Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 01:46:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 [529] 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4824660 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 02:10:29 PM
 #10561

...
cgminer's just reporting what your pool is doing. If it changes difficulty often it's not a very stable algorithm they're using to determine your dynamic difficulty. It's harmless, just noisy.

Ah, k. Thanks a lot Smiley .
1481291182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291182
Reply with quote  #2

1481291182
Report to moderator
1481291182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481291182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481291182
Reply with quote  #2

1481291182
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:41:14 PM
 #10562

I just thought of a problem with the new cgminer and not being able to set devices.
How would I take a few of my 20 lancelots and mine on a different pool/coin?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
ocminer
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1582



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 09:33:03 PM
 #10563

Hey folks,

is it possible to let cgminer not crash when a USB device (ztex) is removed while mining ?

Currently I got around 10 ztex boards connected to a usb hub which are all recognized without problems by cgminer 3.2.0 but as soon as a device fails or is physically removed from the usb hub, cgminer crashes and I have to restart again.

Would be great if the "missing" device is simply disabled and a note is posted into the log instead of a whole segfault Smiley

Thanks,

oc

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
elchorizo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 10:26:08 PM
 #10564

cgminer 3.2.0 crashes my raspberry pi when using 10 black arrow lancelots.

In addition, I randomly get this when I start it on 3.1.2

 [2013-06-01 17:25:57] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB7: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

Sometimes I'll get that on 5 or 6 devices... sometimes just one. Not sure what is causing that but upgrading won't even let me run them, it locks up after starting within 10 seconds.

BTC: 1Chorizo6WNabZxVfQyGtvF4JiRt7Hexxb
LTC: Lchorizoy8ck7Arbby8LDnw5wAmi8h6Hzb
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 10:55:10 PM
 #10565

I just thought of a problem with the new cgminer and not being able to set devices.
How would I take a few of my 20 lancelots and mine on a different pool/coin?
The --usb command. You can limit how many devices it grabs. cgminer keeps a system wide record of who's got what so 2 instances will not try to grab the same devices.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
boor
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 12:03:39 AM
 #10566

Can anybody share a 32-bit binary for Xubuntu 11.10 ? Built the binary many times. Always get Segmentation Fault.  Thanks.

Motherboard: AOpen i915GMm-HFS
CPU: Intel Pentium M 725 1.6GHz
Video Card: Sapphire HD 7850 1GB 100355-1GOCL
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 12:06:02 AM
 #10567

Can anybody share a 32-bit binary for Xubuntu 11.10 ? Built the binary many times. Always get Segmentation Fault.  Thanks.

Motherboard: AOpen i915GMm-HFS
CPU: Intel Pentium M 725 1.6GHz
Video Card: Sapphire HD 7850 1GB 100355-1GOCL
Then it's not the binary since there's no reason the binary would segfault, it's your screwed driver setup.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 12:14:46 AM
 #10568

cgminer 3.2.0 crashes my raspberry pi when using 10 black arrow lancelots.

Regarding the crash, being linux, you should be able to get a crash dump that shows what happened.
The RPi binaries in my github are compiled with -g ... I'll put up the 3.2.0 today
So if you:
ulimit -c 2097152
before you run it, it will create a core dump
Then,
gdb cgminer core
bt full

Will produce a backtrace

In addition, I randomly get this when I start it on 3.1.2

 [2013-06-01 17:25:57] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB7: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

Sometimes I'll get that on 5 or 6 devices... sometimes just one. Not sure what is causing that but upgrading won't even let me run them, it locks up after starting within 10 seconds.
Yes that's basically how the Icarus device are. Somewhat unreliable to initialise Tongue
One of the big advantages of the default hotplug settings (3.2.0) is that when the devices don't work, it will try again 5 seconds later and usually they work the next time.
(I'll need to add to hotplug to give up on a device after a few tries in a row ... if the device really is no good or wont initialise)

With the latest cgminer git there is a python script in there called usbtest.py
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/usbtest.py
(I've been using this for quite a long time, about a year, but recently added it to the git)
It talks to the old serial device:
With that you can send a single command to a USB miner.
An example to use it:
Firstly either make sure cgminer isn't running, or disable hotplug with java API 'hotplug|0'
Then AFTER that, plug in your USB miner
Then e.g. ./usbtest.py /dev/ttyUSB0 icarus
(you'll have to find your miner number e.g. ls /dev/ttyUSB*)
It sends 2 test icarus work items to the device and shows the expected result and the actual result
You will find that on occasion it fails or returns incorrect results - even on the serial-USB kernel setup with python.
i.e. all of this simply shows that indeed they sometimes fail to initialise, but with hotplug, usually get it right the 2nd time if it fails the first time.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
boor
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 12:23:12 AM
 #10569

How to setup driver?
I followed the guide here:
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/preview?sle=true&pli=1
and
http://bitcoin-mining-headless.blogspot.com/

Tried AMD Catalyst driver 13.4 and 12.8,  AMD APP open cl driver 2.8 and 2.7. No error when building cgminer.

Thanks.


