Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 04:59:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 [553] 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826759 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:14:04 AM
 #11041

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

I tried it without them, same story. It's like GPU's not working on their full power (this config worked in windows, hardware is ok, linux is more stable).
I don't know is there some settings how to configure GPU usage.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:45:17 AM
 #11042

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

I tried it without them, same story. It's like GPU's not working on their full power (this config worked in windows, hardware is ok, linux is more stable).
I don't know is there some settings how to configure GPU usage.

This looks familiar.   I think someone else had a similar problem.

Anyway GPU usage is affected my intensity and engine clocks.

What Catalyst and SDK are you using?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:59:01 AM
 #11043

I tried to set intensity from 10 to 18, all the same, defined GPU and MEM clock manually, same issue. Trying different combinations for days but again the same.

I have [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 9.0.2 [Sep 20 2012] with 6 minors AMD Driver and ATI OpenCL Drivers 2.8 and ADL SDK 5.0

It is promising that I'm not alone with this problem, tried to search for it but just can't define correctly the search Sad
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:03:54 PM
 #11044

AMD Driver and ATI OpenCL Drivers 2.8 and ADL SDK 5

Hmm, I was expecting something like Catalyst 12.8 and OpenCL 2.6 or something along those lines.

From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:04:47 PM
 #11045

Using this on Ubuntu like mentioned before ....
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:05:45 PM
 #11046

It is promising that I'm not alone with this problem, tried to search for it but just can't define correctly the search Sad

Did you look in the mining support board?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:46:44 PM
 #11047

Quote
From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

That was my last option to reinstall all the drivers/sdk. Thanks for helping, I will post here results, maybe more come with similar problem.
dangue
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 01:57:41 PM
 #11048

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

http://i41.tinypic.com/2q2guns.jpg


What makes some miners show up as "OFF" in cgminer (as in the image above) and how do you turn them back on?  I have cgminer 3.1.1 and five USB ASICs on an Anker USB 3.0 hub and windows 8.  If I try to run them in one instance of cgminer, only the first one is active and the rest show up as off.  Strange thing is, I had three working just fine in one instance and it was only after I added the COM settings for the two new ones that it stopped working.  If I run an independent instance for each miner, they all work. 
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:15:01 PM
 #11049

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

What does "cgminer-nogpu" -n say?

I use 3.2.1 and it tells me what bus number and device number each one is so I can, with some trial and error, which one is which.  I agree your suggestion would make things easier especially with the number of devices you have.

I would hate to map all of those serial ports like you are with 3.1.x.  I would recommend going to 3.2.1, it really is much easier.
Sam
As soon as USB 3.0 is supported, I'll switch

| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
narousberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:38:27 PM
 #11050

Hi all
i have problem with connecting more then 4 Ztex 1.15y rev.1 boards to cgminer 3.2.1
If i try start cgminer with 5 or more board, programm crashed on start. With 4 boards all works fine.
Hotplug dont work too.
I am on Win 7 SP1 32bit
please HELP guys! Anybody run more then 4 boards now?Huh

ak49er
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:46:16 PM
 #11051

Quote
From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

That was my last option to reinstall all the drivers/sdk. Thanks for helping, I will post here results, maybe more come with similar problem.
I noticed a big difference switching to the poclbm kernel.  It's not used by default.  I'm running two 7850s with Catalyst 13.4 and either SDK 2.6 or 2.7, (I can't remember which).  One of my cards always runs hotter than the other.  Initially it was so much hotter that CGMiner would throttle back the clock from 1050 to 860, but now they're running pretty evenly matched at full speed.  (This is all on 3.1.1 by the way, there's not much if any GPU improvements in 3.2.1 from what I understand).
novanoob
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 04:07:29 AM
 #11052

same config, but at 3.2.1 all fans go 100% allways, 3.2.0 is it ok.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2013, 08:30:35 AM
 #11053

same config, but at 3.2.1 all fans go 100% allways, 3.2.0 is it ok.
I assume you mean your GPU fans. There were absolutely no GPU changes going from 3.2.0 to 3.2.1 so you have changed something when upgrading cgminer, likely the driver...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:46:02 AM
 #11054

Hi all
i have problem with connecting more then 4 Ztex 1.15y rev.1 boards to cgminer 3.2.1
If i try start cgminer with 5 or more board, programm crashed on start. With 4 boards all works fine.
Hotplug dont work too.
I am on Win 7 SP1 32bit
please HELP guys! Anybody run more then 4 boards now?Huh
[/qu

Is your PSU powerful enough to power 5 boards ?
novanoob
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:58:28 AM
 #11055

same config, but at 3.2.1 all fans go 100% allways, 3.2.0 is it ok.
I assume you mean your GPU fans. There were absolutely no GPU changes going from 3.2.0 to 3.2.1 so you have changed something when upgrading cgminer, likely the driver...
yeeh GPU 58xx series, thank you for reaction...
OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (831.4) FULL_PROFILE
8.15.10.2696 (3-19-2012) - GL:ig4icd64.dll

absolutely nothing changed...
just unpack new cgminer on desktop, where all old versions located, copy config files and shortcut to new cgminer directory and do corresponding shortcut changes
 
macboy80
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 06:57:26 PM
 #11056

***Insert standard "I tried to search" disclaimer***

I am getting an error with cgminer 3.2.1; windows7 x64; BFL Jalapeno: "Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit" I have installed the winUSB drivers. The Jalapeno works fine with BFGminer and the other drivers. Does anyone have any suggestions, as I would prefer to use cgminer?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 07:04:56 PM
 #11057

***Insert standard "I tried to search" disclaimer***

I am getting an error with cgminer 3.2.1; windows7 x64; BFL Jalapeno: "Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit" I have installed the winUSB drivers. The Jalapeno works fine with BFGminer and the other drivers. Does anyone have any suggestions, as I would prefer to use cgminer?

