Bitcoin Forum
July 19, 2018, 03:59:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 [528] 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756928 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:22:58 PM
 #10541

P2pool changes every few seconds

Yes, but it's quite stable: it only changes noticeably when you add/remove hashrate.

Avoiding making tiny difficulty adjustment when hashrate is stable wouldn't hurt though.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
1532015991
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532015991

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532015991
Reply with quote  #2

1532015991
Report to moderator
1532015991
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532015991

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532015991
Reply with quote  #2

1532015991
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. Header-only clients like MultiBit trust that the majority of mining power is honest for the purposes of enforcing network rules such as the 21 million BTC limit. Full clients do not trust miners in this way.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532015991
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532015991

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532015991
Reply with quote  #2

1532015991
Report to moderator
1532015991
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532015991

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532015991
Reply with quote  #2

1532015991
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1043


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:24:36 PM
 #10542

I'm getting errors in os x 10.8.3. Any ideas how to fix it?

./configure --enable-scrypt --enable-icarus PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/opt/curl/lib/pkgconfig CFLAGS="-g -O2 -Wall"
sudo make install

"
<..>
usbutils.c:2576: error: redefinition of ‘union semun’
usbutils.c: In function ‘resource_unlock’:
usbutils.c:2878: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘semtimedop’
make[1]: *** [cgminer-usbutils.o] Error 1
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
"
Thank you!

Oh, yeah we fixed that in IRC about an hour ago and I pushed it to the master branch
I've seen it before, but no one has stayed around in IRC to help me fix it (I don't have OSX)
Thanks to NetRaider in IRC for helping with this.
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/8c1366113c22ea4e8a5340c154c6328bbf6dfee8

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Fallout
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 12:56:06 AM
 #10543

Have you seen this? Possible optimization of the scrypt kernel

https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,4082.0/topicseen.html

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 01:26:50 AM
 #10544

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:21:28 AM
 #10545

Have you seen this? Possible optimization of the scrypt kernel

https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,4082.0/topicseen.html


All those changes are of dubious utility and likely to lead to identical binary kernels being generated.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:23:46 AM
 #10546

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.
Looks like we have a lot of work to do... for windows yet again. With heavy development, the unforeseen problems are likely to be ever present.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1039



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 02:51:27 AM
 #10547

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.

Uninstall USB/COM drivers, install WinUSB and try 2.0 hub or port.

Can you try one stick in USB 2.0 hub or directly in USB 2.0 port on your computer? Run cgminer with full debug diags.

PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 03:02:11 AM
 #10548

If you have stable GPU miners on on older versions (3.0.0 or 3.1.1 for example) is there any performance increase inherent to 3.2 that is worth the upgrade?  I see the majority of changes are for ASIC people.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 03:08:38 AM
 #10549

If you have stable GPU miners on on older versions (3.0.0 or 3.1.1 for example) is there any performance increase inherent to 3.2 that is worth the upgrade?  I see the majority of changes are for ASIC people.
No. There are stratum changes which might help you if you have problems, but otherwise no.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dermo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:17:49 AM
 #10550

Can't find the changelog Sad
elchorizo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:32:06 AM
 #10551

Have you seen this? Possible optimization of the scrypt kernel

https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,4082.0/topicseen.html


All those changes are of dubious utility and likely to lead to identical binary kernels being generated.

Very sad to hear this, I was wondering about this myself and it seemed promising Sad

BTC: 1Chorizo6WNabZxVfQyGtvF4JiRt7Hexxb
LTC: Lchorizoy8ck7Arbby8LDnw5wAmi8h6Hzb
dermo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:44:13 AM
 #10552

Can't find the changelog Sad

found!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/NEWS
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:55:05 AM
 #10553

So has anyone got Block Erupter USB sticks working with Raspberry Pi through a powered USB 3.0 hub yet?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 11:42:11 AM
 #10554

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.

Uninstall USB/COM drivers, install WinUSB and try 2.0 hub or port.

Can you try one stick in USB 2.0 hub or directly in USB 2.0 port on your computer? Run cgminer with full debug diags.

WinUSB *IS* installed.  It's required for 3.1.1.  I don't have a 2.0 hub.  I might try one on a 2.0 port on a different computer.  I spent an hour last night trying to get it working, and then recovering from trying to get it working, on my mining rig.  I'm not going there again.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 502



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 02:10:29 PM
 #10555

...
cgminer's just reporting what your pool is doing. If it changes difficulty often it's not a very stable algorithm they're using to determine your dynamic difficulty. It's harmless, just noisy.

Ah, k. Thanks a lot Smiley .
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2324
Merit: 1022


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:41:14 PM
 #10556

I just thought of a problem with the new cgminer and not being able to set devices.
How would I take a few of my 20 lancelots and mine on a different pool/coin?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156
Merit: 1212



View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 09:33:03 PM
 #10557

Hey folks,

is it possible to let cgminer not crash when a USB device (ztex) is removed while mining ?

Currently I got around 10 ztex boards connected to a usb hub which are all recognized without problems by cgminer 3.2.0 but as soon as a device fails or is physically removed from the usb hub, cgminer crashes and I have to restart again.

Would be great if the "missing" device is simply disabled and a note is posted into the log instead of a whole segfault Smiley

Thanks,

oc

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
elchorizo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 228
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 10:26:08 PM
 #10558

cgminer 3.2.0 crashes my raspberry pi when using 10 black arrow lancelots.

In addition, I randomly get this when I start it on 3.1.2

 [2013-06-01 17:25:57] Icarus Detect: Test failed at /dev/ttyUSB7: get 00000000, should: 000187a2

Sometimes I'll get that on 5 or 6 devices... sometimes just one. Not sure what is causing that but upgrading won't even let me run them, it locks up after starting within 10 seconds.

BTC: 1Chorizo6WNabZxVfQyGtvF4JiRt7Hexxb
LTC: Lchorizoy8ck7Arbby8LDnw5wAmi8h6Hzb
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1111


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 10:55:10 PM
 #10559

I just thought of a problem with the new cgminer and not being able to set devices.
How would I take a few of my 20 lancelots and mine on a different pool/coin?
The --usb command. You can limit how many devices it grabs. cgminer keeps a system wide record of who's got what so 2 instances will not try to grab the same devices.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
boor
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 12:03:39 AM
 #10560

Can anybody share a 32-bit binary for Xubuntu 11.10 ? Built the binary many times. Always get Segmentation Fault.  Thanks.

Motherboard: AOpen i915GMm-HFS
CPU: Intel Pentium M 725 1.6GHz
Video Card: Sapphire HD 7850 1GB 100355-1GOCL
Pages: « 1 ... 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 [528] 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!