Can anybody share a 32-bit binary for Xubuntu 11.10 ? Built the binary many times. Always get Segmentation Fault.  Thanks.

Motherboard: AOpen i915GMm-HFS
CPU: Intel Pentium M 725 1.6GHz
Video Card: Sapphire HD 7850 1GB 100355-1GOCL
Then it's not the binary since there's no reason the binary would segfault, it's your screwed driver setup.
Rail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 02:49:03 AM
 #10570

A few minutes ago Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 12.1.2015.2015) deleted cgminer.exe determining it to be a Trojan.Zbot virus.
I've been using this executable for at least 3 months, it's from cgminer-2.10.1-win32 package, cgminer.exe, size 431104
I have just compared the crc of the file I've been working with all this time and the file from the package and they are identical.

I am a bit shocked, cause I do pay a lot of attention to using latest updates for a firewall and SEP, filtering what apps are allowed to go outside and and what are not, and I am also not prone to clicking on every link I see and generally cautious when browsing hte web.

In parallel SEP deleted several files, I am attaching a screenshot of that.

The question is - is this a false positive? Is this a known issue and I can just keep mining happily or do I have to change all my passwords and so on?

http://anonymouse.org/cgi-bin/anon-www.cgi/http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/2111/virusscreenshot.png


bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 03:00:22 AM
 #10571

False it's the fact cgminer is used in trojans to mine

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Rail
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 03:04:20 AM
 #10572

False it's the fact cgminer is used in trojans to mine

That's what I am aware of, I wonder what those other files that were deleted are and if they could use the vanilla unaltered cgminer.exe for their purpose.

Just in case, could anyone confirm that md5 hash sum for cgminer.exe from cgminer-2.10.1-win32 package is af60f0da905591f0a3eb6167f27d7228 please?

Thanks
dwolfman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 03:07:05 AM
 #10573

And I would add to that to stop using SEP.  Worst antivirus ever.  Know from experience having to support it on desktop systems in a prior job.  It would take a good 6 months before it would start detecting stuff that Malwarebytes or Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) would detect within days.

I use MSE at home on all my Windows machines, works great and VERY rare false positives.  Smiley

Wanna send coins my way? 1BY2rZduB9j8Exa4158QXPFJoJ2NWU1NGf or just scan the QR code in my avatar.  :-)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 03:16:07 AM
 #10574

Why don't you just upgrade cgminer

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 03:17:02 AM
 #10575

Ps those other files looked useful. I'm assuming you run server edition hence your only option is sep.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 03:21:53 AM
 #10576

False it's the fact cgminer is used in trojans to mine

That's what I am aware of, I wonder what those other files that were deleted are and if they could use the vanilla unaltered cgminer.exe for their purpose.

Just in case, could anyone confirm that md5 hash sum for cgminer.exe from cgminer-2.10.1-win32 package is af60f0da905591f0a3eb6167f27d7228 please?

Thanks
... and relevant ... this is mentioned in the FAQ in the README

The other files have nothing to do with cgminer.

af60f0da905591f0a3eb6167f27d7228  cgminer.exe
94554fd1461edb2946f5ebfcabd9e203  cgminer-fpgaonly.exe

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
dwolfman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 03:26:47 AM
 #10577

Ps those other files looked useful. I'm assuming you run server edition hence your only option is sep.

License change with MSE version 2, you can now run it on anything that Microsoft makes (server included).

That's why I'm using it on all my stuff, and it's never triggered a false positive on cgminer, or any of the other miner programs I've tried on my system to find the best one to use.

Wanna send coins my way? 1BY2rZduB9j8Exa4158QXPFJoJ2NWU1NGf or just scan the QR code in my avatar.  :-)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 03:29:50 AM
 #10578

What was the other Microsoft av? 8/2012 switched back to the other one
Id love to have av on my 2012, uninstalled sep crap already

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
redtwitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 03:35:08 AM
 #10579

In parallel SEP deleted several files, I am attaching a screenshot of that.

The question is - is this a false positive?

Your computer definitely was infected. The other deleted files and the removed registry key correspond to the Wsnpoem trojan. Zbot is an alias of that trojan. It seems like SEP mistakingly identified cgminer.exe as part of the trojan's files.

And I would add to that to stop using SEP.  Worst antivirus ever.

You've clearly never tried any recent version of McAfee. +1 for MSE. IF you're using Windows, that's the way to go.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 07:10:17 AM
 #10580

Hey folks,

is it possible to let cgminer not crash when a USB device (ztex) is removed while mining ?

Currently I got around 10 ztex boards connected to a usb hub which are all recognized without problems by cgminer 3.2.0 but as soon as a device fails or is physically removed from the usb hub, cgminer crashes and I have to restart again.

Would be great if the "missing" device is simply disabled and a note is posted into the log instead of a whole segfault Smiley

Thanks,

oc
We'd love to, but ztex doesn't have a regular maintainer since neither Kano nor I have one and we can only hack on it blindly, and we only sporadically get people hacking on it. Getting a debug output from you when it crashes would be helpful.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 [529] 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!