Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:47:59 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 [528] 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4817578 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 09:26:05 PM
 #10541

Quote
pastebin (don't paste here) the output of the end of 'dmesg' when you plug the AMU in
also 2 cgminer outputs:
1) cgminer -n
2) cgminer -D -T -verbose ... your options ... 2> debug.log
and let that run for about 30 seconds - and pastebin it or upload the log somewhere

I don't have a powered hub, I guess I better get one to see what's happening myself
(tried to get one last week and oddly none of the shops I went to had one ... except one that was crap)

One other thing to try is to leave it unplugged for about a minute then see if that fixes it
I had mine go into a weird state not being recognised after using different OSs and being left unplugged for a while fixed it for me
The error I got when this happened in the debug log was an error 4 setting the baud
I might try see if that is reproduceable - the error and the unplug fix, and if so, when it happens print a message to do that.

Here you go: http://pastebin.com/tRWSfvNV

I hope it helps. I would be happy to provide more info, if needed.

Leaving it unplugged for a minute had no effect.
Hmm yep you are getting the same error in there that I have got twice (once on windows and once on linux)
and I managed to clear it somehow ...
Code:
[2013-05-31 22:13:28] AMU: cgid 0 SetBaud got err 4
Now to work out how I cleared it ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480898879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898879
Reply with quote  #2

1480898879
Report to moderator
1480898879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898879
Reply with quote  #2

1480898879
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480898879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898879
Reply with quote  #2

1480898879
Report to moderator
1480898879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898879
Reply with quote  #2

1480898879
Report to moderator
1480898879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898879
Reply with quote  #2

1480898879
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 09:30:53 PM
 #10542

Quote
pastebin (don't paste here) the output of the end of 'dmesg' when you plug the AMU in
also 2 cgminer outputs:
1) cgminer -n
2) cgminer -D -T -verbose ... your options ... 2> debug.log
and let that run for about 30 seconds - and pastebin it or upload the log somewhere

I don't have a powered hub, I guess I better get one to see what's happening myself
(tried to get one last week and oddly none of the shops I went to had one ... except one that was crap)

One other thing to try is to leave it unplugged for about a minute then see if that fixes it
I had mine go into a weird state not being recognised after using different OSs and being left unplugged for a while fixed it for me
The error I got when this happened in the debug log was an error 4 setting the baud
I might try see if that is reproduceable - the error and the unplug fix, and if so, when it happens print a message to do that.

Here you go: http://pastebin.com/tRWSfvNV

I hope it helps. I would be happy to provide more info, if needed.

Leaving it unplugged for a minute had no effect.

Thank you kano and fydel!

Some additional data: http://pastebin.com/2W2wte3z Smiley Note: rpi -> usb hub -> 1 AMU

Regarding the hub: just connected a single AMU directly to the rpi (usb hub disconnected, rpi power cycled) and have had the same issue. Guess the powered usb hub is not the cause.
Same eror there also
Code:
[2013-05-31 22:26:51] AMU: cgid 0 SetBaud got err 4
Yep trying to sort out what causes it (and what fixes it) ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 09:33:10 PM
 #10543

ok better

# ./cgminer --benchmark
 cgminer version 3.2.0 - Started: [2013-05-31 16:33:39]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):0.000 (avg):0.000h/s | A:0  R:0  HW:0  U:0.0/m  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 0  LW: 0  GF: 1  RF: 0
 Connected to (null) diff 0 without LP as user Benchmark
 Block: (null)...  Diff:  Started:   Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-05-31 16:33:39] Started cgminer 3.2.0
 [2013-05-31 16:33:39] No devices detected!
 [2013-05-31 16:33:39] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-05-31 16:33:39] Pool 0 not providing work fast enough

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
Littleshop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316



View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 10:25:35 PM
 #10544

I am getting crashed with signal 11 on startup on multiple versions of cgminer on one machine.  What did I do wrong.  A search here only leads to bad memory but machine has good memory.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 10:40:05 PM
 #10545

Something I noticed that last version didn't do.

This version is frequently changing difficulty. Is this suppose to happen? Scrypt mining for litecoin.

Code:
Pool 0 difficulty changed to

 Accepted f3c31b0a Diff 208/128 GPU 0
 Pool 0 difficulty changed to 64.000000
 Accepted 81bdd518 Diff 157/128 GPU 1
 Accepted f732d5b3 Diff 67/64 GPU 1
cgminer's just reporting what your pool is doing. If it changes difficulty often it's not a very stable algorithm they're using to determine your dynamic difficulty. It's harmless, just noisy.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2013, 10:56:48 PM
 #10546

P2pool changes every few seconds

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:22:58 PM
 #10547

P2pool changes every few seconds

Yes, but it's quite stable: it only changes noticeably when you add/remove hashrate.

