Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2024, 08:48:14 PM *
News: Help 1Dq create 15th anniversary forum artwork.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 [528] 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805348 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4564
Merit: 1850


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 10:52:47 PM
Last edit: June 02, 2013, 11:07:03 PM by kano
 #10541

Got it working!

I went back to cgminer 3.1.1 and used the -S option to tell it where to look.

I'll play with the other settings now and see if I can get it running without root, etc.
...
As per the ASIC-README for 3.2.0

LINUX:

On linux, the direct USB support requires no drivers at all. However due to
permissions issues, you may not be able to mine directly on the devices as a
regular user without giving the user access to the device or by mining as
root (administrator). In order to give your regular user access, you can make
him a member of the plugdev group with the following commands:
...

Read the rest Smiley

Edit: there's a bit about "sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/" further down to complete the solution to solve permission problems

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 10:56:18 PM
 #10542

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4564
Merit: 1850


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:03:39 PM
 #10543

Latest code from git:
Code:
# cgminer -T
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] Started cgminer 3.2.0
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] Loaded configuration file /root/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 5:75
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] Icarus detect (5:75) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] USB init, set config 1 in use - CMR device 5:74
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] Icarus detect (5:74) failed to initialise (incorrect device?)
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-02 21:42:15] Probing for an alive pool
Code:
# cgminer --ndevs
 [2013-06-02 21:43:47] USB all: found 17 devices - listing known devices
.USB dev 0: Bus 5 Device 75 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
.USB dev 1: Bus 5 Device 74 ID: 0403:8350
  Manufacturer: 'FTDI'
  Product: 'Cairnsmore1'
 [2013-06-02 21:43:47] 2 known USB devices
FPGA Cairnsmore1 are no longer working with cgminer. I reverted cgminer to 102e907a475723ceff0de915227296190e2f3beb (3.1.0).
Any solutions? Smiley
Yep I'll look into that.
I've not had anyone look at 3.2.0 with a Cairnsmore1 yet ... my USB config settings are just a guess.
A full debug (pastebin) of the initialisation would be helpful also if you can.
However, the current code "I think?" will only find at most one FPGA (since with the 0403:8350 chip it will need to have an enhanced driver to handle multiple end points - that chip has 8 end points - 4 pairs - and will take some effort to actually get it to work)
The older board was apparently using the 0403:6014 so has the same initialisation as the BFL devices - that one might just work if anyone with one wants to try Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4564
Merit: 1850


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:04:42 PM
 #10544

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:04:52 PM
 #10545

Absolutely, there isnt even a x64 version

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:05:12 PM
 #10546

LOL

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4564
Merit: 1850


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:10:50 PM
 #10547

LOL

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?
Smiley
Yes it was a joke - however there is a relevant question in there too Smiley
For windows, ther binary of course is already 32bit so works on both 32bit and 64bit
For RPi, my binaries git has a 32 bit binary (only) but I've not put 3.2.0 in there yet - only 3.1.1
For Linux, there is no 32 bit binary so he'd have to build it himself (and this begs the question why anyone would use a 32bit linux on any normal desktop, if that's what he is doing ... but he may not be)

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:12:55 PM
 #10548

True maybe he was asking for a reason other than the obvious of trying to download it.

I'm still sad there's no windows x64 version. I know there's no benefit but it's just cool!

stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:14:16 PM
 #10549

well it may be funny, but i have a terribly old pc wich i'm thinking of turning into miner's helper and run cgminer on it. That's why...
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:16:31 PM
 #10550

Well you do need xp at least

well it may be funny, but i have a terribly old pc wich i'm thinking of turning into miner's helper and run cgminer on it. That's why...

stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:20:32 PM
 #10551

Well you do need xp at least

well it may be funny, but i have a terribly old pc wich i'm thinking of turning into miner's helper and run cgminer on it. That's why...

i'd prefer using linux.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:21:51 PM
 #10552

You'd be surprised, most old processors have x64.
But if you run linux, you have to build your own x86 like he said.

stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:29:49 PM
 #10553

ok building a binary for 32bit was pretty straight-forward. Cool!  Wink
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 501



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:53:34 PM
 #10554

LOL

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?
Smiley
Yes it was a joke - however there is a relevant question in there too Smiley
For windows, ther binary of course is already 32bit so works on both 32bit and 64bit
For RPi, my binaries git has a 32 bit binary (only) but I've not put 3.2.0 in there yet - only 3.1.1
For Linux, there is no 32 bit binary so he'd have to build it himself (and this begs the question why anyone would use a 32bit linux on any normal desktop, if that's what he is doing ... but he may not be)

ok, this is something i was wondering about. Since you just openned the door, just what would be the advantage of running 64 bit Linux over 32 bit Linux for a mining rig?
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4172
Merit: 1642


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:58:09 PM
 #10555

ok, this is something i was wondering about. Since you just openned the door, just what would be the advantage of running 64 bit Linux over 32 bit Linux for a mining rig?
For mining there is no advantage apart from the GPU driver allowing more devices. However, 64 bit linux is very mature and run everywhere and all CPUs of the last decade on PCs and laptops are 64 bit capable so it's unusual to see anyone consciously use 32 bit on linux except for hardware that is 32 bit. The difference between this and creating binaries on windows is the windows 32 bit binaries will work everywhere, but linux binaries are very distribution and architecture specific, and x86_64 Ubuntu is the most common desktop linux in use. It is also eleventy billion times easier to compile it for yourself on linux than windows.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 501



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 12:12:04 AM
 #10556

ok, this is something i was wondering about. Since you just openned the door, just what would be the advantage of running 64 bit Linux over 32 bit Linux for a mining rig?
For mining there is no advantage apart from the GPU driver allowing more devices. However, 64 bit linux is very mature and run everywhere and all CPUs of the last decade on PCs and laptops are 64 bit capable so it's unusual to see anyone consciously use 32 bit on linux except for hardware that is 32 bit. The difference between this and creating binaries on windows is the windows 32 bit binaries will work everywhere, but linux binaries are very distribution and architecture specific, and x86_64 Ubuntu is the most common desktop linux in use. It is also eleventy billion times easier to compile it for yourself on linux than windows.

Thanks for the answer. I'm currrently running cgminer on 32 bit linux mainly because I didn't want to keep track of which of my machines had 32 bit and which had 64. I'm of the opinion that unless you need the accuracy of 64 bit there isn't really any advantage. I might be wrong, but i remember reading that 32 bit linux can use more than the 4 gig RAM that windows is restricted to.  64 bit may be the future, but i live in the present.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:29:31 AM
 #10557

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4564
Merit: 1850


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 12:45:24 AM
 #10558

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.
Windows or linux?

Pool: https://kano.is - low 0.5% fee PPLNS 3 Days - Most reliable Solo with ONLY 0.5% fee   Bitcointalk thread: Forum
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code - k for kano
The ONLY active original developer of cgminer. Original master git: https://github.com/kanoi/cgminer
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:46:44 AM
 #10559

Windows of course Wink

-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4172
Merit: 1642


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:54:14 AM
 #10560

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.
What did 3.1.1 use, and is there a way on windows to see what system time the (ftdi) driver is using? The CPU usage of drivers is often hidden from you.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 [528] 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!