Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2018, 08:05:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 [552] 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 ... 847 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5756979 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 09:57:11 PM
 #11021

I'm cannot get my new BFL ASIC running on my RPi using cgminer 3.1.1.  It has been hashing fine with my BFL FPGA up to now (and it still works if I plug back it in). 

I tried these commands from the ASIC-README.  The second command was not required (it said the group already existed).

Code:
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

 sudo groupadd plugdev

 sudo cp /usr/src/cgminer/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

Code:
[2013-06-13 16:52:30] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Probing for an alive pool

I'm running in the default "pi" account.  Can someone please give me some guidance where to look or what to do next?  Thanks. 


Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
1532203508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532203508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532203508
Reply with quote  #2

1532203508
Report to moderator
1532203508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532203508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532203508
Reply with quote  #2

1532203508
Report to moderator
1532203508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532203508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532203508
Reply with quote  #2

1532203508
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532203508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532203508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532203508
Reply with quote  #2

1532203508
Report to moderator
1532203508
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532203508

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532203508
Reply with quote  #2

1532203508
Report to moderator
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 10:02:24 PM
 #11022

I'm cannot get my new BFL ASIC running on my RPi using cgminer 3.1.1.  It has been hashing fine with my BFL FPGA up to now (and it still works if I plug back it in).  

I tried these commands from the ASIC-README.  The second command was not required (it said the group already existed).

Code:
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

 sudo groupadd plugdev

 sudo cp /usr/src/cgminer/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

Code:
[2013-06-13 16:52:30] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Probing for an alive pool

I'm running in the default "pi" account.  Can someone please give me some guidance where to look or what to do next?  Thanks.  



you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 10:54:56 PM
 #11023

you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

Sorry - linux noob here.  Thanks for your help.  I did restart the pi - twice.   My cgminer command line starts with:
Code:
sudo /usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -o http://...

Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d3d:0001 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd HID Keyboard
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ dmesg | tail
[   11.224838] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.242032] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.258035] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.272962] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.288352] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.304921] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   15.854575] mmc0: missed completion of cmd 18 DMA (512/512 [1]/[1]) - ignoring it
[   15.869959] mmc0: DMA IRQ 6 ignored - results were reset
[   19.843212] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[   24.073821] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:102396k SS
pi@raspberrypi ~ $

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 11:05:24 PM
 #11024

you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

Sorry - linux noob here.  Thanks for your help.  I did restart the pi - twice.   My cgminer command line starts with:
Code:
sudo /usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -o http://...

Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d3d:0001 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd HID Keyboard
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ dmesg | tail
[   11.224838] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.242032] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.258035] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.272962] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.288352] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.304921] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   15.854575] mmc0: missed completion of cmd 18 DMA (512/512 [1]/[1]) - ignoring it
[   15.869959] mmc0: DMA IRQ 6 ignored - results were reset
[   19.843212] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[   24.073821] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:102396k SS
pi@raspberrypi ~ $

Well since you tried with sudo, means its not the udev things. sudo has access to everything.
0403:6014 is the BFL ... so it is being seen by the system all right. Probably something with cgminer... I dont have a BFL so cant help beyond this...

ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 11:12:27 PM
 #11025

Well since you tried with sudo, means its not the udev things. sudo has access to everything.
0403:6014 is the BFL ... so it is being seen by the system all right. Probably something with cgminer... I dont have a BFL so cant help beyond this...

Thank you.  I'm going to try on Windows next - just to make sure the hardware is working.  Of course I've now hit the USB thing that I need zadig for.  Off to read more ASIC-README and do what it says...

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 11:21:07 PM
 #11026

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:

Code:
cgminer version 3.1.1 - Started: [2013-06-13 18:19:39]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):55.66M (avg):58.84Mh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:0  U:0.0/m  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 7  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to us1.eclipsemc.com diff 1 with stratum as user [username]
 Block: 00f6d64abcfaeb79...  Diff:15.6M  Started: [18:19:39]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 58.54M/61.84Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 3
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-06-13 18:19:38] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 18:19:38] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details returned nothing (0:0)
 [2013-06-13 18:19:38] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-06-13 18:19:39] Disabling extra threads due to dynamic mode.
 [2013-06-13 18:19:39] Tune dynamic intensity with --gpu-dyninterval
 [2013-06-13 18:19:39] Network diff set to 15.6M
 [2013-06-13 18:19:40] Thread 1 being disabled
 [2013-06-13 18:19:45] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details return invalid/timed out (0:-7)
 [2013-06-13 18:19:51] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details return invalid/timed out (0:-7)
 [2013-06-13 18:19:56] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details return invalid/timed out (0:-7)

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 11:28:12 PM
 #11027

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:
snip
Yes it's a known about problem with slower USB/timeouts on some of the devices. There is a fix for this in the master git development tree, but no official release with it yet unfortunately. Hopefully soon...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 02:02:05 AM
 #11028

And if you are NOT having problems with 3.2.1 on RPi, could you tell me your kernel version?

I'm running cgminer 3.2.1 on an RPi with 4 Erupters and a Jalapeno with no problems.

Linux minepeon 3.6.11-11-ARCH+ #1 PREEMPT Tue May 14 16:12:58 UTC 2013 armv6l GNU/Linux

The only change I made was taking the 200ms timeout up to 999ms as a temporary workaround to get the Jalapeno to talk.  The erupters worked right out of the box.  Hot plug and all.

