Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:44:42 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 [552] 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4827129 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 03:18:39 PM
 #11021

Hello, I wanted to ask cgminer community about "efficiency" parameter. For example: if I have efficiency = 8%, then does this mean that I can potentially find 92%/8% = 11.5 more shares in the same time-frame with proper pool and miner settings? Personally I think this parameter is rather useless, because even if I change share because of new blocks, then probability of finding this new share would either:
1) not change much (if cgminer remembers what hashes he previously computed for previous share).
2) not change at all (if cgminer computation is totally random).

But my friend thinks that we should reduce share difficulty of our pool, so that computations of shares almost never interrupted.


Note: Efficiency parameter is located in pool management [p] -> Information .
Efficiency means nothing any more. It was a metric from the days when getwork was used for providing work and means nothing in the stratum world. I will make sure to get rid of it from the pool information.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481402682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402682
Reply with quote  #2

1481402682
Report to moderator
1481402682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402682
Reply with quote  #2

1481402682
Report to moderator
1481402682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402682
Reply with quote  #2

1481402682
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481402682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402682
Reply with quote  #2

1481402682
Report to moderator
1481402682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402682
Reply with quote  #2

1481402682
Report to moderator
BittBurger
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 04:09:38 PM
 #11022

I've been mining for 12 hours and this is all i see on my CGMiner display for P2Pool ...


GPU: 0   10.75M/11.17Mh/s

Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart

I have no new litecoins in my wallet yet.  Is this thing working correctly?  Am I Mining?

Thanks

Bitcoin's true purpose alluded-to in Satoshi's message on the Genesis Block:
"The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks"
https://blockchain.info/tx/4a5e1e4baab89f3a32518a88c31bc87f618f76673e2cc77ab2127b7afdeda33b?show_adv=true
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 05:02:27 PM
 #11023

I just installed cgminer on a little eeePC netbook because I got a new Erupter and my USB hub for my regular miner hasn't come yet. I must say that once i read the right READMEs the install went pretty quick. i had to get 7zip and that zadig program, but it all worked well. Normally, i only use this machine to browse and read books. now it is hashing too(temporarily).


Thanks guys for a great mining program. Smiley

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
salfter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 550


My PGP Key: 92C7689C


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 06:08:36 PM
 #11024

I've been mining for 12 hours and this is all i see on my CGMiner display for P2Pool ...

GPU: 0   10.75M/11.17Mh/s

Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
[snipped]

I have no new litecoins in my wallet yet.  Is this thing working correctly?  Am I Mining?

That seems awfully high for scrypt mining on a single GPU. For comparison, my 6870 does about 310 kH/s; the rate you're quoting is nearly two orders of magnitude faster. Are you sure you're actually using scrypt, or are you attempting to use sha256d on Litecoin P2Pool?

My Bitgem Pool - PPLNS, Stratum | Gridseed Miners - $25 off your first order | BTG Explorer
Tipjars: BTC 1TipsGocnz2N5qgAm9f7JLrsMqkb3oXe2 LTC LTipsVC7XaFy9M6Zaf1aGGe8w8xVUeWFvR BTG gTipsVB9qmyYHuqMMKTuCYMHpfkUFBXKrZ | My Bitcoin Note Generator | Pyramining: 1 2 3 4 5
Roy Badami
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 09:16:49 PM
 #11025

I just installed cgminer on a little eeePC netbook

Hey, I run cgminer on an original EEEPC 701 running Ubuntu.  Works just fine...

roy
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 09:27:59 PM
 #11026

I just installed cgminer on a little eeePC netbook

Hey, I run cgminer on an original EEEPC 701 running Ubuntu.  Works just fine...

roy


I'm running XP. seems to be working well.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 09:57:11 PM
 #11027

I'm cannot get my new BFL ASIC running on my RPi using cgminer 3.1.1.  It has been hashing fine with my BFL FPGA up to now (and it still works if I plug back it in). 

I tried these commands from the ASIC-README.  The second command was not required (it said the group already existed).

Code:
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

 sudo groupadd plugdev

 sudo cp /usr/src/cgminer/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

Code:
[2013-06-13 16:52:30] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Probing for an alive pool

I'm running in the default "pi" account.  Can someone please give me some guidance where to look or what to do next?  Thanks. 


Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 10:02:24 PM
 #11028

I'm cannot get my new BFL ASIC running on my RPi using cgminer 3.1.1.  It has been hashing fine with my BFL FPGA up to now (and it still works if I plug back it in).  

I tried these commands from the ASIC-README.  The second command was not required (it said the group already existed).

Code:
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

 sudo groupadd plugdev

 sudo cp /usr/src/cgminer/01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

Code:
[2013-06-13 16:52:30] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] No devices detected!
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2013-06-13 16:52:30] Probing for an alive pool

I'm running in the default "pi" account.  Can someone please give me some guidance where to look or what to do next?  Thanks.  



you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 10:54:56 PM
 #11029

you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

Sorry - linux noob here.  Thanks for your help.  I did restart the pi - twice.   My cgminer command line starts with:
Code:
sudo /usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -o http://...

Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d3d:0001 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd HID Keyboard
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ dmesg | tail
[   11.224838] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.242032] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.258035] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.272962] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.288352] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.304921] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   15.854575] mmc0: missed completion of cmd 18 DMA (512/512 [1]/[1]) - ignoring it
[   15.869959] mmc0: DMA IRQ 6 ignored - results were reset
[   19.843212] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[   24.073821] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:102396k SS
pi@raspberrypi ~ $

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 11:05:24 PM
 #11030

you need to restart udev after u added the rules for it to see it. hell just restart the pi for good measure.

does lsusb see the asic?
anything funky in dmesg|tail ?

first see if cgminer sees the new device with sudo . if sudo also doesnt work, then its not permission issue, something different.

Sorry - linux noob here.  Thanks for your help.  I did restart the pi - twice.   My cgminer command line starts with:
Code:
sudo /usr/src/cgminer/cgminer -o http://...

Code:
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9512 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp.
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 0403:6014 Future Technology Devices International, Ltd FT232H Single HS USB-UART/FIFO IC
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 0d3d:0001 Tangtop Technology Co., Ltd HID Keyboard
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ dmesg | tail
[   11.224838] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.242032] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.258035] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.272962] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.288352] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   11.304921] bcm2835 ALSA chip created!
[   15.854575] mmc0: missed completion of cmd 18 DMA (512/512 [1]/[1]) - ignoring it
[   15.869959] mmc0: DMA IRQ 6 ignored - results were reset
[   19.843212] smsc95xx 1-1.1:1.0: eth0: link up, 100Mbps, full-duplex, lpa 0x45E1
[   24.073821] Adding 102396k swap on /var/swap.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:102396k SS
pi@raspberrypi ~ $

Well since you tried with sudo, means its not the udev things. sudo has access to everything.
0403:6014 is the BFL ... so it is being seen by the system all right. Probably something with cgminer... I dont have a BFL so cant help beyond this...

ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 11:12:27 PM
 #11031

Well since you tried with sudo, means its not the udev things. sudo has access to everything.
0403:6014 is the BFL ... so it is being seen by the system all right. Probably something with cgminer... I dont have a BFL so cant help beyond this...

Thank you.  I'm going to try on Windows next - just to make sure the hardware is working.  Of course I've now hit the USB thing that I need zadig for.  Off to read more ASIC-README and do what it says...

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
June 13, 2013, 11:21:07 PM
 #11032

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:

Code:
cgminer version 3.1.1 - Started: [2013-06-13 18:19:39]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):55.66M (avg):58.84Mh/s | A:0  R:0  HW:0  U:0.0/m  WU:0.0/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 7  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to us1.eclipsemc.com diff 1 with stratum as user [username]
 Block: 00f6d64abcfaeb79...  Diff:15.6M  Started: [18:19:39]  Best share: 0
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:                | 58.54M/61.84Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m I: 3
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-06-13 18:19:38] Started cgminer 3.1.1
 [2013-06-13 18:19:38] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details returned nothing (0:0)
 [2013-06-13 18:19:38] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-06-13 18:19:39] Disabling extra threads due to dynamic mode.
 [2013-06-13 18:19:39] Tune dynamic intensity with --gpu-dyninterval
 [2013-06-13 18:19:39] Network diff set to 15.6M
 [2013-06-13 18:19:40] Thread 1 being disabled
 [2013-06-13 18:19:45] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details return invalid/timed out (0:-7)
 [2013-06-13 18:19:51] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details return invalid/timed out (0:-7)
 [2013-06-13 18:19:56] BitForceSC detect (1:10) get details return invalid/timed out (0:-7)

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 11:28:12 PM
 #11033

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:
snip
Yes it's a known about problem with slower USB/timeouts on some of the devices. There is a fix for this in the master git development tree, but no official release with it yet unfortunately. Hopefully soon...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 324



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 02:02:05 AM
 #11034

And if you are NOT having problems with 3.2.1 on RPi, could you tell me your kernel version?

