/60.81Gh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:25 U: 1.34/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note the hardware error count may appear very high, but bear in mind that it's mining at diff 500


Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 299
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 02:27:03 AM
 #11050

Found a bug in 3.2.1: after several days of running, the output became all HW errors. I didn't manage to get a screenshot of it because it went back to normal after looking at the Pools settings, but could it be an integer overflow somewhere in the code? The hardware was still functioning normally.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4536
Merit: 1847


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 04:55:37 AM
 #11051

... and an update? to my previous post also Smiley
I was downgraded to a 4xSingle Minirig Cheesy
But now even on windows (got forbid Tongue) it's hashing away so well.

Yeah my post above became a certain other non-cgminer person's MiniRig

Anyway ...

and yes the HW error rate - like ckolivas mentioned above - is low
In my case below 1% ... but at 236GH/s .. who cares?

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
jamesg
VIP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000


AKA: gigavps


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 06:23:58 AM
 #11052

Thank you to conman and kano for getting cgminer up and running so quickly with the latest BFL firmware.

You guys rock.  Cheesy
unpack
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 292
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 19, 2013, 06:47:28 AM
 #11053

After the release, would like to add MD5 value, SHA1, SHA256, prevent the virus
thank very much
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4536
Merit: 1847


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 10:02:44 AM
 #11054

After the release, would like to add MD5 value, SHA1, SHA256, prevent the virus
thank very much
Each folder copy of the release in my cgminer-binaries git, I put an MD5SUM
e.g. https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer-binaries/blob/master/3.2.2/MD5SUM

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 10:18:24 AM
 #11055

Found a bug in 3.2.1: after several days of running, the output became all HW errors. I didn't manage to get a screenshot of it because it went back to normal after looking at the Pools settings, but could it be an integer overflow somewhere in the code? The hardware was still functioning normally.

Saw this with 3.2.2 as well...

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
jborkl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 246
Merit: 250


Team Heritage Motorsports


View Profile WWW
June 19, 2013, 03:02:47 PM
 #11056

Can not believe how fast you guys got that MR up to full speed. Awesome work

neil_mccauley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 03:42:27 PM
 #11057

I have a problem with the ASIC Miner USB Erupters and CGMiner 3.1.1.  
I had two working fine with CGMiner 3.1.1 on my computer then I shipped them to someone else and now they can't get one of the USB Miners to work.

Steps taken on the affected computer:
Installed zadig
Installed USBtoUARTBridgeVCPDrivers
Rebooted the computer, did not change any of the drivers.  Zadig reports that the Erupter is using the correct USB to UART driver.

Verified that the Erupters are using COM5 and COM7 in device manager

Ran CGMiner 3.1.1 with the following arguments:
cgminer-nogpu.exe --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM5 -S //./COM7

One of the devices works fine and one always gives the following error:
Started cgminer 3.1.1
Icarus Detect: Test failed at //./COM5: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: c1 4f 87 64)
Avalon: Goto idle mode

The device on COM7 always works so I'm trying to find out if it is a software problem or a hardware problem.  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I read 3.2.2 will fix many usb issues.  Will give that a shot and report back.

It turns out that adding a USB hub resolved this.  Not sure why it did not work when plugged directly into the computer, but I'll take the win.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 501



View Profile
June 19, 2013, 04:23:03 PM
Last edit: June 19, 2013, 06:52:05 PM by Trongersoll
 #11058

I have a problem with the ASIC Miner USB Erupters and CGMiner 3.1.1.  
I had two working fine with CGMiner 3.1.1 on my computer then I shipped them to someone else and now they can't get one of the USB Miners to work.

Steps taken on the affected computer:
Installed zadig
Installed USBtoUARTBridgeVCPDrivers
Rebooted the computer, did not change any of the drivers.  Zadig reports that the Erupter is using the correct USB to UART driver.

Verified that the Erupters are using COM5 and COM7 in device manager

Ran CGMiner 3.1.1 with the following arguments:
cgminer-nogpu.exe --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S //./COM5 -S //./COM7

One of the devices works fine and one always gives the following error:
Started cgminer 3.1.1
Icarus Detect: Test failed at //./COM5: get 00000000, should: 000187a2
Reset failed! not an Avalon? (0: c1 4f 87 64)
Avalon: Goto idle mode

The device on COM7 always works so I'm trying to find out if it is a software problem or a hardware problem.  Any help is appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I read 3.2.2 will fix many usb issues.  Will give that a shot and report back.

It turns out that adding a USB hub resolved this.  Not sure why it did not work when plugged directly into the computer, but I'll take the win.

some computers are challenged when it comes to supplying power via USB i have a Netbook that will run two ASICminer USBs fine, add a third and it turns off. it will turn on and reboot fine, but will only run 2 of the 3 USBs. was the hub that fixed your problem powered?
vekt0r7
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 19, 2013, 06:20:37 PM
 #11059

"--temp-cutoff" doesn't work for me, my GPU keeps on hashing even above the allowed target temperature.
Code:
cgminer -o pool-de.50btc.com:8332 -u [username] -p [password]  -o http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 -u [username] -p [password] -I 9 --temp-cutoff 70
pause
http://abload.de/img/tempcutoffgcjnu.png

Anybody got an idea?
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 19, 2013, 06:32:43 PM
 #11060

"--temp-cutoff" doesn't work for me, my GPU keeps on hashing even above the allowed target temperature.
Code:
cgminer -o pool-de.50btc.com:8332 -u [username] -p [password]  -o http://mint.bitminter.com:8332 -u [username] -p [password] -I 9 --temp-cutoff 70
pause


Anybody got an idea?

I don't remember but don't you need --auto-gpu for that?

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
Pages: « 1 ... 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 [553] 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!