Cheers and thanks for all the work.


1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 04:17:02 AM
 #11029

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:
snip
Yes it's a known about problem with slower USB/timeouts on some of the devices. There is a fix for this in the master git development tree, but no official release with it yet unfortunately. Hopefully soon...

So is it the same issue in linux on my RPi or is the above a Windows only thing? 
If Windows only could you please look back a few replies?
In the short term, I guess I'll try BFL's Easyminer.

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1113


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 04:24:05 AM
 #11030

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:
snip
Yes it's a known about problem with slower USB/timeouts on some of the devices. There is a fix for this in the master git development tree, but no official release with it yet unfortunately. Hopefully soon...

So is it the same issue in linux on my RPi or is the above a Windows only thing? 
If Windows only could you please look back a few replies?
In the short term, I guess I'll try BFL's Easyminer.
Some BFL devices have a slow-initialisation problem which will happen on any OS. The RPi seems to be bitten by something else as well. We're still investigation though we think we've instrumented the problem at least.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1001


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 08:44:05 AM
 #11031

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 



            ▄▄████▄▄
        ▄▄██████████████▄▄
      ███████████████████████▄▄
      ▀▀█████████████████████████
██▄▄       ▀▀█████████████████████
██████▄▄        ▀█████████████████
███████████▄▄       ▀▀████████████
███████████████▄▄        ▀████████
████████████████████▄▄       ▀▀███
 ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
     ▀▀██████████████████████▄▄
▄▄        ▀██████████████████████▄
████▄▄        ▀▀██████████████████
█████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████████
█████████████▄▄        ▀▀█████████
██████████████████▄▄        ▀▀████
▀██████████████████████▄▄
  ▀▀████████████████████████
      ▀▀█████████████████▀▀
           ▀▀███████▀▀



.SEMUX
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
  Semux uses .100% original codebase.
  Superfast with .30 seconds instant finality.
  Tested .5000 tx per block. on open network
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
█ █
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:44:22 AM
 #11032

Hi, does anybody can help me?
I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 64bit and the latest cgminer 3.2.1
I have 6 7950 GPU, installed drivers properly and all the needed sdk tools as described on many tutorials.
Ubuntu detects all 6 card with no problem.
I tried many many combinations of scripts to get good hash rates but failed all the time.
I saw all the time that 1 GPU temp goes high - working on 80C, but the other 5 cards are on ambient temps.
Max hash rate is 100mh/s per GPU what I able to make.
The script is:

./cgminer -o http://pool.50btc.com:8332 -u XXX -p XXX -I 10 --gpu-reorder --auto-fan -w 256 -g 1

Posted a screenshot maybe will help
http://s24.postimg.org/3llk0yhqd/low_hash.jpg

Thank you in advance
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:54:39 AM
 #11033

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:04:37 AM
 #11034

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

What does "cgminer-nogpu" -n say?

I use 3.2.1 and it tells me what bus number and device number each one is so I can, with some trial and error, which one is which.  I agree your suggestion would make things easier especially with the number of devices you have.

I would hate to map all of those serial ports like you are with 3.1.x.  I would recommend going to 3.2.1, it really is much easier.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:14:04 AM
 #11035

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

I tried it without them, same story. It's like GPU's not working on their full power (this config worked in windows, hardware is ok, linux is more stable).
I don't know is there some settings how to configure GPU usage.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:45:17 AM
 #11036

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

I tried it without them, same story. It's like GPU's not working on their full power (this config worked in windows, hardware is ok, linux is more stable).
I don't know is there some settings how to configure GPU usage.

This looks familiar.   I think someone else had a similar problem.

Anyway GPU usage is affected my intensity and engine clocks.

What Catalyst and SDK are you using?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:59:01 AM
 #11037

I tried to set intensity from 10 to 18, all the same, defined GPU and MEM clock manually, same issue. Trying different combinations for days but again the same.

I have [fglrx] module loaded - fglrx 9.0.2 [Sep 20 2012] with 6 minors AMD Driver and ATI OpenCL Drivers 2.8 and ADL SDK 5.0

It is promising that I'm not alone with this problem, tried to search for it but just can't define correctly the search Sad
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:03:54 PM
 #11038

AMD Driver and ATI OpenCL Drivers 2.8 and ADL SDK 5

Hmm, I was expecting something like Catalyst 12.8 and OpenCL 2.6 or something along those lines.

From the FAQ

Q: Which AMD SDK is the best for cgminer?
A: At the moment, versions 2.4 and 2.5 work the best for R5xxx and R6xxx GPUS.
SDK 2.6 or 2.7 works best for R7xxx. SDK 2.8 is known to have many problems.
If you are need to use the 2.6+ SDK or R7xxx or later, the phatk kernel will
perform poorly, while the diablo or my custom modified poclbm kernel are
optimised for it.

Q: Which AMD driver is the best?
A: Unfortunately AMD has a history of having quite a few releases with issues
when it comes to mining, either in terms of breaking mining, increasing CPU
usage or very low hashrates. Only experimentation can tell you for sure, but
some good releases were 11.6, 11.12, 12.4 and 12.8. Note that older cards may
not work with the newer drivers.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:04:47 PM
 #11039

Using this on Ubuntu like mentioned before ....
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1001


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 12:05:45 PM
 #11040

It is promising that I'm not alone with this problem, tried to search for it but just can't define correctly the search Sad

Did you look in the mining support board?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 [552] 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 ... 847 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!