Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:22:50 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 [532] 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4822304 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:04:52 PM
 #10621

Absolutely, there isnt even a x64 version

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
1481170970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170970
Reply with quote  #2

1481170970
Report to moderator
1481170970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170970
Reply with quote  #2

1481170970
Report to moderator
1481170970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170970
Reply with quote  #2

1481170970
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481170970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170970
Reply with quote  #2

1481170970
Report to moderator
1481170970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481170970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481170970
Reply with quote  #2

1481170970
Report to moderator
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:05:12 PM
 #10622

LOL

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:10:50 PM
 #10623

LOL

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?
Smiley
Yes it was a joke - however there is a relevant question in there too Smiley
For windows, ther binary of course is already 32bit so works on both 32bit and 64bit
For RPi, my binaries git has a 32 bit binary (only) but I've not put 3.2.0 in there yet - only 3.1.1
For Linux, there is no 32 bit binary so he'd have to build it himself (and this begs the question why anyone would use a 32bit linux on any normal desktop, if that's what he is doing ... but he may not be)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:12:55 PM
 #10624

True maybe he was asking for a reason other than the obvious of trying to download it.

I'm still sad there's no windows x64 version. I know there's no benefit but it's just cool!

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:14:16 PM
 #10625

well it may be funny, but i have a terribly old pc wich i'm thinking of turning into miner's helper and run cgminer on it. That's why...
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:16:31 PM
 #10626

Well you do need xp at least

well it may be funny, but i have a terribly old pc wich i'm thinking of turning into miner's helper and run cgminer on it. That's why...

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:20:32 PM
 #10627

Well you do need xp at least

well it may be funny, but i have a terribly old pc wich i'm thinking of turning into miner's helper and run cgminer on it. That's why...

i'd prefer using linux.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:21:51 PM
 #10628

You'd be surprised, most old processors have x64.
But if you run linux, you have to build your own x86 like he said.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
stepkrav
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:29:49 PM
 #10629

ok building a binary for 32bit was pretty straight-forward. Cool!  Wink
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 11:53:34 PM
 #10630

LOL

can i run cgminer on a 32bit pc?  Thanks.
I don't think it works on the Amiga ... or the PS3 ... but which 32 bit PC were you referring to?
Smiley
Yes it was a joke - however there is a relevant question in there too Smiley
For windows, ther binary of course is already 32bit so works on both 32bit and 64bit
For RPi, my binaries git has a 32 bit binary (only) but I've not put 3.2.0 in there yet - only 3.1.1
For Linux, there is no 32 bit binary so he'd have to build it himself (and this begs the question why anyone would use a 32bit linux on any normal desktop, if that's what he is doing ... but he may not be)

ok, this is something i was wondering about. Since you just openned the door, just what would be the advantage of running 64 bit Linux over 32 bit Linux for a mining rig?

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 11:58:09 PM
 #10631

ok, this is something i was wondering about. Since you just openned the door, just what would be the advantage of running 64 bit Linux over 32 bit Linux for a mining rig?
For mining there is no advantage apart from the GPU driver allowing more devices. However, 64 bit linux is very mature and run everywhere and all CPUs of the last decade on PCs and laptops are 64 bit capable so it's unusual to see anyone consciously use 32 bit on linux except for hardware that is 32 bit. The difference between this and creating binaries on windows is the windows 32 bit binaries will work everywhere, but linux binaries are very distribution and architecture specific, and x86_64 Ubuntu is the most common desktop linux in use. It is also eleventy billion times easier to compile it for yourself on linux than windows.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 12:12:04 AM
 #10632

ok, this is something i was wondering about. Since you just openned the door, just what would be the advantage of running 64 bit Linux over 32 bit Linux for a mining rig?
For mining there is no advantage apart from the GPU driver allowing more devices. However, 64 bit linux is very mature and run everywhere and all CPUs of the last decade on PCs and laptops are 64 bit capable so it's unusual to see anyone consciously use 32 bit on linux except for hardware that is 32 bit. The difference between this and creating binaries on windows is the windows 32 bit binaries will work everywhere, but linux binaries are very distribution and architecture specific, and x86_64 Ubuntu is the most common desktop linux in use. It is also eleventy billion times easier to compile it for yourself on linux than windows.

Thanks for the answer. I'm currrently running cgminer on 32 bit linux mainly because I didn't want to keep track of which of my machines had 32 bit and which had 64. I'm of the opinion that unless you need the accuracy of 64 bit there isn't really any advantage. I might be wrong, but i remember reading that 32 bit linux can use more than the 4 gig RAM that windows is restricted to.  64 bit may be the future, but i live in the present.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:29:31 AM
 #10633

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
June 03, 2013, 12:45:24 AM
 #10634

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.
Windows or linux?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:46:44 AM
 #10635

Windows of course Wink

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:54:14 AM
 #10636

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.
What did 3.1.1 use, and is there a way on windows to see what system time the (ftdi) driver is using? The CPU usage of drivers is often hidden from you.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 12:55:50 AM
 #10637

3.1.1 used very little and confirmed it by seeing total cpu usage.
3.2 looks like its using 50% by itself with another 20% by system interrupts or drivers of some sort

I just noticed, cgminer 3.2 uses massive CPU. I'm runing 20 lancelots and cgminer is using over 70% on a i7-3770.
What did 3.1.1 use, and is there a way on windows to see what system time the (ftdi) driver is using? The CPU usage of drivers is often hidden from you.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Rant2112
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 01:34:39 AM
 #10638

Got it working!

I went back to cgminer 3.1.1 and used the -S option to tell it where to look.

I'll play with the other settings now and see if I can get it running without root, etc.
...
As per the ASIC-README for 3.2.0

LINUX:

On linux, the direct USB support requires no drivers at all. However due to
permissions issues, you may not be able to mine directly on the devices as a
regular user without giving the user access to the device or by mining as
root (administrator). In order to give your regular user access, you can make
him a member of the plugdev group with the following commands:
...

Read the rest Smiley

Edit: there's a bit about "sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/" further down to complete the solution to solve permission problems
I'm fairly certain that I understand the permission issue.

As I said in a later post I have set the udev rules so that the USB device is owned by the plugdev group (and I'm in plugdev as well).

My later post has some more details with the --usb-dump output:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg2353037#msg2353037

It isn't showing a permission issue now - ttyUSB0 is removed when cgminer starts and cgminer 3.2 doesn't find any devices to mine with.

If I start cgminer 3.2 and then plug in the miner afterwards it is disconnected immediately and cgminer doesn't see it.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 03, 2013, 01:38:19 AM
 #10639

It isn't showing a permission issue now - ttyUSB0 is removed when cgminer starts and cgminer 3.2 doesn't find any devices to mine with.

If I start cgminer 3.2 and then plug in the miner afterwards it is disconnected immediately and cgminer doesn't see it.
Not that this is the cause of your problems, but it's worth nothing that ttyUSB0 is being removed by 3.2.0 because cgminer doesn't want that driver there any more, so it being removed is normal.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Rant2112
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 03, 2013, 02:02:32 AM
 #10640

Also, cgminer 3.2 does NOT work if I 'su root' either.  I don't think it is the permission problem.
Pages: « 1 ... 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 [532] 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!