Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2024, 06:43:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 [532] 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805347 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:45:49 AM
 #10621

I am using Avast, but it seems to be detecting the program as a virus, does it matter?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 09:48:18 AM
 #10622

No continue ignore virus

twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:50:14 AM
 #10623

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

You can automate the starting of 'screen' also.  My machines automatically resume mining (with 'screen') after a reboot as well.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1001


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:51:24 AM
 #10624

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 09:55:43 AM
 #10625

How do people do it without screen? Just keep ssh up? A disconnect kills it right? This is one thing Windows rdp is amazing with.

rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1361
Merit: 1003


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 09:57:41 AM
 #10626

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?
Screen by default is closing itself if application ends, also when it crash.
see screen --help to find workaround Smiley

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1001


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 09:59:15 AM
 #10627

Screen by default is closing itself if application ends, also when it crash.
see screen --help to find workaround Smiley
Will do, thanks!


How do people do it without screen? Just keep ssh up? A disconnect kills it right? This is one thing Windows rdp is amazing with.
I found tmux when looking for alternatives. Looks promising to me, but then I'm a noob

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 10:02:25 AM
 #10628

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?

I have been using screen reliably since I started mining 15 months ago.  I have never seen screen crash.  I have seen no screen available messages a couple times, when trying to do screen -r, but that always meant that cgminer, itself, crashed (screen exits when the command it started exits.  I know it these were cgminer crashes because my shell script that wraps the start and stop logs the start time immediately before cgminer starts and the stop time immediately after it exits.  The current iteration of my shell script actually has a loop in it that restarts cgminer if it ever exits instead of just exiting itself, and since then I have never seen screen not be available when attaching to it.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 10:20:25 AM
 #10629

You can use "screen" too
Since we are on the screen topic, hope you don't mind I squeeze in this question:

I check my rig via SSH and the last time it crashed (overall reported hashrate by pool dropped to 0, so I went and had a look), I did screen -r and it reported back there was no screen to reattach. So, from other people's experience with running cgminer under screen: How stable is screen? Any only else encountered this?

Code:
while : #Run forever.. until end of time....
do
        screen .......
        logger -t myawesomescript "Cgminer crashed" # This goes into /var/log/syslog
        sleep 15 #Just for fun.
done

ewitte
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 10:47:30 AM
 #10630

Does anyone know if these will work with the K16 which I believe uses the Icarus protocol?  I don't physically have the board yet so at this point its just a question.

Donations
BTC - 13Lgy6fb4d3nSYEf2nkgBgyBkkhPw8zkPd
LTC - LegzRwyc2Xhu8cqvaW2jwRrqSnhyaYU6gZ
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2912
Merit: 1060



View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 10:52:07 AM
 #10631

I would assume so since what else could they have used to test the board?

PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 12:06:24 PM
 #10632

You can use "screen" too

Definitely, but this means that you need to (after a system reboot) remember, or be available, to log in and start everything up.

I have my systems PXE booting, automatically starting X under tty12 and cgminer under daemontools. It means that my miners can reboot at any time and they'll come up mining. Throw in puppet for managing the config files and it's fairly well automated.

You can automate the starting of 'screen' also.  My machines automatically resume mining (with 'screen') after a reboot as well.

Would you mind sharing your code for this? I can't seem to get mine up & running... It's a pain having to re-type everything on a restart.... Angry

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
bitcoinminer42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1185


notorious shrimp!


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 12:15:35 PM
 #10633

screen -dmS <name> cgminer <params>
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 501



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:44:46 PM
 #10634

I am using Avast, but it seems to be detecting the program as a virus, does it matter?

Well, AVAST sucks for a start.  Use Microsoft Security Essentials. 

Second, as long as you downloaded cgminer from the correct place, it won't be a virus.  Use only the links in the first post on this thread.  I've seen cgminer packages hosted on Rapidshare and the likes, and they have had a virus in them.
rav3n_pl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1361
Merit: 1003


Don`t panic! Organize!


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 01:46:09 PM
 #10635

MSE will chocke any system... Avira better ;]

1Rav3nkMayCijuhzcYemMiPYsvcaiwHni  Bitcoin stuff on my OneDrive
My RPC CoinControl for any coin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=929954
Some stuff on https://github.com/Rav3nPL/
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:46:17 PM
 #10636

Kano, it seems that most everyone in this forum:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=195052.1760 has not been able to get cgminer 3.2.0 to work with the little USB block erupters. The people that have been successful are using 3.1.1. You seemed so confident that it would work and I assume you have one of these devices too. Given that it worked fine for you and for none of us (that I am aware of), it's probably something simple to fix, like a missing library or something?

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

Edit:  did you get one of the original block erupters and ours are the new Sapphire version?
stormos
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 01:54:32 PM
 #10637

3.2.0. crashes at any of my gpu only rigs (win7) but works fine at computer with BFL FPGA device
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4172
Merit: 1642


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2013, 02:07:35 PM
 #10638

Of course

oops do u have a debug, cpu fixed?
Not today, at work... gimme another day.
Here you go:
http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/debug/

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:18:17 PM
 #10639

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 02:25:36 PM
 #10640

One of the symptoms is that after running 3.2.0, the device in /dev/ttyUSB0 disappears.  

As Kano has said multiple times, this is correct!!!

cgminer is no longer using the usbserial module to talk to the device, so I would expect it's unbinding the device from the usbserial module which is why /dev/ttyUSB0 vanishes.

Do an lsusb and see if the device is still on the USB bus.

Sorry, this is news to me. I haven't seen the posts you are talking about. Even so, the devices still don't show up on the ncurses display. Anything else that needs to be done to get them recognized?
Pages: « 1 ... 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 [532] 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!