This has been discussed allot.  Just look back in a few of the recent pages.

A couple of folks have changed the code to add a longer wait and the authors have it fixed in the git tree.  But the fix hasn't been released yet.  So you can compile the code yourself and test it or wait for the next release.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1749


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:17:08 PM
 #11058

A couple of folks have changed the code to add a longer wait and the authors have it fixed in the git tree.  But the fix hasn't been released yet.  So you can compile the code yourself and test it or wait for the next release.
Sam
is it possible that this has the same reason:


a few days it has run with 7 Block erupter without Problems, then it has begun to error
it is the same hub as before, (I have changed nothing), then I tried another hub, another port, cgminer different versions, -> always errors
(Ubuntu 12.04)
TIA
ak49er
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:58:28 PM
 #11059

Just wanted to chime in and say thanks for the program.  I just hooked up my first Block Erupter to go with my two GPUs and after getting the permissions sorted following the help on here I was up and running on 3.2.1 in under 10 minutes.
puppetmaster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 11:05:07 PM
 #11060

Hello

I am hoping you guys can help me with my cgminer crashing. First off, here are my two PC specs:


Main PC (Gaming & Mining)

Intel i7 2600K @ 4.7GHz
Asus P8P67 Deluxe
8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RAM (2x 4GB)
2x Saphire 6950's flashed with 6970 BIOS + overclocked
1x XFX 5870
AX1200i PSU
Various Hard Drives (2x SSD's, 3x HDD's)
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, AMD 13.6 Beta Drivers, SDK included with 13.6
CPU and 3x GPU are all under water


2nd PC (Mining 100%):

Intel G550
Asus P8P67 Pro
4GB DDR3 1333 RAM (1x 4GB)
1x Powercolour 5870
1x Sapphire 5870
Corsair HX620 PSU
1x 120GB HDD
Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1, AMD 13.6 Beta Drivers, SDK included with 13.6
2x GPU Underwater

Now my problem. Whatever I try on my main PC to mine, cgminer will always crash. My 2nd machine is happily mining LTC using CG miner. When I was first setting that up, it would crash sometimes depending on settings. I believe this to be due to the TC setting but after some switching around, the 2x 5870's are mining fine.

On my main PC, everything I have tried doesn't work including:


  • Lots of different settings in the cg miner config as well as trying to use GUI Miner. In GUI Miner it crashes just after it says "starting" on all 3 cards. I have tried varying versions of cgminer with no effect. I have tried mining BTC and LTC with no change.
  • Using a java program to generate a batch file. No effect. I have also tried using batch files and the general config for CG Miner.
  • Loading cgminer and entering the information manually in the command prompt. Its lets me enter all the information and will crash after entering the worker password.
  • Different AMD driver versions, however with 13.1 and 13.4 (the only 2 I have tried really), my PC will blue screen either during installation of the driver or upon the restart. I have used the AMD cleanup tool as well as driver cleaner. No change. I believe the blue screen is caused by a corrupt dll for CCC. I was in the process of manually extracting and replacing that file, however I couldn't delete the original from within my own Windows installation. I will try to resolve that as soon as I can (see next point)
  • I performed a clean install of Windows on a separate partition on my main SSD. I have a Windows install identical to my Mining RIG with 13.6 (as in not a copy, just installed the same software). No change. This was a very bare windows install with no overclocking on the GFX Cards. I don't think it is driver related as it works fine on my 2nd machine with 13.6 I believe.


Few things to note:

  • MY PC is 100% stable with overclocked settings, will happily run prime 95 for 12hrs+ as well as graphics benchmarks with no issues.
  • I originally had Kaspersky IS on this PC, it is currently disabled but the 2nd machine + clean install does not have any A/V installed.
  • Nothing is overheating. I am running both machines on water. On my main PC with all 3 cards @ 100%, temps are normally 55-60, 53-58 and 45-50 across the cards. 2nd PC usually has temps between 45-50.
  • Last August I managed to mine BTC with cgminer without any problems when I had 2x 6970's
  • I am currently mining BTC on this PC with the bitminter java app. No problems with this, can happily run all 3 cards at the same time and I leave the PC mining this way during the day and overnight.
  • I don't really want to use any earlier than 13.x drivers, due to the fact I game on this PC a lot. I am not worried about any drop in mining speed because of that.
  • I have worked with computers for years. I work with PC's all day in my day job (work in a local PC Shop, fixing computers etc etc) so I am very familiar with troubleshooting / fault finding.


Does anyone have any suggestions on how to resolve my problem. Been spending ages trying to get it sorted.

I have no doubt left information out. It's quite hard to remember everything for one post

Thanks in advance for any help.
Pages: « 1 ... 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 [553] 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!