I'm running cgminer 3.2.1 on an RPi with 4 Erupters and a Jalapeno with no problems.

Linux minepeon 3.6.11-11-ARCH+ #1 PREEMPT Tue May 14 16:12:58 UTC 2013 armv6l GNU/Linux

The only change I made was taking the 200ms timeout up to 999ms as a temporary workaround to get the Jalapeno to talk.  The erupters worked right out of the box.  Hot plug and all.

Cheers and thanks for all the work.


1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
ChipGeek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 04:17:02 AM
 #11035

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:
snip
Yes it's a known about problem with slower USB/timeouts on some of the devices. There is a fix for this in the master git development tree, but no official release with it yet unfortunately. Hopefully soon...

So is it the same issue in linux on my RPi or is the above a Windows only thing? 
If Windows only could you please look back a few replies?
In the short term, I guess I'll try BFL's Easyminer.

Tip jar: 1ChipGeeK7PDxaAWG4VgsTi31SfJ6peKHw
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2013, 04:24:05 AM
 #11036

Under Windows 7 I've used zadig to replace the FTDI driver with the WinUSB driver.  When I start cgminer, I get this:
snip
Yes it's a known about problem with slower USB/timeouts on some of the devices. There is a fix for this in the master git development tree, but no official release with it yet unfortunately. Hopefully soon...

So is it the same issue in linux on my RPi or is the above a Windows only thing? 
If Windows only could you please look back a few replies?
In the short term, I guess I'll try BFL's Easyminer.
Some BFL devices have a slow-initialisation problem which will happen on any OS. The RPi seems to be bitten by something else as well. We're still investigation though we think we've instrumented the problem at least.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
CanaryInTheMine
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


between a rock and a block!


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 08:44:05 AM
 #11037

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 



| In Default we Trust | Need gold/silver for btc? | Buy bitcoins |
Bartalone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:44:22 AM
 #11038

Hi, does anybody can help me?
I'm using Ubuntu 12.04 64bit and the latest cgminer 3.2.1
I have 6 7950 GPU, installed drivers properly and all the needed sdk tools as described on many tutorials.
Ubuntu detects all 6 card with no problem.
I tried many many combinations of scripts to get good hash rates but failed all the time.
I saw all the time that 1 GPU temp goes high - working on 80C, but the other 5 cards are on ambient temps.
Max hash rate is 100mh/s per GPU what I able to make.
The script is:

./cgminer -o http://pool.50btc.com:8332 -u XXX -p XXX -I 10 --gpu-reorder --auto-fan -w 256 -g 1

Posted a screenshot maybe will help
http://s24.postimg.org/3llk0yhqd/low_hash.jpg

Thank you in advance
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:54:39 AM
 #11039

-w 256 -g 1

I don't think you need to specify a work size with those GPU's, not sure though since I don't have those.

Why are you limiting your GPU's to one thread?  I would remove both of these settings.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:04:37 AM
 #11040

so how do I tell where ICA 24 is located among my hubs? is there a way in cgminer to force the green light on the USB Miner to flicker very fast to help locate a particular USB Miner?
kind of like on some hard drives in raid array you have an option to "identify" a drive by turning on a flashing light or something...
if this feature does not exist, i'd like to request it. should it be added to ICA, AVL and BFL devices? 

What does "cgminer-nogpu" -n say?

I use 3.2.1 and it tells me what bus number and device number each one is so I can, with some trial and error, which one is which.  I agree your suggestion would make things easier especially with the number of devices you have.

I would hate to map all of those serial ports like you are with 3.1.x.  I would recommend going to 3.2.1, it really is much easier.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 [552] 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!