Bitcoin Forum
June 16, 2024, 10:27:33 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 [549] 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 ... 843 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.11.1  (Read 5805300 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic. (3 posts by 1+ user deleted.)
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1060


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 08:44:05 AM
 #10961

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 


Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:44:22 AM
 #10962

Hi, does anybody can help me?
I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 64bit and the latest cgminer 3.2.1
I have 6 7950 GPU, installed drivers properly and all the needed sdk tools as described on many tutorials.
Ubuntu detects all 6 card with no problem.
I tried many many combinations of scripts to get good hash rates but failed all the time.
I saw all the time that 1 GPU temp goes high - working on 80C, but the other 5 cards are on ambient temps.
Max hash rate is 100mh/s per GPU what I able to make.
The script is:

./cgminer -o http://pool.50btc.com:8332 -u XXX -p XXX -I 10 --gpu-reorder --auto-fan -w 256 -g 1

Posted a screenshot maybe will help
http://s24.postimg.org/3llk0yhqd/low_hash.jpg

Thank you in advance
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1091


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:54:39 AM
 #10963

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1091


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:04:37 AM
 #10964

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

What does "cgminer-nogpu" -n say?

I use 3.2.1 and it tells me what bus number and device number each one is so I can, with some trial and error, which one is which.  I agree your suggestion would make things easier especially with the number of devices you have.

I would hate to map all of those serial ports like you are with 3.1.x.  I would recommend going to 3.2.1, it really is much easier.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:14:04 AM
 #10965

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

I tried it without them, same story. It's like GPU's not working on their full power (this config worked in windows, hardware is ok, linux is more stable).
I don't know is there some settings how to configure GPU usage.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1091


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:45:17 AM
 #10966

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

I tried it without them, same story. It's like GPU's not working on their full power (this config worked in windows, hardware is ok, linux is more stable).
I don't know is there some settings how to configure GPU usage.

This looks familiar.   I think someone else had a similar problem.

Anyway GPU usage is affected my intensity and engine clocks.

What Catalyst and SDK are you using?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:59:01 AM
 #10967

I tried to set intensity from 10 to 18, all the same, defined GPU and MEM clock manually, same issue. Trying different combinations for days but again the same.

I have [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 9.0.2 [Sep 20 2012] with 6 minors AMD Driver and ATI OpenCL Drivers 2.8 and ADL SDK 5.0

It is promising that I'm not alone with this problem, tried to search for it but just can't define correctly the search Sad
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1091


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:03:54 PM
 #10968

AMD Driver and ATI OpenCL Drivers 2.8 and ADL SDK 5

Hmm, I was expecting something like Catalyst 12.8 and OpenCL 2.6 or something along those lines.

From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:04:47 PM
 #10969

Using this on Ubuntu like mentioned before ....
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1091


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:05:45 PM
 #10970

It is promising that I'm not alone with this problem, tried to search for it but just can't define correctly the search Sad

Did you look in the mining support board?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:46:44 PM
 #10971

Quote
From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

That was my last option to reinstall all the drivers/sdk. Thanks for helping, I will post here results, maybe more come with similar problem.
dangue
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 01:57:41 PM
 #10972

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

http://i41.tinypic.com/2q2guns.jpg


What makes some miners show up as "OFF" in cgminer (as in the image above) and how do you turn them back on?  I have cgminer 3.1.1 and five USB ASICs on an Anker USB 3.0 hub and windows 8.  If I try to run them in one instance of cgminer, only the first one is active and the rest show up as off.  Strange thing is, I had three working just fine in one instance and it was only after I added the COM settings for the two new ones that it stopped working.  If I run an independent instance for each miner, they all work. 
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1060


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:15:01 PM
 #10973

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

What does "cgminer-nogpu" -n say?

I use 3.2.1 and it tells me what bus number and device number each one is so I can, with some trial and error, which one is which.  I agree your suggestion would make things easier especially with the number of devices you have.

I would hate to map all of those serial ports like you are with 3.1.x.  I would recommend going to 3.2.1, it really is much easier.
Sam
As soon as USB 3.0 is supported, I'll switch
narousberg
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1749
Merit: 1007



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:38:27 PM
 #10974

Hi all
i have problem with connecting more then 4 Ztex 1.15y rev.1 boards to cgminer 3.2.1
If i try start cgminer with 5 or more board, programm crashed on start. With 4 boards all works fine.
Hotplug dont work too.
I am on Win 7 SP1 32bit
please HELP guys! Anybody run more then 4 boards now?Huh

I AM NOT SELL MY BITCOINTALK ACCOUNT !!!
ak49er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 250


Buy, sell and store real cryptocurrencies


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:46:16 PM
 #10975

Quote
From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

That was my last option to reinstall all the drivers/sdk. Thanks for helping, I will post here results, maybe more come with similar problem.
I noticed a big difference switching to the poclbm kernel.  It's not used by default.  I'm running two 7850s with Catalyst 13.4 and either SDK 2.6 or 2.7, (I can't remember which).  One of my cards always runs hotter than the other.  Initially it was so much hotter that CGMiner would throttle back the clock from 1050 to 860, but now they're running pretty evenly matched at full speed.  (This is all on 3.1.1 by the way, there's not much if any GPU improvements in 3.2.1 from what I understand).

novanoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 04:07:29 AM
 #10976

same config, but at 3.2.1 all fans go 100% allways, 3.2.0 is it ok.
-ck (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4144
Merit: 1637


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 15, 2013, 08:30:35 AM
 #10977

same config, but at 3.2.1 all fans go 100% allways, 3.2.0 is it ok.
I assume you mean your GPU fans. There were absolutely no GPU changes going from 3.2.0 to 3.2.1 so you have changed something when upgrading cgminer, likely the driver...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:46:02 AM
 #10978

Hi all
i have problem with connecting more then 4 Ztex 1.15y rev.1 boards to cgminer 3.2.1
If i try start cgminer with 5 or more board, programm crashed on start. With 4 boards all works fine.
Hotplug dont work too.
I am on Win 7 SP1 32bit
please HELP guys! Anybody run more then 4 boards now?Huh
[/qu

Is your PSU powerful enough to power 5 boards ?
novanoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:58:28 AM
 #10979

same config, but at 3.2.1 all fans go 100% allways, 3.2.0 is it ok.
I assume you mean your GPU fans. There were absolutely no GPU changes going from 3.2.0 to 3.2.1 so you have changed something when upgrading cgminer, likely the driver...
yeeh GPU 58xx series, thank you for reaction...
OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP (831.4) FULL_PROFILE
8.15.10.2696 (3-19-2012) - GL:ig4icd64.dll

absolutely nothing changed...
just unpack new cgminer on desktop, where all old versions located, copy config files and shortcut to new cgminer directory and do corresponding shortcut changes
 
macboy80
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 06:57:26 PM
 #10980

***Insert standard "I tried to search" disclaimer***

I am getting an error with cgminer 3.2.1; windows7 x64; BFL Jalapeno: "Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit" I have installed the winUSB drivers. The Jalapeno works fine with BFGminer and the other drivers. Does anyone have any suggestions, as I would prefer to use cgminer?
Pages: « 1 ... 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 [549] 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 ... 843 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!