Avoiding making tiny difficulty adjustment when hashrate is stable wouldn't hurt though.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 31, 2013, 11:24:36 PM
 #10548

I'm getting errors in os x 10.8.3. Any ideas how to fix it?

./configure --enable-scrypt --enable-icarus PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/opt/curl/lib/pkgconfig CFLAGS="-g -O2 -Wall"
sudo make install

"
<..>
usbutils.c:2576: error: redefinition of ‘union semun’
usbutils.c: In function ‘resource_unlock’:
usbutils.c:2878: warning: implicit declaration of function ‘semtimedop’
make[1]: *** [cgminer-usbutils.o] Error 1
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1
"
Thank you!

Oh, yeah we fixed that in IRC about an hour ago and I pushed it to the master branch
I've seen it before, but no one has stayed around in IRC to help me fix it (I don't have OSX)
Thanks to NetRaider in IRC for helping with this.
https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/commit/8c1366113c22ea4e8a5340c154c6328bbf6dfee8

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Fallout
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 12:56:06 AM
 #10549

Have you seen this? Possible optimization of the scrypt kernel

https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,4082.0/topicseen.html

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 01:26:50 AM
 #10550

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:21:28 AM
 #10551

Have you seen this? Possible optimization of the scrypt kernel

https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,4082.0/topicseen.html


All those changes are of dubious utility and likely to lead to identical binary kernels being generated.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 02:23:46 AM
 #10552

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.
Looks like we have a lot of work to do... for windows yet again. With heavy development, the unforeseen problems are likely to be ever present.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
af_newbie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 02:51:27 AM
 #10553

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.

Uninstall USB/COM drivers, install WinUSB and try 2.0 hub or port.

Can you try one stick in USB 2.0 hub or directly in USB 2.0 port on your computer? Run cgminer with full debug diags.

PCMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 03:02:11 AM
 #10554

If you have stable GPU miners on on older versions (3.0.0 or 3.1.1 for example) is there any performance increase inherent to 3.2 that is worth the upgrade?  I see the majority of changes are for ASIC people.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2013, 03:08:38 AM
 #10555

If you have stable GPU miners on on older versions (3.0.0 or 3.1.1 for example) is there any performance increase inherent to 3.2 that is worth the upgrade?  I see the majority of changes are for ASIC people.
No. There are stratum changes which might help you if you have problems, but otherwise no.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dermo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:17:49 AM
 #10556

Can't find the changelog Sad
elchorizo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:32:06 AM
 #10557

Have you seen this? Possible optimization of the scrypt kernel

https://forum.litecoin.net/index.php/topic,4082.0/topicseen.html


All those changes are of dubious utility and likely to lead to identical binary kernels being generated.

Very sad to hear this, I was wondering about this myself and it seemed promising Sad

BTC: 1Chorizo6WNabZxVfQyGtvF4JiRt7Hexxb
LTC: Lchorizoy8ck7Arbby8LDnw5wAmi8h6Hzb
dermo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:44:13 AM
 #10558

Can't find the changelog Sad

found!

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/NEWS
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 04:55:05 AM
 #10559

So has anyone got Block Erupter USB sticks working with Raspberry Pi through a powered USB 3.0 hub yet?

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
June 01, 2013, 11:42:11 AM
 #10560

I'm not able to get 3.2.0 to work with my USB block erupters either.  It never finds the device.  Like others that have reported the problem, I'm using a USB 3.0 hub.  It's the only one I could find that could reliable power 7 devices.

M

EDIT: And it was a hassle getting it to work again with 3.1.1.  Reinstalling the USB to COM drivers didn't fix it, as it put them on the next 7 ports (according to device manager), and cgminer couldn't see them there.  On a hunch I manually changed them back to the right ports (3 - 9), uninstalled and reinstalled the USB to COM drivers again, then everything started working again.

Uninstall USB/COM drivers, install WinUSB and try 2.0 hub or port.

Can you try one stick in USB 2.0 hub or directly in USB 2.0 port on your computer? Run cgminer with full debug diags.

WinUSB *IS* installed.  It's required for 3.1.1.  I don't have a 2.0 hub.  I might try one on a 2.0 port on a different computer.  I spent an hour last night trying to get it working, and then recovering from trying to get it working, on my mining rig.  I'm not going there again.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Pages: « 1 ... 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 [528] 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!